Headphones AKG club for all AKG models, discussion on the experience of AKG HP

TSsonyman
post Sep 20 2006, 10:24 PM, updated 5y ago

1,043 posts

Hi guys and girls,
for those who has a AKG headphone maybe you can share the experience you have.
we have grado and sennheiser, but i like to make a AKG fan club as well.

i just got my AKG K601 as i could not afford the K701. so much nicer the 701

anyway this was difficult to decide between AKG K601 and Sennheiser HD 600.

but in the end i felt that aKG fair better in my ears compare with the HD 600.

im not saying hd 600 not good but, hd 600 has its points but i did like the dynamicness of the sennheiser but got tired after listening to it for a while.

dont know why. but akg seems to sound smoother, maybe due to the sound staging.

i tried out almost any kind of music i can find in the shop.

test was with a cyruss preamp and with a micromega cd player as the source.

sound between 2 headphones were really close but certain thing like bass attack in the sennheiser was much better, this i must say, in term of detail i still felt that the akg is much better, bass was tight and vocal on the akg was much more natural.,

the sennheiser had much a louder sound but it does gives good impact on music.

on the clasiccal music, you might think that the hd 600 fair much better, i agree with that but sound like the hd 600 is not as natural as the akg.

well this is my first reference level headphone and had just love to fall inlove with it.

kind of difficult to drive compare to my grado sr 60, but definately sound much much better.

yeah,
airbag_grado
post Sep 20 2006, 10:31 PM

* Washed Hand *
945 posts

Welcome to the club, how much 601 cost compare to 701 in Asia Sound?
TSsonyman
post Sep 20 2006, 10:32 PM

1,043 posts

i got mine K601 at rm 1300, and the 701 cost about RM 2K

hehe, u an owner also ?

the 701 comes with a better packing, and i have checked and compared with the 601, 701 goes 2 hz lower. i think should have more other small small things used in.

the difference is really huge. couldnt afford the 701 yet

how much you got ur 701
ifer
post Sep 20 2006, 10:39 PM

4,637 posts

aik? i remember reading from some forummers saying that the 701 cost only RM 1200 leh... no?
airbag_grado
post Sep 20 2006, 10:40 PM

* Washed Hand *
945 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Sep 20 2006, 10:34 PM)
the 701 comes with a better packing, and i have checked and compared with the 601, 701 goes 2 hz lower. i think should have more other small small things used in.

the difference is really huge. couldnt afford the 701 yet

how much you got ur 701
I buy online from US, almost at your price of 601. tongue.gif. Quite reluctant to tell u the thruth. Did u bargain?

This post has been edited by airbag_grado: Sep 20 2006, 10:41 PM
gavlim
post Sep 20 2006, 10:41 PM

i'm too sexy for my girlfriend
1,487 posts

saw some K701 selling at headfi for around US$250-270 mark. RM2k seems really marked up. curious to try the AKG sound but am hesitating to pull the trigger!
TSsonyman
post Sep 20 2006, 10:42 PM

1,043 posts

that was what i thought, when i went to the shop, well it was at rm 2200 and i was so disappointed.

buying on the internet is not my style yet.

sad sad !!!

that was what i thought, when i went to the shop, well it was at rm 2200 and i was so disappointed.

sad sad !!! cry.gif cry.gif

QUOTE(airbag_grado @ Sep 20 2006, 10:40 PM)
I buy online from US, almost at your price of 601. tongue.gif. Quite reluctant to tell u the thruth. Did u bargain?
bargain also how much can get, rm 400 discount, the selling price is at rm 1600 leh, unless i kena konn lah.

but if compare to internet, of course lah, i didnt try b4 and not my style also leh. i like to buy tangible things. dont mind paying extra

QUOTE(gavlim @ Sep 20 2006, 10:41 PM)
saw some K701 selling at headfi for around US$250-270 mark. RM2k seems really marked up. curious to try the AKG sound but am hesitating to pull the trigger!
you should try it out, the sound is really natural, staging is good, bass is not bad deep and tight,
not as noisy as sennheiser. gives me the headache after listening too long.

anyway sudah beli akg, kind of loving it, cant wait till my ld 2 + to arrive next 2 weeks and that i think will be even better.

my grado only require a quarter on my sb audigy but the akg requires 3/4 of the volume level to sound right.

i think need some push.
Tachikoma
post Sep 20 2006, 11:17 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

I have a K340 that needs an amp biggrin.gif but even without the amp the soundstage it produces is quite impressive.
airbag_grado
post Sep 20 2006, 11:37 PM

* Washed Hand *
945 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Sep 20 2006, 10:49 PM)
you should try it out, the sound is really natural, staging is good, bass is not bad deep and tight,
not as noisy as sennheiser. gives me the headache after listening too long.

anyway sudah beli akg, kind of loving it, cant wait till my ld 2 + to arrive next 2 weeks and that i think will be even better.

my grado only require a quarter on my sb audigy but the akg requires 3/4 of the volume level to sound right.

i think need some push.
701 quite choosey on source, they will not make bad record sound good. Have paired ld3 with 701, does not like it instantly, feel it eat up detail. Anyway vocal was brilliant.
Tube amp does add organic feel to hp compare to SS amp.

I guess 601 need lot of burn in time, heard from review the sound not "come out" till few hundred hours.

