4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

PILOT, PILOT

hoongji
post May 27 2006, 10:16 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(fillet @ May 27 2006, 09:33 PM)
hoongji... just be very careful during OBS....

most get kicked out from there.
anyway.. CONGRATULATIONS to all you LUCKY BRATS!!!

lol... i'm 19.. with Yr-12 results... SIa no reply.

MAS... waiting for MISPA results..
Air asia no recutiing until 2007.

lol.. ended up enrolling in HMA. starting training this year....

you lucky BRATS!! cna get job.. i'm still worried ..
a senior shared his experience with us during the final interview. he said there is no grading during the OBS. it is meant to build up teamwork and self-determination.
hoongji
post May 27 2006, 11:19 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(INFeRNO @ May 27 2006, 11:13 PM)
HM Areospace

BTW hoongji, how old are you?
i'm already 25. a bit too old to start
hoongji
post May 27 2006, 11:22 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ May 27 2006, 11:20 PM)
yeap thats the suckiest part u have to go thru. Couple of my frens got chopped already bcoz of poor flying aptiude. And then comes the ATPL.
may i know, poor in ground studies or flying?
hoongji
post May 27 2006, 11:27 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ May 27 2006, 11:26 PM)
Flying. I dunno what happen to them, from what i heard this guy actually froze up when he was on the air. like dont know what to do when something needs to be done
maybe phobia of height and G-forces.

say, have you done HASEL already? it must be the most challenging part i guess

edit: i'm PAX. but will never know where they will assign me after graduate

This post has been edited by hoongji: May 27 2006, 11:29 PM
hoongji
post May 27 2006, 11:31 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ May 27 2006, 11:29 PM)
LOL u mean hasell checks, that was long time ago man. The fun part comes when u have somebody shouting at u from ur right side and there u r trying to control the plane lol.
LOL..who shouts at you? the instructor or your buddies?

the acrobatic moves are the most fun and challenging at the same time. how bout crosswind landings?
hoongji
post May 27 2006, 11:37 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ May 27 2006, 11:35 PM)
lol the instructors man. Crosswind landings not much, cause singapore where got strong winds. Crosswind landings will be done in jandokot and u can ask MR death wing, he probably knows more than me
you must be pulling very hard Gs until the instructor shouts like that.

is deathwing in SIA as well?

btw, i'm in SIA PAX
hoongji
post May 27 2006, 11:42 PM

2,982 posts

4 singaporeans, 5 malaysians

another 5 malaysians pending medical and MOM clearance
hoongji
post May 27 2006, 11:55 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ May 27 2006, 11:45 PM)
ok i'll pm u
i didn't receive any PM
hoongji
post May 28 2006, 12:36 AM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(swhung @ May 28 2006, 12:31 AM)
phew.... finally finish browsing thru 11 pages...
im doing my form4 this yr, and i plan to join mas or sia nex yr...
mas is more likely, coz according to u all, sia is quite hard (considering that i wanna join right after i finish my high school)..

my eye vision is not perfect, but close to perfect
need to do a check up when im free...

juz wanna ask something...
on what aspect sia will select new cadets?
academic or co-curicular?... is there anything else..?
i have perfect scores for my upsr and pmr, and currently im working very hard for my spm...
coz i think that i really need to do well in spm to be above the rest...

anything that i shud start worrying now if i wanna be a pilot?
and yeah, i play fs2004 a lot tongue.gif
currently for SIA, they tend to prefer degree/diploma holders. that is only for the selection for 1st interview.

the final interview will be more to attitude and aptitude. perfect academic results do not hold much weight. the interviewers are looking for a person that can project good attitude and character during the tough interview sessions.

hoongji
post May 28 2006, 12:39 AM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(swhung @ May 28 2006, 12:37 AM)
ouch...
one noob question...
what kind of degree are they looking?
no specific preference.

during my final interview, we have business degree holders as well
hoongji
post May 28 2006, 12:42 AM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(honkit @ May 28 2006, 12:40 AM)
in febuary i've met and spoke to the SIA chief pilot ( and person who choose ppl) . he said the safest way is to get at lease 5 credits in spm, go for diploma or degree in any courses, go melaka for the flight training or so, then only u try to apply for SIA. The chances might be better. and this is what he advise for those who want to join SIA. Currently SIA are getting alot of malaysian to join SIA.
i would like to add, working experience will be an added advantage as well
hoongji
post May 29 2006, 12:26 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(INFeRNO @ May 29 2006, 04:42 AM)
How often do they conduct intakes? I didn't see any dates on their career site.
you dont wait for the date. you just send in your application and try your luck.

it was advertised in newspaper 2-3 months ago and the KL/Penang interviews already over. now it's headed to Sabah/Sarawak and later will be in China as well.
hoongji
post May 30 2006, 09:47 AM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ May 30 2006, 08:00 AM)
i wonder SIA will have another intake session again this year....
wanted to send in for the april interview but was unprepared.

a friend of mine in Air Asia and is training now in Malacca got delayed for 4months while another friend in MAS training in Langkawi got delayed for another 5 months.
what's up with the two companies man

and btw, the company looks kinda fishy
there's no harm sending in your application first. if you dont get reply in 2 months, send again. i'm pretty there will be another intake for malaysians end of the year.

right now, the batches are only separated by 1-1.5 month apart. meaning that there are new intakes every month
hoongji
post May 30 2006, 12:15 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(teddie @ May 30 2006, 11:46 AM)
hoongji,
they will let you knw which field to enroll immediatly once u passed the interview? i mean pax or cargo
i put my preference during the first interview. since i have not receive my hardcopy contract documents, i cannot tell which i'm in.

however, i do know all of us will be going through the same training. and our posting will be determined by the management once we graduated based on demand.

"supreme allied commander" and "deathwing" might be able to shed more light in this.
hoongji
post May 31 2006, 09:49 AM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(phonar @ May 31 2006, 07:07 AM)
hoongji, u noe how many cadet pilot were selected in ur batch?
i will let you know when i start my training next month. it should be around 10-16ppl
hoongji
post Jun 1 2006, 03:34 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(khsj @ Jun 1 2006, 12:30 PM)
Where will the interview be held? and how much u have to pay ah?
1st interviews were held in Kl and Penang recently. and now moving on to Sabah/Sarawak and also HongKong. only applicants selected will be notified to attend the 1st interview. you only need to bear the eye-test cost where you'll have to do it before the interview.

the final interview will be held in Singapore for 4 days (American Idol anyone?). all flight and accomodation cost will be born by SIA. you only need to pay for your food.
hoongji
post Jun 2 2006, 09:31 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(tam_ironcup @ Jun 2 2006, 12:47 PM)
i have a q, can a person wearing spectacles be a pilot
YES you can. make your move now.
hoongji
post Jun 7 2006, 02:02 PM

2,982 posts

some pics to spice up the thread and to spur the interest

hoongji
post Jun 7 2006, 07:11 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ Jun 7 2006, 05:29 PM)
Sure if u dont stall the 777 in the 1st place. lol. I think one sim costs from RM50m-200m. Theres a reverved place for the A380 sim. Ill snap a pic later.
no camera restrictions in there?
hoongji
post Jun 7 2006, 07:21 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ Jun 7 2006, 07:16 PM)
Of course u need a security pass to get in
i have not seen a real simulator b4. i wonder how is the graphics projected on the screens as compared to MS flight sim on our computer

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0267sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:35 PM