Frequent travel or not. Sacrifices?, What's your preference?

TSshipal
post Sep 22 2006, 09:34 AM, updated 20y ago

Validating
247 posts

Was wondering what you think about travel in your job ie. long term (more than a week at least, per month) .

Possible cons :-
1) Away from family/loved ones
2) Stay in lousy conditions (bad hotel, environment, people)
3) No place to call home (neglected to set up proper base, chores, etc)

Possible pros :-
1) Perdiem/allowance (if saved)
2) Experience new culture/country
3) More attractive cv / experience

But most crucial factor I think is the family/loved ones. Some are fine some are not, very much dependent on spouse. Some spouse are ok as long got money (money over relationship) drool.gif or got time away from each other shocking.gif .

Because of travel restrictions, some had to change job paths. unsure.gif
ykc
post Sep 22 2006, 09:45 AM

1,884 posts

As I'm typing this stuffs here, I'm away from KL and working in Singapore now. I'm still okie with it since I'm still single, but sometimes especially in the weekends, will be boring.
alextan99
post Sep 22 2006, 09:50 AM

Wassup
2,660 posts

I love being on places in the world but hates the long hours of flights and transit
chamelion
post Sep 22 2006, 09:54 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

I travel every week la. Sometime within 1 week i need to travel between 3-4 countries. Now used to it.

dont ask what company can do 4 u, ask yourself wat you can do for company.
ah_suknat
post Sep 22 2006, 10:04 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

me now in uk working for a year edy,feel extremely boring and miss malaysia so much.cant go back yet.

TSshipal
post Sep 22 2006, 10:17 AM

Validating
247 posts

Aside from boring, looks like not much cons. hehehe

One thing I find neglecting are friends, after being away for so long ... lost that link or closeness. Even though got messenger or emails, but it's different.

Some people says "wah, envy you travel so much" but actually work travel and holiday is different feel. Holiday with loved ones is so much more personal and relaxing. With travel packages so cheap these days, can't see why people envy.

darrencw
post Sep 22 2006, 10:30 AM

LYN's biggest gearwhore.
1,171 posts

Job that comes with frequent travelling are jobs that normally provides good career paths and obviously,pay.I wanted to have one too.Its okay for me to sacrifice my time and relationship with family and friends.
SUSspanker
post Sep 22 2006, 10:41 AM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

out of sight, out of mind. travelling allows me to hit on more chicks with no strings attached.
skadead
post Sep 22 2006, 11:42 AM

196 posts

At first maybe we feel great because we can travel a lot but later on we may get boring and tired of this travel. Maybe after a few years need to get job with less travel
Amanda85
post Sep 22 2006, 12:17 PM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

it depends on which type ppl u asking...

a couch potato definately hates travelling....n those who couldn't part wit their love ones....

but for active sociable ppl n those who 'LOVE' travelling.....they find that their job is d best that they'll ever had...

my frens r looking for 1 of those jobs....but still hardly can get....
TSshipal
post Sep 22 2006, 12:27 PM

Validating
247 posts

Whether sociable or not, most like travel. The only problem is the other half (boy/girlfriend, wife/husband, children) if any.

Some may say "absence makes the heart fonder" but like spanker says "out of sight out of mind".

Long distance relationship doesn't work.

Of course, travel is excellent for singles... can swing in different countries given the right company. But also I've seen people who are 30+ still travelling but can't get attached because can't stay put to get hooked.
suiteng
post Sep 22 2006, 01:01 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

For me, I hate travelling. My company requires me to travel at least once a week, which I hate. Go there, meeting, come back KL. Duh... I rather spend more time in KL and spend more time with my love ones. Those time, money cannot replace.
tkhoo
post Sep 22 2006, 01:51 PM

700 posts

Anyone got this type of kang tau for me? I love this type of job....can travel.......
TSshipal
post Sep 22 2006, 03:30 PM

Validating
247 posts

Join any regional or global sales/marketing/bus.development/ project/support kind of field.

But don't think it's all 1st world or international countries travel all the time, at times kena 3rd world kind or jungle kind or even within Malaysia, see if you like it then. It's work, hotel, work. Worse still, if kena lousy hotel or cheapo apartment.
kons
post Sep 22 2006, 03:48 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

I believe the most crucial factor is daily travel allowance...
USD 40 is just not enough. sad.gif
Want to find this kind of job? Join huawei. biggrin.gif
jobseekertalk
post Sep 22 2006, 04:29 PM

33 posts

Possible cons :-
1) Away from family/loved ones
Sometimes is good to be independent, if you are not local(KL), you are get use to staying away from your family if your work in KL.
Loved ones, you work so hard and earn so much to give who? your loved one right? to have a better future together, she should support you.
2) Stay in lousy conditions
Before you go talk to your boss see whether how's the condition and facilities over there? Come on guys, if you were to thrown to a island with u alone. If you cant stand a small thing, I think you will dead in 1 day. Learn how to survive, this can help you to improve yourself.
3) No place to call home
What! there is always a way out to call, any country come with telecommunication. If you got money, u can call from anywhere right?

Possible pros :-
1) Perdiem/allowance
Nothing is more friendlier than money
2) Experience new culture/country
Yea! experience new food, new chic and new language...that's so much fun.
3) More attractive cv / experience
Yea! because you are capable to handle thing alone, mature and independent
b|ue
post Sep 22 2006, 05:34 PM

71 posts

Have been here in Pakistan for almost a month now...still counting..

For me, the pros are definitely the experience and exposure. Allowance comes last.

Hardest thing to bear is bring away with loved ones, which $$ can't buy. Next would be not knowing when I can go back...

I personally feel that short trips on less frequent basis to better countries would be very much better.
WildChai
post Sep 22 2006, 08:18 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

travelling and working abroad? from my signature u will know where i am now...imagine in the middle of the desert.....24/7 everyday i open my door and there is only sand everywhere for hundred of miles. no civilization. haha
no shopping malls, no markets, no buildings, no people, no roads, no mamak.....

i have to work here for a almost 2mths at a time. well, i chose this life cos i like to have a job that is different and gives me an adventure. i get to travel around n meet different kinds of people.
waeguk
post Sep 22 2006, 11:03 PM

633 posts

Being in the airport waiting area on Monday early mornings, once can see how many families/loved ones being left behind. It's sad but hey, it's a living. Can't have best of everything right?
netcrusader
post Sep 23 2006, 07:23 PM

225 posts

Everyday people wake up and expect for more...

With frequent traveling, I can widen my exposure...

I can increase my knowledge on other culture....

I can know more people and expand my network....

Best of all, it looks good in my CV.....

What more can I say?

tongue.gif Copied from celcom advertisement.

0.0186sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:44 AM