12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V53-+♠+-, Continue to be slowpoke...

TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 30 2015, 08:57 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jun 30 2015, 08:52 PM)
With our local hot weather and extremely dusty driving condition, I think I prefer to change my gear oil every 20K....although it empty my wallet superfast as well. My idling is already silent and low vibration. Just keeping to the 20k change schedule without fail.

I do change my standard Proton air filter at 10K interval. Proton ori air filters are cheap and the performance and engine durability increment when change at 10K instead of 20K more than make up for the cost....far far make up.

I'm still using Caltex Havoline semi....at 5.5K interval change. Noted that at 6K, loss of performance is noticeable but not at 5.5K. Oil filter change at every oil change. These earlier change, IMO is better than using the more silent fully sync and oil filter that had to withstand 10K of dirty oil filteration.
hmm.gif. I do my oil changes as I wish now since I don't rack up enough mileage every time laugh.gif. My current engine oil s the Shell Helix Ultra Pure plus from Tesco. Compared to the Petro Canada Duron-E Synthetic that I was using previously... I don't really know what's the difference laugh.gif, except that the Pure Plus does seem a tad "lighter" than the Duron-E.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 1 2015, 02:35 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Jul 1 2015, 09:40 AM)
Anyone knows persona aifu mechanic where i can visit?
I would suggest Zordaq Motorsport. They're really friendly, and seem quite knowledgeable especially since they deal with a whole bunch of Proton cars quite often. smile.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 2 2015, 01:40 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(punkLOL @ Jul 2 2015, 10:51 AM)
anyone here service aircond before? need to open dashboard rite.
Yup

QUOTE(rex82 @ Jul 2 2015, 12:45 PM)
Dear all,

Anyone encounter issue of the front light car, once i open my car light. The indicator will turn blue, if blue mean the indicator for big light is on. If the indicator did not show blue color mean is normal when i open the light.

The problem come from here, the indicator will have lighter color blue and one of the headlamp light will turn amber and another side headlamp will change to big light. Sometime it will be ok no such indicator prompt up when i open car light. Sometime it will be there and the headlamp will be hairwyre again.
Maybe it's something to do with the headlamp stalk? hmm.gif

TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 2 2015, 07:40 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(rex82 @ Jul 2 2015, 01:59 PM)
You mean the indicator thing? Wah.. will it cause expensive?
Not sure.. Never replaced mine before.

QUOTE(punkLOL @ Jul 2 2015, 07:28 PM)
u service before ah?

after that need to redo alarm?

my alarm not functioining. after install dashboard
Re-do alarm? hmm.gif Not sure... I had mine taken out twice so far, and it's as easy as plugging everything back because all the connectors are fool-proof. If you remove your battery however the alarm will be armed the moment the power is connected back.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Jul 2 2015, 07:40 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 2 2015, 08:06 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jul 2 2015, 07:49 PM)
hmm.gif Even if it's just B-Line?
2010 persona B-Line, M-Line or H-Line?

I believe the M and H line Persona Elegance was available during that time, so it's quite hard to tell. Why don't you ask for permission to look at his car? The exterior indications are unpainted door guards and door mirrors for the B-Line Persona along with steel rims with plastic caps provided that your neighbour did not have anything done. If you can have access to the interior of the car, you just need to take a look at the SRS airbags location. No markings mean that it's most likely a B-Line. If there is only a driver airbag it's an M-Line.

QUOTE(punkLOL @ Jul 2 2015, 07:52 PM)
Yes, i know all the connector is plug and play. where u service ur aircond?

how much is ur aircond service?
service at proton?

i dismantle the dashboard myself, reinstall back my remote not functioning already.

i didnt remove battery. when install back the connector, the alarm trigger but only can be reset by clicking the dashboard button.
My air-cond service was around RM390 which includes disassembling and re-assembling the dashboard, cleaning the cooling coil, removing and filling the air-cond gas. This is the first dashboard removal which didn't cause any issues.

The second dashboard removal was a DIY job, and again I did not face any issues with the alarm. I'm not sure what's causing your car to have issues sweat.gif. The easiest way to re-check your connection is to go through everything again, which fortunately does not require the dashboard to be removed.. I would start from the steering column first.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Jul 2 2015, 08:10 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 2 2015, 09:06 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Eagle1 @ Jul 2 2015, 08:42 PM)
hi all,

can anyone suggest a good brake pad?
TQ
I'm currently using the Bendix Metal King Titanium. Braking power is satisfactory, though it could still be better. Makes noise (not high pitched) when cold, when it's warmed up it's pretty much silent.

