The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V6, Bigger than bigger

attw
post Jan 21 2015, 09:43 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Jan 21 2015, 09:23 AM)
If u buying a car, the salesman said only can see the car after pay. So when u get the car, the car is scratches. Do u think as customer, u want to accept the scratches? As customer, do u want to take the responsibility that the fault is not done by you?
It's very unlikely that you'll buy a new car with scratches. Most car manufacturers have a PDI (Pre-delivery Inspection) process that will make sure the car you buy looks tip top before you take possession of it... If there are light scratches it will definitely be polished first. The only worry if something internally is wrong after you take that car coz they can't do a 1 to 1 exchange for a car!

That said, after reading your experience, a few things come to mind: -

1. machines has a very poor after sales service policy. You cannot expect a customer to pay for something and after opening to view it, it has defects. I've bought my Note 3 and iPad Air from SenQ, and in both cases I was allowed to inspect the items before paying. I bought an iPad Mini RD from Harvey Norman and they also made me pay first but before I did I asked them explicitly if there was anything wrong can I get a 1 to 1 exchange on the spot, they said of course.

2. Even if machines has a very poor after sales policy, their manager/staff could have taken a bit more effort to escalate your case to the very top before turning you away. It shows a "tidak apa" attitude and that they are just there to earn a salary without wanting to go the extra mile for customers. No passion in what they do. I know this is Malaysia but still, at least put in some effort to please a customer.

3. There is no service recovery. The least they could do was to give you a voucher for your troubles even if it's just a little gesture of apology. There is none, and they expect this experience not to deter you from visiting machines again?? You should reply their email and said this experience will not only deter you from buying anything from machines again but you will take every effort possible to make sure the people you know, friends and family, will never visit machines again. I know I definitely will not be making any major purchases from machines after this - accessories ok lah...

I'm glad you got your phone exchanged in the end. Thumbs up for your effort, and thanks for sharing your experience with the rest of us thumbup.gif
attw
post Jan 21 2015, 09:41 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 21 2015, 02:11 PM)
But nothing beat the on the spot purchase experience. Hope more complaint are gathered to Apple so they will do some strict policy to make their reseller more efficient in handling such cases. Going back and forth to make claim is not something easy. Its frustrated , stressed and time consuming.
Same for me. I like the retail purchase experience.

That said I don't think I would ever buy an iPhone at retail and without telco subsidies. Just doesn't make sense.

This post has been edited by attw: Jan 21 2015, 09:43 PM
attw
post Jan 22 2015, 07:50 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 22 2015, 07:29 AM)
Previously when I plug my iPhone 6 into my car's USB port and use Waze, it will maintain the charge level. Now I got a new iPhone 6 Plus, it doesn't hold the level anymore but drop instead albeit very very slowly. iPhone 6 Plus needs extra juice or my car's USB port not enough power?
What's the output of your car's USB port? I think if it's a 1A one maybe it would be a problem but if its 2.1A then should be OK...
attw
post Jan 22 2015, 08:11 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 22 2015, 07:56 AM)
I've got no idea.  hmm.gif
Anyhow I'm monitoring my 6 Plus. Seems the battery drop a bit fast but I'm not sure yet. Just got the phone a couple of days
Interesting... For me, the battery life is stellar. I unplug it at 11pm at 100% charge and it stays 100% when on standby throughout the night (wifi on) then only starts to drop at 8am, and it gets me through a workday with still 60% to 65% of battery left at night with moderate usage. For me, previously returning from the Android camp to iOS, the battery life of the 6 Plus is, in the words of the man himself, "insanely great"!
attw
post Jan 22 2015, 08:22 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(celdric @ Jan 22 2015, 08:20 AM)
Almost the same thing now, unplug at night 11pm+ with 3G on (just for testing), didn't drop from 100% at all until I sit at office using it like 40mins+ then it start to drop to 99%. However, starting from 99% the battery % don't stay as long as it does at 100%, I wonder is it normal? Because it is quite fast dropping from 99% to 98% tho.  hmm.gif
I think that's pretty normal. Same for mine.
attw
post Jan 23 2015, 06:20 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 22 2015, 11:07 PM)
Oh ya, C-Zone which is a listed Apple reseller refused to sell the phone to me outright. I need to bundle with at least one accessories. The cheapest screen protector or casing costs RM 49. doh.gif

Then, it also wants to charge me 2% for credit card usage. I just said no thanks and I walked off.

