Frequent travel or not. Sacrifices?, What's your preference?

p4n6
post Sep 24 2006, 05:58 PM

5,970 posts

Travel depends on the accomodation provided and the country you have to travel to.

If the country and accomodation are fine, I think it's fine.

Else, no.
DeathWing
post Sep 24 2006, 06:12 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

Travelling is fine until its novelty is gone.
Then, it's all about hardwork and homesickness.
Creamer
post Sep 24 2006, 11:12 PM

104 posts

I was so sick of last minute travel arrangements in my company, which can be for periods between 2 weeks to 2 months, that I quit my job only after one month. The terrible thing is they never told me during the interview how extensive the travelling would be.
TSshipal
post Sep 25 2006, 09:47 AM

Validating
247 posts

To those who put family as lower priority, should watch movies like "Click" or "Family man", life is short.
crazyconsumer
post Sep 26 2006, 10:42 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

That's true. Last thing people think about when dying is family.

It's tough balancing career with family.

Some has millions $ but no family values.
BangBusBros
post Sep 26 2006, 02:49 PM

26 posts

Hi guys,

To be honest I used to envy my friends who works in consulting firms because they have lots of opportunities to travel during work. I mean I was really excited about the opportunity to visit new countries. I told my friends that this is the kind of job that I like and my friend replied "becareful about what you wish for".
After graduating I finally landed my first job in a consulting firm.....yes I got lots of travel. To be honest the accomodation is good at least 4-5 star hotels and if not service apartments. The food is not to be as well as it is all paid by the company and when I travel I get allowances which allows me to safe. Usually the allowance minus the expenses will equate to 50% of my pay so no complaints. That means every month I get an extra 50% from my usual pay......cheers

On the other hand after 8 months in the job I have started to miss my girlfriend and family. I fly back to KL every two weeks on a Friday and I will have to fly off on a Sunday. So life is really hectic and the 8months has been like 1 week. Eventhough you get to stay in really nice hotels and good food but you will always end up working at night in the hotel. I mean back in KL if you finish work you go home and relax but when u work overseas you take your work back home. So I am thinking about moving to a field that requires less travelling after 1 year of experience. So my advise to people who are looking for this kind of job - "becareful about what you wish for".

meejawa
post Sep 26 2006, 03:04 PM

338 posts

man, i tell you...

i've been traveling overseas for more than a year, every single week, i fly out on sunday, and back home on friday. it's really really tiring; the only consolation is $$$, and that this is temporary.

All social lives are almost forsaken, the only tihng I wanna do is just sleep and eat when i get back. The place I work is 3rd world country so nothing much there. There's a risk of being complacent cos of the $$$, but gotta remember there's more to live and we have to balance it, only I couldn't do that now...

When the money starts to come in, the expenses is high naturally as well, cos I have to pay for all the plane tickets, accomodation, food etc, although the savings are more than working in KL as well.

I'll be settling down soon, so hopefully I can give a better live to my family. :-) That's the consolation.
GenkiGal
post Sep 26 2006, 04:03 PM

103 posts

i wish to get a job that allow me to travel..doesn't matter go where..must take d opportunity to c the world before settling down with husband and kids..

once settle down, have to bear lots of responsibility already..cannot simply fly here and there anymore..

thus, enjoy d opportunity you have while still young !!! \^o^/
crystal_kit85
post Sep 26 2006, 04:53 PM

1,902 posts

I think we could come to a conclusion that, it is good to have exposure anywhere else in the world, there might be sacrifices but only be in that field for about a year or two then get out of it and have a job which requires less travel as by then you would have enough and are tired of travelling.

