12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V8!

Minecrafter
post Feb 22 2015, 12:51 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(zell10_10 @ Feb 22 2015, 12:30 AM)
Hey thanks. I was just being crazy in the monitor thing, i will probably just get 1 monitor, and add more in the future when i need it.
Intel Xeon E3-1231 V3 3.4GHz RM869
Asrock H87M-Pro4 RM269
Leadtek GTX960 2GB GDDR5 RM749-759
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM249
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM184
Seasonic M12II 80+ Bronze 520W Modular RM279
Thermaltake Versa H25 RM129 - I'm sure the shop have it.
CM Hyper 101 RM89
Samsung S22C170BS RM349
Total:RM3166-3176
Prices are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

That is over budget,you can try to haggle eith them ti get it cheaper or remove the CPU cooler,but i heard the Xeon is a bit hot. wink.gif
Minecrafter
post Feb 22 2015, 07:28 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(zell10_10 @ Feb 22 2015, 01:17 AM)
Well i wouldn't want to risk overheating because of underbudget. How's a 16GB ram cost?
Kingston Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz x2 = RM478
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR3 1600MHz x2 = RM498

You can just add more RAM later when you've more money. nod.gif
Minecrafter
post Feb 23 2015, 05:04 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(kser93 @ Feb 23 2015, 01:51 AM)
hi sifus, want to ask is the rig as below is fine or not?

i5-4460
Asrock H97 Pro 4
Kingston HperX Fury 8gb 1600Mhz
WD Cavier Blue 1Tb
MSI GTX 970 OC
Corsair VS650w
DVD-RW Samsung
Philips 224E5qHSB 21.5" IPS
(Wireless adapter on Motherboard)
You need a Wifi Adapter. tongue.gif
TP-Link WN881ND RM49

If you change the GPU to Leadtek GTX970 Hurricane 4GB RM1169(From Techview),you can use the extra money on getting a better PSU. nod.gif
Minecrafter
post Feb 25 2015, 10:14 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(zell10_10 @ Feb 25 2015, 07:14 PM)
Without the triple monitor requirement, would there be a change in the motherboard suggestion?

also 520W PSU, is it enough for normal usage? or should i get a higher power PSU?
Nope,don't need to.

Asrock H87M-Pro4 RM269
Leadtek GTX960 2GB GDDR5 RM749-759
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM184
Thermaltake Versa H25 RM129 - I'm sure the shop have it.
CM Hyper 101 RM89
Samsung S22C170BS RM349
Total:RM3166-3176
Prices are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

That is over budget,you can try to haggle eith them ti get it cheaper or remove the CPU cooler,but i heard the Xeon is a bit hot. wink.gif
That was the second suggestion with 1 monitor. nod.gif

The PSU is enough since the GPU doesn't eat a lot of power..but if you want a PSU with more watts in case you wanna upgrade to a good but power hungry card,can get Seasonic S12II 620W 80+ Bronze RM299.
Minecrafter
post Feb 26 2015, 03:38 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(zell10_10 @ Feb 25 2015, 10:56 PM)
Oh, but when i check the specs both board supports triple monitor display no? Whats the major difference that makes the H97 more expensive?
Yup,the H87M-Pro4 and H97-Pro4 support tri-monitor..but about that,i've no idea where you plug in the wires like DVI-I into,kinda clueless with which goes into which. sweat.gif

You are talking between those 2 motherboards,right?

Minecrafter
post Feb 26 2015, 07:54 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(zell10_10 @ Feb 26 2015, 06:17 PM)
yeah i'm comparing the two motherboard. what makes the h97 superior?
Here.

http://www.asrock.com/mb/compare.asp?Selec...Model=H87M+Pro4

And H97 is a newer chipset,it will support the upcoming Broadwell CPUs. wink.gif
Minecrafter
post Feb 27 2015, 03:15 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(Mindwryc @ Feb 27 2015, 03:12 PM)
Hi, sorry got another question. Would a Corsair VS 550W also be fine for this build? Cos it has more wattage and is also cheaper.
The Seasonic PSU Tristan suggested is better than the Corsair VS550.
Minecrafter
post Feb 27 2015, 08:49 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(alvinnjl @ Feb 27 2015, 08:40 PM)
Looking for 3K gaming rig, guys any suggestion on this rig?

