Marantz Club - Because Music Matters~, Do share your marantz stories

TSchanhin
post Mar 21 2015, 12:16 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 20 2015, 11:54 PM)
come come power cordz whistling.gif lets play snake
Hahaha... Too bad I am not a power cord believer...

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Mar 21 2015, 12:13 AM)
Thinking of getting whathifi 5-star rating cable - QED XT40.

No idea where to get them though... Any local hifi shops have stock for this cable?

Also in your opinion - what is the best speaker for PM6005 to drive?
IMO, PM6005 is only 45 watt, good for almost every speakers.. but the big one... Even driving my KEF Q700 seems slightly under power... Q500 should be ok.
TSchanhin
post Mar 23 2015, 10:40 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 22 2015, 03:58 PM)
what was your cable size previously?
you don't need audyssey because there's nothing to correct for (no room interference).
last time small small, now big big... about one inch thick now. Since bi-wire, 2x one inch thick. Quality to me is good enough as begineer.
TSchanhin
post Mar 24 2015, 11:05 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 24 2015, 10:16 AM)
Then you're doing a wrong comparison. You should compare cap ayam 12awg cable vs monster 12awg cable.
You should measure the core size, true cable awg, excluding the jacket/insulation.
The internal core of M2.4S seems thick because my baby like to pull cable.. So I have to cut off the banana plug and use direct attach to the speaker.

The KEF Q700 speaker connection hole not small, and just perfect fit. Then I screw tight tight... So no one can pull the cable out from speakers.

And it also avoid if use use steel ruler or conductor to short the circuit...

From this experiences, I think more than 12 awg

Anyway, now new problems... It seems KEF Q700 is not big enough. I receive complaints my baby can almost push it down sweat.gif
TSchanhin
post Mar 25 2015, 05:38 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 25 2015, 02:15 AM)
u got install the ori spkr spike / feet?
Looks super stable design.
once fall down, U know what to do.... Q900 let ur baby challenge. Lol
Yes of course with the ori spikes and feet... But I never see it myself... Hard to believe..

I always love to have a Q900 for its powerful and engaging sound.

Anyone selling their Q900?

Once have Q900, next problem will be... PM6005 enough for Q900? Hahaha... Everyone know the answer
TSchanhin
post Mar 25 2015, 02:53 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 25 2015, 09:14 AM)
Google search on Q700 weight ~17kg... that is consider light, but your baby seems strong. Healthy baby.
There's always PM8005 for you to upgrade to.
Yes... PM8005 will be the perfect answer for most floorstander.

QUOTE(Topet @ Mar 25 2015, 12:14 PM)
why don't just use power amp?
Well, it is sad to found out that I do not think PM6005 can use power amp. It do not have pre-out, only recorder-out, which I think the volume knots do not have control over its output power. sad.gif
TSchanhin
post Mar 26 2015, 10:43 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Mar 25 2015, 03:31 PM)
Yeah..forgot about that..my bad...
Since Malaysia PM8005 is sky high...

How about getting a TEAC U301 (DAC + Pre-amp) + Marantz Power Amp MM7025 (140 watt over 8 ohm~)

The combo might even slightly cheaper than Malaysia's PM8005, but the value will be very high;
(1) High quality DAC that can even do DSD. The looks of DAC also not bad.
(2) More power at 140 watt, virtually can drive every floor stander thumbup.gif

What do you think? hmm.gif
TSchanhin
post Mar 28 2015, 12:09 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Mar 27 2015, 10:30 AM)
Just splash out and bought 30ft audioquest x-2 cables from Harvey Norman... SQ wise I 'think' got some improvement (smoother).

Is PM6005 good enough to drive Q300? Anyone using this combo can share their experience? Thanks!
PM6005 is more than enough for Q300. I am using it for Q700 brows.gif
TSchanhin
post Mar 29 2015, 11:01 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Mar 29 2015, 06:33 AM)
This is a difficult time, some really need the "big money"
Yes... They did that long time ago. Last time PM8005 local was over RM6k, but SG only selling RM3.2k.

