Credit Cards HSBC Credit Cards V.2, Read the T&C before applying!

biatch0
post Oct 30 2023, 01:16 AM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(francis226 @ Oct 27 2023, 04:49 PM)
HSBC PT has bonus point cap
Yes - Previously it was really good when there wasn't any cap especially for overseas transactions.

QUOTE(francis226 @ Oct 27 2023, 04:49 PM)
Enrich Saver is not available anymore, the ticket redemption rate is sucks, so I've switch to KF now.
Exactly, this is the main reason I'm looking for another card that can provide me better value than PT now. I've been flying MH business from BKK<>KUL heavily for the past 4-5 years FOC thanks to PT, but now economy tickets are up by around 60% and business redemptions are up by around 133-250%. Will most likely swap to a card/bank that provides better value, while using up all my remaining points on economy bookings.
biatch0
post Nov 2 2023, 05:25 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Never used travel notice before and haven't had any issue using my card overseas before... How many times has your card been blocked after setting travel notice?

EDIT: Noticed CIMB TWE card also seems to have good points generation rate at RM 10,000 spend = 1,000 Enrich Miles. Any thoughts on this card?

This post has been edited by biatch0: Nov 2 2023, 05:27 PM
biatch0
post Jan 12 2024, 02:35 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(lsang @ Jan 7 2024, 10:47 PM)
Hi all,
I would like to see advise here on comparison between the below travel CC. Which provides the best value from spending value & conversion perspective?

HSBC T1 vs SCB Journey Card:

1) Spending for miles (Local & Foreign spending)
2) Miles conversion (Krisflyer...etc.)

Greatly appreciate any wise advice and experiences. Thanks!

Important thing to note is HSBC has a monthly cap (correct me if I'm mistaken)...

This post has been edited by biatch0: Jan 12 2024, 02:36 PM
biatch0
post Jan 15 2024, 10:12 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(lsang @ Jan 15 2024, 12:42 AM)
Thanks! This is really helpful  flex.gif

So in conclusion, if I'm understanding the table correctly, reconfirming HSBC T1 provides better value only for local spending but with 10k local spending limit monthly compared to SCB Journey better value for foreign spending?

Means if i have both HSBC T1 & SCB Journey, my game plan should be spending on SCB Journey ONLY for Foreign spending and HSBC T1 for local spending only? TIA
Sorry - my mistake, I read the T&C of the HSBC T1 again -

ADDITIONAL REWARD POINTS
18.⁠ ⁠In addition to the 1x Reward Points, you also stand to receive Additional Reward Points for
below category of spend subject to the Additional Reward Points Cap:
a. 7x Additional Reward Points for Foreign Currency Spend; and
b. 4x Additional Reward Points for Local Travel Spend (Hotel, Airlines & Travel Agencies);
and
c. 4 Additional Reward Points for Local Dining Spend.
19.⁠ ⁠The Additional Reward Points Cap is as follows:
a. Foreign Currency Spend: capped at 20,000 Additional Reward Points
b.Local Travel Spend: capped at 10,000 Additional Reward Points
C. Local Dining Spend: capped at 10,000 Additional Reward Points

There's a base 1 point per RM1 spend for any local transaction, but the cap on the "additional reward points" is as above. The table was based on assumption that you spend RM 10k, and the miles you would get - it currently ignores the "cap" as the categories (a/b/c) for T1 are a bit difficult to calculate other than foreign currency cap. Either way, the SC Journey appears to be an overall better card for miles assuming there is no cap (I can't seem to find anything about a cap).
biatch0
post Mar 26 2024, 12:22 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Mar 20 2024, 10:51 AM)
Yeah, i doubt they make any changes so soon.
Moreover HSBC Premier Travel Card is now invite only for HSBC Premier Elite customer, dont think they will drop the international lounge access for such exclusive card for its elite client.

Where did you get this info about Premier Elite? Never heard of this before...

I haven't used the Premier Travel as my lounge card for many years already since they changed to Plaza Premium only - selection/locations are too limited. It's still one of the better cards for overseas spend to Enrich (and some other selected airline) miles though as long as you spend below RM20k on local and RM 27k on foreign... beyond that kena points/miles cap biggrin.gif
biatch0
post May 20 2024, 03:23 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ May 20 2024, 10:50 AM)
You have to call and ask for it. It is not automatically given.

Maybe depends on usage? I've never called but every year get the SST waiver.
biatch0
post May 29 2024, 01:52 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(moto-moto @ May 21 2024, 09:39 AM)
Which card are you using?
QUOTE(melz84 @ May 21 2024, 07:11 PM)
Must be spending alot with them.. i got 3 cards with hsbc, none gettinflg sst waiver =(
I'm using Premier Travel.
biatch0
post Jul 9 2025, 04:41 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Want to check if anyone else experienced fraudulent foreign transaction recently...

On Sunday, my supplementary card got charged... On Monday, my primary card got charged... Quite a strange coincidence. Called the bank, got my cards cancelled one day after the other and now waiting for replacement.

I think this is the 3rd time I experienced this with HSBC (1st time where multiple cards affected)... while never experienced with other banks before.
biatch0
post Jul 9 2025, 06:49 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Unfortunately I am very aware of how the details leaked since I've been in this industry for 20 years+ 😂

My interest isn't in how the cards got leaked, but how they both got leaked/used at roughly the same time... both cards are used in mostly unique places and both card details are typically only used via "larger" merchants like Grab, Lazada, etc. to limit exposure.

