4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Marantz Club - Because Music Matters~, Do share your marantz stories

wim1983
post Feb 13 2017, 04:04 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

Hi guys, any way to get a unit of Marantz HD-AMP1 wub.gif , it seem not available in Malaysia yet doh.gif

I only see it's available via Music Direct or Crutchfield Web site, expensive shipping sweat.gif , and tax puke.gif
wim1983
post Feb 13 2017, 06:10 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2017, 06:40 PM)
if import. can see airbow modified hdamp1.
without mod already stim drool.gif after mod
Bro, from which Web site you see the item? Airbow is another model or what?
wim1983
post Feb 13 2017, 06:41 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

Found this from SG Web site:
http://www.sonicsoundaudio.com/product_inf...roducts_id=2340

Seem the best price I can get, I'm trying to either build a Marantz HD-DAC1 + power amp or get the Marantz HD-AMP1
wim1983
post Feb 13 2017, 09:49 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2017, 10:13 PM)
click
is a jp company using marantz as base to modify
Waliu bro Airbow HD-AMP1, the price gao gao almost double, you want me bankrupt gao gao la laugh.gif

Btw, what's the difference hah? hmm.gif
wim1983
post Feb 13 2017, 10:09 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2017, 10:53 PM)
the website quite informative. teach a lot spk setup and basic technique.
yesterday reading translation is mod from power supply and bypass tone?? watch youtube too
You use Chrome built-in translation engine right? blush.gif
wim1983
post Feb 13 2017, 10:27 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2017, 11:21 PM)
improved hdamp1 base on 611. tune to pm11 characteristic
If my understanding correct, the filter will make the sound less harsh ah laugh.gif ?
wim1983
post Feb 13 2017, 10:40 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2017, 11:37 PM)
need u to buy then can know hmm.gif bila up
haha, still planing the fund, also speakers should be Dynaudio Audience 52SE, amp will be Marantz HD-AMP1, dunno how long, need to sell off my existing gears first brows.gif
wim1983
post Feb 13 2017, 10:52 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2017, 11:46 PM)
on 611 + monitor audio bx2 is not harsh without filter. can say overall balance and acceptable like low price item (below 1k).
weak center image. broken sound stage.

turn on filter. wah biggrin.gif
it become our familiar marantz sound at low and high volume.
focus center image. full sound stage.
I see, but metal tweeters did has advantage, you have more air especially on high, it should sound more clear for something like bird chirping wub.gif , but might be a little bit edge for some recordings, how would you feel for some less than perfect recording with higher noise tone on the Bx2 + Marantz 611? hmm.gif
wim1983
post Feb 14 2017, 12:58 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 14 2017, 12:09 AM)
metal tweeter is quite cool for current trend kpop kind of electronic synth effects. soft dome roll off less joyful.

sonetimes went overboard like loud bird chirp is unnatural. so i learn from chanhin kor the spk terminal method.
red to LF. black to HF. metal tweeter is toned down slightly less energy now.

can notice less perfect media easily. especially high gain (boosted db during convert or record) and solo performance.

after other instruments or voice join in, ok acceptabe la.
I see, you are right on less excited point for high freq., soft dome tends to smooth to rolled off, it's really great for mid though, I'm a mixbag of music, from poorer to great mastering source, so metal tweeters kinda not for me, except if really got great great gears to drive the metal tweeters properly whistling.gif
wim1983
post Feb 18 2017, 11:16 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

Planning on Marantz PM7005, any owner can share experience, especially on the USB DAC sound?
wim1983
post Feb 18 2017, 08:16 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(bad2928 @ Feb 18 2017, 08:48 PM)
very rare amp,its toward more to modern and digital music  hmm.gif
Not rare haha, it's made in China? Got money can buy hehe, but features almost full except subwoofer out, just need to sure the DAC sound is really good? hmm.gif
wim1983
post Feb 18 2017, 09:07 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 18 2017, 09:52 PM)
so u abandon hdamp1 jor.
see what chip is 7005 use. same to 6005 wor cs4398
That's a big question mark, both also made in China, roughly same price for both, around 5K, but the PM7005 amp power a bit more, I also wonder if same DAC, will it be different due to different implementations on the PM7005? hmm.gif

