TSGen-X
post Apr 10 2015, 12:26 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 8 2015, 08:32 AM)
Oh oh, the "VCD/DVD seller" finally shows up, hahaha. Some slipper can easily be RM300++ !! These must be the one Captain wears !  notworthy.gif

I think Captain busy on doing credit card blog. I am subscriber of that blog.  rclxms.gif

Just received first monthly statement from OCBC. OCBC PB provide leng lui eye candy which Ah Boom & I enjoy also.  tongue.gif

Most banks PB status has started to charge or cancel PB if AUM falls below certain level. CIMB, CB, SCB, HL, MBB, OCBC etc etc. Some may warn you first (like UOB ?) if AUM falls under, some will straight away charge your CASA acct. Have to watchout on AUM. Maybe can try to keep low amt in CASA so nothing for them to charge ? Hahaha.  tongue.gif
Bro, no new FD Promos to go talk about. Last few pages mostly about SCB interest not being credited. And since I did not go for SCB FD Promos, I got nothing to complain about and let go some steam here, hahaha.

By the way, CIMB, HLB and MBB DO NOT impose any penalty if one's AUM falls below the required amount. They will simply revoked the PB status.

And you are right, I have been busy producing another article in regards to credit cards. And this time you should go read it and maybe can earn yourself a FREE Business Class ticket to Europe and maybe USA too (best when MAS resume their flight to LA and not go with Code Sharing especailly Cathay and get stuck in Tokyo for hours - unless you want go shopping there).

Click here and read my Comprehensive Tutorial On Earning Enrich Miles with The Best Credit Cards and you may actually find that chasing after owning the right credit card is more rewarding that chasing after FD tongue.gif

TSGen-X
post Apr 12 2015, 06:49 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Apr 12 2015, 06:53 AM)
Problem of life expectancy too high.
That's the problem most people will face including me where my FD will be depleted soon cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

The longer we live, the more money we need now in our savings. Also with longer lifespan, government all over the world getting poorer as they have to pay more pensioners.

QUOTE(plumberly @ Apr 12 2015, 09:39 AM)
For some, EPF money may be for big items like kid's education, grand holiday, new house, kid's car/house, etc etc, beside normal living expenses (if the saved amount is sufficient).

Cheerio.
above you quoted... grand holiday, new house, kid's car/house,

well, if one needs his EPF money for the above at age 55, he will big in deep trouble when he is 60.

As for children's education, EPF allows one to withdraw their money in one of the accounts anytime for the purpose of their children's education, their medical expenses and to pay off their housing loan periodically.

Moreover, you guys jumping the gun, EPF currently allows partial withdrawal at age 50, maybe they will revised it to age 55 or maintain it at 50.

The point is - there is a concern now on how retirees are going to survive if they retire at age 60 and have less than RM198K which can only sustain them for 20 years IF and a very BIG IF they only withdraw RM820 a month which is below the poverty threshold!!! And if you read on, 68% of current EPF members age 55 has less than RM50K and they are going to retire in 5 years time. RM50K is not a lot of money and I doubt it can even last 5 years.

hahaha, really got no FD matters to discuss, we go talk about EPF.
TSGen-X
post Apr 13 2015, 01:25 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Apr 12 2015, 07:26 PM)
Keen to place with AmBank for 8 mths @ 4.08% pa
B4 proceed, is there any Bank tat offer better rate for similar mths?
PBB 4+4 unless you have AmBank Signature then works out the same. Also note, PBB 4+4, the second 4 months rate can go up or down.
TSGen-X
post Apr 13 2015, 02:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Apr 13 2015, 12:37 PM)
1st - uncle? No lah. bro lah.

2nd - I used 6 million just to highlight a point that one may have more than sufficient money in EPF after the planned expenses.
Now, where can I get the 6 million? Ha.
Did you know that if one has RM6 million in EPF, he/she can withdraw RM5m anytime! Or something like that where one can start withdrawing once they have RM1M - No need age 50 can start withdrawing.
TSGen-X
post Apr 14 2015, 10:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 14 2015, 10:12 PM)
Over look my Ocbc FD which was due on 11 Apr (saturdau). Ocbc will give interest when FD  matures on weekend. I am going to withdraw the money  tomorrow.

I remembered my RM once said , the interest on weekend will be paid only provided the FD is withdrawn immdiately on the first working day, ie Monday. Is this true? Do other banks (that provide interests over ther weekend or public holidays) follow the same procedure?
I thought OCBC and UOB automatically set the maturity date to that on a working day - i.e. their system will take into account Saturday, Sunday and Public Holiday and the maturity date shown when you place FIxed Deposit with them would fall on a working day.

