Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

KilJim
post Jun 29 2015, 12:14 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

Get POSB as your first bank account as they dont require any specific documents (just bring your passport, Malaysian IC and E-Pass) so that your payroll can be setup ASAP

Then look around to choose another account that suits you best after you get your first phone bill
POSB is the most common so its good to have an account with them, but they offer the least benefits
KilJim
post Jun 29 2015, 11:26 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(danieltan @ Jun 29 2015, 09:21 AM)
Does you mean any branch of posb without deposit I can apply? Or needed go to ChinaTown.  whistling.gif
Any branch
KilJim
post Jul 7 2015, 04:14 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 7 2015, 01:42 PM)
so if EP rejected and the company decides not to appeal or found someone with a shorter notice, u will feed him?
Why would he, this is an online forum for free advice

KilJim
post Jul 8 2015, 11:53 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Jul 8 2015, 11:23 PM)
Thanks for suggestion. But I feel afraid to go to Sgp to work because I have no friends. I will be alone.
Then why did you ask that question in the first place??? rclxub.gif
KilJim
post Jul 10 2015, 11:44 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 10 2015, 12:05 AM)
biggrin.gif Some actually kiasu... In the way that they fear they work too much.

See other person only do "that much", he must do less biggrin.gif This kind kiasu people got quite a lot biggrin.gif
That sounds more like Malaysian employees, dont wanna work more than the other person
I find it the other way round here in general, cause it's easy to get laid off
KilJim
post Jul 10 2015, 11:50 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 10 2015, 11:09 AM)
Speak for yourself. Lots of us here come to Singapore on a competitive wage, not "my skills are crap so you pay me less than a sinkie I oso happy" nonsense.
It's the expectation that sets their reality
Guys like this expect to come at low wage so they get offered and accept low wage

KilJim
post Jul 11 2015, 09:40 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Jul 11 2015, 01:24 PM)
Will remember that once i actually feel the need to jump company. For now though, since im a freshie im not complaining about the fact that im only getting 2..5k...i mean even if i worked in malaysia, starting pay is about that much only, so i consider myself getting paid "dollar for dollar" here as compared to Malaysia tongue.gif
Not related to your reply but just wanted to say,after living here for almost 3 months, i can say im getting way more than enough for a single person, and still able to splurge almost every week, and able to give back money to Malaysia, and still have lots left to save. Was initially scared of the kind of expenses I will have to deal with here, but not anymore smile.gif
2.5k as a fresh grad is decent, I would have taken that if i was a fresh grad too

Just need to make sure you can continue to progress
KilJim
post Jul 11 2015, 10:10 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Jul 11 2015, 09:51 PM)
Yeah, hopefully there would be a clear year on year progression, either on the current company itself, or by jumping. Would be great if i can afford my own HDB to rent after 3 years or so imo.
Err there prob wont be a clear YoY progression, unless you're in something like audit

Rent your own HDB?
You goal is to be able to afford to rent a whole unit?

KilJim
post Jul 11 2015, 10:37 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Jul 11 2015, 10:27 PM)
Actually what I meant by clear was to have some sort of progression, rather than being completely stagnant in terms of pay rise. About the whole HDB, who knows right? tongue.gif
But I guess that's wishful thinking, since even crappy HDBs may cost about 2k per month to rent....

Most people in Malaysia seems to be aiming for 5k by 25, and 10k by 30, I guess that's not very realistic for Singapore? I know its possible if you are in a certain line, but is it common?
Yeah whole unit rentals are exp. But you dont really have a reason to want to rent a whole unit haha...should prob target to own instead of rent tongue.gif

Possible in SG but definitely not common
But I'd say no less common than in MY, sure a lot of people aim that, but wait till you're 30 and look around how many of your friends actually achieve it
KilJim
post Jul 12 2015, 10:52 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

I'm curious you guys who say you're underpaid, mind sharing your pay (roughly) and years of experience + qualifications?
KilJim
post Jul 13 2015, 03:20 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jul 13 2015, 10:25 AM)
But one real fact is that, Singapore company will only take Malaysian into the job just for 3 main reasons.
1) overquota for foreigner. Malaysian seems like is not within that Quota with foreigner.
2) We are cheaper. ( and its a fact )
3) Singaporean salary demand is very high.
1) I never heard of such a thing...you mean MOM give companies 1 quota for foreigner's EP and a separate quota for Malaysian EP??

KilJim
post Jul 13 2015, 08:50 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 13 2015, 08:28 PM)
You mean u cant get the cash rebate isit? I tot theres no income ceiling de
10k household income

This post has been edited by KilJim: Jul 13 2015, 08:56 PM
KilJim
post Jul 24 2015, 09:23 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Jul 23 2015, 10:08 PM)
Congratulations. It means your job is quite easy lar. Jealous only. smile.gif
Dont mistake an efficient and capable person with an easy job
KilJim
post Jul 29 2015, 09:52 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Jupiter Pirate @ Jul 29 2015, 09:30 AM)
Hey everyone, I'm looking for some advice.

