Cat Lovers V7 ^_^, Fabulous Cats & People
Oct 16 2017, 01:22 PM
496 posts Joined: Nov 2016 From: KUL | PEK |
hi all. just picked up a tortiseshell kitty from SPCA. after long time trying to convince the wife. she finally gave in hahah. so nice to see the little fella run around. hope she stays healthy.
Oct 16 2017, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 16 2017, 02:05 PM) thank you for adopting yeah. my family always pick up cats before and bela. so i dont like those orang atas cats hahah. strays and those from shelters are for me! hahah. now spca doesnt accept stray animal anymore... many years ago still can send in abandoned cats with some donation... i think they have too many animals there kot. so they dont take in strays anymore. hope more people can adopt. a lot of gentle cats there. many are between 1-3yo. not many kittens. many dogs too, but big dogs i think will be hard for people to adopt. if those interested. it was RM150 for normal cat breeds. (incl neuter, deworming, and 3 vaccinations). bring a cat carrier. i bought one on site at RM70, which is relatively good price (Nilufar same size was RM90). seems they are feeding royal canin food, so i bought that at nilufar, a bit pricy, but i guess its a good brand. better to keep him on same diet for now. we will see later how. for more atas breeds (persian, bengal, etc.) i think was RM250. dunno why... maybe just a way to extra donation? anyways. RM5 to go in to take a look and play with the animals. they alls o friendly. |
Oct 16 2017, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 16 2017, 02:29 PM) maybe RC donates to spca.. yeah. i think they do, because they also give free RC bowl and 2 pack of food and starter pack. im trying to claim 1 free bag of food. even today went to another pet store seems different price. if we continue her on RC, then i think ill start looking online on lazada for discount or voucher. then maybe can get for 20% cheaper. this type of thing, buy a lot also not really worried hahah.RC is not cheap.. I have been browsing pet shops around klang valley for the past few months, since i have adopted a kitty, and prices of food does vary alot from shop to shop... and I also found out when talking to pet food distributor @ the recent expo kucing.. many food are actually not that expensive, but the distributors are controlling the prices... and they dont want shops to simply mark down their products.. makes it look cheap.. so if any of you guys found out a shop that sells a brand that is much lower.. please dont go tell other shops, and don't tell the distributor.. the shop are actually giving us consumer a generous discount. |
Oct 16 2017, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 16 2017, 03:18 PM) which RC are you planning to feed? hahahah. im currently feeding the kitten one (2nd stage) or whatever its called. after this bag finish (and hopefully second free bag from RC) then will see what food to move on to. i guess for kitten, they need more fat right? since they are much more active. but i guess need to match personality and food type. when i go pet shop i ask just to see how low can i find the price.. i find that most cat food, they tend to put alot fat , ie fat content is on the high side, like over 15%, maybe it is purposely done, cos most cats are indoors and dont get exercise alot, so when the cat gets fat, the owner will wana look for low fat food, and the low fat food is always priced much more expensive than high fat food.. n tht seems to be @&^%(& ridiculous , cant they reduce the fat in the first place? you feed your cat other food? like cooked chicken or fish? |
Oct 16 2017, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 16 2017, 04:45 PM) I'm referring to adult cat food, not kitten food. oh the RC one is for up to 1 year so i just beli. haha. but i guess after i finish what stock i got, will need to survey for other types. but yeah. if 13.75/kg that is quite reasonable. will look forward to your review.kitten food is high fat yes, but i think when the kitty is over 6mths if still continue on kitten food, and it gets fat, after neuter, the fat will tend to stay on.. well i would like to feed my cat home cooked food, as it is the best way, but i think kibble is cheaper in the long run and more time saving.. currently feeding the kitty brit adult salmon.. after surveying to check which food is most berbaloi .. when buy 8kg, the brit price is 13.75RM per KG which is not very bad, and looking at the ingredient is not that bad as well. .. later i will post, what i think about cat food price and the ingredient.. |
Oct 17 2017, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(scsoo @ Oct 17 2017, 10:35 AM) RC is one of the sponsor of SPCA, as such think SPCA need to hand out RC starter kit and think would suggest adopter to register also with RC. Think RC is doing this as community service, giving adopter some support with free food or such. In addition it gain RC good marketing and good corporate image as well. yeah on their site, SPCA sponsored by 2-3 food companies. i guess they will alternate depending on requirements of an animal. and if not enough, will use whatever is donated as well. its good marketing for them as people would like to continue the same food at least initially.SPCA think would also received some sort of returns from RC on every RC Starter Kit handed out, maybe more RC food to SPCA. This will greatly help SPCA as feeding so many mouth there. Beside RC, notice SPCA do mix up whatever cat food available to them. Saw some PowerCat the last time I visit. Many mouth to feed and not enough to go around, so those that can do support by giving donation to SPCA... |
Oct 17 2017, 11:25 AM
see many on the FB complain they stopped taking strays even if donation is given. it makes sense lah. if too many then how to cope. have to house them and feed them. in the end stuff them all together then complain not proper care given lah abuse lah. cant please everyone. what i can say after my visit is that its a nice place and animals in good condition.
