11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v8, The MS Excel Masterclass version!

SUSDavid83
post Jan 27 2015, 10:22 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 27 2015, 10:20 PM)
In that case, by default if we can maintain cash investments of roughly 50% of the value of our EPF (assuming no withdrawals made before), we should be doing fine? hmm.gif

I.e.
EPF = 23%
If cash investments about 10-11%, total of EPF + cash investments = 33%
Your investment for retirement must be inflation and have a consistent per annum return (at least to match EPF return).

There's a calculator in PPA website.

Let's your last withdrawn salary before retirement is RM 10k.

2/3 of it == RM 6667.

RM 6667 in 2015 and RM 6667 in 2055 are not the same at all! Inflation, purchasing power and currency strength.

This post has been edited by David83: Jan 27 2015, 10:25 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 27 2015, 10:26 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 27 2015, 10:24 PM)
US futures look very red...

Economic indicators are not looking good...

Which means...Fed rate hike won't happen anytime soon... brows.gif
Fed won't hike the rate so early. If the inflation cannot reach 2%, they will prolong it. If it enters into deflation like Europe, better drama to watch since commodities price has been sliding.

Federal Reserve officials gather in Washington for a two-day policy meeting. The central bank is trying to determine whether declining oil prices, a slowdown in European growth and any fallout from the Greek elections will threaten the U.S. recovery as it considers raising interest rates. Chair Janet Yellen told reporters after the last meeting not to expect higher borrowing costs before the end of April.

This post has been edited by David83: Jan 27 2015, 10:57 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 27 2015, 10:27 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 27 2015, 10:26 PM)
Your EPF Savings alone are not likely to be enough to support your retirement. A higher life expectancy, low salary and an early retirement period at the age of 55 years will use up your EPF savings within a short period of time.
Since the EPF was established on 1 October 1951, the age for withdrawing one’s entire EPF savings has remained at 55 years though the life expectancy period of Malaysians has increased to 75 years. This means that your EPF savings has to last for 20 years after your retirement period.
The 2013 EPF statistics for members aged 54 years revealed that:
 69% of members have savings of RM50,000 and below;
 54% of members have savings of RM20,000 and below; and
 Only 31% of members members are still working at the age of 54 years.
This amount of savings will not be able to support you for 20 years after your retirement period.
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/documents/10...14_28052014.pdf
That's one of the reason why EPF raised the Quantum for Basic Savings too!
SUSDavid83
post Jan 27 2015, 10:33 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 27 2015, 10:29 PM)
In today's term, I just need roughly RM2K+ a month to survive (no car loan, no home loan, no dependent)

RM500K to retire? hmm.gif
You want more conservative number; then use our min bangla salary number: RM 900

Ubah gaya hidup since you said no need to much during those golden ages! whistling.gif

That will reduce it to RM 216k.

This post has been edited by David83: Jan 27 2015, 10:34 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 27 2015, 10:41 PM

52,874 posts

US market follows Europe tunes; opens 1% lower

U.S. Stocks Slide as Microsoft to Caterpillar Results Disappoint
URL: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2015-01-27/u...ense-sales.html

Europe has Greece problem. US has data and earning disappointments!

U.S. stocks tumbled as a drop in durable-goods orders and disappointing results from Caterpillar Inc. to Microsoft Corp. heightened concern about the economy’s strength.

Orders for business equipment unexpectedly fell in December for a fourth month, signaling a global growth slowdown is weighing on American companies. Bookings for non-military capital goods excluding aircraft dropped 0.6 percent for a second month, data from the Commerce Department showed. Demand for all durable goods -- items meant to last at least three years -- declined 3.4 percent, the worst performance since August.

Slackening demand from Europe and some emerging markets is probably weighing on orders, making companies less willing to invest in new equipment.

A separate report showed home prices in 20 U.S. cities rose at a slower pace in the year ended in November, a sign the industry struggled to find momentum even amid low mortgage rates. The S&P/Case-Shiller index of property values increased 4.3 percent from November 2013 after rising 4.5 percent in the year ended in October.

This post has been edited by David83: Jan 27 2015, 10:58 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 28 2015, 06:24 AM

52,874 posts

Bloody day for US:

DJIA -291.49 -1.65% 17,387.21
S&P 500 -27.54 -1.34% 2,029.55
NASDAQ -90.27 -1.89% 4681.50

URL: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2015-01-27/u...ense-sales.html
SUSDavid83
post Jan 28 2015, 07:57 AM

52,874 posts

Today top up? whistling.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jan 28 2015, 08:55 PM

52,874 posts

Europe tension with Greece new government formed by Tsipras:

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...ts-sink-further
SUSDavid83
post Jan 29 2015, 07:22 AM

52,874 posts

US closed in RED; dropped >1%:

DJIA -195.84 17,191.37 -1.13%
S&P 500 -27.39 2,002.16 -1.35%
NASDAQ -43.50 4,638.00 -0.93%
SUSDavid83
post Jan 29 2015, 12:54 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 29 2015, 10:16 AM)
Who is thinking top up now? rolleyes.gif
Topped on Ponzi 2.0!
SUSDavid83
post Jan 29 2015, 06:31 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 29 2015, 05:20 PM)
Even with yesterday's market slump...my portfolio actually went up!