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by airbag_grado: Sep 20 2006, 11:39 PM
Omegaminx
post Sep 20 2006, 11:41 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Sep 20 2006, 10:42 PM)

sad sad !!!
sonyman, u really should practice some open-door policy(as in attempt internet sales once in a while) for your future purchases hehehe biggrin.gif

I got my K701 around the price for your K601. Local dealers can rip you off real bad for certain items.
The K701 takes quite long to run in before the pleasant stuff surface so have patience towards the K601 as I suppose the family traits are not too far off from each other.

Anyway, glad that u r happy wif ur K601. Cheers! icon_rolleyes.gif
airbag_grado
post Sep 20 2006, 11:45 PM

* Washed Hand *
945 posts

QUOTE(Omegaminx @ Sep 20 2006, 11:41 PM)
sonyman, u really should practice some open-door policy(as in attempt internet sales once in a while) for your future purchases hehehe  biggrin.gif

I got my K701 around the price for your K601. Local dealers can rip you off real bad for certain items.
The K701 takes quite long to run in before the pleasant stuff surface so have patience towards the K601 as I suppose the family traits are not too far off from each other.

Anyway, glad that u r happy wif ur K601. Cheers!  icon_rolleyes.gif
So your 701 have started show its colour for u? icon_rolleyes.gif
TSsonyman
post Sep 20 2006, 11:51 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(airbag_grado @ Sep 20 2006, 11:37 PM)
701 quite choosey on source, they will not make bad record sound good. Have paired ld3 with 701, does not like it instantly, feel it eat up detail. Anyway vocal was brilliant.
Tube amp does add organic feel to hp compare to SS amp.

I guess 601 need lot of burn in time, heard from review the sound not "come out" till few hundred hours.

thumbup.gif
thanks mate
TSsonyman
post Sep 20 2006, 11:55 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(Omegaminx @ Sep 20 2006, 11:41 PM)
sonyman, u really should practice some open-door policy(as in attempt internet sales once in a while) for your future purchases hehehe  biggrin.gif

Anyway, glad that u r happy wif ur K601. Cheers!  icon_rolleyes.gif
yeah , thanks for the consoling, anyway maybe next time when i get my K701 i will go through the internet.

anyway i just didnt expect to buy it at all, just drop by the hifi shop and saw the 601, asked for the 701 but the price wasnt right, told the shop that the 701 is selling at rm 1300 on the internet, but he said u believe a not, anyway i had stayed in the shope for 4 hours, and the 4 hours really paid off between senn and akg,

glad there are many akg users there, wether reference or entry level, everyone owns a akg. yeah!

Omegaminx
post Sep 21 2006, 12:05 AM

181 posts

Well, K701 is just starting to show some of its colours but at times, I simply prefer some fun-sounding phones (maybe simple grados, ksc75, philips 805) for leisure. The K701 offers that serious, flat accuracy that brings on a reference sound quality but unfortunately, sometimes I am just not in the mood for reference listening.

A guy from headfi did mention that you should run them in for 1000 hours before they bloom, but seriously did the AKG team run them in for 1000+ hours before saying "Yeah, that's the sound sig we wanted to hear, lets start production guys".....I would guess the team probably listen to them straight up or maybe after a day/or two of running in before they decided to mod or settle for the final driver/assembly....in the industry like any other, time is essence/money....production must not take too long to start....1000 hrs is definately a no-no each time they come up with a modified h/phone driver...anyway, just my $0.02......
Omegaminx
post Sep 21 2006, 12:09 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(airbag_grado @ Sep 20 2006, 11:45 PM)
So your 701 have started show its colour for u? icon_rolleyes.gif
Hi airbag, how ya doing? Where is categg.. biggrin.gif

How's yours coming around the block?

You tried the K701 wif the CEC HD53R at MbD?

Any bass evolution? Its bass is not easy to bring out with normal headamps.... laugh.gif
dinodog_Jr
post Sep 21 2006, 12:13 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

oh man... U can use dat extra money to get a decent headamp liao..

That sales man did know how to make business..

U can pay visit to Singapore. THeir price is more honest.
U can get AKG701 around Rm1100 to RM1250.

Anyway, congrat to ur new horizon to audiophile's world..

AlamakLor
post Sep 21 2006, 12:19 AM

9,856 posts

I bought a 701 on Coobra's behalf from TTVJ and it cost <RM1300 shipped to msia. But the 701's price has increased since then(new unit). I know there's no point saying this now, but if you really want some good equipment and dont mind used...you should start learning to buy from the net.. those hd6x0 are DIRT CHEAP nowadays...you can probably get them for like only RM800+, or even less, shipped to msia for used pair.
TSsonyman
post Sep 21 2006, 12:39 AM

1,043 posts

yeah, i should go to the internet to buy them, learned the lesson, thank you very much, anyway forget about the price i pay,
next time when i get my 701 sure from the internet.

so what are the headphone amps reconmended for the akg's
like mine 601's
TSsonyman
post Sep 21 2006, 12:42 AM

1,043 posts

btw the shop is in ampcorp mall, hehe, if u are just curious to find out.

selling the sweedish statement shop
Categg
post Sep 21 2006, 01:02 AM

Still A Forum Lurker
677 posts

QUOTE(Omegaminx @ Sep 21 2006, 12:09 AM)
Hi airbag, how ya doing? Where is categg.. biggrin.gif

How's yours coming around the block?

You tried the K701 wif the CEC HD53R at MbD?

Any bass evolution? Its bass is not easy to bring out with normal headamps.... laugh.gif
Hehe.. missing in action from audiophile thread coz lurking in photography section more nowadays tongue.gif

AKG K240s owner reporting in, sir! rclxm9.gif

109 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:29 AM