gsc
post May 6 2015, 11:00 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ May 6 2015, 02:56 PM)
Dear all sifu,

Got one question for OCBC FD

Let say i have 30k cash in my hand and 30k inside OCBC smart saver acc currently.

The 30k cash i only need it by next week , if i put my 30k cash into FD today and get the 4.2% for 12month and then i withdraw the 30k on my smart saver account on Friday ( 2 day after FD placement ), do i still enjoy the promotion rate for my FD?
if you withdraw your 30k from smart saver after placing 30k FD, the FD rate will not be affected as it has already stated the interest rate.

On the other hand, for smart saver account, as long as there is a withdrawal, the interest rate drop to negligible rate.
gsc
post May 7 2015, 02:03 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(smas @ May 7 2015, 01:32 PM)
All,

I went to bank yesterday to deposit my FD and was told to open a FD account since I don't have one. The counter was closed after account opened and bank officer explained to me that they will deposit my banker cheque to the account the next day (today), and I'll be able to collect the FD cert today (there is no slip/proof received yesterday). Since it is a banker cheque with my name and IC, I think it should be fine to leave it there.

But I started to feel a little bit insecure today when I woke up since it is a banker cheque but not personal cheque that withdrawn from current account, and I didnt received any proof on the spot. Bank officer called me moment ago and said that I can collect the cert already.

My question is:
What are the things that I need to check to ensure the amount in banker cheque is fully deposited into FD account? just check on the slip, amount, rate?

Sorry for the lousy question here, this is my first paper FD. All the while was using eFD.
Which bank did you go to? What time did you open the FD account?

For banker cheques almost all banks will consider as "immediate fund" and FD cert will be issued the same day.

Is the banker cheque written with your name? Then it can only deposit into your FD account.

Check the FD cert on the amount, date, rate and your name are correct.
gsc
post May 8 2015, 02:09 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(smas @ May 7 2015, 04:14 PM)
Yeap you are right  tongue.gif  1st time do paper FD, a bit ganjiong because quite a huge portion of my saving

People always said first time will ganjiong a bit  brows.gif
First time......Hopefully wont be premature ........................................................withdrawal of your FD

gsc
post May 9 2015, 12:01 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(joeaverage @ May 8 2015, 04:29 PM)
If i am looking for FD for a year (12months) and if the promo from some banks e.g. UOB, CIMB and OCBC are all the same - the effective rate of 4.2% for a year - what are the considerations to pick btw them.

I know that these banks got certain elements to the promo - break down the interests rate (OCBC) or unfixed (CIMB) - but lets say i confirm keeping it for 12 months and I am only concerned abt the effective rate.

Is it just about the location/accessibility?
1) Fee charge for IBG or Rentas since we are playing musical chair.
2) Location especially if plan to withdraw as cash...prefer with car park within bank compound.
3) speed of service. Dont like bank with long waiting and processing time
4) limit on PIDM
gsc
post May 12 2015, 12:18 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 11 2015, 11:15 PM)
Ok.. coming back to FD related stuff.

Last week. I rentas 10k to alliance and place FD immediately after fund arrived at alliance.

however, rate is 3.3 instead of 4.1 as per advertised..

then i write to them.. they say must be new fund..

so i am thinking.. rentas fund is not new fund ?? Wad is only new fund ???
Did you rentas to your Alliance saving or other non-fixed FD account and then make a FD placement? May be Alliance bank takes it as internal fund transfer and hence not a new fund.

My personal experience with HL bank was I need to inform the bank on which date the fund will be credited into my saving account and I will use this "new" fund for FD. The bank staff said in this way, then only they will track the movement and then took it as new fund. Not sure has HL bank change the procedure.
gsc
post May 16 2015, 12:05 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 15 2015, 03:23 PM)
wat is "4.2/year" ?

the published interest rate on website/paper/leaflet/etc is effective upon placement of fund. bank honors the rate throughout the tenure, regardless of OPR changes in-between.

*note: changes to website takes few days to amend. printed matters (paper/mags/leaflet/bill statement, etc) are not possible (or very difficult) to be retracted from circulation.

e.g.

1) website stated 4.2% p.a. for 12-month tenure; promo rate until 31 July 2015.
2) you deposit on 15 May 2015. the rate 4.2% p.a. applies and effective throughout the tenure.
3) if OPR revised up/down after you depositing the fund, your existing deposits with 4.2% p.a. remains status quo.
4) if OPR revised up/down before you depositing the fund, bank may revise the promo rate (4.2% p.a.) accordingly (with/without notification). then your placement may not be getting 4.2% p.a. anymore (could be higher or lower than published rate)... or perhaps no changes.

hence, always check with the bank on the rate, etc etc before putting your placement.
since there is fixed meeting schedule for BNM,we can roughly gauge when is the expected interest rate revision too
Traditionally bank will fix the interest rate irrespective of changes in OPR. Some banks even printed out the interest you will get and hence it is very save to say the interest rate once agreed upon is casted.