Costs around RM110 or so.

TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 2 2015, 09:52 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Jul 2 2015, 09:47 PM)
Thinkin of getting my Power Steering and Brake fluids flushed... Does anyone did a flushing to their brake and power steering systems before?
I did brake fluid flush before. My Persona does not have ABS, so it was quite easy and fast. I did this with another person.

For my power steering, I'm not sure if it counts as a flush, but I did the replacement myself using a kerosene pump. Just need to pump as much fluid as possible out of the steering system, which the kerosene pump does quite a good job of since the hose size roughly fits quite well with the reservoir's inlet/outlet. I added fresh fluid and repeated the process with 2 litres of Dexron III. After each fluid replacement I used the scissors jack to jack the car up a little, wet the surface under the tyres, and started turning left and right until maxed out until I'm satisfied to rid the system of air.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 2 2015, 10:29 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(short_tounge @ Jul 2 2015, 10:07 PM)
this one DIY master level pomen already  rclxms.gif
I'm just a small fry compared to many other DIYers biggrin.gif.

QUOTE(short_tounge @ Jul 2 2015, 10:21 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/zordaqmotorsports/...20504084650779/

Tensioner bearing problem - almost like bunyi cengkerik. only happen when i open the aircond. really loud noise when i not started the car for more than 2 days.

Current mil at 6k but aiming to claim the warranty for this at 10k at COSE. is it harmful?
It might be your FEAD belt or the tensioner. If it's the tensioner's bearing problem, I don't think it's harmful, just annoying since it emits a high pitched noise. If it's the belt, it's also not really bad unless your belt is about to snap.

Either way, your mileage is still low, so better get whatever that is defective replaced under warranty. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Jul 2 2015, 10:30 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 3 2015, 06:36 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(dinnor @ Jul 3 2015, 02:30 AM)
last month i went to SC for 25k checkup and services, the mechanic said my front brake pads already left 30% , they suggest to change it to new one when next service..

but i'm planning not to use stock brake pads brand Bosh it is?

where can i go to change brake pad to Bendix Metal King Titanium?  icon_question.gif
QUOTE(dinnor @ Jul 3 2015, 10:03 AM)
i'm planning to change for better brake pads.. hope can increase braking power  tongue.gif  ..

it's normal for car mileage around 25k but brake pads already 30% left.. ??

i recently also noticed that braking response not so grip compare to before
I'm not sure what's the stock brake pad brand for the Persona and how long should a brake pad generally last for. But if it's finishing too fast for your liking, you might want to adjust your driving style so that you won't have to use the brakes too much. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Eagle1 @ Jul 3 2015, 01:51 PM)
hi guys,

question, when reverse car,apply brake got "wong wong"sound, is the dust in brake pad? the only solution is buy better brake pad?
Does this sound appear when the car is continuously moving, or when you're about to come to a complete stop?
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 3 2015, 08:25 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Eagle1 @ Jul 3 2015, 08:22 PM)
during reverse , when the car move back n apply brake. i think is continuously moving.
Which spec Persona are you driving? For my B-Line the drum brake covers are slightly out of shape, enough to produce some sound at certain points when it's cold.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 4 2015, 03:44 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Effy92 @ Jul 4 2015, 02:29 PM)
Hi, im planning to diy radiator flushing this coming holiday. Anyone know how many litre or bottle of proton coolant enough? Just mix the tap water with coolant right?

If I remember correctly, last time the coolant to water ratio I did was 33% of the combined capacity (radiator + overflow tank). Don't use tap water cause it has impurities that will cause your system to rust. If possible get distilled water. I think battery water works as well since it's distilled water, but you will need to buy quite a few since you're flushing.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 4 2015, 05:41 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Just had my power window motor replaced. Don't bother sending your car to wan wan accessories at damansara Jaya. Worker dang impatient and kinda ruined my weather sheet job
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 6 2015, 02:35 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Jul 6 2015, 02:28 PM)
Y u send there?..There not do alarm and audio only?..y u dun try the same row as rhb bank,got 1 mechanic shop a lot of cars 1.
Beause it was the least busy, plus I suppose they deal with such things more often, or at least can do it faster since they deal with accessories and stuff anyway. So far all the shops I've been to there are pretty bad. The workshop beside this accessory shop doesn't do their job meticulously, the workers at the corner lot Continental tyre shop are impatient and don't like answering simple questions at all like the manufacturing date of the tyre. They had the cheek to say "this customer like to ask lots of nonsense" in cantonese just after that question doh.gif.