Another shop to boycott. Does Apple's policy allow its resellers to do such thing? mad.gif
I think Apple doesn't have a policy for these things,,our local retailers make up their own policies...

attw
post Jan 23 2015, 06:22 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(don^don @ Jan 22 2015, 11:04 PM)
run through all digi stores for 2 weeks still didn't get to find any iphone6plus 16gb silver/gold for my mum sad.gif sad la, it was aplenty during december though..
I think most people give up waiting for 64GB and grab 16GB already
attw
post Jan 23 2015, 02:28 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(celdric @ Jan 23 2015, 02:23 PM)
New achievement unlocked. Imba battery life. Haha
Ok, bro. Looks like your batt is normal. Time to just enjoy the phone smile.gif
attw
post Jan 23 2015, 09:40 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Jan 23 2015, 03:01 PM)
am going to change to 6 plus from my 6.... i want the bigger screen and bigger battery
The battery life will surprise you smile.gif
attw
post Jan 24 2015, 08:04 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(sunyen @ Jan 23 2015, 11:29 PM)
I really dont understand how you guys can get this battery life with 6+, its like a different phone! Since day one until now, my usage time consistently around 11-12hours

I think 11-12 hours usage is really good enough already. My battery stats are not that different from yours.
attw
post Jan 24 2015, 06:15 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(MrPayne @ Jan 24 2015, 03:00 AM)
Hey want to ask what screen protectors you guys are using?i want to use it with ringke max case so edge to edge one is out of the question huh.

Btw,does it make a difference if the home button cutout is horseshoe shaped or round shape?
I'm using a tempered glass one I got from Novacell at RM49.00. So far no problems, fits well with my Otterbox Symmetry smile.gif
attw
post Jan 25 2015, 09:43 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Connect2USales @ Jan 24 2015, 06:23 PM)
if it's not full coverage, it should be able to fit any case
Actually it is a full coverage one, but it's pretty thin I think so it works fine. Probably won't provide too much of protection though, hehehe...
attw
post Jan 27 2015, 04:32 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(celdric @ Jan 27 2015, 12:38 PM)
1Gb gam will affect on multitasking, not really on the lag issue. However, on ip6+ you will see some sluggishness here and there when you turning between landscape and portrait (not just turning around on homescreen, what I mean is turning when exiting the apps). And also surfing on website, you might see some website rather scale up, make the scrolling like a bit cacat. Just my 2 cents anyway.  smile.gif
My personal opinion is that the lag is over-rated. Mine performs adequately for a device with 1GB RAM.
attw
post Jan 27 2015, 04:33 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Jan 27 2015, 04:20 PM)
wana ask all d sifu here...
anione of u all using metal bumper?
as my metal bumper is making my wifi signal very very bad...
everything is fine after i take off d bumper...
is all metal will have dis problem?
or have to buy very gd and popular brand onli will have problem free?
I think all metal/aluminum bumpers will have this issue. Am not sure if the problem occurs when you use a metal or aluminum back casing with rubbery sides.
attw
post Jan 27 2015, 04:39 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(cheeliew @ Jan 27 2015, 09:03 AM)
No casing
Telco? I've compared my 6 Plus with my wife's Note 3 using maxis. Same signal strength although sometimes I do pick up LTE signal a little slower than her, but it's very marginal.
attw
post Feb 1 2015, 02:20 PM

32,468 posts

Upgraded to 8.1.3 on my 6 Plus, and battery life is OK. I think this issue arises with every software update, ha ha. Anyways, like I mentioned before, I'm not planning to set records with battery life. If the phone gets me through the day without looking for a power bank then I'm fine. And so far, it's been fine.
attw
post Feb 1 2015, 05:04 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(zuhairi1991 @ Feb 1 2015, 03:01 PM)
how about performance?
Still evaluating, but frankly don't see a difference yet. Will feedback again after a day or two.
attw
post Feb 3 2015, 12:50 AM

32,468 posts

First battery usage cycle on iOS 8.1.3

I would say no noticeable difference from 8.1.2 smile.gif

attw
post Feb 3 2015, 01:52 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(nanan75 @ Feb 3 2015, 07:24 AM)
this is 6+?  excellent batt life
Yup, this is the 6 Plus. smile.gif

Performance wise, I don't see much difference between 8.1.2 and 8.1.3 though.
attw
post Feb 4 2015, 08:56 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Feb 4 2015, 12:58 AM)
I agreed with you on Apple research and time spent for OS patch , but seem like every new release will trigger another concern, i was thinking may be should wait until the major update rather than minor one. smile.gif
Next major one probably in April. If yours have no issues with iOS 8.1.1 or 8.1.2 then I think you can hold on till then...

http://www.gsmarena.com/apple_ios_82_beta_...-news-11033.php

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0554sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:48 AM