Headphones AKG club for all AKG models, discussion on the experience of AKG HP

AlamakLor
post Sep 21 2006, 12:19 AM

9,856 posts

I bought a 701 on Coobra's behalf from TTVJ and it cost <RM1300 shipped to msia. But the 701's price has increased since then(new unit). I know there's no point saying this now, but if you really want some good equipment and dont mind used...you should start learning to buy from the net.. those hd6x0 are DIRT CHEAP nowadays...you can probably get them for like only RM800+, or even less, shipped to msia for used pair.
AlamakLor
post Sep 21 2006, 03:39 PM

9,856 posts

i think u can get the 701 from TTVJ shipped to msia for about RM1.3k

how far are you from 1.3k? just endure n save up...im trying to hit 2.2k....but in usd laugh.gif
AlamakLor
post Sep 22 2006, 12:24 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Sep 21 2006, 05:37 AM)
ahahaa!
dont compare me and you alamaklor.

besides, i have just purchased a DSLR camera... for work purposes... and i realised that after managing to get some used equipment instead of new, i have some extra of RM 800... so, lack of RM 500 only... yay!
I really love the used market...especially if you can find something in superb condition for 70% of the new retail price rclxms.gif

If you are contemplating selling ur sr60 before/after you got ur 701....suggest you dont do it biggrin.gif the sr60 is still an enjoyable phone...unless you intend to replace the sr60 with the ksc75 laugh.gif
AlamakLor
post Sep 24 2006, 12:36 AM

9,856 posts

try to email ttvj about the price......i think they can do lower despite whatever they introduced
AlamakLor
post Sep 24 2006, 10:44 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(airbag_grado @ Sep 23 2006, 11:39 PM)
Hey..there is different between mortal shop/ttvj online shop. From asia sound u got local waranty and have been taxed by malaysia gov.

Buy from ttvj is like "water good".Hard to claim waranty. You have to bear the risk.

He normally offer a better pricea fter u email him than what he show on web or else he might lose the dealership. Please dun question asia sound and compare to ttvj for the sake of welfare of all headfier. Todd is very nice guy. Eh..ya first time buyer got  discount coupon, use it.

I also wanna complain to McDonalds over here for charging me RM25 for a meal but <RM10 in msia! laugh.gif

I think McDonalds will say - "feel free to fly back to msia to eat your RM10 meal" biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Sep 24 2006, 10:44 AM
AlamakLor
post Sep 24 2006, 11:29 AM

9,856 posts

It will make no difference whether he raise the issue or not. Different distro set prices differently, you can even sell at MSRP without problem..they dont have to sell it to you for less at the first place. What'd you think local dealers could do? tell AKG distro about it? then what AKG distro would do? Tell the US branch about it? and what'd the USD branch do? ask the dealers not to advertise their selling price and do it discreetly, which is what they are doing now. The only thing that is definitely going to happen is....they will tell u what i just said..."you want a RM1300 K701? fly to the states n get it" and you'd be labelled as a rat..nothing else will change.
AlamakLor
post Sep 24 2006, 11:49 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(hasnul @ Sep 24 2006, 12:43 AM)
TTVJ didn't specify how payment can be made on the website. Is it through credit card or Paypal ??
he takes both...credit card will be better and easier...there were some hassles with paypal payments last time. But if you pay with paypal, you might save some money depending on the % ur credit card company charges you on currency exchange. Paypal only charge a fixed 2.5% fee....for me, im indifferent between using CC n pypal, they both charge the same rate biggrin.gif
AlamakLor
post Sep 24 2006, 02:14 PM

9,856 posts

are u serious? k701 for 244usd?an u pm me the site?
AlamakLor
post Sep 24 2006, 09:42 PM

9,856 posts

it's the northen sound lights dealer as stated on head-fi. USD244 is really very cheap. Try to ask todd to match him..not sure if he will do it tofr international...but give it a shot!
AlamakLor
post Oct 2 2006, 06:48 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(kelisa2168 @ Sep 30 2006, 11:19 AM)
AKG costs RM1260.00 @ Asia Sound (ask for Sierra) and Grado 325 costs RM1070 (MDB @ after discount...ask for Simon - nice fella la)
that's the price for 601? laugh.gif who wanna buy my K701 at the same price?! shoot me a pm laugh.gif
AlamakLor
post Jan 30 2007, 10:28 PM

