10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

AMD Radeon™ Discussion V12, Latest - 14.12 | WHQL - 14.12

terradrive
post Jun 17 2015, 01:48 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

AMD really should've priced the 390 and 390X lower and put the Fury Nano somewhere at $430-$450. Make the Fury Nano compete with GTX 980.

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jun 17 2015, 01:46 AM)
I reckon the Fury X won't beat 980Ti/Titan-X, that's why they priced them pretty low despite come wc and HBM.
A stock 290x consumed around 250-260 watts on average.

Lisa Su mentioned Fury Nano card offer 2x performance/watts compare to 290x.
The power saving doesn't come from using HBM alone btw.
They claimed Fury Nano is half the power usage of 290X and 2X performance/watt than 290X. So Fury Nano is the same performance as 290X? lol

Fury Nano might have 700-800Mhz core clock, that'll make it about the speed of 290X while dropping alot power consumption.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jun 17 2015, 01:50 AM
terradrive
post Jun 17 2015, 10:07 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Jun 17 2015, 09:33 AM)
Oh ok that's good to hear. I thought it'd be like a Hawaii or something.
Hawaii can't be designed with such a small PCB because it needs 16 GDDR5 memory for the 512 bit memory interface, not to mention the power circuits to accomodate that too.

Fiji had the HBM on the GPU packaging, so it can be made into a really small card.
terradrive
post Jun 17 2015, 11:08 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

Just installed the 15.15 driver.

Wouldn't work on my R9 290, now I had to reinstall 15.5 beta
terradrive
post Jun 17 2015, 11:24 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 17 2015, 11:22 AM)
No. No info of a new gcn.

Dude tesselation is tessalation. Dont buy into that excuse. Its like we race a drag race n then ure blaming me for winning because of insane amount of torque. My question will be.. Dude we are drag racing so expected..

So dx11 tesselation is a feature. Amd screwed up. Realism is created using that.
They mentioned that one of the three improvements they made for Fiji is micro-architectural improvements, maybe that's a new GCN version?

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jun 17 2015, 11:24 AM
terradrive
post Jun 17 2015, 03:52 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jun 17 2015, 03:10 PM)
Enough with gameworks guys, it's all AMD, Nvidia and developers fault.

Yeah FC4 4k benchmark looks good but i take it with a grain of salt because it's not from trusted reviewers.

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 17 2015, 03:12 PM)
I know you said enough with GameWorks, but ......that figure with or without GameWorks on? tongue.gif

And I guess the question of VRAM is answered: 4GB HBM only. Unless they figure out a way to compress texture or flush the texture data fast enough to compensate for that frame buffer size, expect the all-too-familiar-symtoms of running out of video RAM at 4K to happen. After all, this is targeted at 4K users right?

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 17 2015, 03:32 PM)
When people cant even take what AMD themselves say with confidence...tongue.gif
QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jun 17 2015, 03:40 PM)
Haha, just skeptical a little because they didn't show the numbers at E3 last night.
Ya mang, that interposer gonna be hot as fak.

Anyway, how do you apply thermal paste? tongue.gif
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jun 17 2015, 03:45 PM)
Take this with a grain of salt. For what we know, AMD may take the fps reading in far cry 4 village/town house (less stuff to render) instead of actual gameplay during shooting or hunting in the jungle. (Cherry picked result, AMD has track record of doing it)
I don't think it's cherry picked result, more like cherry picked game.

290X performs really well for Far Cry 4 4K at Ultra settings.
terradrive
post Jun 17 2015, 03:58 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jun 17 2015, 03:54 PM)
So.....the fact AMD uses fc4 as benchmark for 4k with results of 54 and 43........means other games will get less than 30fps?  doh.gif
4K is too overhyped, I'd rather go for 144Hz 1440p than 4K.
terradrive
post Jun 17 2015, 07:42 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jun 17 2015, 07:27 PM)
*throw my 290x*
If we consider that R9 290X is 280watts.

Then

(175/280) X 2 = 1.25 (Fury Nano 175 watts divide by 290X's 280 watt, then times 2 because Fury Nano has 2 times performance per watt of 290X)

it means Fury Nano is 25% faster than 290X!!!

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jun 17 2015, 07:45 PM
terradrive
post Jun 17 2015, 09:15 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 17 2015, 09:06 PM)
Fury prices.
3xx
Markup 25 percent. Distro already has profit of 20%.

Fury is 100% markup.
Weird, last time when my card was $450 MSRP, I managed to bought it at $478 here. Distro markup so high de meh?
terradrive
post Jun 18 2015, 10:01 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

2.2k Fury and 2.7k Fury X is a reasonable price.
terradrive
post Jun 18 2015, 11:11 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

Looked familiar? lol it's Nvidia's April fool's joke.

http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/...-new-titan-mini

AMD made it a reality laugh.gif
terradrive
post Jun 18 2015, 11:36 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ Jun 18 2015, 11:28 AM)
I feel like the 390x with the wc and 8gb may age better - could be the better card if you are the type that don't upgrade very often. Still need to see some benchies to see how these cards perform tho.
I don't think 390X have watercooler.

