47 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

PILOT, PILOT

Supreme Allied Commander
post Mar 26 2006, 12:00 AM

336 posts

Its really hard to get in to SQ with just a STPM. They mostly take Bachelor degree holders and couple of diploma holders.

I applied for both SQ and MAS. Got a call from MAS for final interview last month and it was a SAturday morning (seems like they are desperate for cadets), but it was too late, i've already signed for SQ.
AiRseaL
post Mar 26 2006, 12:30 AM

236 posts

Supreme Allied Commander,,,,congratz for getting into SQ!!! I understand that its much harder then MAS lar,,,,n mas pilot's standard is dropping nowadays coz they are so desperate and easy in their selection.....
Lestat
post Mar 26 2006, 12:33 AM

392 posts

read this to apply and hurry! rolleyes.gif
Attached File  EngCadet_Pilot.pdf ( 138.32k ) Number of downloads: 630

Supreme Allied Commander
post Mar 26 2006, 12:50 AM

336 posts

Thanks airseal, i'm actually at my 3rd month in SQ. If i remember right it took MAS about 8 months to call me for my 3rd round interview. This shows how efficient r they in doing things.

BTW hows the training is MAS ?
happychai
post Mar 26 2006, 01:24 AM

1,867 posts

captain will get 10k+ montly salary
and to get be captain need around 10 years depend on ur performance

fillet
post Mar 26 2006, 12:10 PM

1,925 posts

well...

supreme allied commander...

one thing bad about SQ....

they will chop u anytime they like....

BTW i also applied for SQ one week after my application to MAS with my SAM(australian year-12 results) ...

TO date.. only MAS has called me up... not SQ... sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

but i hoope to get into either one.. i couldn't be bothered much about the pay right now as long as i get the JOB!!!!

if i pay for my own training... i'm risking not being able to get a job.....

for MAS it's a bit different.. your chances of stayintg are much higher...

BTW...

after your MISPA, how long did u wait.. i'm taking my MISPA next wednesday.

since i have a slot in Langkawi HM Aerospace in MAY.... i'm afraid MAS will take too long.

if i cancel the langkawi and gamble on MAS.... i may have to wait another 1 or 2 years before i get into langkawi if i fail for MAS

This post has been edited by fillet: Mar 26 2006, 12:17 PM
ZiYi
post Mar 26 2006, 01:07 PM

465 posts

QUOTE(fillet @ Mar 22 2006, 10:46 PM)
OK....

must clear some myth...

You don't have to Score STRAIGHT A's in SPM to be selected...

you have to score A's in the Subject that matters(ALthough they say minimum a 4B, better to score A,)
MATHS (i scored 1A)
English (I Scored 1A, GCE' O 2A)
Physics ( I Got 2A)
BM........(Don't do too badly, i GOT 4B)

What i Submit?:
SPM Result 2004
South.Australian.Matriculation results 2005
SPM Oral Certificate for Both English and BM.
School Leaving CERT/Testimonial

i've submitted after CNY. got called for Psychomotor today, i've pass this psychomotor. doing my MISPA next weel.

Basiclly there are 4 stages

1) Psychomotor
2) MISPA
3) Interview
4) Medical (i currently have a Class-1 medical which i did on my OWN)

Failing any stages will result in you failing the whole thing.

you don't need to be a genius to fly a plane, you don't need to have IQ of above 140...

you need to be :

GOOD Hand-Eye COORDINATION( tested during Psychomotor)
CALM UNDER PRESSURE
MAKING GOOD DECISION
CONFIDENT(BUT NOT OVERLY)

Study locally and privately is possible.

But it's not easy to get a space in HM Aerospace or MFA.
I score 147 in my IQ test.... cool.gif

BTW, I thought there is one more test, which is distorted and noised listening test? And you will need to get 75% of the content correct to pass. Or may be the radio communication is upgraded today, the sound is clear, that test is no longer required. But the phonetic is stll needed right?
alpha, bravo, charlie, delta, echo, foxtrot, golf, hotel, india, juliet...... laugh.gif
fillet
post Mar 26 2006, 01:13 PM

1,925 posts

THAT test will be covered in your Medical... it's called audiogram.. lol interesting tsest.... hear and TAP hear and tap...

RADIO TELEPHONY ABBREVATIONS CONTINUED:
KILO
LIMA
MIKE
NOVEMBER
OSCAR
PAPA
QUEBEC
ROMEO
SIERRA
TANGO
Uniform
VICTOR
Wilco
X-ray
YANKEE
Z...(is it ZEBRA??)