To be honest i was very optimistic about getting into a company which has these luxuries but after reading some of the comments here, i have thought otherwise.
WildChai
post Sep 26 2006, 06:56 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

for some of us who chose these kind of travelling jobs or be based away from home is because of the good and easy life we want to give our family......of course there are sacrifices that must be made.

with the ever increasing cost of living....college fees....medical....just everyday expenses....vacations each year or month....how many jobs locally can allow u to afford all these with ease when the time comes? salary is low in malaysia...there is no control. in malaysia at my age, can earn like wat....rm4-5k (if lucky)....but abroad i can earn like 25K.

those people from indonesia, bangladesh, philipines, nepal left their home in hopes to find a better job n provide for their family back home.

but it all comes to individuality choice.
crazyconsumer
post Sep 26 2006, 08:29 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Put it into perspective, given 2 choices of job with same basic salary. One is based in Malaysia, the other requires frequent travelling.

Which would you choose?
p4n6
post Sep 26 2006, 08:37 PM

5,970 posts

My job also requires me to travel as well. Almost 70% the time of the job will require me to travel in Asia Pacific region which mostly undeveloped countries. Accomodation provided is not good, sometimes not even in hotel. Works on every single day from 9-9 sometimes even non stop for two days. I have no life, no friends, no good rest (hotel and food sucks), nothing but work work work. I miss all the holidays (no replacements) in Malaysia, the last one I actually celebrated was chinese new year. Here comes the worst part, I can't even get another job without quiting the existing one first because I can't attend interviews when I was overseas!!! And not everyone can afford to quit without a job, people will have commitment.

So, before you sign up, make sure you investigate properly what kind of treatment the company gives you and how long is the trip usually gonna be and to where.

Business travelling is not vacation. So don't get confused.
aichiban
post Sep 26 2006, 08:54 PM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

look at my avatar......
Pucca
post Sep 26 2006, 09:07 PM

320 posts

my job doesn't require me to travel, work & i can work at home if i chose to but i need internet only... as long as my work are done then i'm safe.

look for this kind of work, my salary might not be the highest but i'm the most happiest among my friends and i can actually travel to overseas holidaying while working from there... internet is a must lah of coz.

i have calling cards, co. pay for my mobile and so on... basically i'm very confort and happy working here.

Creamer
post Sep 26 2006, 11:42 PM

104 posts

When travelling for work:
1) What is good accomodation when one has to work at the room till the work is completed.
2) What is good food when you're eating with colleagues you may not like or order food you hate.
3) What is sightseeing when your work is not completed.
4) What is good allowance when you all you wanna do when you reach home is sleep.
5) What is a good trip when your family may be suffering in silence at home while you're away.

Travelling may be seen as glamorous to some, but it sure ain't something I look forward to.

crazyconsumer
post Sep 27 2006, 09:02 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

Regarding sightseeing, it's never the same if without loved ones. When in a nice place, your mind will be thinking how nice it'd be to experience the new place with a loved one.

As for allowances, to save for that extra 'pay', it's even more depressing having to deprive yourself from certain luxuries eg. food, travel, shopping, sightseeing, etc.. I've seen colleagues who deprive themselves by eating maggie (brought from home) everyday or eating the cheapest food they can get or cook simple food. Allowances are actually to provide the luxuries that you have at your home base ie. not to save. I could be eating nice dishes in Malaysia everyday, but suddenly overseas, start eating maggie or bread or foodcourt food... yuck!

p4n6
post Sep 27 2006, 03:06 PM

5,970 posts

Let's share our experience: which is the suckest country you have been to so far and for how long?
crazyconsumer
post Sep 27 2006, 04:34 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Can be stuck in a jungle or desert or oil rig or what not.... sleep in containers or low cost housing, due to lack of choice.

Some may think it's an upgrade in life, but to some, may be a downgrade. In Malaysia, stay in own house/apartment, but overseas may end up in 3 star accomodation (smaller environment, maybe drop in quality living) ..... and on sharing basis!

ykc
post Sep 27 2006, 04:55 PM

1,884 posts

I miss my bed !!!
kokuryo
post Sep 27 2006, 04:59 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(ykc @ Sep 27 2006, 04:55 PM)
I miss my bed !!!
soon u'll be back bro... just take this oppotunity to look around lo..

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0172sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:58 AM