Of course Bro, they will pay you interest until the first working day. It's your fault if you go on the second working day or thereafter unless you have given prior instructions for it to be renewed where the commencing date will be on the day it was supposed to mature and you continue to earn interest at board rates from this said renewed date tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 14 2015, 10:20 PM
TSGen-X
post Apr 16 2015, 08:54 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 16 2015, 01:53 AM)
Yesterday went to Ocbc and the staff said if mature on Saturday and withdraw on any day except Monday (the first working day), the interest is still calculated till Sunday. This is different from what the RM said. I need to calculte to verify.

Took the money and walked over to RHB on step up interest. Ocbc staff said as a formality, they need to know why I withdraw the FD. Told her, your neighbour offers a better interest rate.

RHB step up is an Islamic Account and I have to open the new account. Took about 30 minutes with many forms to sign.

The staff try to sell me the FD 7.8% bundle with unit trus
He shows me the comparision against FD of RM100k. The FD rate RHB used to compare is 3.25% the board rate which is inaccurate. They should use the promo rate. Then the senario will be different.
The UT return is about 7% but the charges is 5%.

It is good only if keep for 3 years and the rate of return is on average 7% per year to minimize the 5% charges.

I asked the staff on the cut off date on the dividend paid out which he tried to look at the computer but unable to find.

On the FD statement
Deposit date 15/4/15
Maturity date 15/7/15
Profit payment option: On maturity (which means every 3 months)
Peincipal Distribution Option :auto renewalh
Profit payment and maturity amount are stated clearly.
Thanks for the report.

Yah, yah, tell OCBC their FD promo lousy.

UT 7% not guaranteed........
TSGen-X
post Apr 16 2015, 05:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Apr 16 2015, 05:03 PM)
I went to Alliance Bank yesterday to open 12-mth FD-Gold and was told that I need a savings or current account. Since I don't have either, I opt for Savings account. While I was filling up forms, the RM ask for my name card and then she called my office. You must have called the DID line and my mobile phone rings. I ask why she calls my office; only then she informed that she needs to verify with HR before proceeding with account creation. It was lunch time when I visited the bank.

To cut long story short, I took my money and went elsewhere.

Is it norm to call HR to verify new depositor?
Nowadays banks want to know source of our funds tongue.gif

Last time another member mentioned he wanted to place a FD with OCBC but they told him to "balik kampung" and place the FD with their branch near to the address shown in his NRIC.

Yesterday I went and withdraw my money from UOB in cheque and cash forms. They also wanted to know why I taking out the money, For the cheque, I said to go deposit with other Bank's FD Promo. For the Cash, I said I going Genting laugh.gif And they actually keyed into the system what I said thumbup.gif

I then when over to MBB to deposit the cash into my Savings Account with the teller (as I wanted the money ready for Q-Cash first thing in the morning today), and they made me fill in a Declaration Form stating the Source Of The Fund doh.gif As for the Bank Draft where I placed with MBB Promo, no question asked.

Nowadays, banks very fussy where Source of Our Funds come from, especially if you are new to them.

TSGen-X
post Apr 16 2015, 07:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Apr 16 2015, 06:16 PM)
When I bring a cheque to OCBC PB centre to open new account, the leng lui RM right in front of me, keyed in my name and searched in Google ! Immediately I asked her is it normal procedure for OCBC to do a search on new customer. She said YES !

Luckily  tongue.gif the Google search did not return any result directly related to my full name. Just some other similar names !  rclxm9.gif But the leng lui still printed it out and attached with my open new acct forms ! She said her boss will sign the approval based on the search result. Ha ha !

So, really the banks are searching for our info before opening new acct. Or is it only foreign banks more detail on this ?  hmm.gif
Wah, google your name! This one really high tech, hahaha.

Next time ask them google bbgoat then they know you go there for eyetertainment tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Apr 18 2015, 04:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Apr 17 2015, 07:56 AM)
Hi, guys. I saw that the latest FD promo with Maybank was over last week. Any new ones with them now? Thanks ahead.
As of last Friday, Maybank 3 FD Promos still running, click here to my FD Page to see them.

cybpsych posted earlier MBB's 4+4 ad and it states until 24th April 2015. But MBB FD Promo sometimes ends it earlier once quota reach and from previous reports by members here, sometimes depends on the branch too.

