The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V5, Bigger than bigger

attw
post Nov 17 2014, 01:28 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Nov 17 2014, 12:42 PM)
Don't believe me. Just go maxis preorder thread in loquat forum here. U have to scroll through though. So many comments update due to complaints. 1 week can go 1 new version.
Don't worry for Apple rv, it will be There to stay. Welcome back to u! (And me too)
Ya, I've been reading their complaints on the thread and also on maxis FB page, ha ha... I truly feel sorry for them, paid money two weeks ago until now some still not yet get their phones yet.. biggrin.gif

Ha ha, officially I'm not back yet coz I still yet to buy my phone... Waiting for all the craziness to die down. Maybe next month.
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 02:48 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 17 2014, 02:25 PM)
I'm thinking to trade for Iphone 5s 64gb, would that be a good idea? Iphone 6 seems kinda too big for 1 hand operation..
If that is the main concern for you then maybe lor...
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 02:50 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 17 2014, 02:44 PM)
It's more about:
- misleading information from Maxis. For pre-order, it was stated "Shipped 6th Nov". I understand it as "to ship" at 6th Nov. Not deliver by 6th Nov. Using courier/delivery, the time will be 1-2 max working day within Klang Valley. Most (if not all) did not receive anything on 7th. Nor the next Monday (10th).
So now, MOS is smart and change it to "Delivery within 7-14 working days"

- lack/wrong info of communication. Each call will get different answer. MOS website not updated. Even if updated, it is wrong. Does not match the actual real-time status.
QUOTE(Eralus @ Nov 17 2014, 02:03 PM)
what make they angry because they already pay for their iphone but until today still didnt received it yet
Ya, it's very obvious they lacked the experience to run such a massive pre-order thingy.. Anyways, lets move on. We'll let the maxis thread continue to grow by leaps and bounds with complaints.
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 04:17 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Nov 17 2014, 03:07 PM)
ya, machine service is much better and faster then telco 1... normally i suggst to my fren is sign the contract, then sell the phone, order the phone from machine  /apple. then enjoy the best of both world. as iphone easily can sell at cost price if it is new and sealed set. of cos you need few weeks times to use back your old phone first la.

or start order phone from machine then after receive the phone only sign telco plan also can.
Ha ha ha - what a good idea this is.. never thought of that. Of course, that means you don't enjoy the savings offered by the subsidized phone though... Oh well, win some, lose some.
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 04:18 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Nov 17 2014, 02:57 PM)
or I will get used to it over time? for those who previously use ip5s.. did u feel ip5s too big?
Well, I've tried the 6 in one hand... I think manageable la...
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 04:19 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Townshend @ Nov 17 2014, 03:15 PM)
I took this screenshot while I was in the car when the battery was about to die.

LTE was on, Background app refresh turned off for most apps, and brightness at around 45%.

Location Services turned on for certain apps and services with most of iCloud settings enabled.

7 hours and 2 minutes attw

Wow, this is pretty good even for a 6... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 04:23 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(altimi @ Nov 17 2014, 04:04 PM)
Is it just me or iPhone 6s 64GB is as rare as unicorn? nobody seems to have them in stock....sigh
Yes yes, unicorns with rainbow colored horns
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 04:26 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 17 2014, 04:23 PM)
Sadly speaking, after so many years, I haven't upgraded my status to auntie yet. laugh.gif

Anyway, thanks for the feedback. smile.gif
Battery life seems good, at least I feel better than my current Note 3. sweat.gif
My sentiments exactly on the Note 3 battery life... Previously I managed 4 hours of Screen On Time at least, and managed to even get 5 hours once. Now I'll be happy to hit 3 sad.gif

But based on all I've read I'm still leaning more toward iPhone 6 Plus rather than 6. Just that it's really expensive and I don't wanna regret it, so maybe wait for Apple to fix all the bugs while it is still unavailable, haha

This post has been edited by attw: Nov 17 2014, 04:27 PM
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 07:20 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Townshend @ Nov 17 2014, 04:32 PM)
I think it will be slightly longer with LTE disabled.

Oh well, I will test it again later, maybe with 30% brightness.
Usually I set 50% brightness and leave everything like Location and LTE on. Why buy a phone to shut off half the features just to conserve battery life? (of course, if it's gimmicky stuffs like smart stay, glove mode, etc. then by all means shut off) haha..
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 07:26 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Nov 17 2014, 07:20 PM)
Seriously, how do you guys carry the 6+ around...? Does it even fit into your pockets...? unsure.gif
At first when I moved from iPhone 5 to Note 3, I had the same feeling. I thought that no way it would fit in my pocket comfortably. But in about a month or so, not only did it fit in my pocket but I was already used to it. I've even slapped on an Otterbox Defender case on it and it still fit into my pocket. So since the 6 Plus is only slightly longer than the Note 3, I think it'll be fine.

