Credit Cards HSBC Credit Cards V.2, Read the T&C before applying!
Billy.Who
Sep 15 2022, 01:21 PM

For those affected by the recent data breach, how long did it take for HSBC to reverse/cancel the unauthorized transactions that went through?
Filed the dispute form around a week ago but the disputed charges still made it to this month's statement. Understand it should take them a while to process this given the humongous volume of compromised credit cards they're currently dealing with but its rather annoying as I'd like to settle the bill without fronting anything for the fraudulent charges then wait for a refund.
Billy.Who
Sep 15 2022, 01:54 PM

QUOTE(nicklim17 @ Sep 15 2022, 01:41 PM) fraud on Aug1。 SMS received on Tuesday 9-13 RM0 Temporary refund processed for RM4.54 pending investigation on your dispute. HSBC reserves the right to debit you if the charge is genuine. lol they took over a month? Was planning to cancel my card immediately (haven't activated the replacement card yet) after paying off the latest bill. Doubt thats possible now unless they're able to bank in the refund to my bank account instead of crediting it to the card.
Billy.Who
Sep 15 2022, 02:00 PM

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Sep 15 2022, 01:54 PM) my case 2 days after my report for 2 fraud considered very fast Wow that is indeed fast. The other problem with HSBC cards is the inconsistent sms notifications.. I don't always get a notification when transactions are made. Only noticed the weird transactions when i suddenly received random OTPs.
Billy.Who
Sep 16 2022, 12:09 AM

QUOTE(thecurious @ Sep 15 2022, 08:09 PM) Is HSBC avoiding customer's call to have a good day or something? Never had to call another bank for over one hour and still no one picks up... What I did was to get up at 3:30AM to call. Even then I think I still waited around 5 mins before someone answered lol
Billy.Who
Dec 27 2022, 02:07 PM

QUOTE(ukiya21 @ Dec 26 2022, 11:36 AM) My new strategy for credit card is to follow Ringgit Plus reward. HSBC and Citi always have the rm600 tng rewards. so apply the card, used 6 months+ then cancel... apply another card. cooldown period for reward is 6 months.. So far HSBC i get RM500 x2 + 1 time RM600 TnG. better than those cashback.. This is great news. Somehow I thought the cooldown period was 12 months lol
Billy.Who
Dec 28 2022, 03:11 PM

QUOTE(ukiya21 @ Dec 27 2022, 02:18 PM) You need to check Ringgit Plus's term and condition.. maybe some is 1 year.. but as far as what i read is still 6 months.. Just checked.. it is indeed 6 months.. The previous time I checked was probably a month back.. might have been a promo for a different bank.. but I think it was a 12 month cooldown period
Billy.Who
Dec 28 2022, 11:49 PM

QUOTE(boonhan @ Dec 28 2022, 04:34 PM) Citi is 12 months usually. I guess this is the case.. Usually check Ringgitplus mainly for the Citi & HSBC promos since they have the best signup deals.. Probably got mixed up with the T&C for both lol