SUSgogo2
post Jan 31 2015, 08:26 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jan 31 2015, 08:15 PM)
hope a driver fix will come out soon to reduce stuttering
You didn't read the latest news saying nVidia won't come out with any fix regarding GTX970?

Here is the official statement from nVidia regarding driver:-
I realize I made it sound like there was a special patch or something and that is definitely not the case.
PeterS@NVIDIA

SUSgogo2
post Feb 1 2015, 02:07 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

1. The l2 cache is shared. Although they can access the same time but the l2 cache will be full faster than other l2 cache
2. Due to issue 1, the fast 0.5gb will be slowed by the slow 0.5gb due to fulled l2 cache.
3. Although they said access to l2 cache is simultaneous, but the path to crossbar is shared. So the effective still 3.5GBP
4. Any game optimize for 4gb card, gtx970 need to reduce setting.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 2 2015, 10:38 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Feb 2 2015, 10:31 AM)
Then you should lower the texture settings in the game to make sure you never use more than 3.5GB VRAM. Also don't use MSAA because it eats up VRAM as well. As long as it is under 3.5GB VRAM usage it is fine.
I think joellim bought an 4GB card. Oh wai...
SUSgogo2
post Feb 3 2015, 11:36 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 3 2015, 10:43 PM)
Money is subjective bro. When a 970 can be gotten for RM1.3k new and the cheapest 980 is RM1.9k, that's RM600 worth of difference. 7-10 extra frames isn't worth RM600 IMHO.The 980 will also have better frametimes at over 3.5GB VRAM usage, but again... it's not RM600 better.
U didn't read in full. The 970 in discussion cost rm16xx

SUSgogo2
post Feb 5 2015, 11:03 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

From GIGABYTE:-

Dear customer,

Thank you for your patience regarding the recent GTX 970 complaint, GIGABYTE is still working with NVIDIA regarding this matter. But we do understand this may be a lengthy process, GIGABTYE has decided to offer a paid upgrade program for customers who are interested in moving up to the GTX 980.

The two model we are offering for the upgrade options are GV-N980G1 GAMING-4GD and GV-N980WF3OC-4GD. For customers who are interested in the upgrades, please provide a copy of the original purchase invoice, serial number, shipping information and the model you are interested. Once we received the information we will reply back with a price difference and how to proceed with the upgrade.

Thank you for choosing GIGABYTE.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 5 2015, 12:05 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(runearthus @ Feb 5 2015, 11:28 AM)
Any word from ASUS?
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 5 2015, 12:01 PM)
Any follow up on how much their paid upgrade offer is?
Not sure if Gigabyte Malaysia will be doing the same thing.

https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/80...to-their-980s-/
SUSgogo2
post Feb 5 2015, 01:51 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 5 2015, 12:13 PM)
Hmmm. I contacted MSI Malaysia and they say they are not planning on any refund or upgrade program either, at least not right now.
http://www.kitguru.net/components/graphic-...x-970-adapters/

Andrew “Gibbo” Gibson, purchasing manager at Overclockers UK, said that multiple graphics cards makers decided to support OcUK in terms of accepting returns. In particular, EVGA, Inno3D, KFA2 (formerly Galax), MicroStar International, Palit Microsystems and Zotac have officially confirmed plans to take the graphics cards back.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 6 2015, 02:04 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Feb 6 2015, 01:57 PM)
tried my luck and this is what i got , im not sure who distributes zotac here, hope lazada will give me the contact details, but im trying to get zotac to acknowledge part return then i can see the distributor. If zotac says no problem the nothing will move.
Zotac punya cerita

sweat.gif
Seems like Lazada didn't reply you Adam.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2853005/all

Sole Distributor for Malaysia
012-654 9166
+60 3-5880 5552.
Block H-10-4, Setia Walk,
Selangor, Malaysia
47100 Puchong

Email: sales@cyntrixtech.com (Dealers only)
Email: rma@cyntrixtech.com

This post has been edited by gogo2: Feb 6 2015, 02:05 PM
SUSgogo2
post Feb 8 2015, 09:38 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ Feb 8 2015, 09:11 PM)
Curious here, does anyone own a graphic card more than 3 years and still functional till today?
Yeah my HD5850 still works after 6 years. Why? NVidia card don't work after 3 years? shakehead.gif
SUSgogo2
post Feb 9 2015, 01:20 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(zizi393 @ Feb 9 2015, 01:08 PM)
970 is not highest end. Titan is. Never settle for less if you really serious into going ultra everything. better to collect money and get the best. Shadow of Mordor came with preset setting on different GFX. they auto detect best setting for it. If you change those means U are going beyond the card limit. Even played ultra for AC4 BF.

Back to topic of misinformation yes I believe NVIDIA is at fault for not doing proper test or intentionally misled consumer. I believe this case is as car recall they should just recall all the 970 and come out with new hardware config which reflect the 4gb.
Not only that, nVidia also said that customer happy with GTX970, and thus the low 5% return rate (due to the 3.5GB VRAM) for GTX970. This is again misinformation and somewhat lies because nVidia does not tell manufacturer/retail to accept return.

Without letting customer to return, and the forced return rate is still 5% reflected quite badly on nVidia.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 9 2015, 06:55 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 9 2015, 06:17 PM)
Just look at the titan/780/780ti/980 cooler.

It looks good. It reaffirms before you test it out atleast " Money Well Spent" kindda feeling.

