Planted Aquarium V14
aH wAi
Mar 1 2015, 11:05 PM
for those who want start this hobby, you might need to do a research on the type of plants and view that you want to try... and for beginner, maybe just start off with moss first, as most of the nice plants need either enough co2 to keep them alive, or cooling temperature, or worth, both... if you really think of play with carpet plant, maybe try monte carlo, quite easy to grow as long as your light bright and co2 is good enough
aH wAi
Mar 3 2015, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(sun1989 @ Mar 3 2015, 08:14 PM) [attachmentid=4358763] [attachmentid=4358764] any idea how to prevent this thing from happening ? fighting with these green algae stuff for few months but still cant get rid of it. the aquarium is located at outside of the house. got a bit sun shine during the day but i had tried to cover it with woods and clothings to prevent this from happening but it seems didnt work out that well... Im currently using FILTRO 2.0 filter that LFS claim 100% to remove algae, all in one solution..........  too much of sun...  not really sure how to deal with it as i dont have such issue before, maybe you need to change water more frequent and better filter system?
aH wAi
May 3 2015, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(victorsoo @ Apr 28 2015, 06:36 PM) Hi sifus Does anyone know where to buy otocinclus in PJ area? Thanks. try fish depot in sunway mas
aH wAi
Jun 28 2015, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(artsyfarty @ Jun 28 2015, 05:40 PM) Hi, I'm getting ready to start my planted tank, so I have been doing a lot of research and also visiting local fish shops to know what's do they have. I visited - - Midvalley East Aqua - Ikano East Aqua - NSK Kuchai Lama Alive Aquarium - ADA Malaysia - Irene aquarium - Nilufar in scott garden - Aquatic International Shah alam Do you guys have your favourite local fish shop that sell many aquatic plants? I have been looking for "Limnophila Hippuroides". try fish depot
aH wAi
Jul 9 2015, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 7 2015, 02:24 PM) Just a quick update on my office tank. Updated it to be as low maintenance as possible. - Only 2 types of anubias and floating plant. - Gave away all my adult female guppy. Too many heart-aching scenes of fries being gobbled up by adults in overcrowded tank. - Slowly moving to an all male tank.  nice tank! gobbled the fry? must be hungry all the times then... mine red lace don't gobble, but too bad all my red lace sold off or died due to water pollution few months back... :/ now switch to shrimp majority tank instead
aH wAi
Jul 9 2015, 11:19 PM
@DonnerGott did you leave the plants without water like an hour or more? it normally happen to me when i leave those plant without water an hour or more, and they will end up like this whenever i re-scape... and i guess keep the water few days in advance will be good... i'm doing it too and so far all my planted tank no problem This post has been edited by aH wAi: Jul 9 2015, 11:19 PM
aH wAi
Jul 9 2015, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 9 2015, 11:18 PM) Thanks. I feed twice daily so I think could be overcrowding and bad habits. Every time I missed getting the female out, the adults will go all seek n destroy digging through all the books and cranny to hunt for fries. probably your guppy fry got not sufficient place for hiding too... my tank was used to be overcrowded too, even 2ft also crowded like hell... end up i invest another 1ft and 1.5ft planted tank to fit them, and now one of the tank become empty
aH wAi
Jul 11 2015, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(fookie @ Jul 11 2015, 10:49 PM) just kill.... they will just eat your plant if they found nothing to eat...
aH wAi
Jul 28 2015, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jul 26 2015, 09:32 PM) Finally. Got my amazon sword plants. Used them as background plants  expensive setup! @_@ QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jul 27 2015, 02:10 PM) Anyway, want to ask if its wrong to keep co2 running everyday even the lights are off when I'm away at work ? I usually come home after work everyday and turn on the light for 1 to 3 hours a day. Please advice. why not invest on timer and put both the light and co2 work together, or light with 1 timer, and co2 with 1 timer ON 30/45min before light on; OFF 30/45min before light off?
aH wAi
Aug 17 2015, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Aug 17 2015, 01:03 PM) Also, anyone know the most economy and reliable small size canisters filter? Budgeting abt rm100 or less. Tq cheaper than 100 or less? maybe you can try look at dolphin's? or another china brand? currently using a rm200+ canister which may support up to 4ft tank, so far so good
aH wAi
Aug 25 2015, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Aug 19 2015, 08:01 AM) Thanks for all the advice, after few research, decide on the shiruba xb303. Now to find the reliable shop that sell this filter. if you're getting it, and using the 1 piece charcoal filter media, make sure you wash it and change it regularly... else your water outflow will greatly affected by it... like every 2 weeks to 1 month once for cleaning... i'm using one and wash and change until boring due to the dirt kept clog up the media This post has been edited by aH wAi: Aug 25 2015, 05:56 PM
aH wAi
Aug 26 2015, 01:39 PM
MC can easily out grow any other plant and climb over them include rock yo...