QUOTE(iamkid @ Apr 17 2015, 10:25 PM)
CIMB banker told me today FD islamic
3 months 4%
12 months 4.2%

Promotion until 31 may 2015
4% for 3 months really good. Thanks for reporting. Will update first post.

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Apr 18 2015, 02:15 PM)
Why online rate is always so suckish compared to over
The counter one ??

Online best online rate i ever seen is from Mach hong leong bank..
Except for MACH and Alliance currently.

QUOTE(kykit @ Apr 18 2015, 02:23 PM)
Maybe bcoz online is normally own fund not fresh fund
Yah, I guess that's the reason. FD promos are to attract fresh funds.
TSGen-X
post Apr 21 2015, 10:17 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I just got a call from Maybank, they have a new FD Promo 3+3+3 starting today BUT I cannot remember the effective rate doh.gif Will update later this evening as I'll be seeing my RM later.

I just published an eBook written with the intention to benefit both Fixed Deposit Fans and Users of Credit Cards. The story revolves around a typical middle class family where the father is a smart and “kiasu” man who wished to deceive “his good for spending his money son”.

This latest production of mine will not only allow you to enter my sick imagination, but by reading this magnificent soon to be best seller Fiction Novel, it will have a lasting impression on the way you think and will change your life forever, regardless of what stage in life you are currently at.

Earn FREE Gold Bars with Credit Cards

And of course you are to practice critical reading and not to skim through text and also never believe 100% what is posted on the internet.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 21 2015, 12:04 AM)
If a person pass away without a will, then don't make condolence advertisement in newspaper.
Banks won't know when a person is dead, so can just wait for the FD to become mature (provided the FD is joint name with either one to sign), then withdraw quietly.
The best way is to prepare a will, we will never know what will happen to us tomorrow... sad.gif
Bro, my latest Fiction Novel ebook also touched on the matter you described above.
TSGen-X
post Apr 21 2015, 05:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Earlier I mentioned MBB got new Promo 3+3+3 - total 9 Months. The effective rate works out to 4.15%
TSGen-X
post Apr 22 2015, 01:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tonytyk @ Apr 21 2015, 09:32 PM)
Islamic FD needs to comply to syariah law? Any implications, e.g. beneficiary ?
Good question. Need to go to Syariah Court to get the money? And as for beneficiary, maybe it should be beneficiaries???

QUOTE(michaelho @ Apr 21 2015, 09:52 PM)
HLB Promo for Priority Customers - min 50K (source : Received call from RM)

6mth - 4.18% pa

ends 30 June 2015
Pretty good for 6 months. Added to post No.1. Thanks.
TSGen-X
post Apr 22 2015, 01:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 22 2015, 01:00 PM)
Thanks for sharing.......Ocbc always try to match with UOB....It is good news and I dont need to take out the fund and deposit into RHB.
OCBC should have just extended their 4.2% promo like UOB did earlier this month. OCBC takes weeks to match UOB. UOB will within a week adjust their rates to match OCBC.

I can tell you from experience, UOB managers can get immediate answers from HQ, OCBC pulak the managers will say HQ people busy or in meetings, one or two days later only give answer.
TSGen-X
post May 21 2015, 09:14 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Hi guys, I just updated Post No.1 and my Fixed Deposit Page.

FYI, Maybank is also still offering Step Up 3+3+3 (total 9 months) effective interest rate 4.15%. As usual, Maybank promo until quota reached.

And I noted that BoomChaCha doing a freaking impressive job for Post#2 where he has taken the trouble to list so many FD Promos.

Side notes - while I was away I read that MBSB profit took a dive whereas most commercial banks reporting record profits for the last few quarters. Also KFH planning to exit Malaysia.
TSGen-X
post May 22 2015, 09:49 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ May 21 2015, 11:23 PM)
Hello GenX.
First of all, thank you for your incredible sharing.
But i do have one question, i failed to find this step up interest rate at M2B website.  May you share about how can one apply for the Step Up FD?
Counter walk in?  Thanks a lot.
Maybank, RHB and UOB seldom advertise their straight forward FD Promos Interest Rates in their websites.

If you walk into a RHB or UOB branch, usually they will have some pamphlet on their FD Promos and most of their staff are briefed on the promos.