So far all the workshops that I find good are quite a distance away from where I'm at grumble.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 6 2015, 02:39 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jul 5 2015, 04:58 PM)
TDUEnthusiast
today without car started and engine cold, i measured atf. The level is on max hot, meaning cover both hot and cold, seems sufficient.
as minor from 4 litre of atf leaked out when my mechanic pouring, i'm abit doubt and worried it wasn't enough, so just now top-up another 300ml like that, seems no changes on the atf level.

the atf dipstick reading seems not properly designed. should've exchange the hot and cold if i read your findings.
I guess the right way to measure the ATF level is as what the manual book states laugh.gif. The car needs to be started, and the car has to enter each gear position for a while before going back to N or P, then only the ATF level can be measured. The ATF barely heats up even after 10 minutes+ of engine idling, so unless you have been driving prior to the change, the ATF will pretty much never make it to the working temperature.

QUOTE(Haza_izzz @ Jul 6 2015, 09:14 AM)
wah change the disc ka? how much is the average price for disc?  hmm.gif
If you buy OEM replacements like Bosch disc rotors, they are about RM200+ a pair if I remember correctly.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Jul 6 2015, 02:39 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 6 2015, 02:44 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(DBKL @ Jul 6 2015, 02:40 PM)
hi,

my car is 3 year old,

milage is 53k,

it is about 1k before next service,,

my concern is when should i change the timing belt and anything related.. i think i consider it as major service

i just change 4 tyre and new battery last month..

pokai already..

major service maybe after raya.. is it possible?
Timing belt change for the Persona is recommended at the mileage of 70,000KM to 80,000KM. For RM600 you can get your timing belt (and the oil seals and bearing, I presume), waterpump, coolant, and FEAD belt changed at Zordaq Motorsport. This includes labour charges and the parts are supposedly all genuine parts, so it's pretty reasonable.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 6 2015, 10:45 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Effy92 @ Jul 6 2015, 07:29 PM)
Thanks,  just bought a bottle proton coolant. Rm29 1litre.

Just curious sc use tap water or distliled water for radiator ?  hmm.gif
No idea. hmm.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 15 2015, 07:53 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Woon Ann @ Jul 15 2015, 02:01 AM)
Hey guys!! Wow. We're still on the top of the list.

I'm having problem with my steering control panel buttons. They're not working correctly sometimes.
Left side is VOlumn Up, Mute, VOlumn Down (from top to bottom). So sometimes it works perfectly fine but sometimes it changed own functions itself. Mute button change to VOlumn up function and VOlumn down button change to Mute function. SUPER IDIOT. Hahahaha.

Anyone experience this before? I checked with Google and what so ever, they said its battery failing soon but it still happen after I change to a new batt. So what's wrong?
I think it's a common problem laugh.gif

QUOTE(incredibless @ Jul 15 2015, 11:14 AM)
thinking of letting go my 2007 non iafm unit .. anybody interested? well maintained unit with clean interior, shinny exterior but minor stone chips. and engine wise still quiet and clocked about 195k km but still able to drive at 160km comfortably. any body interested?  blush.gif
Doors sold separately or not? laugh.gif My rear left door is cacat
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 18 2015, 09:57 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jul 18 2015, 09:09 PM)
Anybody here does soundproofing and autofoam on their persona?

Thinking to do it because the road sounds is getting louder and louder.
What tyre is currently on your Persona?
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 21 2015, 07:15 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(onijoseph @ Jul 20 2015, 07:57 PM)
change car better it seems... haha.
but that tie me down again in debt.
4 years already and my MT persona still ok for my purpose. So i am thinking to make it more comfortable and exciting. Anything is welcome, including facelift mod, interior mod etc.
I would suggest getting nice leather seats. The fabric seats that come with the Persona are total rubbish especially for long distance travelling.

QUOTE(samfisher @ Jul 21 2015, 10:31 AM)
hi guys..i had the below problem on my persona..any simpler explanation for it?...is it fuse problem or wiring?..

Have you already changed the bulbs? Go for the ones by Osram etc. They should just cost around RM3 per bulb. Mine hasn't burned for a really long time.

TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 22 2015, 08:18 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(samfisher @ Jul 22 2015, 08:13 AM)
the brake light is light up when i switch on the headlight..just when i press the brake only third brake will light up..the other brake light wont light up as usual...so the bulb is ok i think.. hmm.gif
If you take a closer look at the bulbs, you will notice that it actually has two filaments inside. The ones that produce the dim lights at night don't normally get burned along with the brake lights since they don't come on as often, and not as hot.

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0540sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:33 PM