Oct 22 2017, 01:26 AM
QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Oct 22 2017, 01:04 AM) Is that really possible to adopt Bengal for only RM250? as far as I know people don't send rare exotic breeds of cats to animal shelters just like that. even for plain looking Persian/British Shorthair/Scottish Fold they usually sold for at least RM500-RM1000 or maybe more i dunno. thats what the guy said. if you are lucky, then possible i guess. my friend had a litter of bengal and just give away to people who want to adopt as that litter no one purchase. so maybe some people maybe just dump at spca instead of putting more effort? cause to neuter your purebreed also a bit kesian haha. |
Oct 22 2017, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(gotgiant @ Oct 22 2017, 10:36 AM) any tips for 1st time to adopt fully indoor cat in a small flat. maintenance for cat:i live alone. what is the monthly maintenance cost for 1 kitten(cat) do small kitten need cat tree to scratch? hutazi and what is the procedure to adopt cat from spca. can we choose the cat breed? Food: Around 40-80 depending on food quality. Whiskas cheapest. Cat Litter: Around 20-30 per month. 1 time costs: Cat toys: RM5-50 Cat Litter box: 20-40 depend on size. Cat carrier: 50-100 depend on size (can borrow from friends i guess) Best to have cat tree, but not vital. they will scratch carpet or sofa. hahah. mine loves the cheap RM4 ikea bathroom mat. so we didnt get a tower yet. but got a small scratching post in the meantime. he also doesnt layan.. for spca. just go there (TUESDAY-SUNDAY 10am-4pm). give RM5 donation and then they allow you to walk around. then you just cari lah. if you find the cat/dog you want, just tell the person there and they will assist you. RM150 for normal mixed breed will cover neuter, 3 vaccination and 3 deworming. you can choose whatever cat is there. no bookings. so if someone brought in persian/bengal then you can adopt lah. but RM250 for breed. alternatively you can check out petfinder to look. but at SPCA at least can play with the cats and decide. This post has been edited by hutazi: Oct 22 2017, 05:04 PM |
Oct 22 2017, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(gotgiant @ Oct 22 2017, 06:09 PM) \ i leave my cat in the guest toilet at night when i sleep or no one home. janji got airflow. if open window make sure they cant get out. got some nice cats there. can swing by. give them a chance. no need pure breed or whatever. just find a cute cat you can support. i picked up a comot cat which wasnt popular. such a charming sweet cat. i never raise breed cats cause they so damn needy. thank you is there any beautiful breed in spca i live in a small apartment.. can i keep my kitten/cat in the toilet while im off to work for 8-9 hours of course i will leave food and drink and litter box i dont think i can fit cage tier in my house |
Oct 22 2017, 07:07 PM
Oct 22 2017, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Oct 22 2017, 07:09 PM) oh lucky to those who got the kitten. ^^ Bengal usually can cost up to 5k-8k in the market now,depends on the coat patterns. but I have read that some owners neutered their Scottish Fold and Maine Coone. mainly because they cannot take care of too many kittens. yeah lah. but bengal is damn wild. thats why i didnt take. sure climb the curtains and stuff. Last month I found a stray with his right eye injured at our backyard. brought him to the clinic to treat the wound and get dewormed everything,now the fella is safely at home with my friend,who willing to take him in. happy ending. we have no plan to adopt cat right now,already have one here. damn headache sometimes because he's not into socializing much. only mind his own business but when it comes to food,he's the king. QUOTE(gotgiant @ Oct 22 2017, 07:13 PM) i think only for dogs. |
Oct 22 2017, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(gotgiant @ Oct 22 2017, 08:26 PM) are you new in adopting cat?? been raising adopted cats since young. normal in our family. can share some tips? planning to get cat/kitten from spca or paws maybe end of this month the fee is including with deworm and neutered? how you cope with shedding? how you cope with smelly feces. you cat totally indoor cat? will cat will destroy my cloth hanging openly thank you the fee is including with deworm and neutered? yup. neuter, deworm (3x), vaccination (3x) how you cope with shedding? need to comb. but if short hair still ok. long hair shed a lot. how you cope with smelly feces. you clean everyday lah. other ways is to buy the enclosed litter tray. you cat totally indoor cat? yup. will cat will destroy my cloth hanging openly. nope. just give them other toys. |
Oct 31 2017, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(skystrike @ Oct 31 2017, 10:52 AM) i have problem with my cat...she sometimes poop inside litter box & sometimes poop outside litter box on the floor...so far she never pee outside litter box.. on purpose? i kena once cause cat standing inside box but crap outside of the box.... tak perasan kot...how to solve the issue? |
Nov 13 2017, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(AveoHzq @ Nov 13 2017, 12:42 PM) Having 9 cats now, (6 offspring from a pair) and spending about RM 400 on food/litter alone. I think thats a bit on the high side no? Not including visit to the vet! ...How do people with lots of cats do it more economically? Any tips & tricks? i guess cheapest way is buy whiskas in bulk bags. also buy cat sand in bulk. for vet, go to govt vet. can also mix their food with rice which also lower cost. not practical to raise 9 cats unless you have a large space though... also not good for your health if no purifier or good ventilation in the home. |
Nov 15 2017, 01:29 PM
Nov 16 2017, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(hestati @ Nov 16 2017, 03:01 PM) We found a cat yesterday, male, maybe 3 month old. Gave some food and now he lives near our house (we have a big indoor cat too). never use anti flea collar.Kitten is healthy but I want to get rid of flea and ear mites. What do you recommend? Considering he will be street cat, once we get rid of flea, do you recommend anti flea collar? Do you recommend frontline for flea and something else for ears? Where to buy? Thanks! |
Nov 17 2017, 04:48 PM
Nov 28 2017, 09:46 AM
Dec 4 2017, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(scsoo @ Dec 4 2017, 12:23 AM) Saw a blue eye Siamese cat at SPCA Ampang today. Don't know how long it will be there. It's not at the main Cattery but can be said hidden away. As due to the no photography rules there I cannot provide evidence and they are also secretive about it. Believe there are a few nice breed there and can be said not at the public displayed area. Dont know why the secret secret about these.... yes. they do have nice cats. the back lane of the spca thing i think is for cats who have been neutered recently. thats where i got my cat. also check out petfinder. many pretty cats out there. |
| Change to: | 0.0846sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:08 AM |