u did good.bnm closing 3.8140/3.8160.
cimb now showing buying 3.8205.
ringgit Malaysia drop , how to I change my RM to USD
Jul 27 2015, 10:20 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,456 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Jul 28 2015, 09:19 AM
QUOTE Sectors | Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:00pm BST Keeping calm: Malaysia lets ringgit fall below 1998-2005 peg GRAPHIC: Ringgit, reserves: link.reuters.com/byg35w By Emily Chow and Yantoultra Ngui KUALA LUMPUR, July 28 (Reuters) - For the past three weeks, Malaysian authorities have allowed the ringgit to trade below levels that in 1998 prompted them to impose a dollar peg and capital controls. Economists expect more downside, with the Federal Reserve set to raise U.S. interest rates. The ringgit has traded around 3.81 per dollar since July 6, exceeding the 3.80 level of the peg set by the government between 1998 and 2005. Economists warn against intervention to shore up the ringgit, as Malaysia's international reserves have already dropped to near five-year lows of $100.5 billion, data released by the central bank last week shows. While that is sufficient to fund 7.9 months of retained imports, it is just 1.1 times short-term external debt. The ringgit has fallen against the dollar since the third quarter of last year as weak energy prices threaten Malaysia's oil-and-gas revenues. Political uncertainty arising from the investigations surrounding debt-laden state fund 1Malaysia Development Bhd has further hurt sentiment. Foreign investors were net sellers of shares on the Malaysian bourse for 13 weeks until July 24. The central bank's governor said in January - when the ringgit was around 3.550 per dollar - that the authority had "moved on" from using controls to manage capital flows. The ringgit has declined 5.1 percent since then. A U.S. interest rate hike this year would spur further capital outflows from emerging markets such as Malaysia, pressuring the currency. "You can try to stabilise the ringgit, but ultimately I don't think it can stand the correction," said Chua Hak Bin, Singapore-based head of emerging Asia economics at Bank of America Merrill Lynch. "The ringgit will have to adjust to whatever new equilibrium... we are forecasting the ringgit to weaken to 3.86 by end-2015 and 4.05 by end-2016 against the dollar." (Editing by Ryan Woo) http://uk.reuters.com/article/2015/07/27/m...N1042T820150727 This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 28 2015, 09:19 AM |
Jul 30 2015, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 30 2015, 08:41 PM) usd (and by default, the rmb) keep rising, for reasons we already know.if rm "pegged" at 3.81, it will rise against all other currencies too, incl the mighty yen... and euro. oil price falling, there's nothing to "hike" the rm... still want it on par/rise against the 4 biggest economy currencies? very disastrous if it falls off a cliff! jeti does not matter more than jeep. expect 3.85 next stop. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 30 2015, 09:31 PM |
Jul 31 2015, 05:30 AM
tricky job for bnm...
QUOTE Bank Negara grips ringgit tightly as troubles mount Protecting the ringgit from political fallout may end up costing Malaysia more than any bailout for the debt-ridden 1MDB state fund, given the rate at which the central bank has been using its reserves in recent weeks. http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/306780 |
Jul 31 2015, 03:41 PM
see the "great intervention" at 3.20pm?
http://www.bloomberg.com/quote/USDMYR:CUR today's high was 3.8405. will be hard to hold... |
Jul 31 2015, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jul 31 2015, 04:54 PM) Bank Negara stemming the decline of the ringgit “The key to watch now is the potential outflow from ringgit-denominated bonds,” Andy Ji, a currency strategist at the Commonwealth Bank of Australia in Singapore, said.http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...line/?style=biz How long can Zeti hold on? so, watch this space: http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?tpl=govtsecuritiesyield |
Aug 1 2015, 10:31 AM
Aug 1 2015, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(hangus @ Aug 1 2015, 04:44 PM) My conclusion is that Malaysia will go through a mild recession over the coming years. However, there won't be a major crash in the stock market or house price as predicted by some. Let's just be optimistic about the economy and MYR value. Remember, US creates one of the biggest financial crisis in the world when nobody is expecting it to come. Now that everybody is expecting Malaysia's to slump, how likely is it to happen? what if there is a global stocks/financial crash? a bigger china crash?can msia hold well? |