I believe PM7005 and PM8005 sells are still good, but just buying from Thailand or SG. And I had no idea on what the local distributors are thinking... At this crazy price, who will buy? I guess Malaysia Boleh again shakehead.gif
TSchanhin
post Mar 30 2015, 12:04 AM

1,615 posts

Guys,

If you know any1 willing to buy/ship to MY, do share the contact ya.
TSchanhin
post Mar 30 2015, 09:45 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Mar 30 2015, 09:14 AM)
here

I don't know whether this guy provide the service anymore
I think I had tried sometime ago without luck. That guy is like dissapeared already... sweat.gif
TSchanhin
post Jun 11 2015, 12:35 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 10 2015, 02:13 AM)
redo audyssey after cables upgrade is definitely worth the time. my only regret is, why didnt perform earlier!!
Agreed. I have similar experinces
TSchanhin
post Jun 19 2015, 09:34 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jun 19 2015, 02:42 PM)
PM-5004 only selling for rm899 in Desa HT in Lowyat, may give a try there. They are clearing old stocks currently.
But don't ask me is it cheap or not tongue.gif
IMO, PM5004 is not really good. Thus not for value as well. And I think Marantz should not have this 5 series in the first place.

PM6004 and PM6005 are way much better than PM5004. These are great for bookself speakers, and not too bad for some floor stander such as Q700.

If willing to buy from oversea, then surely PM8005 thumbup.gif
TSchanhin
post Jun 20 2015, 10:57 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jun 19 2015, 09:39 PM)
That's why they are willing to "dump" it at cheap price.
Still, if were to use AVR to play song, this amp should be half step better, right?
And don't flame me on this, as I found this on Thestar paper. Desa HT are always doing cheap price offers every now and then. Even the Yamaha soundbars you can get it at rm1000.
PM5004 compare to AVR? Yes... Better.. But not good enought as minimum audiophile requrement. tongue.gif

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 20 2015, 12:44 AM)
What do you guys feel about PM6005 headphone output sound quality? I think it's pretty messy everywhere, not good for all music genre, sound great on good mastering tracks, but not some oldies hmm.gif
I do not like the headphone output quality when paired with HD650. It is like... Nothing interesting.
TSchanhin
post Jun 21 2015, 02:10 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 21 2015, 01:16 AM)
I see, ow you got Sennheiser HD650, how the sound? Is it sufficient in bass? Comfort? Is leakage of sound too much? My HD598 cannot be used in office, also the bass not very good if play some bass heavy music at louder volume. Where you bought from? Plan to buy HD650 maybe next year leh, i think it's a reference headphone? hmm.gif
Everything is good with HD650. However, it seems the cheapest DAP that can give sufficient performance without amp is Cayin N6, which is very costly. Do hope the X5 gen 2 can give acceptable performance to HD650.
TSchanhin
post Jun 21 2015, 11:26 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 21 2015, 08:20 AM)
Any Marantz AV receiver owners having their machine freezing or hang?
Been reading some owners review saying so. This is on the newer models like SR5009 and NR1605. Thanks
My 4 years old Marantz AVR still no issue at all. Once faced random sound... Once change HDMI cables, problems disappeared. So not amp problems.
TSchanhin
post Jun 21 2015, 11:28 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 21 2015, 07:11 PM)
Thanks buddy laugh.gif Do you think this HD650 a bit high profile in office listening? Hmm need to amp to drive also, hmm... hmm.gif Sound leakage serious boh?
My HD650 is solely used in the office. No issue. I avoided HD800 as the looks is too high profile.
TSchanhin
post Jun 24 2015, 11:07 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Jun 22 2015, 01:25 AM)
That's sound great thumbup.gif , guess next is save money to purchase it  laugh.gif
Also need a DAP in office to save hand phone battery... cool2.gif
TSchanhin
post Aug 11 2015, 10:08 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 11 2015, 02:58 PM)
up a pm7001 yesterday. can't wait to install at home later rclxms.gif
It is an very old amp right?
TSchanhin
post Oct 12 2015, 01:28 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Jun 21 2015, 08:22 AM)
I thought they have rolled out new firmware for their AVRs. My 5008 got buzz sound when it first started, the new firmware solved it.
QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 21 2015, 08:23 AM)
perhaps the reason new model got wifi and bt.
mine is old one, no issue
My AVR5005 also got issue after I compare to my friend's Pioneer LX-87, which has much better movies experinces. I check Marantz website, no firmware upgrade.

Anyway, the Pioneer is few time more expensive...

For solely movies, the Pioneer LX series is great. But for music..., sweat.gif Hahaha... better stick with Marantz... tongue.gif
TSchanhin
post Oct 12 2015, 09:33 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Oct 12 2015, 09:28 PM)
Pioneer LX uses class d which is definitely more powerful.

I connect my 5008 to power amps and it sounds much better in movies and music than the Yamaha A3030.
Seriously? Which power amp you were using?

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0552sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:30 PM