7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Learning Photography with Canon 350 D, Chingay Procession 07

TS??!!
post Sep 27 2006, 05:33 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(gold3knight @ Sep 27 2006, 11:17 AM)
How about manual focus? Otherwise too near for the lens to focus properly, must use PSS2IS supermacro liao (0cm).  icon_rolleyes.gif
0 cm macro???..

Any other easier method for a gundu before i learn how to go manual?

Moon-light

Full Moon...well...almost. First shot of the moon, handheld using the 90-300 mm. After cropping, not very sharp liao.

1 night later...and we can see the difference in the shape of the moon

Candle-light

Curi idea from WildPiew...hehe

user posted imageuser posted image

WildPiew
post Sep 27 2006, 05:38 PM

1,369 posts

wah~!!!! handheld 90-300 mm notworthy.gif
haha candle shot nice try thumbup.gif try use 2-3s n fan abit the candle to capture the movement tongue.gif
gold3knight
post Sep 27 2006, 06:11 PM

1,672 posts

woah, you beat me to it. I was going to post a photo of a crescent moon i took yesterday. Was just getting to do a write up on it. And some night shots from last night too!!
Here's a preview...user posted image

I'm going to delay that upload for a few days now...

This post has been edited by gold3knight: Sep 27 2006, 06:11 PM
TS??!!
post Sep 28 2006, 09:24 AM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(WildPiew @ Sep 27 2006, 05:38 PM)
  try use 2-3s n fan abit the candle  to capture the movement tongue.gif
Haha..I took so long to get the right speed/exposure, the assistant I recruited to be the flame-blower gave up on me due to the 'panas' factor.

Will try to fan the fire with the next experiment.

QUOTE(gold3knight @ Sep 27 2006, 06:11 PM)
woah, you beat me to it. I was going to post a photo of a crescent moon i took yesterday. Was just getting to do a write up on it. And some night shots from last night too!!
Here's a preview...user posted image

I'm going to delay that upload for a few days now...
No need to delay upload mah. Quick, quick upload!

WildPiew
post Sep 28 2006, 09:45 AM

1,369 posts

haha ??!!, u need to fan it slowly first then press the button tongue.gif
wut w/b u using hor? Auto w/b? coz bottom right that candle colour tone more on blue leh.

haha panas leh, last time i also feel damn panas leh.
TS??!!
post Sep 28 2006, 12:11 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(WildPiew @ Sep 28 2006, 09:45 AM)
haha ??!!, u need to fan it slowly first then press the button tongue.gif 

U mean...no need helper?. I fan and then I press button? Or 1 hand hold fan , the other hold camera?...Kenot balance lah like dat!

U know ar...grandma coordination not very good one.

wut w/b u using hor? Auto w/b? coz bottom right that candle colour tone more on blue leh.

Cannot remember. Checked properties and it says Manual W/B; But I don't remember it as such.

Anyway, the blue tinge is due to I itchy hand go and adjust hue to give it the blue blame; like Shell and Esso used to claim in their advertisements that blue flame = good flame!

haha panas leh, last time i also feel damn panas leh.

Aaahhh...the things we do for photography!

This post has been edited by ??!!: Sep 28 2006, 12:13 PM
LanEvoX
post Sep 28 2006, 12:20 PM

6 stars only...meh...
1,452 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Sep 27 2006, 05:33 PM)
0 cm macro???..

yup, S2IS and S3IS have 0cm marco mode brows.gif

even the PS A430 can do 1cm macro blink.gif
WildPiew
post Sep 28 2006, 12:25 PM

1,369 posts

U mean...no need helper?. I fan and then I press button? Or 1 hand hold fan , the other hold camera?...Kenot balance lah like dat!

u can set self timer ger ma tongue.gif 2 sec maybe.
ac98
post Sep 28 2006, 01:16 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Sep 28 2006, 12:11 PM)
Aaahhh...the things we do for photography!
I know about this topic better then you all-lah : Get wet, get dirty, climb up and down, bukak baju, kena lumpur, kena rain ... sigh ... these are the times you get so upclose with the subject and your camera. When you finally decided to part with the camera to upgrade, hati soooooooooo sakit, why? Becoz the camera been thru so much wih you cry.gif

This post has been edited by ac98: Sep 28 2006, 01:20 PM
TS??!!
post Sep 28 2006, 04:35 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Sep 28 2006, 12:20 PM)
yup, S2IS and S3IS have 0cm marco mode brows.gif

even the PS A430 can do 1cm macro blink.gif
Hmmmm...wonder how 0 cm macro works. Lighting must be damn tough. Technically, me think it can't be zero distance, maybe some micron of a mm; but not zero zero.

