4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

crazy25kid
post Jul 7 2015, 01:42 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(commtrader @ Jul 6 2015, 08:19 AM)
Have you signed the offer letter with new employer in Sg? If yes, then you can resign in your old company. EP for my case just within 2 working days I already got notified successful.

Wow, your sg company can wait you for 3 months to start work? That's amazing you must be in niche and high demand work. C

so if EP rejected and the company decides not to appeal or found someone with a shorter notice, u will feed him?

crazy25kid
post Jul 9 2015, 05:14 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Jul 9 2015, 01:12 PM)
That's why I come to this forum. Hope to make new friends. I guess on one hand I want to earn sing dollars but on the other, I am sceptical whether I can compete with the Sgpreans, esp. Their attitude towards work. Workaholic? Kiasu? So, there is this fear in me.

everywhere u go, there will be ppl who are aggressive in the rat race or deeply involved in office politics
whether u wan to join them or ignore them....it is up to you.
furthermore, why would you be worried abt competing, especially against singaporeans?
there is a reason why singaporeans are raising an issue against hiring FT...THERE IS TOO MANY OF THEM (us included laugh.gif laugh.gif )
crazy25kid
post Jul 11 2015, 10:44 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 11 2015, 08:17 AM)
Me too. 4 years ago I made the leap from Msia to SG with >10% increase (dollar to dollar).

Having been in my industry, this made me realise that always demand the market rate there, not based on your previous renumeration.

better to req SLIGHTLY ABOVE market rate so that when u get squeezed a little, you get the market rate.
if u do not get squeezed, even better. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
crazy25kid
post Jul 13 2015, 10:38 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jul 13 2015, 10:25 AM)
Of course network platform is a big market, no doubt about. I start from normal network line, until now being professional in security, firewall in security and telco company. We also know that Cisco Juniper Fortinet, and others have so many different kinds of cert, voice, data center, ISP base. Dont make you mistaken that I only understand that data network is the only platform in the network stream.

The fact that we do get underpaid by Singapore Company. Not just me, my friends, my customer who are in this stream all are complaining getting underpaid. IT is a very big platform, but salary is not so high as you think. Website can only give you rough estimation of what it should be now, but in fact in real life majority is not getting that. Also think about this. Changing job maybe the only possible to get the salary hike up.

The challenge is there, with those majority certs are getting more and more common compare few years back. As the requirement higher, those basic certificate like CCNA and JNCIA look like a must to get just more normal network helpdesk jobline. Don't get me wrong that those without CCNA will not get network helpdesk job. Just that it's getting harder compare few years back.

But one real fact is that, Singapore company will only take Malaysian into the job just for 3 main reasons.
1) overquota for foreigner. Malaysian seems like is not within that Quota with foreigner. LOL ! If you require a pass/permit to work, you are an FT.
2) We are cheaper. ( and its a fact ) Because a lot of ppl are spoiling the market. And trust me, if you think M'sian are cheap labour, you have not seen how low some people from other countries can request
3) Singaporean salary demand is very high. This 1 is a fact.

If you feel that you are underpaid, why are you all still working there?
If you think your skill set can fetch you a better pay elsewhere, go get it.
If your skill set cannot fetch you the better pay even at other companies, then it is probably you are not underpaid, just you are not skilled enough for that pay you expect to get.

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jul 13 2015, 10:41 AM
crazy25kid
post Jul 14 2015, 10:48 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Jul 13 2015, 10:35 PM)
I think you have misread what I wrote. I still stand by what I said - the kind of Indian professionals (at least in the field I am in) I have seen and dealt with, they are really good.

unfortunately, the ones that we meet....most are sweat.gif sweat.gif
they may be good, too good....in overselling what they can do

i met one which i ended up having to clean up his mess and supervise him although he is the specialist and i was a total newbie to the system.
he was released after 1 month
the bar may had been set very high as his predescessor on the other hand was good, very confident (also indian).
but to be outdone by a total newbie in the field you specialize in really speaks a lot in his skill which he is supposed to be specialized in

there is also another that could never understand instructions but kept on arguing that he is right and disappears all the time.
he even requested another colleague to do his interview assessment test because his contract was not goin to be renewed and needed to get a new job.
worst thing is....he got the job !!! my fren is regretting for helping him now....hahaha
i seriously doubt his skillset is up to par since he was only exposed to that tech during his 1 year and the feedback for his work is doh.gif doh.gif
2 teams did not trust his work. rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
i wish the company good luck. laugh.gif laugh.gif

and the list goes on.

crazy25kid
post Jul 15 2015, 11:23 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Jul 15 2015, 10:59 AM)
U lose the PR once u move out of Singapore anyways.. no lost.

Actually, i am curious abt something
Entry Permit / Re-Entry Permit = PR Status?
So if they expire, PR is given up?
However, the NRIC does not need to be returned?
crazy25kid
post Jul 21 2015, 12:28 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(sailen @ Jul 20 2015, 10:24 PM)
To add on fon ep part. You should get a in-principle approval letter before you come to SG. You must print out the ipa letter when entering sg

why the need to print the IPA?
crazy25kid
post Aug 12 2015, 02:58 PM

1,424 posts

2nd Gen PR IS LIABLE for NS.
However, there are some exemption rules which is not exactly stated in black and white.
I am exempted from NS probably because I am too old and I contribute to the country better through working and paying income tax.
crazy25kid
post Aug 12 2015, 03:26 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(peterG @ Aug 12 2015, 03:22 PM)
2nd Gen PR = person who attained PR ship thru his/her parent who were PR holders?