Aug 2 2015, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 1 2015, 10:02 PM) 1. Fiscal deficit - during that time, Malaysia actually had budget surplus, instead of deficit currently. do you see a chance in the next yr or 2 this deficit will be reduced?2. As a result fiscal debt continously, Gov debt is at elevated level as compared, now is about 54% of GDP. From 1990 to 1998, Gov debt was steady across around 100B From 1998 to 2008, debt grew to around 200~300B Now, about 500B. So there is need to rectify the fiscal deficit situation. i see it growing even faster - sustained low oil price, ge14 preparations coming. QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Aug 1 2015, 10:17 PM) From what I see, most average Malaysians have no way to hedge against this situation. Most average people already struggle with low salaries, inflation caused by GST & try making ends meet; let alone thinking of opening foreign currency account in overseas. the hardest hit ones are the older mid-low wage workers or retirees with small savings who don't get any help incl br1m.QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 2 2015, 09:55 AM) actually, alto the rm is the worst performing currency in asia in 2014 and 2015 so far, it is not as bad as some others elsewhere.considering the state of the currencies of similar commodity exporting nations with corruption and governance problems like brazil and turkey, it probably does not take a global meltdown to bring the rm to that level. QUOTE(Marine Boy @ Aug 2 2015, 10:53 AM) I started reading this forum. What amused me is that Malaysia don't have anything thing to peg USD at 3.80 considering oil revenue was drastically reduced. Nothing to peg that was an old post form 6 mths ago. i think at that time, it was still widely thought that if a peg worked before, it can work again.but of course, we know it is costly, risky and proven disastrous in many other cases. the last 2 weeks... just my observation..., it seems bnm's been intervening to "peg" the rm not to the usd, but the sgd at 2.78. singapore is msia's 2nd largest trading partner, #1 being china (rmb pegged to usd) and usa #3. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 2 2015, 12:11 PM |
Aug 2 2015, 11:59 AM
7 months passed since this thread started.
so much has happened since then. educational and fun reading back the posts of 6 months ago, incl the various "predictions". to recap: early jan 2015 crude price usd 48.00 rm/usd 3.56x fx reserves usd112 bil 1mdb: not much known, confusion bnm no action overall rm expectations: can recover quickly, "3.73 max" aug 2, 2015 crude price usd 46.78 rm/usd 3.831 fx reserves usd 100 bil 1mdb: u already know bnm intervention since june 2015 overall expectations: ? http://www.bloomberg.com/quote/USDMYR:CUR http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...of-intervention http://www.tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/f...change-reserves big question now is what happens next, by year end, next year...? the rm issue is a major one as it affects everyone's wallet. keep sharing your thoughts, facts and other info! This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 2 2015, 12:32 PM |
Aug 2 2015, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 2 2015, 04:05 PM) It is not about a chance, but must pare down the deficit situation, if not, Greece is the classic lesson to be learned that why need to pare down the deficit situation fast. i surely hope u will be right about what the powerful ones will do in the next couple of years with gst and prudent spending!With GST collection is expected to beyond expectation, fiscal deficit should go down further but it needs to couple with prudent spending for the future as well. |
Aug 3 2015, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(my44 @ Aug 3 2015, 02:39 PM) I went to buy some USD at this penggurup in Tesco Cheras for my Sept oversea trip. it crossed 3.85 at 12.15pm.My rate was 3.84 and the LCD screen changed to 3.85 while we were still counting money. Luckily the penggurup still honor the "old" rate of 3.84 Apa suddaaa jadi dgn Malaysia aku pun dah pening. highest was 3.8577. http://www.bloomberg.com/quote/USDMYR:CUR |
Aug 3 2015, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 3 2015, 03:59 PM) think they know "resistance is futile", so they say. QUOTE Malaysia’s ringgit takes a wild ride Malaysia's currency, already under pressure from a political scandal and the oil price drop, really fell out of bed Monday, with the ringgit falling nearly 1 percent. The central bank, Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM), has been intervening in the market to support the currency, but analysts said those efforts may be stumbling. "(The central bank) can't hold the level of the currency where it is, given that their reserves have been declining. Now maybe they're starting to throw the towel," Khoon Goh, senior foreign-exchange strategist at ANZ, told CNBC Monday, noting he hadn't expected the currency to hit the 3.85-handle until next year. http://www.cnbc.com/2015/08/03/malaysias-r...-wild-ride.html usd 3.8518 at 5pm. http://www.bloomberg.com/markets/currencies/asia-pacific sgd also 2.80. but... idr, krw and twd gained vs usd today. we wait for wed's report: QUOTE Finally, Malaysia's June foreign trade report Wednesday could draw some attention after data last week showed the county's foreign exchange reserves fell to a five-year low and in danger of sliding below the psychological $100 billion level. Moody's Analytics expects the trade surplus narrowed to 4.5 billion ringgit (around $1.18 billion), from 5.5 billion ringgit the previous month, given continued declines in energy prices. Malaysia is a net energy-exporting economy. With the ringgit trading at seventeen-year lows, that's also putting upward pressure on its import bill, the firm added. http://www.cnbc.com/2015/08/02/week-ahead-...-will-ease.html This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 3 2015, 05:35 PM |
