83 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official LYN Maxis Wireless (3G/3.5G) Thread, Now it comes with soap !

thankyou
post Dec 18 2006, 08:05 PM

1,941 posts

One thing bad about this is, the sim only can be used in this modem... it can't be used in datacard.... -.-"

I don't know how to explain... HOW LOUSY IS THIS MODEM!!!! no configuration available at all.... thumbs down to this modem.... Gonna return it... and go for RM120 i think
SUSDavid83
post Dec 18 2006, 08:56 PM

52,874 posts

How many types of modem do they offer?
mumeichan
post Dec 18 2006, 10:20 PM

4,152 posts

Does the 120 3G plan by Maxis impose th 3GB limit too. Cause I will get it if it doesn't.
SUSDavid83
post Dec 18 2006, 10:38 PM

52,874 posts

I think the 3G limit is a general TnC which applies to both or any plans they have.
mumeichan
post Dec 18 2006, 10:43 PM

4,152 posts

Then no point signing up for maxis 3G anyway. The speeds is only a little higher than EDGE.

This post has been edited by mumeichan: Dec 18 2006, 10:43 PM
lj0000
post Dec 19 2006, 03:02 AM

2,200 posts

hi all

1. the latest roadshow is at the curve ( i signed up there)
the shocking thing is that they dint know abt the 3gig limit!
So waiting for the technician to come and install
some points:
- no more buy modem because going to have a better modem soon
- 3gb limit not implemented yet
- cannot make call using the modem. but can receive call (017 number)
- when receive call, the data service halts!!!
- around june, will launch the call service
- the new modem can handle voice+data at the same time. so no point buying now.
- i signed up for the 384. will see how later. keep fingers crossed.

2. so far, the speed tests are still ok. 384 really close to 384kbps, tested using jaring.

3. trace tests so far are bad. but being on NTT network, I still think its better than streamyx networks. i hope maxis get a priority service from globe and ntt, then will be faster.

4. will give up digi99 if this the maxis better. what do u guys think? some times i cannot tahan digi speed ler.. way too slow. but no limit lar. bt most of the time crawling at 1k-2k sad.gif

lj0000
post Dec 19 2006, 03:10 AM

2,200 posts

The cheapest edge device u can get should be the motorola v360.

So far it serves me very well, running for few days non-stop downloading
speed is ok, max at 230.4k. not sure how to get faster as this is already a class 10 gprs. unless u r willing to fork out the sierra card, but that one also class 10 so will be 230k as well.

dialing up will get sometimes 60kbps, 40kbps, and sometimes get 110 or 180kbps. depending on location.

it is usb charged, so no worries. if want to use bluetooth also can. but this limits to 115kbps.
lj0000
post Dec 19 2006, 03:12 AM

2,200 posts

the huawei modem can login at 192.168.0.1

according to the sales people, they say it is simlocked.
from the menus, it looks like it supports

gprs, 3g, hsdpa
xcess
post Dec 19 2006, 10:14 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Dec 19 2006, 03:12 AM)
the huawei modem can login at 192.168.0.1

according to the sales people, they say it is simlocked.
from the menus, it looks like it supports

gprs, 3g, hsdpa
huawei? i thought it is ZTE modem..
mumeichan
post Dec 19 2006, 02:07 PM

4,152 posts

What I am going to do is get a phine that has both EDGE and 3G like the 6280 and N series. Then whichever is better, I can just switch anytime
blaxez
post Dec 19 2006, 11:01 PM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

LOL, I've surpassed my 3GB limit in 2 days and now my connection is worse than dial up, opening a page could take ages vmad.gif
soul2soul
post Dec 19 2006, 11:25 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

wah maxis really throttle you after 3G limit..

3G limit is really not enough for a normal user.

20 G will be a more reasonable cap. hhmmm... i think this issue will discourage heavy users to subscribe to maxis 3G network. but then again, this is what they want isnt it?
SUSDavid83
post Dec 19 2006, 11:30 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(blaxez @ Dec 19 2006, 11:01 PM)
LOL, I've surpassed my 3GB limit in 2 days and now my connection is worse than dial up, opening a page could take ages vmad.gif
So, after surpassed? They suspended your account? Or charged you seperately?
lj0000
post Dec 20 2006, 01:19 AM

2,200 posts

opps. its zte. not huawei.

blaxez: how did u know u surpassed 3gb? how much p2p did u downloaded? according to the agents, they oni measure the p2p volume not to exceed 3gb. normal surfing should be normal.
thankyou
post Dec 20 2006, 03:23 AM

1,941 posts

today maxis wireless 3g broadband is just not stable at all! down(dc) every 5 - 10 min... -.-"
hotdog
post Dec 20 2006, 05:01 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(alextan99 @ Sep 18 2006, 06:47 AM)
The coverage is not much...mostly in Klang Valley
Everything starts there 1st smile.gif
wufei
post Dec 20 2006, 09:28 AM

3,039 posts

can u guys confirm is throttle bbefore posting? Make everybody suspended only.

I think today the line is not that good only.

Can everyone confirm this?

blaxez
post Dec 20 2006, 10:18 AM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Dec 19 2006, 11:25 PM)
wah maxis really throttle you after 3G limit..

3G limit is really not enough for a normal user.

20 G will be a more reasonable cap. hhmmm... i think this issue will discourage heavy users to subscribe to maxis 3G network. but then again, this is what they want isnt it?
Maxis assumes that all their subscribers are either little kids or old people? 3G limit per month is seriosuly not enought even for non-BT-ers.

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 19 2006, 11:30 PM)
So, after surpassed? They suspended your account? Or charged you seperately?
They throttled down the speed to a very low speed, making downloading stuffs impossible and slow loading of pages. For separate charges, I'm not sure since I'm still in trial period.

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Dec 20 2006, 01:19 AM)
opps. its zte. not huawei.

blaxez: how did u know u surpassed 3gb? how much p2p did u downloaded? according to the agents, they oni measure the p2p volume not to exceed 3gb. normal surfing should be normal.
They measured the TOTAL bandwidth used including download and upload dude. I've checked my downloads folder and it's just merely 2.58GB of data there. I've used up the 3GB limit in less than 2 days, darn..

QUOTE(wufei @ Dec 20 2006, 09:28 AM)
can u  guys confirm is throttle bbefore posting? Make everybody suspended only.

I think today the line is not that good only.

Can everyone confirm this?
Just try it out for yourself if you can't take others' words, moreover it's a free trial, no harm giving it a shot.
soul2soul
post Dec 20 2006, 06:36 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

It looks like Maxis has invested heavily on their 3G broadband, and I think they are serious in winning the home users for the last mile solution.

Sooner or later, they will have to reconsider their decision to impose the preposterous 3G limit per month. I think at the moment they are still on their learning curve, to gather the information on the behaviour pattern of their 3G broadband subscriber. At the end of the day market forces will rule.

Ahmike
post Dec 20 2006, 10:54 PM