QUOTE(WildPiew @ Sep 28 2006, 12:25 PM)
u can set self timer ger ma tongue.gif 2 sec maybe.
Ya hor..how come never thought of it?

QUOTE(ac98 @ Sep 28 2006, 01:16 PM)
I know about this topic better then you all-lah : Get wet, get dirty, climb up and down, bukak baju, kena lumpur, kena rain ... sigh ... these are the times you get so upclose with the subject and your camera. When you finally decided to part with the camera to upgrade, hati soooooooooo sakit, why? Becoz the camera been thru so much wih you cry.gif
The love affair of an artiste and his tools! Yeah, I know where you are coming from.

ac98
post Sep 28 2006, 04:39 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

I will relate those stories to you all from time to time ... experiences are very precious, but it's good to share.
TS??!!
post Sep 28 2006, 04:47 PM

2,548 posts

Is it me or is dSLR's macro distance is much much further? Can someone pl enlighten me?

It was about 6-7 pm when these pix were taken. Would it had been easier to focus if lighting conditions were brighter?

After what seems to be like a hundred or more shots of flowers, these are about the most focussed that I have:

This was taken 2 days earlier than the above pix, before the full bloom. I prefer the soft pink of the buds.

gold3knight
post Sep 28 2006, 07:33 PM

1,672 posts

http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/5240/img3236hvg2.jpg
http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/6918/img3237hpt9.jpg
These 2 photos taken with S2 supermacro, first one maybe 0.5cm, second one about 1cm
This one at 0cm.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...dpost&p=7971236
clemong_888
post Sep 28 2006, 07:37 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

what lens were u using? using a non-macro lens.. there's a limit to how near u can focus.
TS??!!
post Sep 29 2006, 04:14 PM

2,548 posts

OK..now I know I need real macro lens to take those real close-up shots. The so-called macro function with the flower icon is a different kind of 'macro'.

Yellow Fever

Not the medical condition, but my obsession with yellow flowers. For starters, I am not so into flowers,but a yellow one will surely lift my spirit.

Is it my eyes or again the close-up focussing thing? While the flowers seem to be in focus, they don't seem to be as sharp as what ii would get from my Coolpix or Camedia.

This post has been edited by ??!!: Sep 29 2006, 04:16 PM
zephyr
post Sep 29 2006, 04:56 PM

265 posts

??!!, any bug/insect macro shots? Can you pls do it with the kit lens? Wanna see how good it could be.. I haven't got my DSLR yet... smile.gif

This post has been edited by zephyr: Sep 29 2006, 04:57 PM
LanEvoX
post Sep 29 2006, 05:10 PM

6 stars only...meh...
1,452 posts

nice flower....

u need a macro lens for macro shoot else cant focus it near
TS??!!
post Sep 29 2006, 05:29 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(zephyr @ Sep 29 2006, 04:56 PM)
??!!, any bug/insect macro shots? Can you pls do it with the kit lens? Wanna see how good it could be.. I haven't got my DSLR yet... smile.gif
Got some pix of some bees and bird yesterday, but with the 300mm zoom. With kit lens arh...aku tak berani lah...With the zoom also takut that fella mengamuk and come after me!

I can u/l the pix for you.But not so nice, cloudy skies and those fellas keep moving around non stop.

The birdie lah tak payah cakap, just go a bit nearer..all cabut loh.

Frankly, I feel the kit lens is lauyah one. I believe most ppl end up buying other lens soon after they buy the SLR. My intention initially was to trade in the kit and buy the other lens straight away.

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Sep 29 2006, 05:10 PM)
nice flower....

u need a macro lens for macro shoot else cant focus it near
OK..just trying my luck with the zoom. Macro lens can wait.Let me get my wide-angle first.

Edit:

Zephyr,

some of the flowers were shot with the kit lens

This post has been edited by ??!!: Sep 29 2006, 05:41 PM
LanEvoX
post Sep 29 2006, 05:36 PM

6 stars only...meh...
1,452 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Sep 29 2006, 05:29 PM)
Got some pix of some bees and bird yesterday, but with the 300mm zoom. With kit lens arh...aku tak berani lah...With the zoom also takut that fella mengamuk and come after me!

I can u/l the pix for you.But not so nice, cloudy skies and those fellas keep moving around non stop.

The birdie lah tak payah cakap, just go a bit nearer..all cabut loh.

Frankly, I feel the kit lens is lauyah one. I believe most ppl end up buying other lens soon after they buy the SLR. My intention initially was to trade in the kit and buy the other lens straight away.
OK..just trying my luck with the zoom. Macro lens can wait.Let me get my wide-angle first.
ya, get a wide angle lens first! rclxm9.gif
WildPiew
post Sep 29 2006, 05:52 PM

1,369 posts

300mm zoom use "three legs cat"(tripod) tongue.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:16 AM