It could be coincidence, but I still find it interesting.

The other thing that was extra interesting was that on the primary card, the charges looked like they were at faked/spoofed merchants... example:

1) LAZADAMY - but charged from St. Louis
2) Digital Ocean - but charged from St. Louis
3) Netflix - but charged from St. Louis
4) Google - but charged from St. Louis

And so on... I think there were around 10 transactions of varying names, but all were 100% fake since the "real name" of the merchants (when they charge legitimately) are:

Google YouTubePremium Mountain View CA
DIGITALOCEAN.COM AMSTERDAM NH
NETFLIX PTE. LTD. Singapore SGP

So the fact that they knew (or had very lucky guesses) about what merchants I use, is interesting... because nobody else should have access to my list of merchants/transactions in order to fake the charges.
biatch0
post Jul 10 2025, 11:05 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Fortunately all of these transactions have now disappeared from my transaction list. If you've used any of these merchants before, you know that none of their legitimate charges appear like this. There was no authorization requested on the HSBC app as well.

The fraud transaction on my supplementary card still shows as "PENDING", so hopefully that disappears soon as well... Looks like to a merchant that accepts PayPal payments... I'm mostly annoyed because I was supposed to book some flights/hotels over the weekend and now I don't have a card to book with... and also now I have a significant amount of my credit blocked for no reason sweat.gif

I posted this mainly to see if anyone else has seen this kind of fraud (hopefully not)... but definitely suggest everyone keeps a close eye on their transaction list.. because I think a lot of people would ignore the transactions if they "appeared" like they originated from merchants that YOU yourself use regularly.
biatch0
post Jul 11 2025, 03:06 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Good news: All charges on my primary card no longer appear on my HSBC app now.

Bad news: The single fraud charge on my supplementary card posted... It is "PayPal *MERCHANTNAME" for MYR 24k.

Worst news: An additional charge for "PayPal *MERCHANTNAME" for MYR 24k appeared today and shows as PENDING. Charge is for the same day that the card was cancelled (6th July). Weird that it didn't appear until today (11th July).
biatch0
post Jul 11 2025, 05:53 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

What takes 3 days?

From PENDING to posted? Yes

From transaction to appear on HSBC app? Never seen it take 3 days before. Usually instantly after transacting, I see the transaction will appear as pending on the HSBC app. This second transaction appeared on 11 July, and was apparently charged on 6 July... I've been watching my transaction list and checking every few hours since 6 July. Unlikely I would have missed a second transaction for MYR 24k for 4-5 days in a row.

From PENDING to not appearing due to fraud? Possibly.
biatch0
post Jul 11 2025, 07:37 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Physical replacement cards have arrived already... I just get the details from my parents who receive the cards and activate ApplePay... Majority of times I can just tap to pay, so physical card not really needed...
biatch0
post Aug 4 2025, 12:15 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Now 12 visits per year via DragonPass, and USD 32 per visit/guest after. Still think it's better than the existing Plaza Premium 😂
biatch0
post Aug 6 2025, 06:14 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Aug 6 2025, 09:21 AM)
Good if you are travelling alone. This should be limited to one visit per day right? Don't think can bring additional guest.
No idea about visit limit per day... Typically on PriorityPass (when I used them a long time ago), they don't limit, since they will just deduct another visit from your balance. I would expect DragonPass would follow the same behaviour?

I think the new DragonPass provided is definitely more useful for me (compared to Plaza Premium which is super limited), although for a "real" lounge card, this would be more of a backup since there are other cards that provide you and guest with unlimited visits.
biatch0
post Aug 25 2025, 07:29 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Anyone with Premier Travel CC got offered to replace CC to the new design? I just replaced a couple of weeks back due to the fraud case, but if the new card is metal I don't mind going through the mess of setting up all the autodebit again biggrin.gif
biatch0
post Aug 27 2025, 01:29 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Aug 27 2025, 07:31 AM)
No they didn't offer to replace. Is the new design similar to the one shown in the website? Looks even nicer than the current one tbh.
I saw the new design on an email around 1-2 weeks ago, then saw someone posted on FB. "Looks" like a metal card (although I don't think supplementary cards will be metal - same as HSBC UAE only the primary card is metal)... which is why I don't mind going through the trouble of replacing.

The current card is definitely the worst design... standard plastic with white edge... even the previous design with a red edge looked better slightly.

I'll check with the RM to see if it's possible to get it replaced and if there's a charge.
biatch0
post Aug 28 2025, 09:51 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(francis226 @ Aug 28 2025, 12:08 PM)
Unfortunately, its not a metal card  cry.gif
Really? Then they managed to make it look very metal...

Will try to ask my RM about this anyway... see what they say...

This post has been edited by biatch0: Aug 28 2025, 09:52 PM
biatch0
post Sep 21 2025, 12:07 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Aug 28 2025, 09:51 PM)
Really? Then they managed to make it look very metal...

Will try to ask my RM about this anyway... see what they say...
Confirmed plastic card... Replacement is RM 50 (if you don't "need" a replacement and saja want to get the new design).

0.0325sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:37 PM