CPU:Xeon E3 1231 V3  RM850
CPU:Cooler:Stock
GPU:Asus GTX 960 strix            RM950
Motherboard:H97 Plus                RM420
Storage: 1TB SSHD                  RM289
RAM:-(Current Set 8GB)
Casing:Corsair R300
          RM300
Power Supply: Corsair CXM 500W  RM265

Total:RM 3074 (Jayacom Pricelist)
Overpriced GPU,motherboard and PSU.

Asrock H97-Pro4 RM329
Leadtek GTX970 Hurricane 4GB GDDR5 RM1169
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM184
Thermaltake Versa H25 RM129
CM Hyper TX3 Evo RM89
Total:RM3048
GPU is from Techview,CPU cooler is from C-Zone@LYP,the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Feb 28 2015, 07:27 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(xNova @ Feb 28 2015, 02:37 AM)
Is MSI GTX 550 Ti better or MSI GT 650M better for gaming performances?
Currently I'm using GTX550-Ti to play dota 2. But it always crash and even hang sometimes. Notifications also show that my graphic card is stopped working. I not sure what happened and I brought to the computer shop. The guy says that there's some problem on my graphic card and he suggested GT650M to me. He do says that 650M is better but according to the video are benchmark it seems a lot of difference. Would like to listen some advice and suggestions here for both graphic card or a even better graphic card choices.
Nah he's wrong,plus the GT650M is only available for laptops. tongue.gif Mind telling us PC specs first?And also budget for uprgade? hmm.gif
Oh BTW,close your thread or remove your post here,since you've made the same posts twice. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Feb 28 2015, 02:41 AM)
Hello guys. Just quick here, what graphic card is best for my rm500?
Now using Hexa+ 550 psu.
Spend RM39 more for Sapphire R7 265 Dual-X OC 2GB GDDR5. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Feb 28 2015, 07:31 AM
Minecrafter
post Feb 28 2015, 08:45 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Feb 28 2015, 08:41 AM)
What I had in mind at first is GTX 750ti..
If I compare your suggestion Sapphire R7 265 Dual-X OC 2GB GDDR5, 539rm with PALIT GTX 750Ti StormX OC (2GB GDDR5).. which is better in your opinion?
If you want a rig with lower power consumption,can get the latter,but if want slightly better performance,can get the former. wink.gif
Minecrafter
post Feb 28 2015, 09:02 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Feb 28 2015, 08:47 AM)
May I know the power consumption and performance, these 2 things, differ is really a lot? And which is newer?
Right now I am using my long years HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 1GB(256bit) GDDR3,, I still remember to pay rm6++ for
this gpu, hehe..
For gaming performance,here,from page 3-9. http://www.techspot.com/review/783-geforce...-265/page3.html

Power consumption while playing Crysis 3.

The GTX750Ti is newer on the architecture.The R7 265 is a rebadge of HD7850 IINM,just slightly faster.I'd go for the R7 265 if i were in your shoes.
Minecrafter
post Feb 28 2015, 11:17 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Feb 28 2015, 09:11 AM)
Ok, I will take your preference, who cares about power consumption right? biggrin.gif
It is only counted when playing games or doing high-load programs, am I right? When idle or doing something like browsing or watching movies, not really differ right?
It's not like I am playing games all the time, at least that's what my usage is smile.gif ..
Unless you're using a GPU which consumes already 1k watts while gaming. laugh.gif Doubt that will happen.

