Planted Aquarium V14

Vio
post Jul 3 2017, 08:26 PM

829 posts

any suggestion to substitute seachem potassium?

which will be more recommended KNO3, K2SO4, KCI?
Vio
post Jul 5 2017, 09:44 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jul 4 2017, 02:07 PM)
i think KNO3 is the best among those 3. since, its salt potassium n nitrate. the other two is sulphate n chloride, which i believe is potentially harmful to ur tank. but potential algae bloom too since ull be dosing nitrate into ur tank. my 2 cent. idk im no chemist let the other cfu guide u laugh.gif
thank you , will look into it.
Vio
post Aug 6 2017, 11:30 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(yott-chan @ Aug 6 2017, 11:23 AM)
Hi all,

I'm looking for otocinclus fish to eat some diatoms.
Been trying Fish Depot, Petsmart 88 in SunwayMas they don't have.

Anyone seen this fish in LFS around KL/PJ?

Thank you!
for diatoms, nerite snail works great too
Vio
post Aug 7 2017, 10:09 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Aug 6 2017, 10:17 PM)
is it true that nerite snail will die if they fall on their back?.

i bought 2 last few month..and they died with shell at the bottom..i thought they die from fish nibbing them so i just leave the shell like that, but later i read somewhere mention about they can die if the fall on their back because they cannot turn themself back..
may i ask fall as in? from tank to ground ?

i have my nerites climbing out at times from the tank, and they fall to the ground, upon putting back in the tank after awhile they start moving back..
Vio
post Aug 7 2017, 01:18 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Aug 7 2017, 11:05 AM)
no..as if the he climb the glass and fall on his back which is still in the tank..you know like a turtle cannot get back on its feet if it falls on their back..
ah get u, but ive never experience them not being able to get up when they fall on their back
Vio
post Aug 14 2017, 06:46 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Aug 14 2017, 06:15 PM)
how do u prevent guppy from fighting? i buy guppy from pet shop yesterday
thn add into pond thn 2day a few die ady, tail gone

sad everytime i buy new guppy sure a few will die bcauz of fighting
get more females
Vio
post Aug 16 2017, 06:07 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(SMH @ Aug 16 2017, 05:34 PM)
Anyone know where can i get Plantex CSM+B in Malaysia?

or at reasonable shipment price if get from overseas?

I saw ebay (Nilocg) selling it but shipment cost few times more than the goods itself...
Algaefarmer on lelong.com or use Azomite
Vio
post Aug 17 2017, 09:15 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(SMH @ Aug 17 2017, 12:16 AM)
I cant find csm+b from algaefarmer website, did he list it in lelong? In fact whole lelong also dont have csm+b.

As for azomite, didnt it contain copper and lead? If want to overdose like EI method also cannot lor. And seems not popular in planted tank? Is there reason for it? Abit sceptical leh
might have removed it, or you can mix it by getting all the compenents from the store yourself, which i've asked but will not be wise if you're planning to make just for personal use as it will cost alot.

not sure why its not popular in planted tank, might be the fact that it is not well known. the reason why im suggesting this is that if you are aware, crops that are planted near volcano has a better yield and quality compared to those that are planted else where.

also i dont think you need to be worried about the copper and lead harming your shrimp, as what i know, all saltwater prawn farmers use this, in Malaysia, Thai, Indo etc, and it is also widely used in fish farming as well

Vio
post Aug 17 2017, 04:05 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(SMH @ Aug 17 2017, 03:37 PM)
Mmmnn... normally overseas hobbyist will pick up those alternatives faster than asia countries. But when searching online, not many result show azomite use as trace elements in aquarium.
Wonder if it because csm+b much easier to get for them? or the proven performance of csm+b that keeps it solid position all these while?

This guy (see here) gives warning that too much Azomite at one time will actually start killing plants. That makes me think it twice over csm+b too....

But really appreciate your info. You've open up my eyes! tongue.gif
yea i noticed that not many results on google, so i decided to use it myself and im quite satisfied with the result.

not sure whether csm+b is actually coined by nilocg themself as its actually Chelated Trace Element not? correct me if im wrong, and if you know any chemist, they can get the mix done for you but it will be costly. thats also the reason why i used azomite as it contains all the elements in chelated trace

too much of anything is no good bro but if its the right amount it should be ok.
Vio
post Aug 17 2017, 04:24 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(SMH @ Aug 17 2017, 04:15 PM)
Now thats interesting! Finally someone locally tried that! rclxms.gif

whats the dosage you use? do you dilute with RO first or just pour in the dry powder? Frequency of dosing? how big is your tank? Need to further dose Iron?
erm i use a small pinch only.. didnt dilute with ro water.. i put the azomite on the little filter pad of my fluval c2 where the cover sits on top of the bio media. i use it like once per month, 2ft tank didnt dose any iron, using osmocote plus as root tabs and i did bury a few azomite filled capsules.
Vio
post Sep 19 2017, 09:57 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Sep 19 2017, 09:35 AM)
Guys, since I am using for small fish nd fry. Any suggestion how to block the filter intake? Any sponge from supermarket will do? Was trying to get from my local shop yesterday, the Tauke told me any sponge will do...
use sponge then cover with another layer of pantyhose (available at Daiso), secure with cable tie

This post has been edited by Vio: Sep 19 2017, 09:57 AM
Vio
post Sep 19 2017, 10:46 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Sep 19 2017, 10:21 AM)
Saw in forum that suggested just cut a X in the middle of sponge then just fit it into your filter intake... Workable?
yup but not sure how small are you fish fries . i cover mine with another layer because i've witnessed my baby shrimps getting sucked in.
Vio
post Sep 20 2017, 05:26 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Sep 20 2017, 03:20 PM)
3rd day now, I think my otos din eat anything but just non stop sucking my glass...
I introduced Cucumber.. and i dun see they are eating that... Any suggestion? Thanks
spirulina tablets
Vio
post Sep 21 2017, 08:27 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Sep 20 2017, 05:46 PM)
Serious? Normal spirulina tablet?
yes bro, or you can get the cheaper alternative from ebay
Vio
post Oct 16 2019, 12:43 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(N900rocks @ Oct 16 2019, 12:25 PM)
thanks mate! i asked for a customize one in china, 45x40x45 cost about rm250 only. but ofcoz excluding delivery fees yet. haha
Use other forwarder then you won't have issue with shipping your tank over
Vio
post May 6 2021, 04:38 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(blizzardcarl92 @ Apr 12 2021, 05:09 PM)
hello! does anyone knows where to get this solenoid valve? regulator bought from fish depot but asked they this model discontinued. was also wondering if a separate solenoid valve brand can be compatible to this regulator? do you guys have this experience?

using same brand, similar solenoid, after 4 years using got to replaced, bought from here but malfunction after i think less than a year, so i ordered 1 from taobao which was much cheaper, havent used yet as i bought a mufan while waiting for the taobao 1 to arrived back then.

so my take on this is, would be better to just get a brand new 1 as there are many cheaper alternatives these days

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.1484sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:35 AM