However, last year Public bank came out with a step up interest rate and the FD agreement clearly written the interest rate may change when there is a change in OPR.... The following is the clause...

4.6 The promotional interest or profit rate (whichever applicable) will be subject to revision should there be any Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) change. The revision of rate may impact any of the promotional interest or profit rate (whichever applicable) i.e. first 3-month rate or first rollover rate or second rollover rate......

gsc
post May 16 2015, 12:58 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(LeonOni @ May 15 2015, 03:38 PM)
Hello, I new in FD.. currently planing on 10k FD... which bank should i apply? Thank you in advance...
You can refer to post 1 and 2. Not sure this is reported or included in post 1 and 2. Was at Hong Leong bank, 10 months Islamic FD 4 %.

Hong Leong Junior Saving account 3.05% will be dropped or already dropped (?) to the following tier.
<50k 2.5%, > 50k 0.8%.
Not sure the exact rate and when effective as I wasnt paying attention. Only knew it drops to miserable rate. The more fund you keep, the lower the interest rate in the Junior saving account.

Does any one know when is this effective? How come no notice from HL?

The good news is Islamic Junior saving is giving 3.05% which is the same as 1 month FD rate. Essentially it is the same as the earlier conventional Junior saving account. It seems that many banks are encouraging people to switch to Islamic banking account.

This post has been edited by gsc: May 16 2015, 02:01 AM
gsc
post May 16 2015, 12:55 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 16 2015, 09:41 AM)
hence, that's why i wrote it may change or may not change at all.
QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 15 2015, 03:23 PM)

the published interest rate on website/paper/leaflet/etc is effective upon placement of fund. bank honors the rate throughout the tenure, regardless of OPR changes in-between.

*note: changes to website takes few days to amend. printed matters (paper/mags/leaflet/bill statement, etc) are not possible (or very difficult) to be retracted from circulation.

gsc
post May 16 2015, 04:07 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 16 2015, 01:31 PM)
so what's wrong with that?

the interest rate is as of when you place the fund. that's normal.
the example i gave earlier to other forumer (of which u quoted):
if OPR changes, bank MAY change the rate, up or down or even dont change.

again, what's wrong with that? Bank's T&Cs are stated such to cover these scenario.
Traditional or conventiinal product
If place for a year with rate 4% Fixed deposit. 4% rate will be locked in irrespective OPR moving up or down in that 12 months period

Traditional step up product ( FD rate stepped up by quarterly)
FD rate steppng upwards quarterly. Bank will pay as per the advertisement irrespective OPR moving up and down thoughout the 12 month period.

Public Bank new FD step up FD product,
Public bank specifically mentioned in their brochure and contract agreement that the step up interest rate may not be followed should there be a change in OPR.
Meaning suppose a person has taken up a step up FD for 12 months period. Initially the second quarter period stated is 3.5% but Bank Negara has revised OPR downwards by .25%, Public bank has the right to revise downward the step up FD rate promised earlier even though the FD placement is for a year and still in the running.

The reverse could be true when BNM raises the OPR. So far Public bank has not yet revised the step up rate since OPR has been remained unchanged.

Bottom line is do watch on the clause and do not think the bank cannot change the FD rate after a person has placed the FD for a long period.

gsc
post May 16 2015, 07:32 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Apr 30 2015, 04:55 PM)
got my trolley before the long break  rclxms.gif
[attachmentid=4432043]
For those of you who want to claim any gift which is promoted by Ringgitplus, please remember to inform the bank staff and make sure the bank staff "identify" or record it.

When I made my placement with Ocbc, the staff did not record it even though I informed her Ringgitplus promotion. When some members here they have received them but I did not. I emailed to Ringgitplus on my trolley. They replied the next day asking for proof of FD. Apparently, Ocbc did not identify my FD is under Ringgitplus promotion. I replied and within 1-2 days they responded and I received an email from them on how to claim the gift. Finally received the trolley today.

The trolley casing is thin. Only suitable for light weight items. Definitely not able to stand the rough handling. Anyway it is free. Appreciate the fast response from Ringgitplus to deliver as they promised.

This post has been edited by gsc: May 16 2015, 07:40 PM
gsc
post May 16 2015, 11:59 PM

1,624 posts

Post #2 mentioned HL bank 6 months at 4% valid till end May. Last Friday I was at HL bank and was told 10 months 4%. Can anyone verify is 6 months at 4% still available?

gsc
post May 17 2015, 10:53 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 17 2015, 04:31 PM)
HL Bank 10mths 4%

HL MACH 9 mths 4%, place it online..

Looks like u shud know which is better
Overlooked my Junior FD which was matured earlier. Found this out only last Friday. I dont have Mach account and tomorrow will withdraw and top up some funds and place for 10 months.
gsc
post May 18 2015, 10:05 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 18 2015, 03:13 PM)
In HL this morning. They have 6 mths 4% FD, ending by May. It is Islamic FD.
Then 3mth 3.8% and 3.85% for PB customer, min 10k. By end of June.