Its the same as going to Massage Parlor ahem getting a HJ for RM50 from Pro Auntie and going to another with Miss Universe for RM150.
So if this anecdote is simple.. why isnt buying gpu the same..
ATI is the former while Nvidia is the later

Look at phones. Apple led in the beginning with design and ask for a premium and still do lol... Android came in with crappy looking phones. Phones now are packaged like iphones. Android kicked apple butt. No more bulky huge boxes.

Its one of the reasons why EVGA / Asus excels at for a long time and now even their low/mid end etc all gets good packaging. Gaygay ( Actually got a warning in OCN for calling gigabyte Gaygay..) has totally revamped itself realizing this. Ppl will pay for it.

Spending money for design and packaging matters.

In that respect i will still recommend the 970 over 290x any day.

btw the full maxwell has a lot of work to do to satisfy the enthusiast level. Everybody is waiting for 4k to be dominated with dual cards at min 60fps with everything turned up. This is no small feat.

Current offerings overclock does it for 1440p. ure gonna need 2.25x the performance of these cards to achieve that. Thats no joke.

signing off.. Gee posted a lot today while waiting for waifu at airport. But this the whole hearted truth on how i feel about ati.
You know the feeling you tell ureself you will never want to be conned/scam again.... thats the reason why i dont buy ati anymore and i doubt they will change.
WARNING!!! FANBOY detected.

If you buy R9 290X Lightning Edition, you'll get great packaging. Packaging has nothing to do with ATI. Asus also got ATI card. I'm not sure why you blame ATI for packaging. LOL...

SUSgogo2
post Feb 9 2015, 07:54 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ Feb 9 2015, 07:40 PM)
Crossing fingers Direct x 12 will dramatically improve our performance.
I think it will. If you SLI it, you might get 7GB instead of 3.5GB.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 9 2015, 08:29 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 9 2015, 08:03 PM)
ONLY if games uses it. DX12 does not automatically turn all SLI configs into a single card seen by the system.
True also. I assume most AAA will support since DX12 is available on both nVidia and AMD.

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 9 2015, 08:12 PM)
Ignorant person detected.Been buying cards for a ling time.  If we wanna talk about cards then be it about reference card as the manufacturer intends to sells it. Reference cards.  If anything goes then ln2 will come in play. Buy the top end cards from both camp n till then you wont understand.
Yes, I'm ignorant because I ignore reference card. Most of the time reference card are bare essential. Non-reference card will have more FPS, better cooling and more VRM. thumbup.gif
SUSgogo2
post Feb 21 2015, 07:31 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Feb 21 2015, 02:57 PM)
yup just ordered mine guess will arrive late CNY belum habis  cry.gif , i play mainly on 1080p so i guess 960 is enuf for me for now, just have to wait for upcoming fully baked maxwell's  thumbup.gif .

No offence to amd owners 290x is certainly a good buy if compared to gtx970 in terms of memory size and brute force  notworthy.gif  , i have used that card keeps getting too hot until rma, bought a 970 nggredia con me 500mb of vram (terus kansel plan to buy higher res monitor), since now stuck at 1080p might just buy a 960.
gtx960 is the worst nvidia product with 128bit vram. All nvidia fanboy decided to boycott it. Not sure why you are buying it.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 21 2015, 07:57 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Feb 21 2015, 07:34 PM)
eh i think if your casual gamer that game on 1080p And dun mind set game setting medium, GTX 960 for RM800 is good buy.. or go R9 280X hmm  hmm.gif
It is all about spec. 128bit is just pathetic.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 21 2015, 08:57 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(GKilla @ Feb 21 2015, 08:08 PM)
Luckily you mentioned, cos i didn't research much on the specification. biggrin.gif
Nvidia is just too greedy
SUSgogo2
post Feb 21 2015, 10:31 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Feb 21 2015, 10:10 PM)
Ayam confused. How come 128-bit still on par with some 256-bit and 384-bit cards? hmm.gif

http://www.techpowerup.com/mobile/reviews/..._Gaming/28.html
Benchmark don't tell all the story. Case in point, GTX970 stutterfest.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 22 2015, 12:31 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Feb 21 2015, 10:37 PM)
Details pls. Else don't generalize everything to be similar with GTX 970. Different GPU, different configuration. Mana sama?
The detail is that it has 128 bit vram.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 22 2015, 12:59 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Feb 22 2015, 09:23 AM)
GTX960 destroyed GTX280 with 512bit bus memory. Why is that? laugh.gif
Not an apple orange comparison. nVidia purposely cripple gtx960.

QUOTE(S4PH @ Feb 22 2015, 10:32 AM)
Bro its like comparing a 1.2tsi engine to a 1.5l n.a engine, the 1.2tsi can pawn the 1.5l anytime. Higher c.c engine does not mean power and efficiency.

Sorry I'm bringing engines as comparison
Yeah, but I am comparing bandwidth also. Its quite low.

Benchmark is cheating because nVidia have optimized the driver to do compression. In real life, compression is less efficient causing GTX 960 to be way slower compared to benchmark FPS.

GTX960 is doomed. It will not sell. Unless some gamer are too blind to see the terrible bandwidth it has.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 22 2015, 02:04 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Feb 22 2015, 01:33 PM)
It is the same like GTX 680 low memory bandwidth. But just like GTX 680, the true core of Maxwell is not with 960, 970 and 980 series. It will be the full fat maxwell with big memory bandwidth too like the 780 & 780 Ti.
Yeah but looking at the bandwidth is pretty sad. The compression help in certain condition. Just like in certain condition, GTX970 is ok with 3.5GB. But will be stutterfest when there is usage between 3.5gb and 4gb.

NVidia totally cripple memory of maxwell for stuff below GTX980. That explain the price.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0433sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:13 PM