PROTON EXORA BOLD OWNERS THREAD! V4, Turbo vrooom vrooom pssssstt
tehsarbat
May 13 2015, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(smon80 @ May 13 2015, 05:33 PM) How this car compare to Inova interm of handling and realibility. My relative is using Innova, so far past 2 years nothing problem. Just normal service. I wonder how reliable this exora. handling and power wise, proven. others, you know laaa PROTON, depend on your luck.
tehsarbat
May 14 2015, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Mar 3 2015, 10:00 AM) I had the same experience 3 months ago , dropped by Proton showroom Seapark during lunch hours to see if there's anything new (regarding the Exora facelift). there's no customer and the sales agent chatting outside the shop.. I walked in.. take a few peek at the brochures on the table for 2 minutes.. still nobody layan me. I walked out, never to visit it again. until now still no sign any Super Premium MC2 on the road yet. got one at Giant Bukit Tinggi Klang showroom. i noticed its just stand there at the same spot from day launched until today. just wonder why.
tehsarbat
May 21 2015, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ May 21 2015, 10:46 AM) Crank sensor oil seal leaking... Brake pads low at 30k km, front tires biased wear out, etc... Good car indeed. Members, can share what's normal life span of brake pads? crank sensor oil seal leaking? what is it? care to explain. i changed my brake pad at 45K service now cocok rapat-rapat also confident already.  but all depends on your driving style. This post has been edited by tehsarbat: May 21 2015, 10:48 PM
tehsarbat
May 21 2015, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(sKypRiNcE734 @ May 21 2015, 08:28 PM) My brake pads are out too @alexei . Following week I'm sending for 38K service.my exora requires service every 5k.they said service every 5K is better for the turbo. yeah. me too. service at 5K for semi-sen. if something not right, at least we know it earlier.
tehsarbat
May 23 2015, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(arza04 @ May 23 2015, 11:13 AM) My hose from air box to turbo inlet crack, better check yours! thanks for the info bro. another new item floated.
tehsarbat
May 23 2015, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ May 23 2015, 09:52 PM) Earlier I posted a few photos, there is a sensor next to the oil drain plug under the engine. Check if yours is leaking. Minor leak is ok, but major leak need to pay attention. thanks. will check it tomorrow morning underneath the engine. so far no oil mark on my garage floor.
tehsarbat
May 24 2015, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(arza04 @ May 23 2015, 10:38 PM) The hose from air filter box there that connected to the turbo inlet(before the turbo). It cracks at the end of the hose. Means, unfiltered air can pass into the turbo from the open leak [attachmentid=4458907] Some said proton already remake this hose into another material or make it more flexible, I will personally go to Proton parts centre @ glenmarie next monday to buy the new one and confirm with them if there any changes made compare to old one. Warrranty period over, so have to use own Also today found out my air filter clog with insects, dry leaves and dust. No wonder feel less power.  EDIT: also found leaks around rocker cover/cam cover there, so gasket need to be replaced also Mileage : 59k km this some of the reason why i do every 5K service as i mentioned earlier, and replaced the air filter element at 10K interval.
tehsarbat
May 24 2015, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(arza04 @ May 24 2015, 12:35 AM) The oil doesnt leak that much till it drops to the floor, it sips out and can see the oil stain around the rocker cover looks similar like this  My car service by sc every 10k and instruct them to follow the service booklet. wow. this is pretty bad for a new car. mines seems looking good.. also no sign of crack to the turbo hose going to the air filter unit.
tehsarbat
May 24 2015, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(arza04 @ May 24 2015, 12:25 PM) I'm unlucky perhaps, few preve owner at facebook also had change this cam cover gasket before. but I'm still enjoying my EB, ride is so awesome but somehow i notice my fc is higher compare to when it was less than 30k km. FC meter currently ranging from 12.3-12.6 last time use to be 11.2-11.x perhaps after 60k km major service fc will drop back to normal due to new spark plugs, fresh cvt oil, new air filter, and 10w30 eo i also do the throttle body service for the 45K servicing. dont know, maybe just my feeling, but i its give better respond, at present i'm getting below 9.5. the best was 9.2. maybe can drop more if less idling.
tehsarbat
May 24 2015, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(drpetra @ May 24 2015, 12:03 PM) Dear guys, Need some help here. Am planning to get the new Exora. I noticed the side mirror cannot rotate out as much as the previous, meaning at the max I can see half of the cars body and the other half, see the road. This would pose a problem while overtaking. Any news of any replacement? Secondly, the new Exora comes with DRL but without the "needed" fog/sport lamp. Any options on that? TQ the new BOLD SP got this side mirror problem? its the same design. how come like that? i drive with my sit at the max position, and very comfortable with my side mirror, where it can be adjust in such a way that i can only see the last part of the rear window. 1/4 the body, 3/4 the road. for the DRL, nay be you can 'tukar suka sama suka' with the seniors here. coz i remembered somebody did asked about the DRL before. i still prefer the fog lamp.
tehsarbat
Jun 4 2015, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(jemmi @ Jun 3 2015, 08:18 AM) I feel Ori brake pad not really good coz noisy(already change 2x still noisy). I may be next try Bendix Stealth/Ultimate/Titanium series refer: Front : http://www.lelong.com.my/bendix-ultimate-f...6-09-Sale-P.htmRear: http://www.lelong.com.my/bendix-metal-king...6-07-Sale-P.htmOther option TRW(cheap) or Rapid Stop(RS) or Ferodo(Made in Rep. Czech) refer: http://www.mudah.my/Ferodo+500c+brake+pad+...2724.htm?last=1For comfort drive I feel Ferodo or Bendix Stealth suitable & Bendix Titanium & RS for performance. sorry for asking. how noisy is it. how the sound like? last time my stock brake no sound. used to the maximum. then i changed also the ori, and still works fine.