Paid RM0.68 cent for banker's cheque (HL PB customer, normal is RM5 +).

Moved to OCBC for 1 year 4.2% ++. Reason for ++ is the first 6 mth interest will add in to the principal for next 6 mth, so overall slightly more than 4.2%.  rclxms.gif Except they are using 180 days as basis for interest calculation. One forummer has reported on this earlier.

Leng Lui RM tried to sell me UT product, disappointed her today. Maybe will do it next time. Haha. Anyway eyetertainment today, but much shorter time. Haha.  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
Was at HL egate branch today. Should have opened up MACH account last time then today no need to rush to complete the banking.
6 months for 4%, withdrew from saving and top up, HL treated it as fresh fund. If I have time, I probably go to UOB instead of Ocbc.

iBG charges RM2, Rentas RM 5 plus GST, banker cheque is slightly more. I think it is RM5.30 +50 sen then add on 6% GST.

This post has been edited by gsc: May 18 2015, 10:06 PM
gsc
post May 19 2015, 12:48 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 18 2015, 10:13 PM)
So HL 6 mth 4%. The HL branch gave you wrong info last week ? E-gate branch ?  hmm.gif
Yes. 6 mths 4 %. Either she gave the wrong info or I heard wrongly. Anyway 6 months is good for me as I dont want to be tied down for too long.
gsc
post May 23 2015, 02:39 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ May 22 2015, 11:21 PM)
The cert only have to take once right, or everything its renew? Planning to apply for auto-renew monthly
Only one cert one FD placement. Some banks are statement based. No cert to collect. I peronally prefer statement based coz bank charges for missing cert. Public bank charges RM10. HL staff told me HL bank charges more than RM10. Exact amount not sure. But HL bank Islamc FD is statement based.

You renew upon maturity not monthly. Most people here will not want to renew monthly because the rate will be board rate.
gsc
post May 23 2015, 08:18 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ May 23 2015, 02:27 PM)
Hi sifu-sifu all,

I have an awkward question to ask, I placed a Bank Rakyat FD (5 year 4.5%) sometime last year but can't find the slip now. Any way I could get it reprinted? Is there a penalty? Must go back to same branch?
What was the instruction given when mature?

You need to compare the cost of cert replacement versus lost of one day interest.

If it is auto renew then let it auto renew and the next day withdraw it as the contract of FD placement of earlier placement is invald anymore.
gsc
post May 31 2015, 09:48 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 30 2015, 06:12 PM)
In UOB about 3 years ago, I RENTAS out the matured FD to CB then used CB cheque to place new FD so as to get the promo rate (fresh fund required). RENTAS cost me RM9 at that time. Then later UOB knew the tricks of customer and suggested for me to just top up matured FD with 10k and get the promo rate.  biggrin.gif
UOB is customer oriented...I have been using the same approach on Ocbc FD for more than a year but the RM never asvised to top up. Either it is Ocbc policy very strict on fresh fund or RM unwilling to help. My RM was promoted recently, the new RM not even bother to sms or call to show her presence. Comparatively UOB RM ringed up to introduce herself and asked to drop by when free.....
gsc
post Jun 2 2015, 01:06 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 31 2015, 10:06 PM)
Not sure I get what u are trying to say. I am saying for UOB, instead of RENTAS out my matured FD and then issue a cheque as fresh fund to get FD promo rate, the counter girl said top up the matured FD by at least 10k to get the promo rate. But their FD require fresh fund of 10k also. So this is no big deal as if I put in fresh 10k, then I got the FD promo. So the suggestion becomes, fresh 10k plus matured FD.  tongue.gif

What approach did you take on OCBC ?  biggrin.gif

Why are you bringing RM into this discussion ?  hmm.gif
Sorry for the confusion. for Ocbc i always IBG out matured FD and place a new FD with some top up using personal cheque. The similar approach you did at UOB. UOB later allowed you to top up instead of Rentas out. My Ocbc RM should have allowed me to top up too on the matured FD.

Bottomline I am trying to say UOB is more understanding and customer friendly.
gsc
post Jun 2 2015, 07:40 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 2 2015, 11:17 AM)

Example
BSN
10k x 0.0315 x (1/12) =RM26.25

Affin
10k x 0.0325 x (1/12) = RM27.08

If the principal is low, a difference of 0.1% for one month tenure is only 83 sen, or per year RM 9.96. The time used to renew or switching bank, parking fee, petrol money etc may be more costly
gsc
post Jun 3 2015, 12:51 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Jun 2 2015, 10:42 PM)
ocbc fd is this still valid since they still advertise at the website
ocbc FD still the same. Just made a FD placement on 1 June, 180 days 4% and 180 days 4.4%. Islamc FD 12 months at 4.2%. I did not ask the promotion period. Guess it is till end June.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0267sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:14 PM