My routine in gym, Please advise for begineer like me

TSju146
post Dec 14 2014, 01:35 AM, updated 12y ago

1,594 posts

Hi all

I am thinking to start gym and my goal is to gain weight. Here is my workout plan

Day
1 - Chest and Back
2 - Shoulder and Leg
3 - Rest
4 - Bicep and triceps
5 - Chest and back
<repeat>

The routine will be rest after every 2 days of workout.

For supplement wise, should i start with those lean muscle protein or mass gainer with high calories? Can help to suggest 1?
degraw1993
post Dec 14 2014, 01:37 AM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Dec 14 2014, 01:35 AM)
Hi all

I am thinking to start gym and my goal is to gain weight. Here is my workout plan

Day
1 - Chest and Back
2 - Shoulder and Leg
3 - Rest
4 - Bicep and triceps
5 - Chest and back
<repeat>

For supplement wise, should i start with those lean muscle protein or mass gainer with high calories? Can help to suggest 1?
Use the search button first
Armesh
post Dec 14 2014, 08:10 PM

1,493 posts

Lol shit routine. Sooo bad, your hardly gonna get any muscle.
TSju146
post Dec 14 2014, 09:39 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Dec 14 2014, 08:10 PM)
your reply aint help either
faifai94
post Dec 14 2014, 11:31 PM

193 posts

your workout plan should have squat, benchpress, deadlifts, and maybe overhead press and pullups, as your main lifts
Miracles
post Dec 15 2014, 12:54 AM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

Read those stickied threads.
Manlet
post Dec 15 2014, 05:10 AM

ᕦ (ò_óˇ) ᕤ
762 posts

shoulder and leg on the same day is abit taxing, biceps and triceps on the same day is abit relaxing

not really a solid program but i think it works if you're beginner, not optimal tho
Armesh
post Dec 15 2014, 08:44 AM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(Manlet @ Dec 15 2014, 05:10 AM)
shoulder and leg on the same day is abit taxing, biceps and triceps on the same day is abit relaxing

not really a solid program but i think it works if you're beginner, not optimal tho
It does not matter cause even bodyweight workouts at home will work, but doesn't mean he shud be doing that just cause it 'works'. He's a newb, so any shit will 'work'.
TSju146
post Dec 15 2014, 10:26 AM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(Manlet @ Dec 15 2014, 05:10 AM)

in such should i realign to group shoulder alone for a day, biceps, triceps and leg in 1 day?
lingleeyen
post Dec 15 2014, 04:17 PM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Dec 14 2014, 08:10 PM)
Point him to the right direction la. Laughing at him while you go do your optimum in gym is really not helping him. At least degraw get him to use the search button.

We all start some where no? You most probably start doing the same thing he did. If you are not, you started by reading, he started by asking.
lingleeyen
post Dec 15 2014, 04:26 PM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Dec 15 2014, 10:26 AM)
in such should i realign to group shoulder alone for a day, biceps, triceps and leg in 1 day?
Look for beginners' programme like Strong Lift. And seriously, don't worry about your arms too much. With those big compounds, your arm will work itself.
Khalid21
post Dec 15 2014, 04:37 PM

1,138 posts

Hi all

Day
1 - Chest and Back
2 - Shoulder and Leg
3 - Rest
4 - Bicep and triceps
5 - Chest and back
<repeat>

chest bicep/triceps
lower body
rest
shoulder/back
cadio
philip42
post Dec 15 2014, 05:22 PM

1,396 posts

get on a proven beginner routine like icf 5x5 or stronglifts
Armesh
post Dec 15 2014, 05:51 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Dec 15 2014, 04:17 PM)
Point him to the right direction la. Laughing at him while you go do your optimum in gym is really not helping him. At least degraw get him to use the search button.

We all start some where no? You most probably start doing the same thing he did. If you are not, you started by reading, he started by asking.
Atleast i let him know how shitty it is straightfoward so he does not do it.