Means...Ringgit really koyak-ing sweat.gif
MYR got shocked from SG "QE".
SUSDavid83
post Jan 29 2015, 06:44 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Jan 29 2015, 06:41 PM)
cimb apdif and abardeen word islamic are doing very well now, especially cimb apdif........... wonder this is a result of the market crash that happened earlier or normal performance of these two funds?? hmm.gif
CIMB APDIF is an actively managed fund and has a goal to achieve.

In December 2014, they have sold off all the holdings at Malaysia, Thailand and Philippines.

AIWEF is also employing similar strategy but it's an Islamic fund and pretty heavy at Europe and US.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 29 2015, 07:21 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jan 29 2015, 07:18 PM)
I read the 1st post, it mentioned the NAV price bought will be T+4 for most funds. So does it means the unit price I bought that instant will actually be 4 working days later?

Appreciate gurus help here.
Let's say if you placed an order and made a payment via FPX/Fund transfer before 3pm. You'll get today's NAV. After 3pm, it'll be tomorrow NAV.

Do note that payment must reach first before your order will be processed. Your PO will be turned to BUY. I believe at this stage, FSM will book number of units with the respective fund house.

FSM is very sensitive and particular on NAV pricing too.

Everything to be completely processed by T+4.

This post has been edited by David83: Jan 29 2015, 07:23 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 29 2015, 07:34 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jan 29 2015, 07:32 PM)
So can I say that I will be purchasing today's NAV if I transfer before 3pm but the units purchased will only reflect in your account after 4 days?
Yes. It'll under remain under PURCHASES/SALES before T+4
SUSDavid83
post Jan 29 2015, 10:08 PM

52,874 posts

German Inflation Rate Is Negative for First Time Since 2009

Germany’s inflation rate turned negative in January for the first time in more than five years, aggravating a slump in consumer prices in the euro area.

Prices in Europe’s largest economy fell 0.5 percent from a year earlier, the Federal Statistics Office in Wiesbaden said today. That’s the lowest rate since September 2009. Economists predicted a drop of 0.2 percent.

“Euro-zone inflation is likely to stay negative in the first half of the year before base effects and the lower euro exchange rate could return rates into modestly positive territory,” said Christian Schulz, senior economist at Berenberg Bank in London. “A return to the ECB’s 2 percent target remains a distant prospect.”

The outlook for lower inflation is boosting bonds as it preserves the purchasing power of their fixed payments. Underscoring that point, Germany’s 30-year yield fell below 1 percent for the first time on record on Thursday.

The euro-area inflation rate was probably minus 0.5 percent in January, according to a separate Bloomberg survey. Eurostat, the European Union’s statistics office, will publish the data on Friday at 11 a.m. Luxembourg time.

URL: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...time-since-2009
SUSDavid83
post Jan 30 2015, 07:49 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 30 2015, 04:13 AM)
rclxms.gif  16.32% was about right.....IRR 427.39%?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  "kesian" those regulars here that posted their IRR <10%?
If you invested in a short period and your ROI is very high, then IRR will be extremely high and could be misleading.

Manulife India Equity Fund has been spectular but the concern lies ahead if those who wanted to pursue for it is whether it could sustain its high ROI. I don't want to be trapped again like last time when China funds were introduced when China equities were at its highest all time high.

Think about it!
SUSDavid83
post Jan 30 2015, 10:44 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 30 2015, 10:40 AM)
If Ponzi 2.0 is for the long term.. why don't ust put in CIMB PRS?
Which invest in ponzi 2.0..
Lower SC charges again..
Pros and cons.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 30 2015, 03:10 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 30 2015, 03:08 PM)
i have..  doh.gif  doh.gif  haha super volatile.. must have for bulls.. sell when bear..
For small caps, if you want to reduce the risk by not too concentrating on Bolehland, you can consider Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 30 2015, 03:13 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 30 2015, 03:11 PM)
hmm.gif  not so ponzi fund like last time already..
Of course, the bull is over.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 30 2015, 06:32 PM

52,874 posts

Last day of the promo, topped up on Eastspring Investments Asia Pacific Ex-Japan Target Return Fund

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0405sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:44 AM