Better snap up those second hand R9 290/290X now since it's still cheap.
terradrive
post Jun 19 2015, 10:53 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 19 2015, 10:05 AM)
Whats the magic on 390x other than faster vram???
Its beating 980.

Although most reviews using overclocked 50mhz units.

I trust hardwarecanucks more than anybody else.

980 20-30percent lead gone.
I think it's because most reviewers still using reference 290X. It's throttling on some games while the new 390X benchmarks uses AIB cards and the clocks are maintained, no throttling.

Remember that 290X throttles even on a very low ambient temperatures of the reviewer's room, if some of the reviewer have higher ambient room temperature, it throttles even more.

Plus, faster VRAM actually adds a bit performance. I compared 3 benchmarks and some even on older game, I got performance improvements of 2 to 4 percent from moving my memory from 320GB/s to 384GB/s on 1000Mhz core clock.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jun 19 2015, 10:57 AM
terradrive
post Jun 19 2015, 07:27 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Jun 19 2015, 03:50 PM)
With 290/290X, overclocking memory doesn't boost performance much. It already have huge bandwidth anyway. The core clock will give you boost in performance. I reckon the same thing with Fiji.

FYI, you can get boost in performance in some games that love high speed memory (system RAM), e.g. BF4. So, I would make sure that covered.
I got 2-4% FPS increase by changing memory bandwidth from 320GB/s to 384GB/s

Only on games that stress the GPU.
terradrive
post Jun 19 2015, 07:29 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 19 2015, 04:35 PM)
Dude thr core clock was oced like 5 percent. But it killed of the previous lead of 30percent 980 had.
Try looked at the tomshardware review of 390X. They put an oced watercooled 290X too to compare and not much difference between 290X and 390X, and the reference 290X lags behind. Also interesting is they compared it to stock overclocked cards such as MSI GTX 980.
terradrive
post Jun 19 2015, 11:34 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(Desprado @ Jun 19 2015, 10:14 PM)
Maxwell is a overclock beast.
Without vcore setting my MSI GTX 980 hits 1522MHZ and memory clock is 7900MHZ.
Hmm so the review sample probably did 1500Mhz too

They should've clock the 390X at 1200Mhz core & 1600Mhz memory to compare

Plus 390X isn't good in value, 390 is much better, but nobody really reviews it.

And don't forget Fury Nano will be put around the MSRP on GTX 980 now, and it's definitely faster than 290X by around 25%

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jun 19 2015, 11:36 PM
terradrive
post Jun 20 2015, 11:36 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 20 2015, 11:17 AM)
tdp dude.

a lot of ppl dont seem to understand tdp. Got a lot of noobs on PC Gaming Community (Malaysia) FB

nvidia measures tdp at 85C with their own respectable db sound. Thats y the clock rates so low with massive oc reserved
until they see a better yield with lower temps they up it. Just like titan black vs 780ti. Its not for fun.

Fury X in comparison should be at 50C. Need to see the aircool version.

temps affect tdp value.
I remember by lowering R9 290's temperature from 95C to around 50C nets some ~20 watt savings.
Those people slapped in the AIO liquid cooler on the 290 laugh.gif
terradrive
post Jun 22 2015, 08:16 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

The suprising thing is Fury X arrived just less than a week after the first batch of 980Ti in Malaysia O_O
terradrive
post Jun 23 2015, 10:43 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 23 2015, 10:38 AM)
Think now with cf support freesync reviews should be better

Arkham knights min spec for amd is a 7950. Thats insane
It's actually quite alright. 290 is just slightly slower than gtx 970 even with the light shafts and enhanced rain turned on. Amd cards can't turn on smoke and one more I forgot. But both of those will slam the cards so hard even the titan x.

I read it from some forums about users testing the game, forgot which.
But then again there's a lot of complaints such as locked 30fps in game (have to modify ini settings to unlock higher fps), can't turn off chromatic aberration etc

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jun 23 2015, 10:45 AM
terradrive
post Jun 23 2015, 10:50 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 23 2015, 10:46 AM)
Any benchmarks yet??

Day one patch is not in yet.

So far early access seems to be from steam uk
They are running in game benchmarks. Seems to be different with the benchmark on one early access site (no idea which website, German I think, can't read haha, but AMD cards ran horribly on it)
Maybe the new drivers fixed the amd cards on this game.
terradrive
post Jun 23 2015, 03:12 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Jun 23 2015, 03:05 PM)
2.8k wahahaha, truely a beast id better wait for the review first, need to compare this beast with the 980TI
That price is without GST ooh

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jun 23 2015, 02:36 PM)
eh yeah.. i got good price for it.. smile.gif and already pay he say postage today so esok.. maybe.. eh go to his FB on Fury x ads i one ask  "is that my amd fury x?" he say yes..
How much total price? Can PM me what he offered you? thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jun 23 2015, 03:13 PM

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0539sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:46 PM