Teeth braces, for the perfect smile
pikeydude
May 20 2010, 04:30 PM

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ May 20 2010, 03:55 PM) I see thank you  Just one last thing i need to know ok? Do you sifus here think 6k should be more then enough to settle everything for Damon Braces?Bcs if it is more then i have problem already it is tooo expensive for me, 6k already is way over budget. 4k is the normal braces and 6k is the average price for damon braces. Payment is installment over the period of wearing the braces.
pikeydude
Jun 4 2010, 02:24 PM

QUOTE(darren84 @ Jun 4 2010, 12:39 PM) Helloooo.. I'm going to be the new member of the braces-carrier family  . It's a very difficult decision for me cos I really afraid of pain but finally decided that the pain is momentary, but the effect is gonna be a lifetime long. I went to this Dr Low Teong in SS2. Very patient n papa-like... even keep telling me "not painful one ah.. dont be nervous" as if I'm a kid lol. Make me embarass nia Anyway I havent put on the braces, here's my schedules: 1. First visit - Examining the teeth and identifying which teeth needs to be extracted. Xray and taking the mould. Extraction of the first teeth (my case needs four teeth to be extracted T_T) - completed2. Second visit and third visit - To extracted the remaining three - not completed3. To install the braces - not completedGoing to be "boh-geh" for few weeks first then only can get the braces put-on.  Welcome to the "family", lols. How much he quote you for the over all treatment incl braces? Is it Damon ?
pikeydude
Jun 4 2010, 05:30 PM

QUOTE(darren84 @ Jun 4 2010, 05:26 PM) He quote me RM6K (including all extractions, xray, mould n subsequent follow-ups). Yes it's Damon I see.... a good deal then..
pikeydude
Jun 14 2010, 09:53 PM

QUOTE(darren84 @ Jun 14 2010, 05:03 PM) Guys, My next session would be putting on the separator to spare some gaps between teeth. Its the preparation for the subsequent session for putting on the braces. Anyone has done the separator and any clue if it hurts? Well.. .not mine...
pikeydude
Jun 15 2010, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Jun 15 2010, 09:39 AM) depends on your pain thrash hold...... normally it dhouldn't hurt but it's gonna be very irritating.... feels like food stuck between your teeth..... putting on the braces is a different stry though..... most ppl won't be able to chew for up to 1 week as the teeth will be sore..... you will have ulcerations too..... Oh ya... and dont forget to gargle with mouth wash too.. it helps to get relive from the ulcers..
pikeydude
Jun 28 2010, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(darren84 @ Jun 28 2010, 11:16 AM) guys. I finally have my braces on already. To my surprise, there's no pain AT ALL!! Just some discomfort after wearing (that there's something in the mouth) which the feeling will fade in few days time. Other than that, there's really nothing However I think as time goes by, it might get very frustrating to wait for the braces to be taken down, cos the duration is really too long.. (2 years man!) Welcome to the club, lols
pikeydude
Jul 2 2010, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(callmefifi @ Jul 2 2010, 02:25 PM) hi there, the 6k can pay by installment is it? may i know further about the payment? interested to put on braces, for government, i heard that need to line up 5 years. @.@ Usually the dentist will ask for 1k for deposit and the rest can be paid by installment over the course of the treatment.
pikeydude
Jul 14 2010, 08:32 PM

QUOTE(pegasusxing @ Jul 14 2010, 06:05 PM) what about damon? cheapest i can find is 5.5k for metal, 6.5k for half metal, half ceramic, at the smile clinic. are there any cheaper places? You may want to try Su Dental at Jln Kuchai Lama... I'm wearing my braces and under her treatment. You may want to enquire as the charge varies from the teeth situation.
pikeydude
Oct 2 2010, 11:22 AM

