Marantz Club - Because Music Matters~, Do share your marantz stories

bad2928
post May 11 2016, 05:12 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(bryanyz @ May 11 2016, 05:00 PM)
got my speaker on last friday.  biggrin.gif
i'm very happy to the sound quality. it very suitable to the music type i listening to.

i tried a few bookshelf speaker & floorstand speaker before i made my decision. price from 2k - 5k.
from Dali Zensor 1, 3, 5, 7 to KEF LS50 , ATC...
All are not ngam the type of music i listening to. some the vocal is very good, but the stage is weak, bass is not enough. Floorstand got stage and bass but the details is blur, due to my room is small and pricing is higher. then finally i met this B6, i was impress by the sound quality and at a cheaper price i get the type that i want.

currently using it without a dac and connected with very normal pasar road speaker cable.
i'm wondering how much different if i use a DAC and a better branded speaker cable.  rolleyes.gif
nice..and nice cat too thumbup.gif ,how much you bought it?currently i'm using my 8005 in power amp direct mode pre out from my denon avr no dedicate dac also but sound very good already. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by bad2928: May 11 2016, 05:37 PM
bad2928
post May 11 2016, 07:45 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ May 11 2016, 06:55 PM)
You bought online?
sold out already selling likes hot cake kot
bad2928
post May 30 2016, 10:14 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(gme @ May 29 2016, 04:33 AM)
[attachmentid=6729745]
upgraded from Marantz sr6006...although not yet connect  height speaker,sound quality better than sr6006 thumbup.gif
imho this not an upgrade,its replacement,sr7010 will consider upgrade biggrin.gif
bad2928
post May 30 2016, 01:11 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ May 30 2016, 12:32 PM)

rich man spotted brows.gif
sweat.gif not rich la,saving up for the best to avoid further upgrade biggrin.gif
bad2928
post Jun 28 2016, 11:57 AM

628 posts

hopefully somebody will break the ice to own pm-11S3 or pm-14S1... tongue.gif
bad2928
post Jun 28 2016, 12:26 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(nm7 @ Jun 28 2016, 12:01 PM)
Damn, not even Ken Ishiwata can convince me to buy the Ki-Pearl some 3 years ago and instead got myself the KI-Pearl Lite.

Now, you want someone to dump insurmountable amounts of money into their reference models. If you have that, you must at least also have the SA-14 and the NA-11S1 together already which means the system would have blown past 40k easily.

But, seriously. I if i had that amounts of money or more. I would not be looking at Marantz anymore although i do like their stuff very much.

Ken Ishiwata FTW!  rclxms.gif
very rare ownership la ...maybe for a very very die hard marantz fan
bad2928
post Jul 12 2016, 12:23 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Jul 12 2016, 07:32 AM)
How about dual 12" sub , 500 watts RMS, 1000 watts maximum. drool.gif

how much this AG sub?
bad2928
post Jul 12 2016, 08:02 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Jul 12 2016, 03:18 PM)
Guys, I think this one just want some extra bass for his music... This is over-kill...  drool.gif
stereo bass syok maa....
bad2928
post Jul 13 2016, 02:40 PM

628 posts

saw beautiful white Kef ls50 on sales,can pm8005 drive this speaker properly guys? hmm.gif
bad2928
post Jul 13 2016, 09:13 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(butt @ Jul 13 2016, 08:54 PM)
Can drive no problem, but LS50 deserved a better amp..😊
Used to have the exact setup before..👌
ok,thanks thumbsup.gif
bad2928
post Jul 14 2016, 02:35 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Jul 13 2016, 11:30 PM)
Yes Certainly, except only one issue;

Good speaker + Good amp = Need Good DAC, which again not cheap...  whistling.gif

Total system cost will be High~  thumbup.gif
not necessary a dac,turntable don't need one.total system cost will be high as long as you satisfied and enjoy the result tongue.gif
bad2928
post Jul 15 2016, 05:08 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(fx20 @ Jul 15 2016, 04:46 PM)
This sub has a switch to between musical listening and HT mode. Its cabinet is transmission line also. Very musical.
yup, good review in hometheatershack.com
bad2928
post Jul 20 2016, 03:30 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Jul 20 2016, 10:04 AM)
Hello guys, I am rather new in AV setup, but looking for a simple marantz configuration with bookshelf speaker for music listening (i.e. 蔡琴,张学友, orchestra type of music) now and planning to extend it to a 5.1/7.1 home theater later on top of it. Is there any recommended setup?

I was looking for something like a bookshelf speaker i.e. B&W 685 S2 pair with a Marantz NR1606/1607. Still unsure how i can hook a CD player on this setup. Also, is there a different between NR1607 and PM6006?
Nr1607 is 7.1ch av receiver for home theater,Pm6006 is 2ch stereo integrated amplifier thumbsup.gif
bad2928
post Jul 20 2016, 08:13 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Jul 20 2016, 06:32 PM)
I see, is there any major diff when it come to sound reproduction?
both different,its depends on what you need and what you looking for thumbsup.gif
bad2928
post Aug 7 2016, 05:59 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Aug 7 2016, 05:16 PM)
For the scale of 1 to 10 where 5 is acceptable and 10 is perfect (example: some better McIntosh amp driving Utopia with > RM100k setup), for music playback, NR1607 get around 2.5 to 3 points where PM6005 can get 7.5 to 8 points.

Differences amp are built for different reasons. Example: Pioneer excellent AVR LX-8x series can score very high marks in AV, but for music, it is the worst where I can give 1 points or even less for it.
congratz on your new purchase thumbsup.gif ,probably my next avr upgrade will be marantz bcoz i found out its cheaper than denon
bad2928
post Sep 13 2016, 06:38 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 13 2016, 05:31 PM)
Not sure why you all so scared to update?

The firmware has a checksum data and if it doesn't match the sum on the AVR, it doesn't proceed, end of story.

If it proceeds, then all good to go la unless the firmware file itself is corrupted or (touch wood) house black out when flashing.
agreed,as long as you use wired connection you good to go.same with rooting you android phone still doing it even though you know void the warranty biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bad2928: Sep 13 2016, 06:49 PM
bad2928
post Sep 17 2016, 06:49 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(nidunalza @ Sep 17 2016, 03:04 AM)
Tried updating today.. Wired connection.  Failed at 8mins remaining.
Error code reads: EIMG A4 connection failed
Powered down the unit, puts  it in a update retry cycle x 3 before the same error code again.
Decided not to risk it, I factory reset the unit.

So, now back to previous firmware.. Still no DTS:X!!
wow...scary!!,better wait for next firmware
bad2928
post Nov 7 2016, 08:32 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 6 2016, 06:05 PM)
new denon just press info. it show on tv.
more detail is go menu setup. general. scroll until information. audio.
new marantz dunno follow the same step?
i thinks is identical,just press status at front penal its will show format,sample rate,processing etc
bad2928
post Nov 7 2016, 06:21 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Nov 7 2016, 04:20 PM)
With my ex-SR5005, it will always show the sources if DTS/DTS-HD etc... How can I configure my Marantz SR5010 doing the same... Maybe if I change sources from Media player to Astro show input for 10 seconds.. but after that always show the source quality such as DTS/Dolby etc...
i don't get it rclxub.gif
bad2928
post Nov 7 2016, 06:48 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 7 2016, 06:31 PM)
i get ur meaning. but this function is no longer have after ur last sr5005.
becos my sr5006 begining only show source name.
no dolby dts sad.gif
oo i see,maybe they remove it so if you want more info get 7xxx series icon_rolleyes.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0501sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:36 AM