This post has been edited by fillet: Mar 26 2006, 01:14 PM
DeathWing
post Mar 26 2006, 01:52 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

SQ and MH has their own pros and cons la.
MH is hiring like no tomorrow while selling their leased planes.
While SQ is in constant expansion especially for their 777 fleet. Not to say the A380 which will be in service soon enough.

BTW, there will be lots of graduation these few months, if you get in MH now, your seniority gain will be slower than those graduate earlier, promotion will be much tougher.
teddie
post Mar 26 2006, 02:43 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

QUOTE(fillet @ Mar 26 2006, 01:13 PM)
THAT test will be covered in your Medical... it's called audiogram.. lol interesting tsest.... hear and TAP hear and tap...
RADIO TELEPHONY ABBREVATIONS CONTINUED:
KILO
LIMA
MIKE
NOVEMBER
OSCAR
PAPA
QUEBEC
ROMEO
SIERRA
TANGO
Uniform
VICTOR
Wilco
X-ray
YANKEE
Z...(is it ZEBRA??)
Z is zulu
W not wilco but whiskey

zip'bra' rclxub.gif drool.gif laugh.gif icon_idea.gif

phonar
post Mar 26 2006, 02:52 PM

Chicken
699 posts

Alpha Bravo Charlie Delta Echo

i heard a rumor say if you give money to the MAS management which selecting the cadet, confirm u will been choose..

but how to know who are the 1 manage the cadet pilot in MAS?

su8aru also rite, MAS have no more finance to support their cadet pilot program. last time each year their will select less 300 cadet pilot, this year maybe less..
teddie
post Mar 26 2006, 04:50 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

bah... i only nid a chance to be shortlisted for 1st test. no nid to be confirmed to been choose.
ZiYi
post Mar 26 2006, 07:57 PM

465 posts

oh...I see..it is audiogram

yup, W is Whiskey. There is other version of it use by non english based country.

I'm interested in piloting too, but I thought it was ultimate hard, so I didn't give it a try, and I'm studying electronics engineering now. Until last year, I searhed for its information, I knew I was wrong doh.gif . But the main reason is not I like to fly, but I like to control machine, and I think aircraft is challanging enough for me. Ok, later when I'm working, I think I will get a personal flying license.

oh, ya here is a page I think might help those who interested to be a commercial pilot http://www.askcaptainlim.com/index.html
and one tips, play microsoft flight simulator 2004. Yes, play it I'm serious.

But I don't think I can use it in my normal life. Last time when I call the Streamyx customer service, I use this phonetic code when I tell that operator my username. That guy just stop there and keep pardon pardon....swt.... finally I use rojak word to represent a,b,c...just like anyone else. Then he only ah...

This post has been edited by ZiYi: Mar 26 2006, 09:58 PM
fillet
post Mar 26 2006, 10:20 PM

1,925 posts

the phonectics is to clear confusion when u say something...

some Ah beng say 'B', may sound like a 'D' to you...

BTW.. becoming a pilot is not HARD. but needs sheer determination.
teddie
post Mar 26 2006, 10:31 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

QUOTE(fillet @ Mar 26 2006, 10:20 PM)
the phonectics is to clear confusion when u say something...

some Ah beng say 'B', may sound like a 'D' to you...

BTW.. becoming a pilot is not HARD. but needs sheer determination.
hopefully u r right biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
owenwong84
post Mar 27 2006, 11:07 AM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

Tumpang thread pls...
This is off topic
What is the pay for a pilot fly a jet in military?
If i was a pilot working in commercial airline, can he fly or join the military? or vice versa?
teddie
post Mar 27 2006, 02:02 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

u mean u?? ermm if u were military fighter pilot, u have to convert ur license to transport license. if u were co-pilot, sorry i have to say... cant for sure. the instrument in the cockpit are totally different:)
fillet
post Mar 27 2006, 03:48 PM

1,925 posts

MILITARY >> CIVIL YES.. definately...

CIVIL >> MILITARY, don't think so
owenwong84
post Mar 27 2006, 04:03 PM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

how about the salary for the military pilot?
very much kah?
let's say he flies very high tech jet ....

This post has been edited by owenwong84: Mar 27 2006, 04:04 PM
teddie
post Mar 27 2006, 06:59 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

ermm... this is depends on our interst lah... not a wise choice if u wanna earn $$ with piloting. Piloting is for those who are aspired for flying not aspired for MONEY!!

anyway the salary of fighter pilot less than co-pilot. but their elaunce much more higher!!

i will apply for cadetship at TUDM after my form 6 smile.gif
hopefully i can flying with hornet 1 day hahaha.... fighter pilot is the second choice for me to get myself into aviation field ^^

47 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:25 PM