I'm working in IT as a programmer for just over a year now. I'm thinking about jumping to Singapore once I reach 2 years of experience. However, my friends have been pessimistic about this idea. They claim that unless I go there with 5 years of experience or I jump to a senior position, I will only be offered a fresh grad's salary of around S$2400.

I understand that I cannot expect to be offered the same salary as a Singaporean with 2 years of programming experience, but I find it really hard to believe that they will only be willing to pay me the same salary as someone with 0 experience.

Any advice? My salary was RM2800 when I started, now I'm earning around RM3400. Expecting to get around S$3000 when I go to Singapore. Is this too much?

Are you planning to apply from Malaysia or quit your job and physically go to SG to apply?

KilJim
post Jul 30 2015, 11:40 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Jupiter Pirate @ Jul 30 2015, 11:23 AM)
I don't plan on quitting and heading there immediately. Will send out resumes while I'm still working.
Then it's easy, just go ahead with your plan regardless of whether you think you can get the pay you want or not
All you need to do is keep working till you hit ~2 years experience (which you'll do regardless of the SG plan or not), then start applying and see what offers you get (which isn't going change your plan in MY even if it doesn't work out)

But to your earlier question, your friends are neither correct nor wrong
The real situation is, if you are capable, in demand and can prove yourself, you can definitely get more than $3k with 2 years experience
If you aren't able to prove yourself, you wont even be able to get the fresh grad $2.4k salary let alone $3k

Yes it is hard, but you're posting a thread full of ppl who have done it so its not impossible
KilJim
post Jul 30 2015, 03:55 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

I don't see how that is racist

First, you don't know how much those Malaysians vs Singaporeans are really worth as employees (real worth, not whats written on a piece of paper)
They share info over coffee break, how accurate are the things they are saying?

Second, the number one deciding factor for most companies is tied to their number of foreigners they're allowed to hire (ie. MOM policy)
The discrimination occurs from MOM down, so its not the companies who decide to hire more Singaporeans
In fact if they are allowed to, i'm sure a lot of companies will want to hire mass foreigners at lower average wages. Then you should be asking is this discriminating against Singaporeans?

You cannot cry discrimination just by looking at numbers and trends without knowing the reasons
Discrimination is when you choose to hire a Singaporean for no reason other than the fact you like Singaporeans more
KilJim
post Jul 30 2015, 04:17 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jul 30 2015, 04:08 PM)
Basically there's 2 head hunter companies working on this, 1 is from Uk while another in SG. The UK company submitted our names with higher post and higher pay(in USD) while that SG company pressed us down. And this job is in Middle East, not in SG.
That UK company had to step down since if were to do the interview in Middle East, that's quite a huge cost since about 100 people applied for it.
If I understand you correctly, you are using UK and SG recruitment companies to apply for a position in the Middle East.
The SG company did not bother applying for you
The UK company did apply but backed down when asked for an interview

I dont see how that is even relevant in this thread...since its not a job in SG

But whats the point even if the SG company did apply for you? You still would have been asked to go for the interview and then backed down anyway right?
KilJim
post Aug 2 2015, 11:18 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 2 2015, 02:03 PM)
Actually on a recent business trip to the red dot, I am quite astounded that I met alot of Malaysians who cannot speak a proper sentence in english and/or malay or understand english or malay without asking for clarification in mandarin and yet claimed that they graduated from local university in malaysia. Is the standards these days really that bad? No wonder Singaporeans look down on Malaysians.
Mind if I ask, what kind of job/position these people were in?
KilJim
post Aug 3 2015, 03:37 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 3 2015, 01:01 PM)
Does it matter? I expect ALL malaysian grads to be able to speak and understand english. Failing which, they should not be allowed to graduate
Sure it does, i'm more interested in the trends in reality instead of your expectation of all universities in Malaysia
If you want to impose that requirement, less than half of the students will graduate
KilJim
post Aug 6 2015, 01:35 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Aug 5 2015, 09:08 PM)
Nope, I tend to disagree.

You lost the freedom to scoop your own fav dishes and need to queue a long way.

They should adopt Malaysia approach.

No wonder, Singapore mindset is queue, queue, queue. Even buying newspapers at a sundry shop also need to queue 3 mins because they MUST only pay to a dedicated staff
Freedom to scoop your own dish...that's a good joke hahaha

You prefer the Malaysian mindset? Long queue at traffic light? Just cut queue
Long queue for buying Oppo handphone at Lowyat Plaza? Just grab and walk away, oh wait....

No point to ask you to go leave if you dont like working in SG as it's quite obvious you're not here in the first place

This post has been edited by KilJim: Aug 6 2015, 01:40 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0664sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:22 PM