Engineer - pays only 1.8-2k, fresh grad

toda6866
post Sep 19 2006, 09:59 PM

303 posts

agree with the man on top!

im also a contract employee but only on paper, i enjoy the same benefits as permanent. Reason? stupid headcount problem - i guess ntg unsual in MNCs

but pls chk thoroughly urself, we can only give u tips dun take it for granted its ur job anyway - good luck n play safe
harrychoo
post Sep 19 2006, 10:52 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(ahliang @ Sep 19 2006, 05:38 PM)
hey don't discuss out of topic pls
I really need those advice and recommendation from those experienced forumer
anyway what is a green badge??
ok let say if I accept the jobs, the probability for me to convert into the permanent will be higher? provided I work and perform nicely smile.gif
And one thing I wanted to clarify is that I don't YET have my degree result since I just came back here last week. Would there be any problem for that?

HELP HELP HELP
thanks for those giving me advice  notworthy.gif
1 question. Are u distinction student (CGPA>3.5) with good technical skill and 'high-tech' final year project?

If yes, reject the offer, find other MNC that offers 2.5k at least.

Why i said that? If u enter intel now with contract, i dun think u will so easily convert to permanent with regard to intel situation now. GT not count as head count so they still can afford to hire u.

Then even if u got experience and intel dun want convert u, u jump to other company, since now u only getting 1.8k, the next destination will be around 2.3-2.5k

If u work in other MNC with 2.5k start pay, u still got experience and when u jump, u can demand more.

But if u are nto a distinction student, then i think better u take the offer.

just my 2cent
SUSDavid83
post Sep 19 2006, 10:58 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(toda6866 @ Sep 19 2006, 09:59 PM)
agree with the man on top!

im also a contract employee but only on paper, i enjoy the same benefits as permanent. Reason? stupid headcount problem - i guess ntg unsual in MNCs

but pls chk thoroughly urself, we can only give u tips dun take it for granted its ur job anyway -  good luck n play safe
Mind to share more on this?
shado
post Sep 19 2006, 11:28 PM

277 posts

RM 1.8k for degree is too low. I am engineer with diploma fresh (RM2.2k).
Degree holder should get >RM2.5k.
p4n6
post Sep 20 2006, 12:26 PM

5,970 posts

1.8K is low in Intel.

But if you can get 2K. .. think it's considered fine for the first job.
toda6866
post Sep 20 2006, 05:14 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 19 2006, 10:58 PM)
Mind to share more on this?
can u b more specific pls? doh.gif

basically, the 12% EPF pay me back, im an 'independant contractor' n i provide them 'services' lol thats the agreement i signed, I read more than 10x times n chk by my lawyer (fathers fren la, lol) it seems fair.....they buy the same insurance for me, pay back socso + all the extras 13-14 mths pay that kinda stuff, same travel allowance also.....same mileage claims as my seniors

I chk again, its all written in the employee handbook, triple-chk w other colleagues n HR

btw, mind 2 share wats ur job n employment status?

oh no, i think this is way off topic......sry to the topic starter! sweat.gif
black_rider
post Sep 29 2006, 12:46 PM

514 posts

Hey Shado, what company u in? Mind recommend me into your company? I'm a degree holder BIT (hons) Software Engineering
Danny_guy
post Sep 29 2006, 04:45 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Sep 19 2006, 10:52 PM)
1 question. Are u distinction student (CGPA>3.5)  with good technical skill and 'high-tech' final year project?

If yes, reject the offer, find other MNC that offers 2.5k at least.

Why i said that? If u enter intel now with contract, i dun think u will so easily convert to permanent with regard to intel situation now. GT not count as head count so they still can afford to hire u.

Then even if u got experience and intel dun want convert u, u jump to other company, since now u only getting 1.8k, the next destination will be around 2.3-2.5k

If u work in other MNC with 2.5k start pay, u still got experience and when u jump, u can demand more.

But if u are nto a distinction student, then i think better u take the offer.

just my 2cent
I agree. Intel is not doing well at the moment. I was formerly there. In fact, few of my friends were VSSed. GTs' contract were extended and none were given permanent offer even though they had worked for 1 year as GT.

hazremi
post Sep 29 2006, 06:22 PM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

hi,just to share with u all,i'm gonna start to work for my first job as broadcast system engineer this monday with the salary is 2k(gross). Is the pay fine?
I'm a fresh grad btw.

This post has been edited by hazremi: Sep 29 2006, 06:26 PM
lazo
post Sep 29 2006, 06:32 PM

Civil Engineer
797 posts

those multination company is a really good place to start with as a fresh graduates. intel,dell,motorola,samsung, etc
gaijin
post Sep 29 2006, 06:56 PM

172 posts

The engineers I know ended up doing other non-engineering stuff eg. sales or consulting
joo88
post Sep 29 2006, 07:30 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(ahliang @ Sep 19 2006, 04:37 AM)
4 years locally in TARC
3 months top up degree in Liverpool John Moores University
Is it because it is through an agent....so I got the pay cut down like....****
abang Liverpool John Moores University
not University of Liverpool ar....

1.8k still cakap-cakap there ...
kb2005
post Sep 30 2006, 08:58 AM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

RM3.2k after confirmed ? I thought that only applied for 1st class holder biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Sep 19 2006, 01:11 PM)
True.... my neighbour he get RM 3,200 in Intel after confirm. Thats 2 years back, now Intel is laying off EXPENSIVE worker especially the seniors.
kb2005
post Sep 30 2006, 08:59 AM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(shado @ Sep 19 2006, 11:28 PM)
RM 1.8k for degree is too low. I am engineer with diploma fresh (RM2.2k).
Degree holder should get >RM2.5k.
Yes, 1.8k is too low unless you work in a local companies.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0174sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:13 AM