The Yamaha DAC also use ESS Sabre, but sound really a bit bright and less refine sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wim1983: Feb 18 2017, 09:18 PM
wim1983
post Feb 18 2017, 09:09 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(bad2928 @ Feb 18 2017, 09:58 PM)
yes,8005 made in japan  brows.gif
Ya, but 8005 not my cup of tea when comes to compact solution, with DAC and all in one feature though, the difference in power is not much, I could have DIY a power amp from scratch and pair it with separate DAC Preamp, but then it's no more compact in that way, also I need a remote control, the HD-AMP1 really almost cup of my tea, but still there are quite some mix reviews about the sound and reliability of the unit, made in China wink.gif
wim1983
post Feb 18 2017, 09:36 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Feb 18 2017, 10:27 PM)
Agreed. I myself like simplicity. It mean built in DAC to simplify whatever on the rack and connection.

This is indeed what is missing on PM8005. I am no surprise if PM8006 will have a built in DAC.
That time the price will be up more again devil.gif

From my pass experience, Marantz amp on tweeter treble side is very very smooth, bass is the only concern for Marantz amp, I think maybe due to the Class AB design, my class D control bass really, then again the treble may straight bright on some bright speakers with metal tweeters, there is another model to consider, it's NuPrime IDA-8 with class A + D combine, but no headphone jack sweat.gif
wim1983
post Feb 19 2017, 02:25 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(bad2928 @ Feb 19 2017, 12:05 AM)
pm 8 series more toward analog lah,the MM phono stage is very good base on my reading la...
You use Marantz to drive your Wharfedale Diamond 9.2? brows.gif
wim1983
post Feb 19 2017, 05:31 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(bad2928 @ Feb 19 2017, 06:09 PM)
yup,with my pm8005.to be honest 9.2 handle 8005 better than my 155.maybe because of lower ohm and sensitivity  hmm.gif
What's better with 9.2 most probably is overall tonal balance, without emphasizing too much, the 155 most probably a bit more bass for music listening I assume?
wim1983
post Feb 26 2017, 01:07 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Feb 25 2017, 11:44 AM)
I'm using RP-250C as Center, RP-160M as L&R. I'm not sure how to determine dBs. But I usually watch movie at volume% 60-65. Done calibration with Audussey XQ32
Interested to know how the RP-160M sound quality in 2 channel stereo, with Marantz amp should ok? hmm.gif If use power amp, then it will bright, but powerful and super dynamic whistling.gif
wim1983
post Feb 26 2017, 10:42 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Feb 26 2017, 07:24 PM)
I'm using it for movies, excellent pair of bookshelf for movies. It's auto set as full range by Marantz coz of it's large 6.5" driver I supposed. However I doesn't really like how it sounds for music, indeed a bit on the bright and dynamic side. I mostly listen to Jazzy and soft Pop. I'm using a pair of KEF LS50 for music only, its more comfortable to the ears.
QUOTE(sonerin @ Feb 26 2017, 07:35 PM)
LS50 definitely is a lot better than the Klipsch 160. Is really a good choice for music
I guess it makes sense, more does not mean more, less sometime is good, softer tone works better to ears whistling.gif
wim1983
post Mar 11 2017, 09:09 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

Guys, just bought a Marantz HD-AMP1, 3 things that surprise me:

1. Not very color warm sound, just a little bit which is even very little traceable from track to track, 2 digital music filters, first one a little bit smooth and warm, second has clearer and open sound

2. Class D but running so hot, worry it's cannot last long, it's more powerful than I imagine, drive my Denton more than enough, compare to my Class D Audio SDS-400C power amp, it is as if same powerful

3. It's Made in Vietnam? Huh? Is that better than Made in China?

So far very satisfied with this amp thumbup.gif

wim1983
post Mar 12 2017, 12:26 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 12 2017, 08:37 AM)
When you want to start selling again
I can see it will be not so soon, gona be long long time, so small chilli padi, yet so compact powerful versatile, great sound not only good laugh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0459sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:53 AM