[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V8!
SUSHuman10
Mar 31 2015, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(SonicBoomZ @ Mar 31 2015, 03:33 AM) No, the monitor is out of the budget. I just wanna check which monitor can fully utilize GTX 970.  Dell's U2414H is a decent 24" (23.8 to be precise). Being using it for over 1 year, definitely worth every pennies spent. Also I am pairing it with GTX970 now, work like a charm. If you on budget, S2415H is a similar offering (except it isn't ultrasharp and glossy) but cheaper. This post has been edited by Human10: Mar 31 2015, 08:55 AM
SUSHuman10
Mar 31 2015, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 31 2015, 11:49 AM) Excuse me Sir, I wanna ask regarding the Dell U2414H, I know is IPS, but is it Matte finishing? It's an Ultrasharp, and Ultrasharp always matte IINM. Back on the question, yup it is matte. And the S2415H is it's glossy blood brother using exact same panel (not calibrated though).
SUSHuman10
Mar 31 2015, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(MaKiMo @ Mar 31 2015, 11:58 AM) Thank you for the input, much appreciated but I have decided to get another CPU. So my final setup will look like this: Intel i7-4790 Hyper 412 (got it quite cheap) MSI Z97 Krait Edition SLI Kingston Hyper Fury (White) 8gb x 1 Seagate 1Tb. HDD Xigmatek VECTOR 650W Gainward GTX-970 Phantom 4gb. Dell U2414H 24" IPS Total cost = RM3,545 Now, the only missing piece is the casing, still hunting high and low for a NZXT S340... Or do you guys have any good ideas for a nice PC casing? Cheers! It's a waste to use locked CPU on Z97 board. Topup another RM100+/- to get the unlocked (k) version. As for PSU, I not sure if that model of Xigmatek is a good one, better search for reviews bout it first. This post has been edited by Human10: Mar 31 2015, 03:15 PM
SUSHuman10
Mar 31 2015, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(Sham1211 @ Mar 31 2015, 02:09 PM) Hello??  am planning to buy today, can anyone please reply with any insight on the matter? Single stick better, generally cheaper and yet higher demand and resale value than 4GB. Another clear advantage is you have the option to max up your RAM in future without need to sell existing RAM.
SUSHuman10
Mar 31 2015, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(MaKiMo @ Mar 31 2015, 03:34 PM) Thank you for your feedback... I know, but I'm going to SLI sometime in the future, and H97/H87 doesn't support SLI. I got the i7-4790 for less than RM900... (matching my budget for the E3-1231 v3 anyways) As for the Xigmatek Vector 650W, it's 80+ Silver rated and cost less than RM250... can't go wrong there! If the price different (from k) is great and you don't really plan to OC, then still acceptable.  As for PSU, you do know that PSU's good or bad don't really reflect on the bronze/silver/gold rating right? This post has been edited by Human10: Mar 31 2015, 04:20 PM
SUSHuman10
Mar 31 2015, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Mar 31 2015, 04:19 PM) Seasonic S12II 620W PSU beats the PSU that you've.For the quality of the PSU,we take a look at its component quality etc. You should've asked before buying the parts,you know.. GPU or PSU?  Damn, ayam tak bawa bertendang...
SUSHuman10
Apr 1 2015, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ Apr 1 2015, 10:00 PM) Why does the GTX970 cost so much for used? Cause the demand is high and the card is still relatively new, less 2nd hand units out there. And that is a phantom, with a retail price of over 1.2k for new one. I can't guarantee you can get an unit right away with RM1k budget in garage sale, worse still now got GST (resale value increase yoh  ). This post has been edited by Human10: Apr 1 2015, 11:52 PM
SUSHuman10
Apr 2 2015, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ Apr 2 2015, 01:23 PM) I bought the exact card for 1150 from idealtech ._. That isn't phantom version no?
SUSHuman10
Apr 6 2015, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(MaKiMo @ Apr 6 2015, 10:33 PM) Actually there are 2 version of the Gainward GTX970... One is the Phantom (max boost of 1312Mhz) and another is the reference version. Of course the Phantom version would perform better than the reference version, but the price gap is small, so if he can stretch to Phantom, he should get that one Just my 2 cents  Not really, there's condition which reference cooler will be more suitable, such as in mini ITX built.
SUSHuman10
Apr 8 2015, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(mod_po @ Apr 8 2015, 09:31 PM) if not mistaken, the S is glossy coating, while the U is anti-glare (myb matte coating), n the U equiped with rotating arm U is older S is newer. Reviews suggested S using same IPS panel as of U, which is pretty decent (but do take note some people complaining bout backlit leak or the IPS blue tint). Pros of S: Cheaper Come with speaker Pros of U: Ultrasharp (pre-calibrated) More flexible stand Matte On a side note, S2415H now cost over RM800? I used to saw it at AllIT for under RM700... This post has been edited by Human10: Apr 8 2015, 09:54 PM
SUSHuman10
Apr 9 2015, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(uzary @ Apr 9 2015, 12:25 PM) i know right, kinda regret for not thinking thoroughly when i buy it. i was thinking if i get the single stick it would be a good idea to upgrade and add another 8gb stick. but after i reading from many sites( should have done this before buy    ) 8gb was already more than enough. should have gone for 4gbx2 for purely aesthetic. i guess i will buy 4gbx2 kit and sell of the single ram   btw i was using a Sunbeam CCf tower cooler for my q6600 before, is there anywhere that sell an universal bracket in order to fit my new i5 4460 1150 socket? Well, I thought your mobo have 4 RAM slots, of which you should get 4 x 2GB to fill them up... Seriously, bigger capacity per stick is better and more versatile for upgrade (also arguably better resale value). This post has been edited by Human10: Apr 9 2015, 12:53 PM
SUSHuman10
Apr 10 2015, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(queenc @ Apr 10 2015, 10:42 PM) i7 4790 (2nd hand roughly 700-800) mobo not sure case not sure 16gb 1600mhz ram (I assume 2nd hand cost RM400+/-, except if it is some high end performance RAM) palit 770 4gb (something under RM700/750 seems reasonable) 2.5k exclude monitor 2nd hand a good buy? What's important is the moo and PSU, try ask for more details first.