However, for Maybank's case, not everyone in the branch may be aware what FD promos are being offered. Sometimes, Maybank can have more than 3 FD promos running concurrently, and in some instances, similar FD promo for conventional and Islamic banking. Click here to read my article Get More FREE MONEY With The Right and Best FD Promo - in this article I touched on Maybank "secret FD promo" where I first learned about it from members who reported about it in previous FD thread, i.e. from MGM and bbgoat. I had to speak to different people at a Maybank branch to learn about the T&C and to top that, the T&C varies between branches.

So, the best place to find out about latest FD Promos is to come to this thread and read Post#1 and especially Post#2 by BoomChaCha and also visit my Fixed Deposit Page and then call or go to the branch to check them out.

For your info, the Maybank 3+3+3 (9 months) FD promo effective rate 4.15%, the conventional promo ended as quota reached; but as of yesterday, it was still being offered under Islamic Banking. And minimum fresh fund RM25K (previously MBB FD Promos require minimum fresh fund RM20K but recently they increase it to RM25K). And Maybank FD Promos are opened to companies and societies too.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 22 2015, 09:52 AM
TSGen-X
post May 25 2015, 10:45 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 24 2015, 02:21 PM)
Personally I still prefer the FD cert. Pro and con's of FD cert and statement based. Our Captain Gen-X has written in his blog on this topic.

With monthly statement from UOB, OCBC, this will help the forgetful people to remember the previous month they have withdrawed their FD.  biggrin.gif
Bro, for convenient in the event of emergency, I prefer Statement Based FD. However, with Statement Based, every months I get tons of statements from UOB as I have so many accounts with them.

And Bro, I so "gatal" that I just got myself the Maybank Premier Wealth MasterCard Debit Card. However, with me having this card, I need to maintain the minimum AUM or else I will have to pay RM800 fee!!! However my RM told me don't worry as she can always waive it and she assured me that I will get new FD Promo rates in the future without needing to meet the "fresh fund" condition. To see the card - click here to my article title My Maybank Premier Wealth MasterCard Debit Card and Eraman Privilege Card PLUS Maybank Deposit Products to Pay Your Credit Cards Bills.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 25 2015, 10:46 AM
TSGen-X
post May 25 2015, 12:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 25 2015, 12:29 PM)
Captain, for me, having FD cert in my hand felt more secure. Though the only FD "cert" that I cannot find is the HSBC one which I learned also statement based. But I thought you said before that statement based has the risk of being withdrawn without our knowledge especially for joint acct. Haha !  tongue.gif

Wasai, you have 16 credit cards or more ! In the blog you showed techniques to get the money to work harder for people !  notworthy.gif
Q-Cash is one of them. Last year I know of REPO through you and have parked some eggs there short term (weeks then by day) to get 2.6% interest. Thanks !  thumbup.gif
Bro, that's is why I also mentioned many times that I am a very good boy that obeys my wife so that she is not pissed off and and shower her with gifts go that she doesn't withdraw all my FD without my knowledge and go on a shopping spree, hahaha.
TSGen-X
post Jun 8 2015, 01:34 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 8 2015, 10:40 AM)
Captain is back... and Captain will open a new version 9 within this week.. thumbup.gif
Wah, need to make public announcement I'm back, hahaha

Okay guys, new thread starts tomorrow 10am.

However, with sadness, I have to announce that Admiral BoomChaCha is unable to continue his fantastic compilation of latest FD Promos in V9.

I take this opportunity to thank BoomChaCha for his sacrifice and time in updating the latest FD Promos in Post#2 of this thread.

So, tomorrow, for Post#2, we need a new volunteer to continue BoomChaCha's work......... anyone interested? If yes, go reserve Post#2 tomorrow. Well, actually, if any of you regulars are willing to update latest FD promos in Post#1, you can go start V9 now as you guys know I am not so active nowadays.
TSGen-X
post Jun 9 2015, 01:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Jun 8 2015, 07:21 PM)
question is stability of MBSB
You are right, people who deposit with MBSB should be concerned. Recently it was reported that their last quarter profit took a dive compared to previous quarters.

And it is no surprise why the above is so.... BNM have taken steps make it more stringent for people to get Personal Loans. People who has money in BR should be equally concerned.

Those of you who are now aware how bad MBSB was in 2008 -2009 should go find out. They only managed to turn around because there were allowed to milk dry civil servants with Personal Loans. If we face another Recession, I'll be worried if I have money in MBSB.

Talking about Economy Collapse, go google "Shemitah Years". And if we do face another Recession, Cash Is King!

TSGen-X
post Jun 9 2015, 10:11 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 9 2015, 10:18 AM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top