Marantz Club - Because Music Matters~, Do share your marantz stories

bad2928
post Nov 15 2016, 11:47 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 15 2016, 07:58 AM)
5011? 6005?
my last heard was ls50 use pearl lite ki. mid bass lacking a bit. voicing excellence and instruments are face forward
agreed,ls50 need at least 150w to make its sing well...
bad2928
post Dec 6 2016, 12:02 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Dec 5 2016, 11:53 PM)
IMO, for 8 series and above, Malaysia has no 'reasonable' price. You will have to go to Singapore or Thailand.

I have no idea on what the local distributor is thinking...   shakehead.gif  bangwall.gif
but marantz avr is cheaper here than other country confused.gif ,eg denon x6200 and marantz 7010 same price in usa but 7010 rm4k cheaper here than denon

This post has been edited by bad2928: Dec 6 2016, 12:11 PM
bad2928
post Dec 10 2016, 07:17 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Dec 9 2016, 11:42 AM)
Saw pm6006 going for rm21xx, is good buy?
PM6xxx series have enough power to drive floor stander?
should be sufficient for your wharfy 230.my 8005 is to powerful to drive my wharfy 155,never past 10 o clock on volume knob sweat.gif
bad2928
post Dec 10 2016, 10:43 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Dec 10 2016, 10:13 PM)
planning to add to my avr, to drive the wharfedale 230 as, not sure a good idea or not..if i got money, i'll follow ur footstep to buy pm8005  biggrin.gif ..but simply too expensive here..even pm7005 also still expensive.. sweat.gif
meaning you want pre 6006 from avr to drive 230?sure can but not ideal becos 6006 lack of htbypass mode.not always marantz la bro,i'm just got it by luck sweat.gif
bad2928
post Dec 12 2016, 10:22 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Dec 12 2016, 12:41 AM)
Complaining about your PM8005 being too powerful, please PM me for your asking price. Ready buyer here  bruce.gif

haha....amp ain't go no where,just needs better speaker(bookshelf) to take its full potential icon_idea.gif
bad2928
post Dec 12 2016, 07:48 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Dec 12 2016, 02:04 PM)
Or want to swap with my PM6005 with top up from me?  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
thanks for your kind offer notworthy.gif but I'm sorry ain't gonna happen biggrin.gif
bad2928
post Jan 4 2017, 07:50 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Jan 4 2017, 09:31 AM)
For equipment owner list, you can refer to our first page~  brows.gif
wow didn't no there are PM-11sa2 owner in here notworthy.gif
bad2928
post Feb 18 2017, 07:48 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Feb 18 2017, 11:16 AM)
Planning on Marantz PM7005, any owner can share experience, especially on the USB DAC sound?
very rare amp,its toward more to modern and digital music hmm.gif
bad2928
post Feb 18 2017, 08:58 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Feb 18 2017, 08:16 PM)
Not rare haha, it's made in China? Got money can buy hehe, but features almost full except subwoofer out, just need to sure the DAC sound is really good? hmm.gif
yes,8005 made in japan brows.gif
bad2928
post Feb 18 2017, 11:05 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Feb 18 2017, 09:27 PM)
Agreed. I myself like simplicity. It mean built in DAC to simplify whatever on the rack and connection.