Aug 3 2015, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 3 2015, 05:58 PM) Yeah,.. haha,.. thet's my observation too,...I wonder why peg against the SGD ? Isnt the USD more threatening against the RM ??? Trying to peg this and that and running out of bullets,.... Next : when report of foreign reserves are out, and percentage of Debt to GDP is out, the ratings agencies will downgrade Msia. Afrer this, RM will drop further, making the snowball effect ! THEN : nobody wants to sell food to Msia anymore. That's the finale,... and you and I will finally FEEL IT. even the sgd strengthened from 2.78 to 2.8 today!QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 3 2015, 06:02 PM) well, i think i have asked twice in this thread, "name one major thing that will help strengthen the rm".the only right answer i read in all the posts was GST. yeah, u get flimsy answers like increased exports and increase tourist $... but the data shows otherwise. the rm problem is due to very bad politics driving bad economics. keep supporting the bad politics, you will get worse economics. msians can be blind and deaf but foreign investors and foreign bond holders are not. please debunk me with good arguments and data. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 3 2015, 06:16 PM |
Aug 3 2015, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 3 2015, 06:20 PM) "minor"... i can't imagine of "major"!QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 3 2015, 06:29 PM) This low RM benefits tourist and export is brought up by the BN Macai netmask. Just showed how low level the macai come up with the argument sad, but i learn to accept these low levels need to live without brains.now, there is another punch coming - crude may go from 46 to 40. |
Aug 3 2015, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 3 2015, 11:08 PM) which is why central should not peg or intervene!thailand, venezuela, britain, germany and russia have seen it all. http://www.quora.com/What-are-some-example...-a-currency-peg if yr fundamentals are really good, there is no fear, unless those fundamentals are not that fundamental. |
Aug 4 2015, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 4 2015, 11:28 AM) But Euro, Aud and Sgd have their own issues. Euro is printing money. Aud prospect depend on china which is gloomy and they may cut rates further. Sgd GDP is in minus territory. when it involve unknowns and therefore risks, it surely is a gamble! To me, it is a gamble that could go both ways my take is aud is the one to avoid; looking like falling further. few reasons for this one to appr until their iron ore sales to china increase again. further int rate cuts is possible. QUOTE "RBA policymakers have made clear they can ease policy further if data were to deteriorate again and, with commodity prices lower and short AUD positioning not yet stretched, even subtle shifts in a dovish direction would likely add to pressure on the AUD," analysts at BNP Paribas wrote in a report. "We expect AUDUSD to trade down to test 0.70 this year." http://www.cnbc.com/2015/08/03/commodity-c...marks-time.html usd strength will continue until we see the first rate hike in sep or dec. it is the expectation of this that is driving the $ bulls. if by year end there is no hike, it may be seen as the fed is unconvinced it is time to hike; the $ bulls will retreat, i believe. so, between now and dec, i expect the $ to stay strong. sgd is probably the best overall bet. mas may let it float around a wider band but has enough muscle to keep it to an an optimal level for sg economy like it always does. i see this one depr marginally with usd but will gain on the rm for a long time. happy buying or selling foreign currencies! |
Aug 4 2015, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 4 2015, 12:00 PM) But cybermaster has a point. US$ cannot appreciate indefinitely. There must be a limit until their economy will be hurt. of course it cannot go up forever.http://www.nytimes.com/2015/07/08/business...-down.html?_r=0 But at the moment, I agree with you. US$ and S$ still the best bet there'll come a time when the $ bulls will take profit and dump. question is what signs and when. not for the next few months, imo. remember oil price is denominated in usd. as long as global oil supply-demand is such that price stays low and it looks like it for next "few" years, it does not help in weakening the usd. it will be bizzare to see low oil price with weak usd. |
Aug 5 2015, 09:52 AM
Aug 5 2015, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 5 2015, 07:19 PM) Ringgit ends lower against US dollar still declining, now 3.8825.http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...llar/?style=biz 1.00 USD = 3.88215 MYR After closing, drop further for the record: QUOTE Malaysia's trade surplus rose to a 5-month high in June, at MYR8.0bn, improving sharply from the MYR5.5bn in May. Exports unexpectedly rose 5.0% y/y in June, largely on the back of strong increases in electronics (13.5% y/y) and palm oil shipments (21.6% y/y). Imports, however, were soft, falling 1.5% y/y, with capital goods imports falling at the margin. This led to a rise in the trade surplus. Petroleum-related shipments continue to underperform, as LNG exports fell 45% y/y in June while refined petroleum exports were down ~10% y/y. Read more at http://www.econotimes.com/Malaysia-trade-s...dFsmcqUxjgPR.99 |
| Change to: | 0.0508sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:14 AM |