87 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Teeth braces, for the perfect smile

iDk
post Sep 28 2006, 11:23 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(@nn@nn @ Sep 28 2006, 08:59 PM)
where got...most of my frens government funded wan lar....my dad say dun wan to apply cause by the time my turn, i might leave school adi..gotta wait for longgggg time
yes yes... you are true, i place my appointment for 3 years before they called me up to start doing the teeth. Place at form 1 (initially i never know what the heck is this and i just follow my coursin sister to place the appointment.) They only started to call me when i was on form 4. I think that's why it costed me RM500, or 300 only. Wait for 3 years long.
snorlax
post Sep 29 2006, 12:14 AM

Sleeper
1,308 posts

Yup, government hospitals will take an insanely long time. Also depends whether they consider your case "medically interesting". That was what i got when i asked around at UMMC. Private practitioners will charge you anything from 3k to 5k++. Depends on the severity of the case and the orthodontist in question. More experienced ones will be able to charge higher, since you're paying for him not to screw up your teeth. Good idea not to skimp on this, since it's going to be for a lifetime
different solutions
post Sep 29 2006, 02:21 AM

104 posts

-wrong post-

This post has been edited by different solutions: Sep 29 2006, 02:22 AM
iDk
post Sep 29 2006, 02:24 AM

1,124 posts

all i can say about the orthodontist treatment is "pain". No joking and it is freaking pain for the first time wear the bracelet the first week, i was not able to eat a tofu either for the first time. And if you accidentally bite your own lips, the inner skin of your lips will be wide open up like cutting through by meat blender. I still the remember the taste of blood and the amount of blood coming out of my mouth.
TSMrHan
post Sep 29 2006, 08:05 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Sep 29 2006, 02:24 AM)
all i can say about the orthodontist treatment is "pain". No joking and it is freaking pain for the first time wear the bracelet the first week, i was not able to eat a tofu either for the first time. And if you accidentally bite your own lips, the inner skin of your lips will be wide open up like cutting through by meat blender. I still the remember the taste of blood and the amount of blood coming out of my mouth.
Is it because the braces had re-aligned your teeth, that you had forgotten the actual positions of them? tongue.gif
jones007
post Sep 30 2006, 01:25 PM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

wear braces very pain one wooo >"< eat oso susah.. damn.. lucky i have good teeth tongue.gif
jones007
post Sep 30 2006, 01:26 PM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

dracula ph34r.gif well i bite my lips sometimes.. but.. usually not many blood one wo.. swt.. u say until so serious @@"
keanhwa_mich
post Sep 30 2006, 02:24 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(babykaeru @ Sep 26 2006, 10:42 PM)
uptown where where?? which dentist?? and how much ?? i plan to do mine tooo ... (happy.gif)v
u know maybank its the same row... the name of the dentist is PJ orthodontist specialist ... mine is only rm 3800 .. and i paid through instalment ....
keanhwa_mich
post Sep 30 2006, 02:27 PM

171 posts

Where got so "Pain" mine is ok... its only for the 1st week.. the rest of the time is just normal no pain at all.. don go n scare them la!!!
@nn@nn
post Sep 30 2006, 04:13 PM

Validating
150 posts

whoa...u all say until i dun feel like doin anymore...
-__-"
+3kk!
post Sep 30 2006, 04:29 PM

8,275 posts

you a girl?

as far as i know, first day i couldnt give a damn about the pain eat every damn thing. even after tightening still..ok. so in my whole 3 years of wearing braces i eat everything, resulting to a few extra trips to repair it. you cant eat toufu? damn must be serious or you need to start being more pain tolerant.

the only irritating part is when the braces accidently cuts you, from sports or what soo ever. it hurts like mad for a while but the latter blood taste in your mouth really sucks. but never like the way you claim to be wei, most even after a sharp elbow to the jaw i get a swollen lip for a couple of days and well minor bleeding.
socratesman
post Sep 30 2006, 05:24 PM

1,807 posts

Anyone here had experience doing braces in their late 20s? Very very painful?

My front teeth abit of of position and now I fully regret not doing braces in my teenage time.
mr_fazz
post Oct 1 2006, 04:05 PM

265 posts

yea, anyone know how much it cost,
i wish to wear braces too
as for my problem, the upper teeth are nice
but my lower teeth, it's kindda messy, it like some going too front,
it really spoilt my "smile" hehhehe tongue.gif

normally how much, are they gonna accept if i just wanna do my lower part of teeth?? icon_question.gif
epep
post Oct 1 2006, 04:31 PM

131 posts

Hahaha, can't help but laugh at all the posts . . .

Anyways . . . I'm 28F and I've been wearing braces for exactly 6 months and 2 days (Yes, I keep count).

I'm getting mine done in Taman Tun. The place is called Sarah Orthodontic and its somewhere between Pizza Hut and Bank Islam (or near Mohsin if you are familiar with TTDI). Very friendly people there and IMHO very experienced too.