But no more Otterbox Defender cases. A bit overkill.
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 07:37 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Townshend @ Nov 17 2014, 07:32 PM)
No choice unker as the 6 Plus is too big for me, and I don't like big phones.

Well, I hope to see better battery life on the 6S.
Ha ha ha - I think your 6 battery life is acceptable. Uncle just like bigger coz old di, cannot read small fonts...
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 08:03 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(heliora10 @ Nov 17 2014, 08:00 PM)
people who put on tempered glass screen protectors, do you notice if the touch sensitivity is reduced?

i've got one on (got it at pasar malam) and somehow i feel that touching and tapping seem less reliable, i've not really used my iphone 6 without the screen protector so i can't compare before and after
While I do not yet have an iPhone 6, I experienced the same loss of touch sensitivity at first after installing a tempered glass screen protector on my kid's iPad Mini Retina. But over time, I found that it has normalized, ha ha..

How thick is the glass screen protector you installed? (in mm)
attw
post Nov 17 2014, 10:00 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Nov 17 2014, 09:26 PM)
Don't be fool by the Standby Time of less than 10 hours... It's the Usage Time that counts. It's just that you use your phone more often in a day than some other people in 2 days...

Just like your car with your petrol tank. It can go up to 400km every tank, but if you drive it long distance every day (USAGE TIME), you end up using fuel much more FASTER than those market ladies who drive their cars short distance to market only (the rest being STANDBY TIME)...
Somebody posted earlier that Usage Time is not equivalent to Screen On Time for Android, if I'm not mistaken. Would be good if it is, then I would say 5 hours more than adequate for me.
attw
post Nov 18 2014, 08:14 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Source96 @ Nov 18 2014, 12:44 AM)
Guys and girls currently I'm in a dilemma whether to get a 6 or a plus for my birthday present which falls on 3/12. I'm rather exposed to big phones as I have personally used a LG G3 For a week and played my friends note 3 and mi3. Right now I'm using a nexus 4 and I'm pretty bored with android no matter it is lollipop or what and this will be my first iPhone ever, well not a new iOS user though as I have iPad.im afraid that I will regret if I get the 6 and not the big one. And my current nexus 4 compared to the 6 is merely an upgrade in terms of size and screen resolution haha. Besides, is 16gb really enough for running iOS? Surprisingly 16gb on my nexus 4 holds up pretty well with 3-4gb free now. Actually I was waiting for the nexus 6 but somehow I kinda like the aluminum body of iPhone and decided for a change of flavor.
I've lived on a 16GB iPhone 4 and 16GB iPhone 5 before, so it's definitely manageable. Just need to diligently transfer photos and videos to your laptop/desktop or cloud services if you take a lot of those.
attw
post Nov 18 2014, 08:16 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Nov 18 2014, 06:44 AM)
Well thank god whatsapp finally looks good!

Didn't bothered to update to 8.1.1. 8.2 coming out soon, probably
Can you disable the "blue ticks" in the new whatsapp already?
attw
post Nov 18 2014, 10:24 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Nov 18 2014, 08:58 AM)
i like otterbox symetry + temper glass... for me more then enough. fall on the road also no worries.
Ya, I'm now looking art Otterbox Symetry and Spigen Slim Armor, though that Thule one looks nice and reasonably priced as well.
attw
post Nov 18 2014, 11:07 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(grey_m45k @ Nov 18 2014, 10:49 AM)
i dunno this is ios problem or not.
mine one sometimes will lag when loading more than 100+ whatsapp msg.  sweat.gif
Very happening social life rclxms.gif

Mine doesn't lag so far, but usually don't get more than 50 messages at a time.
attw
post Nov 18 2014, 05:33 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(bladekiller @ Nov 18 2014, 05:20 PM)
haiyo, when is SENQ replenishing their stocks? zzz
The better question is "When is everyone replenishing their stocks?"
attw
post Nov 18 2014, 05:34 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(hsyong @ Nov 18 2014, 05:29 PM)
Yup, updated. Haven't noticed any difference from 8.1 though  biggrin.gif
They specifically mentioned it should improve performances of older devices, I.e. iPad 2 and iPhone 4S.. Don't think there is a big difference for other devices
attw
post Nov 18 2014, 05:36 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(grey_m45k @ Nov 18 2014, 05:32 PM)
mine one , yeah whatsapp suck a lot . hihihihih

Wah liau...whole day chatting on WhatsApp ah? Haha

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0398sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:13 AM