Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

TSdeodorant
post Oct 30 2015, 03:36 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ghodul @ Oct 30 2015, 03:26 PM)
Just finish my 2nd iv around 12pm. The boss said to me that will proceed my hiring process after I manage to secure an accomodation in sg. 

Something wrong here. You can't rent any long term accommodation without proper immigration status (i.e., you need to get a work permit of some sort, otherwise you're not allowed to rent room or hdb). So your hiring formalities including application of the work permit must be done first.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 3 2015, 07:30 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(yuen300 @ Nov 3 2015, 12:34 AM)
Anyone have any hints in what to look out for to rent room in Singapore?

Make sure your landlord seems like a reasonable person and not those who give all sorts of conditions like "you can only use washing machine once a month and that also only to wash 2 t shirts." Best is to find landlady who will cook for you, give food in return for 'services,' you can PM jitshiong to ask his experience in this.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 3 2015, 10:52 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 3 2015, 10:49 AM)
I studied and worked hard. I earn more than most men in this thread. 

Possibly everybody else in this thread, regardless men or wimminz. Except maybe a particular Oil&Gas senior manyzer Mac kid.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 4 2015, 04:03 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 4 2015, 03:03 PM)
Not yet there. Need the additional 15pc to get there.

Wah wah now s$85k per month? Grats grats, didn't know such elite level got time to play LYN.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 5 2015, 07:13 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sendomike @ Nov 5 2015, 07:00 AM)
i have been offered an interview for a contract job by UOB - 1 year extendable contract.
how do you guys feel about contract job?

Depends if your role is short-term only (e.g. they only hiring you for a year to fill in for a lady on maternity), or if it is memang long term just that they want flexibility of hiring contract vs hiring perm.

Banking line: Contract is the first to go whenever there is any cost cutting exercise, or if your role getting outsourced to KL or China or India.

Having said that I guess local SG banks are slightly more stable in this aspect.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 6 2015, 06:08 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Nov 6 2015, 05:59 PM)
How do you kena exploited?

Must be lady boss ask him come to her office after everyone else gone home n exploit his body.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 7 2015, 10:56 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Nov 7 2015, 09:38 PM)
That's because most men (and women) in this thread don't have more than 3 years of post-graduate working experience but that's just my reckoning.
Walau you looking down on FionaJie?!? Her annual performance bonus alone can buy one HDB in cash.
TSdeodorant
post Nov 8 2015, 11:03 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(bennike129 @ Nov 8 2015, 07:15 AM)
Closing this tered, continue in new one.

13 Pages « < 11 12 13Top

0.0515sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:09 PM