And he deserve that reply cause apparently he didnt give a f*** to read the beutiful sticky Darklight made on workout routines instead spam forum with his question.
khazray
post Dec 15 2014, 06:03 PM

21 posts

gain weight = caloric surplus

routine = Fierce 5 novice / ICF 5x5

supp = mass gainer can help but you can create your own homemade weight gainer

for example:
2 cups whole milk
1 cup oats
1 large banana
3 tbsp peanut butter
2 scoops protein powder
Ice
Armesh
post Dec 15 2014, 08:56 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(khazray @ Dec 15 2014, 06:03 PM)
gain weight = caloric surplus

routine = Fierce 5 novice / ICF 5x5

supp = mass gainer can help but you can create your own homemade weight gainer

for example:
2 cups whole milk
1 cup oats
1 large banana
3 tbsp peanut butter
2 scoops protein powder
Ice
ICF 5x5 is shit. Please don't ever recommend that. You may run it for 3 months and see what happens to you.

To OP, please do the routine in sticky, "Starting Strength by Keetnaab"... full link here:
http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=998224
lingleeyen
post Dec 16 2014, 12:12 PM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Dec 15 2014, 05:51 PM)
Atleast i let him know how shitty it is straightfoward so he does not do it.

And he deserve that reply cause apparently he didnt give a f*** to read the beutiful sticky Darklight made on workout routines instead spam forum with his question.
Good on ya.
Flyn
post Dec 17 2014, 09:56 AM

I would put

Mon - chest/abs
Tue - shoulder/triceps
Wed - rest
Thurs - biceps/back
Fri - legs/abs
Sat - cardio
Sun - rest
calapia
post Dec 17 2014, 04:36 PM

692 posts

i m just wondering why TS didn't go through sticky..... its well documented
it have max OT or rippietoe workout....
perhaps some add on or minor modification will do.....

i just started my gym again...and following rippie workout plan..so far not bad..manage to increase muscle mass...but still cutting on bf......
mgb
post Dec 19 2014, 01:42 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Dec 15 2014, 08:56 PM)
ICF 5x5 is shit. Please don't ever recommend that. You may run it for 3 months and see what happens to you.

To OP, please do the routine in sticky, "Starting Strength by Keetnaab"... full link here:
http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=998224
Why is ICF shit? SS by Keetnaab is better for a skinny guy just starting to lift?
LongBlack
post Dec 19 2014, 01:51 PM

Hi all

Day
1 - Chest and Back
2 - Shoulder and Leg
3 - Rest
4 - Bicep and triceps
5 - Chest and back
<repeat>

My suggestion

Day
1 - Chest and Triceps/Shoulders
2 - Back and Leg
3 - Rest
4 - Bicep and Shoulders
5 - Chest (min)/ Shoulders

Basically it all depends on your goal on what kind of body you'd like to build. For big muscle groups like chest, you may want to minimize it to 1 day or at most 2 days as it needs time to recover.

As for supplement, depends on your body size, if you're slim, suggest to go with lean muscle protein. As for gaining weight, work on your daily meals (increase meals per day) to get more protein and less calories.
degraw1993
post Dec 19 2014, 03:06 PM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(LongBlack @ Dec 19 2014, 01:51 PM)
My suggestion

Day
2 - Back and Leg
3 - Rest
4 - Bicep and Shoulders

Basically it all depends on your goal on what kind of body you'd like to build. For big muscle groups like chest, you may want to minimize it to 1 day or at most 2 days as it needs time to recover.

As for supplement, depends on your body size, if you're slim, suggest to go with lean muscle protein. As for gaining weight, work on your daily meals (increase meals per day) to get more protein and less calories.
You just went full retard. Read that bold again.
Amedion
post Dec 19 2014, 03:53 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

QUOTE(LongBlack @ Dec 19 2014, 01:51 PM)
My suggestion

Day
2 - Back and Leg
3 - Rest
4 - Bicep and Shoulders

Chest and Shoulder?
Back and Leg?

What kinda routine is that? rclxub.gif

Slim go for protein?
Gaining weight get less calories?

What kinda diet is that? rclxub.gif
kellyisevil
post Dec 19 2014, 03:57 PM

jellywelly
1,240 posts

Hi all

Day
1 - Chest and Back
2 - Shoulder and Leg
3 - Rest
4 - Bicep and triceps
5 - Chest and back
<repeat>

i dont know how u train for "chest and back" and "shoulder and leg"

i am already half dead before completing my back routine and i dont think i have the extra energy to do chest.