SUSHuman10
Apr 10 2015, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(briantwj @ Apr 10 2015, 11:45 PM) Meaning that the Asus GTX750 will work juz fine like leadtek GTX750 ti or Gainward GTX 750 GS? Just that the Asus GTX750 is slightly overpriced? Sorry to budge in, but actually i asked on behalf of him dy, and he is my gf's younger bro which is not computer illiterate, same like me.  Well, about 10+% different to 750TI. http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/GTX_750_OC/25.htmlBut since you had bought, no use complain anymore, just use it. Also, I personally didn't consider 10% different to be life or dead, they pretty much capped at the same performance range. Like mod_po said, Asus's stuffs tend to be priced on the high side, particularly GPU, it can be easily RM100-200 premium over same model from other brands.
SUSHuman10
Apr 11 2015, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(RaydianS @ Apr 10 2015, 11:59 PM) all above that are nice but the momboard still have video output, is that necessary? since i have a GPU terrence's Xeon build is fanstatic, Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 979 Asrock B85M-HDS - RM 264 Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 234 WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 199 Seasonic M12II Evo 520W PSU - RM 299 With Xeon, you can't use the integrated GPU on mobo, but not really a concern since you have your GPU already (though may be some hassle if your GPU ever failed and need to RMA, so take note on that).
SUSHuman10
Apr 11 2015, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(queenc @ Apr 11 2015, 12:02 AM) i will.. ask the seller. is there any possibility he can fake the software output as different spec LOL what, just COD with him and check again all the components matched what he stated when dealing... Your concern is on whether if he is possibly a scammer... And we don't really have an answer for you on that... This post has been edited by Human10: Apr 11 2015, 12:07 AM
SUSHuman10
Apr 11 2015, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(RaydianS @ Apr 11 2015, 12:09 AM) what if the momboard change to the one which can 4slot ram and crossfire? how many money i should add in? Well well, IINM, the cheapest SLI (or Crossfire) mobo is Gigabyte's Z97 SLI, that thing cost about RM550+ IIRC. This post has been edited by Human10: Apr 11 2015, 12:11 AM
SUSHuman10
Apr 11 2015, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(mod_po @ Apr 11 2015, 12:12 AM) There is CF mobo that is cheap, but is not effective as the high end mobo.. Usually cf support mobo is cheaper than sli support mobo Yup, forget to include that. Nvidia's SLI minimum requirement is PCIE x8, but AMD's Crossfire don't really have such a requirement, hence you see mobo manufacturers put in crossfire compatibility for all mobo with extra PCIE 2.0 x4... For low end card may be still sufficient, but for high end card, it may get even worse performance than single card, LOL... http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-231...leneck-res.htmlThis post has been edited by Human10: Apr 11 2015, 12:24 AM
SUSHuman10
Apr 11 2015, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(RaydianS @ Apr 11 2015, 12:15 AM) sorry just google that out and found that is really a cheap and crossfire momboard. if im lucky there still in stock. haha Well, do take note one thing, crossfire low end cards not gonna be something promising, you certainly will fare better opting for a single highend card. This post has been edited by Human10: Apr 11 2015, 12:26 AM
SUSHuman10
Apr 11 2015, 12:29 AM
QUOTE(mod_po @ Apr 11 2015, 12:22 AM) Yup they selling the older h87 n z87 mobo quite cheap now.u shud hunt for them first, any brand would do.. If u not lucky u can go with msi h97 gaming or asrock h97 perfomance, both is RM474 I rather chunk out another RM100 (made it RM550+) to get Giga or MSI SLI board. SLI board make sure there are at least 2 x8 PCIE slots, much more optimal for SLI/Crossfire setup. This post has been edited by Human10: Apr 11 2015, 12:30 AM
SUSHuman10
Apr 13 2015, 04:06 AM
QUOTE(Dum^Dum @ Apr 12 2015, 03:18 PM) Hi, I just assembled my rig mostly as per you guys recommended previouslyand i even managed to get some pre-gst price from a dealer i found.... Xeon 1231 v3 Kingston Hyper Fury 4gb x 2 Regular 1tb HDD ASRock h97m-itx Leadtek GTX970 Thermaltake SmartSE PSU 630w Thermaltake Core v1 case Saw some comments here that the Xeon runs quite hot, any recommendation on cooler with height < 140mm Try get a prolimatech samuel 17, one of the best low profile heat sink.