This is indeed what is missing on PM8005. I am no surprise if PM8006 will have a built in DAC.
pm 8 series more toward analog lah,the MM phono stage is very good base on my reading la...
bad2928
post Feb 19 2017, 05:09 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Feb 19 2017, 02:25 PM)
You use Marantz to drive your Wharfedale Diamond 9.2? brows.gif
yup,with my pm8005.to be honest 9.2 handle 8005 better than my 155.maybe because of lower ohm and sensitivity hmm.gif
bad2928
post Feb 19 2017, 07:19 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Feb 19 2017, 05:31 PM)
What's better with 9.2 most probably is overall tonal balance, without emphasizing too much, the 155 most probably a bit more bass for music listening I assume?
not just bass HF also a bit bright,while 9.2 bass is tighter hf smooth yet more detail.maybe floorstands to big for my room.by connecting both speakers A and B from marantz easier to compare rclxms.gif
bad2928
post Feb 19 2017, 11:35 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Feb 19 2017, 10:30 PM)
As you can see in this thread, many complains found on the PM8005;
(1) No DAC
(2) No USB
(3) Cannot drive super big speakers like Utopia
(4) Not supporting tri-amping
(5) No Sub-out
(6) No DSP
(7) No luxury price tag
(8) No balance inputs nor output
(9) No WiFi
(10) No Bluetooth
(11) No LAN
(12) No UMNO

So when you are bored with your limited PM8005, please PM me ya...  cool2.gif
haha still don't giving up don't you,no 12 is best one.Btw recently one of my friend bought used 8005 from Singapore same price as mine...lucky him rclxms.gif
bad2928
post Feb 27 2017, 05:00 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 27 2017, 12:58 PM)
roger boss. i stay db unit for no other reason than looks pro.
db is common use for enthusiast,its easier to compare with others.example my average vol is -10bd for movie watching smile.gif
bad2928
post Feb 27 2017, 08:24 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 27 2017, 05:40 PM)
i buka -23db for bluray disc.
-30db avg for download stuffs
wah..quite soft,mine before room treatment and dual sub avg -18db now down to -11/10db rclxms.gif
bad2928
post Feb 28 2017, 08:05 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Feb 28 2017, 07:37 PM)
to go > -10dB, both the speaker and amp must be beefy  flex.gif  else full of harshness and distortion
agreed,certain movie with bad mixing can't watch that low sweat.gif
bad2928
post Mar 12 2017, 02:21 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Mar 12 2017, 12:46 PM)
My understanding of Marantz PM6005 is color, it can be a bit too much for some recordings, but this HD-AMP1 just right, and can apply 2 digital music filters, great feature, actually now I think of it 8ohm 35watt 4ohm 70watt, means max is 70 watt, coz when speakers demand more it will drop to 4ohm or even lower, it's variable, yesterday I test to crank volume a bit, the amp go into standby mode, it seem overload or something, then I switch out the stock power cable, change to a better PC power supply cable to the amp, this time no go into standby mode, comes with the box also got battery and an USB cable, I thought both the power and USB cables look cheap. Yes the amp when touch very very hot after like half an hour but ok if play just a while, I think it also depend room temperature, as last few days very hot
strange hmm.gif ,my 8005 not hot even when i crank up the volume all day long
bad2928
post Mar 12 2017, 04:37 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Mar 12 2017, 02:37 PM)
Yes, that worry me much, from one review the owner did say he open whole day, and the HD-AMP1 run really hot hmm.gif
the compact design and very less ventilation made this amp run hot even for class d,you can try to diy a small fan on top of it.most AVR user using this method
bad2928
post Mar 12 2017, 05:27 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(wim1983 @ Mar 12 2017, 04:47 PM)
Top got a pretty wide ventilation holes, I'm surprising that how come the power supply inside so small? SMPS? There is a large capacitor nearby the PS? See that a lot complicated electric components inside blink.gif
yes but on top only,there's no ventilation at side and bottom,the heat built up and trap inside sweat.gif

This post has been edited by bad2928: Mar 12 2017, 05:29 PM

bad2928
post Mar 13 2017, 08:51 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Mar 12 2017, 11:23 PM)
Your air-con very strong le... So cold there...

<Just kidding>

I agreed PM6005, PM6006 and PM8005 is kind of never hot... the most is a little bit warm.

But Marantz AVR is another story... They indeed get hot... which I guess consume much more electricity.

Thus to save the earth and consume less electricity, we should move forward to stereo system (not class A)...  biggrin.gif  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif  whistling.gif
nope,no air-con brows.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0504sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:44 PM