Leg is seperated into 2 big muscles, the hammies and the quads. do you do the big 4? ( squat, deadlift, shoulder press and bench press)

ask yourself what is yr aim.
how many more kg do u wna pack up.
the detail u give here is too vague

supplement is always secondary for me, real food is primary.

Armesh
post Dec 19 2014, 06:07 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(mgb @ Dec 19 2014, 01:42 PM)
Why is ICF shit? SS by Keetnaab is better for a skinny guy just starting to lift?
Because 5x5 3 times a week is retarted. You won't progress after 3 weeks due to CNS burnout. Moreover, the triceps isolation is f***tarded because your bench and OHP are never gonna go up with them there. The planned progression is even more stupid and unrealistic. Max you can run it is 3 weeks.

Jason Blaha basically just took Stronglifts 5x5 and just cincai add in alot of isos and exercise. It's brainless shit. He gives good advice, but dunno why he made such a shit routine.

Yes, SS can be done by anybody actually. It's just the diet you need to suit yourself. If you fat eat at maintain, if skinny you may do a moderate bulk. Notice that SS doesn't have tricep iso.
GameFr3ak
post Dec 23 2014, 03:28 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Dec 19 2014, 06:07 PM)
Because 5x5 3 times a week is retarted. You won't progress after 3 weeks due to CNS burnout. Moreover, the triceps isolation is f***tarded because your bench and OHP are never gonna go up with them there. The planned progression is even more stupid and unrealistic. Max you can run it is 3 weeks.

Jason Blaha basically just took Stronglifts 5x5 and just cincai add in alot of isos and exercise. It's brainless shit. He gives good advice, but dunno why he made such a shit routine.
Yes, SS can be done by anybody actually. It's just the diet you need to suit yourself. If you fat eat at maintain, if skinny you may do a moderate bulk. Notice that SS doesn't have tricep iso.
With adequate rest and food intake, I think it's not really that retarded for a novice. Personally, much better than novice doing broplits.

I think it's a different outake than those strength focused programs.

"the program just isn’t specific to powerlifting. It was never intended to be specific to powerlifting. Blaha developed this program explicitly for bodybuilding.

In my opinion, the overall volume on this program is high enough that your intensity has to be lowered. As such, the bias is clearly towards hypertrophy… that was Blaha’s intent after all. As powerlifters, we want to emphasize strength and technique with a healthy dose of hypertrophy as a novice. It definitely isn’t our goal to emphasize getting bigger, though."

"Some of the valid criticisms of Starting Strength and StrongLifts 5×5 are that they don’t include enough direct arm work and upperbody volume for optimal hypertrophy. Well, that isn’t a problem on Blaha’s program."

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Dec 23 2014, 03:29 AM
Armesh
post Dec 23 2014, 01:30 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Dec 23 2014, 03:28 AM)
With adequate rest and food intake, I think it's not really that retarded for a novice. Personally, much better than novice doing broplits.

"the program just isn’t specific to powerlifting. It was never intended to be specific to powerlifting. Blaha developed this program explicitly for bodybuilding.

In my opinion, the overall volume on this program is high enough that your intensity has to be lowered. As such, the bias is clearly towards hypertrophy… that was Blaha’s intent after all. As powerlifters, we want to emphasize strength and technique with a healthy dose of hypertrophy as a novice. It definitely isn’t our goal to emphasize getting bigger, though."

"Some of the valid criticisms of Starting Strength and StrongLifts 5×5 are that they don’t include enough direct arm work and upperbody volume for optimal hypertrophy. Well, that isn’t a problem on Blaha’s program."

I ran it for 3 months on a 600 sulprus bulk. Gained like 5kg++ in 3 months... bench only up 5KG in 3 months. Reason why for the stupid 600 sulprus was that i thought my upper body lift were stalling cause lack of sulprus. Perfect diet (I eat my meals in the bus also), all tracked, perfect sleep

Ontop of that, it overused/slightly injured my lower back due to excessive insane lower back work. Clearly shows he didn't even bother to check how the lower back is being overused due to the exercise overlap.