If you're stressing it,it will consume more,like running benchmark tests with Unigine Heaven IINM.Yup,on idle,unnoticebale i think.
Minecrafter
post Feb 28 2015, 02:33 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ Feb 28 2015, 02:27 PM)
Or you could wait few weeks for the AMD 300 Series. smile.gif
Few weeks?Source? hmm.gif
Minecrafter
post Feb 28 2015, 11:43 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ Feb 28 2015, 11:38 PM)
There's a ASUS 750Ti 4GB that came out recently smile.gif 750TI is a great card nonetheless for it's price.
Asus GTX750Ti 4GB?For sure will be an overpriced card,maybe priced close to RM700,in which you can get GTX760 or an R9 280 already. icon_idea.gif For RM 749.

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Feb 28 2015, 11:44 PM
Minecrafter
post Mar 1 2015, 12:24 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(zell10_10 @ Mar 1 2015, 12:19 AM)
CPU: Intel Xeon E3 1231V3
MOBO: ASrock H97 Pro4
RAM: GSKill AEGIS 8GB DDR3 1600mhz
HDD: WD 1TB Caviar Blue HDD
PSU: Seasonic M12 II EVO 520W PSU
GPU: Leadtek GTX960 Reference 2GB DDR5
Chassis: Thermaltake Versa H25
Cooler: Scythe Katana 4
SSD: Plextor M6S 128GB SSD

How does this rig looks like? Made a few changes of brand to the previous suggestion for a better budget.
An SSD?Might as well remove that and use the money on getting Gainward GTX970 4GB GDDR5 RM1149 if you can top up lil' bit more. icon_idea.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 1 2015, 07:21 AM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(zell10_10 @ Mar 1 2015, 01:08 AM)
Won't a SSD boost up the overall speed of the PC? What's the main purpose of upgrading to GTX970 from 960?
Yup,faster boot,load apps faster. brows.gif

You're gaming too,aren't you?

Just did a re-check with the games that you play,you can get the SSD and stick with the GTX960. wink.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 1 2015, 03:35 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(zell10_10 @ Mar 1 2015, 01:53 PM)
my priorities are those games and my work with processing images. so i suppose SSD is rather important to have parallel tasks.

My this new pc is going to be at my room which is on the 2nd floor. The modem is located on the 1st floor. What are the possible solution besides getting a super long lan cable for my pc to get internet ?
I guess it's fine. nod.gif

Oh yeah,since you didn't asked that at first. tongue.gif Can get TP-Link WN881ND RM49-69 from IdealTech.
Minecrafter
post Mar 1 2015, 08:37 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(playwriteweb @ Mar 1 2015, 04:03 PM)
Hi sifus, first time building a PC from scratch and would appreciate if you can give me some suggestions smile.gif

[Budget] RM3.6k including Monitor, Keyboard, wifi card and OS

[Purpose] Web surfing, gaming, watching movies

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Mouse

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] The Witcher 2 and 3, Dragon Age Inquisition, Alien Isolation

[Personal preferences] Windows 7 or 8.1, whichever is cheaper (since Windows 10 got free upgrade xD), HDD no need more than 1TB

[Location] would prefer to get everything from Low Yat Plaza in one go, but am based in PJ if there are some cheaper parts to be found there

Thank you very much yeah! biggrin.gif
Asrock H97M-Pro4 RM299
Gainward GTX970 4GB GDDR5 RM1099
Kingston Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RM239
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM184
Samsung S22C170BS RM349
Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit RM150
TP-Link WN881ND RM49
Logitech K120 Wired Keyboard RM29
Total:RM3675
GPU is from Lingloong@GS,OS is from IdealTech,the fest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

If you can spend lil' bit more,get CM Hyper TX3 Evo RM89..the Xeon is slightly hotter. wink.gif

QUOTE(xauxix @ Mar 1 2015, 04:54 PM)
Hi, my pc just got struck by lightning on friday. So i think its time for me to build a new one. My budget around 3k~3.5k for proc,mobo,gpu,psu. maybe add on ssd or ram. Can you guys suggest me what is the best spec i can get for that amount?
My build just for gaming,and entertainment purpose. Looking for intel i5 and gtx970.
Asrock H97-Pro4 RM329
Leadtek GTX970 Hurricane 4GB GDDR5 RM1199
WD Caviar Blue 1TB RM184
Liteon 900S 128GB RM240
CM Hyper TX3 Evo RM89
Total:RM3478
GPU is from Techview@GS,CPU cooler and SSD are from C-Zone@LYP,the rest are from Viewnet@LYP. smile.gif

Do you have anything that can be reused?Maybe casing?