tehsarbat
Jun 8 2015, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(nicolng @ Jun 8 2015, 10:29 AM) Hi. I'm new here. Just got my EB a week ago. Trade in the 4 year old exora cps. Notice a big diff in term of power, sound insulation and handling( I think of the bigger tire now). Hopefully fuel consumption can be close to my previous cps 600km on full tank. you can. but of cause got to be very patient with the right foot. don't always over dose the turbo. its ok once a while to test the power. at any situation just play the RPM at 3000 and below. i'm practicing this for last few month and consistence getting 630-640KM for full tank.
tehsarbat
Jun 9 2015, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 9 2015, 11:34 AM) nicolngJust noticed the eyelids, got wavy design... how much? For FC, I mentioned above, city around 12L/100km, highway much better. Our friend tehsarbat car is weekend long distance, IINM. yeah, i'm driving another car for weekdays. currently my BOLD getting +-9L/100KM on 70-80% highway. drive alone in that big bug, just not worthy. hey, its a family car, right?
tehsarbat
Jun 10 2015, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 10 2015, 09:43 AM) It is wiser in a way, like myself driving a Kancil now. But that's really for the fun of driving manual. One thing though, my RAMCAR battery died after leaving the EB for a few days. It's 2 years old. Then, I cut a hole for each of the opening and unscrewed the caps to add water. Now, it won't receive charge. I'm not sure what is the story here, but my experience tells me not to add water to the stock battery. The symptom of a dead/dying car battery is, you'll see 'LO' on the dashboard right side display, above the battery sign. So, no need to install voltage indicator for EB. me also KEMBARA manual. when stuck in traffic jam, than only the word coming out, 'i wish i drive my BOLD today'. my stock battery still ok more then 3 years now. just start the car once or twice a week. hope can last longer. this month 'koyak' already for 4 donats.
tehsarbat
Jun 11 2015, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(ir5 @ Jun 10 2015, 01:09 PM) bro, what is actually throttle body service? not every SC will do this right? every 10K interval? for a car to run smoothly, it needs the proper mixture of air and fuel. a throttle body is a system that helps control the correct amount of mixture that gets into the engine. if throttle body fails, the engine will not get the proper mixture and the engine may lose power. the service will clean the throttle plate and remove carbon from the air-intake system. this will prolong the life of the throttle body. not a problem, coz every mechanic and SC has knowledge about this. in the service book says at 40k interval, or any time you wish if got more budget.
tehsarbat
Jun 15 2015, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(ir5 @ Jun 15 2015, 02:40 PM) recently, i went to tyre shop for balancing and allignment.... the shop informed me that my front disk already bengkok..but i didn't feel any different... Do you guys experienced the same? Kindly share.... Also, checking..dunlop tyres is it OK? Thanks. i change to this cheap tyres. SILVERDOLF RX-201. malaysian made, licence by TOYO. RM245/pcs. harder side wall compared to the indon stock tyres. do alignment and adjust front chamber. feels much better now, even at high speed (free hand for a few second at >160KM/hrs). no more pulling to the left side. This post has been edited by tehsarbat: Jun 15 2015, 11:46 PM
tehsarbat
Jun 19 2015, 11:53 PM
[quote=alexei,Jun 19 2015, 02:18 PM] The shop deals what brand? Google this brand cannot find its homepage. Some says it is by Silverstone.
the shop deals with SILVERSTONE and TOYO. first i'm thinking the TOYO over the SILVERSTONE, in my experienced the SILVERSTONE are noisy. then the boss introduce this SILDERDOLF RX-201 coz the harder sidewall then the TOYO that give better handling in high speed and corners. the brochure stated MALAYSIA made licence by TOYO of JAPAN with SIRIM code numbers. the factory is in KAMUNTING, TAIPING. the boss ask me to give it a try first, and if i'm not satisfied can return it back anytime. maybe its not as good as the branded, but its feels better then the stock indon's tyres. i've already tried at >180, taking corners at 140-160 along PLUS highway from BIDOR to KL, and can feels the grip is there. yes i satisfied with it, and of cause, its within my budget.
This post has been edited by tehsarbat: Jun 20 2015, 12:19 AM
tehsarbat
Jun 21 2015, 11:43 PM
[quote=alexei,Jun 21 2015, 02:07 PM] Yeah, then it's a little bit of both, very rare collaboration, indeed. Kilang Toyo kat Taiping, not sure about Silverstone, perhaps its made in Toyo factory, who knows.
What's the 'treadwear' number at the side? 320? 360?
i think you're right, its from the TOYO's factory. they told me almost the same story. btw the treadwear indicate 280.
tehsarbat
Jun 24 2015, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 24 2015, 04:27 PM) I need to change car battery. Stock one really dead. Thinking to consider GP Maintenance Free 75D23L at RM360... any opinions here? i remembered yours about 2 years. mines already 3 years plus and still no sign of low indication yet, although i start the car once or twice a week. its about a year different. any logical explanation, coz i wonder, is it about the right time for me to change the battery also or maybe still can 'tarik' a bit longer.
tehsarbat
Jun 25 2015, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 25 2015, 01:29 PM) we call it radiator nipple. its under warranty and one of the hot story before. i believe almost of us got it replaced already.