If a program does not have enough arm work, you don't/can't just solve it by adding 3 sets of tricep, bicep iso. You must take into account and be very careful if it will stall your main lifts or not. For example, Kethnaab SS only allows adding arm work on Friday, it's because u have Sat,Sun to recover from it, that also after awhile when you can handle more volume.

And about more volume for bodybuilding, you can't just take a strength program and make things go like 3x5 -> 5x5. You must make sure the trainee can recover from this increased workload by spreading this workload more evenly. Higher workload -> lower frequency. And this workload thing also must be calculated, e.g Weekly Workload.

Anyway just an example, you can make 3x5 -> 2x8 while keeping frequency same because the workload is about the same. But adding weight may be slight slower cause 8 rep range MIGHT (I'm not sure) result in slower strength gains.

You can't simply add arm work, increase volume... and make things "no more problems"..... it requires alot of thinking (workload calculations).

This post has been edited by Armesh: Dec 23 2014, 01:33 PM
GameFr3ak
post Dec 24 2014, 10:33 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Dec 23 2014, 01:30 PM)
I ran it for 3 months on a 600 sulprus bulk. Gained like 5kg++ in 3 months... bench only up 5KG in 3 months. Reason why for the stupid 600 sulprus was that i thought my upper body lift were stalling cause lack of sulprus. Perfect diet (I eat my meals in the bus also), all tracked, perfect sleep

Ontop of that, it overused/slightly injured my lower back due to excessive insane lower back work. Clearly shows he didn't even bother to check how the lower back is being overused due to the exercise overlap.

If a program does not have enough arm work, you don't/can't just solve it by adding 3 sets of tricep, bicep iso. You must take into account and be very careful if it will stall your main lifts or not. For example, Kethnaab SS only allows adding arm work on Friday, it's because u have Sat,Sun to recover from it, that also after awhile when you can handle more volume.

And about more volume for bodybuilding, you can't just take a strength program and make things go like 3x5 -> 5x5. You must make sure the trainee can recover from this increased workload by spreading this workload more evenly. Higher workload -> lower frequency. And this workload thing also must be calculated, e.g Weekly Workload.

Anyway just an example, you can make 3x5 -> 2x8 while keeping frequency same because the workload is about the same. But adding weight may be slight slower cause 8 rep range MIGHT (I'm not sure) result in slower strength gains.

You can't simply add arm work, increase volume... and make things "no more problems"..... it requires alot of thinking (workload calculations).
Would you say the same for Fierce 5?
Armesh
post Dec 25 2014, 12:18 AM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Dec 24 2014, 10:33 PM)
Would you say the same for Fierce 5?
Nop, not at all.

Fierce 5 is well thought of by the author, especially the push:pull and shoulder balance part.

The progression is also weekly and much slower (Realistic) compared to ICF. The arm isolation is also once/twice a week only. It also goes by the 3x5 keeping volume sensible for novice. The author also advises a full deload each month showing his understanding of cumulative fatigue.

Best part is if you look at the squats, they switch between front and back squats. This is another good point because as stated in programming books and articles i read, the second heavy day should use a lighter variation of the original lift to allow recovery.

Realistic progression, reasonable volume, balanced exercises, deload recommendation, variation implementation, controlled arm work... it just shows that brains were used to construct this routine.

I simply love it, and planning to actually run it myself (with tiny tweaks) when I start gym.

The only thing that I would change is remove the tricep isolation work. The author also stated that the only reason he added it cause noobs are gonna add it anyway.

This post has been edited by Armesh: Dec 25 2014, 12:19 AM
GameFr3ak
post Dec 25 2014, 01:27 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Dec 25 2014, 12:18 AM)
Nop, not at all.

Fierce 5 is well thought of by the author, especially the push:pull and shoulder balance part.

The progression is also weekly and much slower (Realistic) compared to ICF. The arm isolation is also once/twice a week only. It also goes by the 3x5 keeping volume sensible for novice. The author also advises a full deload each month showing his understanding of cumulative fatigue.