It's annoying the bracket keep dropping out on its own so many times barely half an hour sticking back to the tooth.... felt like using the super glue and stick it there on my own.
pikeydude
Oct 4 2010, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(mothera @ Oct 4 2010, 12:23 AM) @LovingDae I wanted to have braces after highschool but Ive got no $. I could have gone for government dentist but Ive heard the outcomes are usually bad. I did my braces when I was 23, earning my own salary. Went for orthodontist since they are specialist in perfecting your teeth alignment. My point is, if you wanna do it, get the best orthodontist to do it for you. Two years of wearing braces is a sacrifice. So even if you paid only 2k but the outcome is bad, its not worth it. I have friends who had to wear for five years just because their dentist didnt know how to move their teeth, placed the braces brackets wrongly, etc. As for your jaw, I have met maxillofacial surgeons and they said generally, peoples jaw are not symmetrical. Orthodontist cant change the structure of your jaw, they can only perfect (or near perfect) your teeth alignment. So if you want a perfect jaw, you need to do surgery, which is not entirely necessary. I agree to the above because you are putting an investment to your teeth which can last a very long time. Make sure you go get an orthodontist to do it. I started mine and in a middle of the treatment with a dentist and regretted the decision; not wanting you to make the same mistake. Hope you can scout more options on all the available orthodontist and discuss the payment method to get a better price.
pikeydude
Oct 4 2010, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(mothera @ Oct 4 2010, 11:41 AM) @pikeydude Thanks bro. That is exactly what Im trying to point out. A perfect(or near perfect) smile is worth a million. It's investment If you're serious about doing under a certain orthodontic, I'm pretty certain the payment method can be negotiated. Having said the above, where did you get your braces done? Mine is getting it done at a clinic at KL.
pikeydude
Oct 4 2010, 07:21 PM

Because the braces were not putting on the suitable place on the tooth, the bite always hit the bracket. Causing it to drop so frequently and not it doesn't stick so well already. I wonder if it's a common problem in orthodontics.
pikeydude
Oct 5 2010, 11:15 AM

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Oct 5 2010, 10:52 AM) research showed that Damon is as effective as any other type of braces... duration of treatment is the same... Oh... and I had the idea otherwise. Maybe it's all the just the marketing gimmick. But for Damon, there's less chance of tooth extraction, the pain from the monthly screw tightening and discomfort from the rubber band?? But I have to agree is almost 1/3 more expensive than normal braces. Anyway, I'm wearing Damon braces.
pikeydude
Nov 8 2010, 03:02 PM

May we know where is the dentist located?
pikeydude
Nov 20 2010, 11:22 PM

Hi all... Just to share with you all the results so far after almost 70 weeks of wearing braces. The upper one was installed on Dec 11, 2009. I'm still not sure how long I still need to wear them yet. I've been through a lot of mental and physical pain throughout these period but I believe it's worth it. Those who are still hesitant about going for braces, I would say, just go for it. Beauty comes with a price but it's definitely going to put a nice smile on your face and increase the self confidence too. Before  After
pikeydude
Nov 21 2010, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Nov 21 2010, 11:58 AM) nice... if you dun mind, you have a pretty obvious gummy smile.... do ask your dentist if there's way of overcoming it..... it will make your smile 'perfect'..... Oh.. gummy smile? hmmm.. not sure what's that but I'll google about it. And ask my dentist what to do about it too.
pikeydude
Nov 30 2010, 10:19 AM

QUOTE(Xp3rT @ Nov 30 2010, 03:09 AM) I deciding go brace my teeth soon maybe next month.my gum/teeth easily n alway bleeding,will any effect if I go do orthdo treatment? my fren recommend me to go How's orthdo at bangsar..anyone brace at thr,can gv some review? You may want to ask in this thread too, http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/465273/+1920 (linked to the latest page in that thread). There's a handful of people over there who is patients of Dr How.
pikeydude
Dec 15 2010, 11:16 PM

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Dec 15 2010, 05:13 PM) I'm planning to have braces for my teeth. But after seen the dentist, he actually told me that I have to take out 4 wisdom tooth  . And 2 of them need to do operation as the wisdom position is horizontal instead vertical. He actually explain on how to remove the horizontal by break the wisdom teeth to few pieces and taken it out.  . When I heard this, it makes me scared.. Real scare.. Has anyone done this kind of operation before??? Yeah, i had my 4 wisdom teeth taken out. I was under general anesthesia (I'm injected with a drug, whole body went to sleep, feels nothing). Then when I woke up, all my 4 teeth is already done with. Thinking back, it's just like a dream.
pikeydude
Dec 16 2010, 10:36 AM

Jet, DrBarbarian,
I went to the dentist and after the xray review, I was given a written referral to a government specialist hospital of the oral surgery department. I was checked again by the specialist over there and they agreed on the GA procedure. Since it was a done at the government hospital, the overall cost is less than RM100 only.
The pain was there but I was given pain killers for medication so it was not so bad.
pikeydude
Apr 22 2011, 03:23 PM

QUOTE(cuteyam @ Apr 22 2011, 11:17 AM) can i know which dental provide this service??? You also can get more braces information at this low yat thread, Bracesian's Place