Marantz Club - Because Music Matters~, Do share your marantz stories

TSchanhin
post Jul 12 2017, 10:30 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 12 2017, 10:11 PM)
who dare to say. me 1988 gen y leh
Hahaha... ok ok.... Nowadays Y gen also trying to take pictures with 'film'. I guess it is the same thing with CD players.... laugh.gif
TSchanhin
post Jul 20 2017, 08:30 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 19 2017, 10:42 PM)
How much is the PM6006 selling now? I'm SG got a shop quoted $SGD470, not sure it is a good buy???
Next weekend go to KLIAV see if any offer la... biggrin.gif
TSchanhin
post Jul 22 2017, 10:12 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 20 2017, 10:17 PM)
Normally how is the offer ?
Depends on the brand and mostly the distributor marketing strategy.

It mean no idea la... Next week let's go and meet up. cool2.gif

TSchanhin
post Sep 24 2017, 02:35 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 22 2017, 09:09 PM)
Finally Marantz is coming back into the flagship, built-like-a-tank receiver market.

Marantz SR8012
On hindsight, it looks similar to the Denon 7200WA, but look closer and there are clearly quite a few key differences. Excited for this one.
It is beautiful~ thumbup.gif
TSchanhin
post Dec 22 2017, 09:51 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 7 2017, 11:31 PM)
jp out new product nd8006 as cd + network streamer
Interesting product. Marantz should have come out with such product earlier.

QUOTE(nikonfan @ Dec 22 2017, 11:43 AM)
hi all,

Marantz Sr6012 or 7012, anyone using these model ? which one is more value for money?

6012 is more value for $$$. But when you buying 7012 and above... those level usually do not talk about value for $$$.. and more on what sound you fancy...
TSchanhin
post Dec 23 2017, 10:40 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(nikonfan @ Dec 23 2017, 05:06 PM)
Thanks bro !

Is it very much different between these two models in term of sound effect? Or just buy 6012 and the extra money buy another 2 channels power amp
Well.. this need lots of experiences to share.. Here is some from my personal experiences.

For movies, example with AVR type of sounds, There are 3 important things..

(1) Speakers that capable to produce big and heavy sound (English: bigger speakers + low freq). In this case, floorstander (front speakers) also always win hands down. Try best to buy biggest center speakers as well. Real and surround speakers IMO, not important.
(2) The digital processing effect. In this case, Marantz is actually not the best. Pioneer LX series with its exaggerated effect (higher level of distortion) is great for most action pack movies, but not high quality music video, which is Marantz domain.
(3) If you have entry level to basic mainstream level speakers, Pioneer LX is better for movies (except high quality music video). But if you lucky enough to have better speakers such as high end series, go for 7012 or Marantz pre/power separate. Even movies are good (high quality type), with different effects from the Pioneer LX (ajimonoto type).

* Focal Electra series and above is consider high end sound.

For movies + stereo music;

(1) Suggest you to always get another stereo amp that can do AV bypass. Stereo amp is all about lowest possible distortion (no short cut, only pure high quality design and components), where any tiny digital effects will be killing it. All AVR amp fail on stereo music, where Pioneer LX fail very badly. Marantz PM800x series stereo amp are not bad, able to drive big speaker also.

Hope it help...

This post has been edited by chanhin: Dec 23 2017, 10:49 PM
TSchanhin
post Apr 2 2018, 09:07 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Peter_APIIT @ Mar 31 2018, 08:06 PM)
What are the difference between AV Receivers and HiFi Components as shows at Marantz USA website?

What good speaker to pair with Marantz SR5012?
IMO SR5012 not really a good amp.

Anyway, since buying AV amp, I assume is for movies. Rules for movies is rather simple.. you need good low freq response => need bigger speakers. Example: floor stand speakers + bigger center speakers will help a lot on the movies sound.

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Mar 31 2018, 08:17 PM)
Saw PM8005 for sale for RM3K at hifi4sale
Got me? I did not see it ya... sweat.gif
TSchanhin
post Apr 3 2018, 09:13 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(Peter_APIIT @ Apr 2 2018, 09:17 PM)
What is the reason? Why u say so? What is your recommendation then?
Movies is always about bigger, heavier sound to show off the special effects... It is different from music that focus on low distortion and originality. And of course, Sub-Woofer help a lot.. Invest on the good one... RM3k or more.

All big speakers are great for movies.. Example: KEF Q900, Q950, Q600C, Monitor Audio BX6, RX8 etc...

While for music, it is better to choose one step smaller speakers for more balanced sound... like RX6 etc...

QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Apr 3 2018, 07:02 AM)
my take on the PM8005 in case anyone interested smile.gif
https://ihearwhatihear.com/2018/03/20/maran...integrated-amp/
Good choice. I have one and loving it. Might buy another one. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by chanhin: Apr 3 2018, 09:14 PM
TSchanhin
post Jul 14 2018, 12:52 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 12 2018, 11:57 PM)
limited edition again, KI ruby
Your new toy? Wow... thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
TSchanhin
post Jul 15 2018, 12:21 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 14 2018, 04:16 PM)
me where got money to buy wo, 500pcs produced only base on sa10, pm10
Wow.. must be expensive...
TSchanhin
post Aug 31 2019, 10:03 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(sakthis7 @ Aug 31 2019, 12:53 PM)
Hi guys,

Can anyone help me on how to reformat my marantz sr5010? It is stuck in the update process and can't access the menu. I have tried to simultaneously press M-DAX AND zone 2 source button to reset the system but doesn't work. Thank you.

I have the same AVR. Can I know what did you do that causing it? I hope to avoid it... sweat.gif
TSchanhin
post Sep 4 2019, 10:47 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(sakthis7 @ Sep 1 2019, 05:32 PM)
Yeah the system automatic update and the update failed. Please go to the menu and turn off the automatic update if u want to avoid this lol.
Oh... Shit. Thanks for sharing. I think unplug the LAN cable easier...
If not mistaken, I think it auto updated once last month... As it was behaving weirdly just one for one... and I need to press something (forgot as trial and error) and recover... It should be update success on my case.

This post has been edited by chanhin: Sep 4 2019, 10:48 AM
TSchanhin
post Oct 5 2019, 01:37 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(A.B.D. @ Sep 25 2019, 01:23 PM)
from your experience does the higher sampling rate of bd player and quantitization process you mentioned worsen cd sound quality and is it audible?

which marantz cd player are you using?

thanks for sharing notworthy.gif
Certainly audible when using BD player to play CD... BD using 48k based clock while our CD is using 44k.
TSchanhin
post Oct 5 2019, 01:46 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(keithwwk @ Sep 19 2019, 09:04 AM)
Hi guys!
Can OP add me in the owner list?
I am using PM66SE KI, CD17mk3 and CD6000KI.
Cheers!
QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 19 2019, 01:53 PM)
i also added 3 rigs.
mini series mcr-510, mcr-610, mcr-611

pls add new comer bro chanhin
QUOTE(SonGoku2 @ Oct 2 2019, 10:37 AM)
Hello..

Can add me...just got  a  preowned cd6006
Added owner list on first page~ thumbup.gif
TSchanhin
post Oct 15 2019, 08:14 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(A.B.D. @ Oct 5 2019, 05:00 PM)
What audible difference can you hear?

How about optical out from bd player to external dac? Sampling become 44k or still 48k? Do you know?
All the same negative results because the clock already screw up within the player for down sampling.

IMO, there is only one solution if want to listen to Music CD content, the player must have 44.1khz clock, no matter we are using the built in DAC or external DAC.

This is a global standard issue. It seems a mistake to come up 48khz version when there was already 44.1khz version.
TSchanhin
post Oct 15 2019, 08:16 AM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 11 2019, 07:00 PM)
the key is distance. short one usually fine with any  cable.
long distance would not be the same.

ess dac sound thin = normal. not sure if yours can change filter to short, slow, sharp like pioneer avr
Some time I felt the ESS are 'over' realistic if you know what I meant.. And if paired with bright system, long hours listen is kind of suffering due to too much ajinomoto.
TSchanhin
post Jan 14 2020, 02:17 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(keithwwk @ Jan 14 2020, 07:45 AM)
Hi all, Happy new year and happy listening.

One more marantz added into my rig. Marantz CD6004.

Cheers!
Updated on main page~ Congratulation~
TSchanhin
post Mar 21 2020, 05:25 PM

1,615 posts

Highlly unlikely that there will be KLIAV 2020.
TSchanhin
post Mar 22 2020, 10:39 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 21 2020, 07:44 PM)
Hwee Seng Singapore just did warehouse sale yesterday and today, so brave to continue in this period. Walao those Onkyo amp price so irresistible!
I think Singaporean more interested to buy toilet papers... biggrin.gif
TSchanhin
post May 7 2020, 07:06 PM

1,615 posts

I have good experiences on Marantz reliability so far.. However, t times, I am thinking of to let go my SR to Stereo amp because most of the time are watching TV series or youtube, which only stereo sound. And AV Amp consume lots of power and generate heats as compare to simple stereo amp. Imagine playing it for long hours... Not to mention only stereo amp can play acceptable stereo music for now.

This post has been edited by chanhin: May 7 2020, 07:08 PM

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0423sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:38 AM