Im consider young, but my parent are Malaysian working in Malaysia. So i do not need to serve right?

Please correct me if im wrong.  hmm.gif

2nd gen = as long as u are not applying based on ur own.
spouse or children = 2nd gen
crazy25kid
post Sep 7 2015, 11:26 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tampinmy @ Sep 7 2015, 10:59 AM)
No such thing, if you're granted PR, and your son is below 18, he's subjected to NS, irregardless of their nationality

if the son is not a PR, the son is NOT liable for NS.
However, if he ever applies for PR later, he will be subjected to liability for NS, even if he is applying base on his own merit as SG will check on parents' details.
However, MINDEF can still exempt the son but the criteria is never stated, probably age is one of them.
crazy25kid
post Sep 7 2015, 01:11 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tampinmy @ Sep 7 2015, 11:41 AM)
Correct, but nowadays if you don't include your son in PR application, most probably it'll be rejected. And in case you're to renounce your son's pr before he turns 16, your renewal may be rejected as well.

not everyone applies for PR after having a son.

crazy25kid
post Sep 18 2015, 03:02 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(kaneshi @ Sep 18 2015, 02:49 PM)
Just wonder, if to work in SG and to bring along wife & 2 kids with $6k salary enough to survive? So far, I know renting a 3R flat and sending kids to childcare already cost $2.5k & $2k respectively. Any advice is very much appreciated

u already did the math yourself.
the most u can do is reduce the rental part to 1.8-1.9k for whole unit, but will depend on area.
or save more by squeezing all in a master bedroom shocking.gif shocking.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
child care, you can probably try find a nanny or something who is willing to look after both your kids for a lesser amt than the amt u req for childcare (will take a very long time if u are able to find one)

2k (average rental) + 1.8k (average childcare, kids between 1.5 - 7yo) will already eat up 3.8k
u still need to factor in the amt u need to pay for bills, insurance and so on.
u are left with <2k
it is still possible to live but home cook will be compulsory to feed 4 mouth
will be quite tough
crazy25kid
post Sep 27 2015, 10:29 PM

1,424 posts

Stupid question
if we no longer work in SG, PR is cancelled or re-entry permit will not be renewed or both means the same thing?
If PR cancelled, meaning meaning CPF can withdraw in full?
Doesn't sounds right le...
crazy25kid
post Sep 29 2015, 05:39 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Kikokent @ Sep 29 2015, 05:28 PM)
Hi, again thanks to all who give a lot of great info...

I'd secured a job at Jurong East, International Business Park. rclxub.gif

Now scouting for a single room which below SGD 550, among Ang Mo Kio, Bukit Merah and Boon Lay, which area do you guys can briefly suggested? blink.gif

Haven't really make a decision yet and going to settle the room problem within 1 day (around November), any comments or thought would be deeply appreciate. brows.gif

seriously?
http://gothere.sg/maps#q:ang%20mo%20kio%20...030%2F09%2F2015
crazy25kid
post Oct 6 2015, 04:37 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(propriete @ Oct 6 2015, 03:55 PM)
Thanks for all your feedbacks, I think I'm pretty much settled in regard to where to stay, 1st choice now is Jurong East.

Anyone have any idea of cost of getting a foreign domestic helper? In terms of up front and monthly costs (salary + ???).

roughly 1k per month
u need to pay for salary (about 600) + levy (265 if not mistaken, for non-singaporean) + probably some household items which the helper will use also.
crazy25kid
post Oct 19 2015, 05:51 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(simonhtz @ Oct 19 2015, 05:28 PM)
You got a point. Plus, I signed some consent form or something, probably they can access my tax/bank details to verify pay slip. I'm not sure, to what extend, the rights that these 3rd party has...
i think most likely they will be referencing against your referees
they can request for the details...but it is not necessary for the other party to reply.
my list of referees requested the information from me to provide my future employer last time. laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Oct 21 2015, 09:11 PM

1,424 posts

If I remember correctly it is as below...cannot find the page anymore in MOM website or was it written in the IPA...cannot remember. laugh.gif laugh.gif
For EP, P1 and above, medical is optional...or probably for renewal only
P2 and below, medical is required if you have not done it for a period of time (cannot remember the period).
I know this personnally cause of the increase in salary requirement, i escaped 1 year but following year downgraded to P2
when i came, P1 was 2.5-3k...within the 1-2 years, increased to 4-4.5k sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Oct 21 2015, 09:12 PM
crazy25kid
post Oct 22 2015, 10:53 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Oct 22 2015, 09:47 AM)
1. Take KTM from Seremban to Woodlands SG  in the morning, you should reach SG in the afternoon. From Woodlands to Changi you can take the MRT red line from Woodlands to City Hall, then switch to green line continue from City Hall to Changi. Book same day train tickets for night train back to Seremban to save on accomodation. Flight is possible too but it should be more expensive.

2. Definitely need a passport.

Take 168 and alight at Tampines MRT then continue by MRT is A LOT faster

crazy25kid
post Oct 25 2015, 04:21 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 24 2015, 12:00 AM)
But you don't get to collect the points for ezlink.

But I still flashpay user biggrin.gif

Sometimes don't have small change go NTUC just Flashpay biggrin.gif
what points?
crazy25kid
post Oct 25 2015, 08:19 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Oct 25 2015, 06:52 PM)
i believe he talking about the travelsmartrewards.

but flashpay is still entitled for that points.
so i am curious what other points is being referred here

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0279sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:03 PM