Best part is if you look at the squats, they switch between front and back squats. This is another good point because as stated in programming books and articles i read, the second heavy day should use a lighter variation of the original lift to allow recovery.

Realistic progression, reasonable volume, balanced exercises, deload recommendation, variation implementation, controlled arm work... it just shows that brains were used  to construct this routine.

I simply love it, and planning to actually run it myself (with tiny tweaks) when I start gym.

The only thing that I would change is remove the tricep isolation work. The author also stated that the only reason he added it cause noobs are gonna add it anyway.
I actually started this program as I started my cut. So far so good. thumbup.gif
plantaring
post Feb 14 2015, 05:13 PM

Check this out
http://www.aworkoutroutine.com/the-muscle-...orkout-routine/
janson_kaniaz
post Feb 14 2015, 05:38 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(kellyisevil @ Dec 19 2014, 03:57 PM)
i dont know how u train for "chest and back" and "shoulder and leg"

i am already half dead before completing my back routine and i dont think i have the extra energy to do chest.

Leg is seperated into 2 big muscles, the hammies and the quads. do you do the big 4? ( squat, deadlift, shoulder press and bench press)

ask yourself what is yr aim.
how many more kg do u wna pack up.
the detail u give here is too vague

supplement is always secondary for me, real food is primary.
I did chest and back superset day before. The pump was great.

plantaring
post Feb 14 2015, 08:46 PM

Sunday : Upper body
Monday : Lower body
Tuesday : Rest
Wednesday : Upper body
Thursday : Lower body
Friday : Rest
Saturday : Rest
Miracles
post Feb 14 2015, 09:23 PM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

QUOTE(plantaring @ Feb 14 2015, 05:13 PM)
why do you want to resurrect an old thread?
plantaring
post Feb 14 2015, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(Miracles @ Feb 14 2015, 09:23 PM)
why do you want to resurrect an old thread?
What are your thought about it ?
Miracles
post Feb 15 2015, 12:29 PM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

QUOTE(plantaring @ Feb 14 2015, 09:58 PM)
What are your thought about it ?
Post without thinking / Didn't read properly.
plantaring
post Feb 15 2015, 02:13 PM

*Deleted

This post has been edited by plantaring: Feb 15 2015, 02:17 PM
adix4
post Feb 16 2015, 01:32 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Dec 19 2014, 06:07 PM)

herp derp cns burnout herp derp

adix4
post Feb 16 2015, 01:39 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Dec 23 2014, 03:28 AM)

I'm starting to get bored with people suggesting Starting Strength where there is a lot of other options for linear strength program

DO SOMETHING THAT FIT YOUR FITNESS GOALS AND MAKE YOU HAPPY

plus the assistance exercise on ICF, obviously you do the accessory for the pump lol aka for bb purposes

if you are not planning to go for a competition, just do something that you love the most, don't feel beat up all the time unless you are competing for a Powerlifting or Bodybuilding comp.

inb4 herp derp 5x5 gives proper growth
inb4 herp derp 5x5 is the only way
inb4 herp derp cns
inb4 herp derp overreaching
inb4 urine idiot
GameFr3ak
post Feb 16 2015, 05:21 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Feb 16 2015, 01:39 PM)
I'm starting to get bored with people suggesting Starting Strength where there is a lot of other options for linear strength program

DO SOMETHING THAT FIT YOUR FITNESS GOALS AND MAKE YOU HAPPY

plus the assistance exercise on ICF, obviously you do the accessory for the pump lol aka for bb purposes

if you are not planning to go for a competition, just do something that you love the most, don't feel beat up all the time unless you are competing for a Powerlifting or Bodybuilding comp.

inb4 herp derp 5x5 gives proper growth
inb4 herp derp 5x5 is the only way
inb4 herp derp cns
inb4 herp derp overreaching
inb4 urine idiot
Wrong person though. I've never suggested Starting Strength. I've never used it so I can't say more about it. ...
adix4
post Feb 16 2015, 07:00 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Feb 16 2015, 05:21 PM)
Wrong person though. I've never suggested Starting Strength. I've never used it so I can't say more about it. ...
sad.gif sorry

0.4869sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:24 AM