Price? RM 4000 for metal braces or RM 6000 for ceramic ones. You pay 50% up front and the rest in 10 months installments. You also have to pay additional RM300 in the beginning for the xrays and they also make mouldings of your teeth. If you only want to do one row of teeth then its half of the overall price (makes perfect sense right?).

I heard from a friend of a friend of a friend who has a cousin who did her braces at UH and she had to wait 2 years! No thank you, I rather pay than wait 2 years.

And here is my experience as an "older" person wearing braces - its not that bad and its hardly painful at all. Sure, it takes some time getting used to and yes my teeth gets a bit sore after every adjustment, but after a while I don't even think about it anymore.

Why am I wearing braces at this age? I'm getting married next year and my future husband has got BEAUTIFUL teeth!!! biggrin.gif But now he doesn't want to kiss me anymore and he keeps calling me metal mouth!! cry.gif

This post has been edited by epep: Oct 1 2006, 04:33 PM
happy4ever
post Oct 1 2006, 05:27 PM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

QUOTE(MrHan @ Sep 24 2006, 07:07 PM)

I am planning to improve the looks of my teeth by wearing braces. So can anyone of you LYN forumers introduce any good dentists or othodontic who charge reasonably? I know it isn't cheap, but at least I would like to have quality services over what I've paid for.

Thanks a lot.
QUOTE(MrHan @ Sep 28 2006, 07:15 PM)
So I guess that I've got to prepare at least RM5K to get it done... Anyone know any private dentist or orthodontist that allow payment through installments? tongue.gif
Hi. I did mine in 1995 (during my 6th form days) in SS2, besides Affin Finance. Its Dr Low Teong Ortho. Very senior and very good. My 2 front teeth then was almost 45deg outwards sweat.gif Cant even eat "wat-kai"! cry.gif Sau-Nga-Chai I was. Now, handsome already..and my frens then were surprise to see me change so much! laugh.gif

And at my age then, he still manage to perfect my teeth thumbup.gif
Took me about 3 years to have a 90% perfect look.

Dont worry abt the money. Each time you go, will charge you that amount of dental charges, not RM2 to RM3k upfront.

First visit, you will need to do xray. He does it for you also.
Then do a mould and make recoomendations
Then, need to extract teeth that blocks yr way. (I had 2 nice teeth taken!)
Then abt once a month need to see him, spend about RM50 to RM200, depending on what he did la. Most of the time he just tighten the bracelet a bit, so cost abt RM35+-
He also keeps your teeth clean and white!

One word of caution, this doctor has a nasty temper. Well known among other doctors...hehe..but besides his temperament, he is dem good!

happy4ever
post Oct 1 2006, 05:31 PM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

Each time my braces got tightened, at nite sure pain as you feel the tension in yr teeth. Few days later only gone.
But the most irritating thing is, sometimes there this piece of wire thats scraping yr mouth, can cause ulser man.
Besides, never eat noodles or foods that can twirl around yr braces. this includes chewing gum!

MohdRidhwan
post Oct 2 2006, 01:39 AM

337 posts

im thinking of doing there too bcoz its my mom's friend own that place.
iDk
post Oct 2 2006, 02:48 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Sep 30 2006, 04:29 PM)
you a girl?

as far as i know, first day i couldnt give a damn about the pain eat every damn thing. even after tightening still..ok. so in my whole 3 years of wearing braces i eat everything, resulting to a few extra trips to repair it. you cant eat toufu? damn must be serious or you need to start being more pain tolerant.

the only irritating part is when the braces accidently cuts you, from sports or what soo ever. it hurts like mad for a while but the latter blood taste in your mouth really sucks. but never like the way you claim to be wei, most even after a sharp elbow to the jaw i get a swollen lip for a couple of days and well minor bleeding.
you dont feel the pain? That's why you need to wear 3 years, mine done in 1.5 years. Imagine that you accidentally bite your lower inner lips and you lips get stuck and mix together with the bracelet and let the bracelet scar there. LOL!
iDk
post Oct 2 2006, 02:52 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Oct 1 2006, 05:31 PM)
Each time my braces got tightened, at nite sure pain as you feel the tension in yr teeth. Few days later only gone.
But the most irritating thing is, sometimes there this piece of wire thats scraping yr mouth, can cause ulser man.
Besides, never eat noodles or foods that can twirl around yr braces. this includes chewing gum!
wah..... dare you eat the chewing gum with the bracelet on.... sweat.gif
iDk
post Oct 2 2006, 02:55 AM

1,124 posts

Seriously, i am not to scare people about the bracelet with the pain and injure thingy. It will worth it in the end when the moment the bracelet taken out, you will have the most beautiful smile even.

My teeth too damn straight until most of the time people think i wear fake teeth. *sweat* Sorry man, my teeth are straight, strong and shining bright tongue.gif

87 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:15 PM