9,856 posts

if you hear distortion on tracks that you have not previously heard, don't blame ur speaker/headphone...whatever you had probably wasnt good enough to show these flaws. I hear recording distortion in most tracks and there is nothing one can do about it besides looking for other music that is distortion free. I've found that the 701 is pretty forgiving on recording flaws, the dt880 and hd595 reveals flaws even more...probably also because they are inherently less dynamic themselves.
AlamakLor
post Jan 31 2007, 01:22 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jan 30 2007, 11:33 AM)
doh.gif Is this good or bad? My Eva Cassidy CD is imported version, original. That means the CD is of bad recording?
i think i have mentioned many times in various threads that the recording is the primary determining factor of quality....original print/mp3/bit rate has little relative importance when it comes to quality. I have original limp bizkit hotdog, chocklate starfish...it distorts like hell. I also have take dake mp3, and it doesnt distort at all.

@ijan,
I never said that the 595 is more revealing, i merely said that you can hear distortion easier on the phone..that does not imply more revealing/detail smile.gif btw, when people say revealing, usually they mean revaling more details...not more flwas

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Jan 31 2007, 01:27 AM
AlamakLor
post Feb 3 2007, 01:43 AM

9,856 posts

Having adequate, or more than adequate, volume does not imply that the amp is able to drive the phone. Volume amplification is nothing more than voltage amplification, I find it particularly funny when people in head-fi asking to set the gain real high when driving the senns.

yrh0413, no idea why are you wasting time with such a crappy amp. The LD2 is warm, muffled, and compressed. Totally doesn't do any justice to the 701. Even my friend's EMP which he invested over 1k USD in tubes (telefunken and some rare philips) isn't good enough for the 701 - according to him.
AlamakLor
post Feb 3 2007, 02:11 AM

9,856 posts

The 0404 is not really bright actually, it just has a more dynamic, tight, and solid tone. These are the opposite of the 701's traits and is pretty much crippling the 701's performance. The 701 itself has a rather warm mid range/vocal, I'd to remove the foam to get better resolution out of it. Pairing it with a tube amp compresses the soundstage and made everything warmer than it should be. I doubt the LD2 has enough current to drive the 701 at the first place.
AlamakLor
post Feb 3 2007, 02:30 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Feb 2 2007, 03:17 PM)
May i ask how to determine whether an amp is capable to drive a pair of headphones?
For a typical consumer, the only way to know is to try them out yourself. Eventually you will find a few amps that'd give you a certain quality in sound, and some that sounds like crap. Those that could give you certain similar quality usually has adquate power to drive it. As far as looking at the amp's drive-ability from the technical point of view, you can gauge how the amp would perform by looking at the output impedance (usually 0), the max current that it could deliver, the operating voltage (voltage swing), and the circuit. However, quality cannot be quantified by numbers. I.e. The M3 amplifier is a measurement monster, but when it comes to sound, many would look elsewhere smile.gif

ps: I'm guessing that you are at the stage where you love swapping tubes just to see how things sound, and the bling bling must be very intriguing tongue.gif

I personally prefer this, for a tube amp (hybrid actually), to the LD2 by a FAR margin:

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Feb 3 2007, 02:34 AM
AlamakLor
post Feb 14 2007, 01:13 PM

9,856 posts

I should really post this in garage sale, but anyway...im contemplating selling my k701...if anyone is interested do pm me with an offer in RM/USD, shipping is extra 13usd.
AlamakLor
post Feb 14 2007, 02:43 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Feb 14 2007, 03:17 AM)
laugh.gif not suprising! I know you will sell it off one day. Let me guess... 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor arriving in few days time? tongue.gif
that's a really nice lens but no tongue.gif
added the Tamron 17-50mm to my inventory....anyway, I decided not to sell it since the phone has dropped significantly in price. And since yeah4.1s helped me by paying a portion of the amp, I can manage to get what I need now without liquidating anything rclxms.gif
AlamakLor
post Mar 10 2007, 01:46 AM

9,856 posts

Glad that you figured that out. smile.gif Sometimes you just gotta try more stuff to know where your stuff stand.

PS: to play the role of devil's advocate: HAHA I told you so! tongue.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=344463&hl=

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Mar 10 2007, 01:57 AM

0.0438sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:06 AM