QUOTE(leorina1990 @ Mar 1 2015, 07:38 PM)
Hello guys,

I need recommendation from you all.

Budget : 4K
Purpose : Gaming, multi tasking,movies
Hardwares that will be re-used : keyboard ,mouse,monitor and speaker
Games & softwares that use frequently : Crysis, assassin creed

I have the following in mind:

Graphic card : GTX980
HDD : 1TB
RAM : 8GB

Thank you.
What is your monitor resolution?

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Mar 1 2015, 08:37 PM
Minecrafter
post Mar 1 2015, 11:00 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(twinzeero @ Mar 1 2015, 09:53 PM)
for rm550 budget, what recommended graphic card i can get ?
Sapphire R9 270 Dual-X OC 2GB GDDR5 RM589,or Sapphire R7 265 Dual-X OC 2GB GDDR5 RM539.

Rig specs,including brand and model of PSU? hmm.gif

QUOTE(zell10_10 @ Mar 1 2015, 10:43 PM)
hey thanks minecrafter! You really helped me alot. One more question, what are the difference of using homeplug vs wireless card? The idealtech guy suggested me to get a homeplug instead.
About the internet issue,i'm sorry,clueless on that..
sweat.gif

QUOTE(kaliku @ Mar 1 2015, 10:48 PM)
CPU: Intel Core I5 4460
MOBO: ASrock H81m-hds
RAM: GSKill AEGIS 8GB DDR3 1600mhz
HDD: WD 1TB Caviar Blue HDD
GPU: Sapphire R9 270X DualX 2GB DDR5
Chassis: Thermaltake versa
WIFI: Tplink TL-WN727N 150mbps

Another question for this build guys. Would the stock cpu cooler be sufficient if i do about 2 hours of gaming per day? Or should i get an aftermarket cooler?
Yes,it will be fine. wink.gif
Minecrafter
post Mar 2 2015, 03:44 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(twinzeero @ Mar 2 2015, 12:37 AM)
cooler mater extreme 2 525 is enuff ?
Well,it's enough i guess, but that PSU is crap.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(playwriteweb @ Mar 2 2015, 09:52 AM)
Hmm it's just abit over my budget. Would the build still work if I use like an i5-4460 instead?

Also, may I ask how to calculate wattage? I'm just wondering if 520W is enough for occasional multitasking (opening game and browser at the same time etc), and if I should get a higher wattage PSU for future proofing.

Thank you very much for your help smile.gif
Yes,it'll be fine,but the games from the past year are getting more demanding on the CPU side.

Plus the game that you're gonna play,The Witcher 3.. tongue.gif
http://www.pcgamer.com/the-witcher-3-syste...ents-announced/ Look at the recommended requirements.Even the minimum for the CPU is an i5. sweat.gif

On that,idk,you can use sites but i don't think it will be accurate.Don't worry,the 520W PSU is enough. nod.gif Lol that's not gonna eat lots of power,unless you're gaming and stressing it at the same time while benchmarking it let's say with Unigine Heaven. biggrin.gif

You can remove the CPU cooler off your list for the time being,when you have more money,get the CPU cooler. wink.gif

QUOTE(mod_po @ Mar 2 2015, 11:40 AM)
it will do, but sure does it worth spending more on that xeon,
new gen gaming always hunger for powerfull cpu tho

you can swap that psu with xigmatek tauro 600w rm209 (viewnet)
even it is not realiable as much as seasonic, it will do the job,
powering my other rig with overclocked i7-4770k and gtx760
True on that.

The Seasonic S12II 620W only costs RM20 more than the M12II 520W. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Mar 2 2015, 03:44 PM

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:58 AM