LYN Almera Owner Discussion V3, Come Share Your Experience

douglas_tong
post Feb 4 2015, 03:26 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Good -
Cheapest in 1.5cc segment non-Malaysian brand. Affordable B segment car,
Huge space, big trunk (Basically a 1.6cc car size).
Cheapest in maintenance, so they claimed.
Fuel consumption - depending on driving style, personally i like driving fast. I'm ok with it.
Looks - Depending on personal taste

Bad -
Basic in specification
After sales service, like every other brand
4 speed auto - gear ratio tak bagus
douglas_tong
post Feb 5 2015, 12:59 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(edward1982 @ Feb 5 2015, 12:57 AM)
What is the recommended fuel for Almera? Ron95 / Ron97?
ron 95 will do. ron97 a waste of extra $
douglas_tong
post Feb 8 2015, 03:43 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(nismo87 @ Feb 8 2015, 09:52 AM)
I went to Toyota Vios thread to "keh poh". To my surprise, this car has minor minor problems just like Almari... =.="
every car sure got problem one. If no problem, car would be a one-off sold thing.
no need for facelifts, no need bank loans every 5-9 years.
car isn't an asset, it depreciates, imo not worth fussing over.
douglas_tong
post Feb 8 2015, 10:30 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(dennisguy1 @ Feb 8 2015, 09:59 PM)
i just owned almera e spec. found out No engine temperature gauge. how can nissan cut away this gauge since it is very important item for every car. even proton has it.
how do we know engine over heat without it ?
IMHO, engine temperature isn't a necessity. Technology have improved and cars do not overheat that frequently anymore. As long as the coolant is being top up frequently, it is unlikely that it will overheat. Coolant are prevalent these days, any petrol station will sell it.

Should the temperature rise to an unusual level, there will be a warning sign.
Actually, some car producers omit the temperature gauge on lower tier cars.
douglas_tong
post Feb 9 2015, 11:35 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Rattle sound is common, because no sound absorbance in between the steel.
Can be easily overcome by installing sound proof absorbance.

Unless it's something else, don't think they would even entertain for that
douglas_tong
post Feb 11 2015, 01:48 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(dennisguy1 @ Feb 10 2015, 09:52 PM)
dont enterain, put it on news paper.
douglas, what kind of warnings sign for over heat engine ? in manual book,
dont stated it. u know that over heat engine can explode just like a mini power plant, u will get kill. airbag doesn't help at all. dont play play...JPJ can approve it without temp gauge.
You may choose to practice that.
Overheat = orange light comes up.
Overheat engine would cause the car to stop functioning, wouldn't explode, since the engine block itself is exploding all the time while we paddle on it. The combustion chamber can take an explosion. Your car internal however, would overheat and malfunction.

QUOTE(mavan21 @ Feb 11 2015, 12:06 AM)
Im experience rattling noise/knocking noise  while driving on uneven road at low speed...suspect  Brake Caliper pin wear.... sad.gif
Better check. If it compromises your safety, my advice is have it checked. Check tak payah duit.
douglas_tong
post Feb 17 2015, 11:50 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(nismo87 @ Feb 16 2015, 09:42 PM)
Any reply from them Douglas?
Yes. Diplomatic insincere reply. So I blasted another long love letter to them. cc someone whom they are afraid of.

Immediately 2 person called up, apologise and try to fix things for me.

Scheduled on 23rd to have my car fixed on the oil leakage part, and will have them scrutinise my entire car condition. Since they did not deliver it in good state.
Also, they arranged for a complimentary car for me to drive around when it's being serviced.

Gave me a cover for my warranty book. aiyah, i'm hoping for discount voucher for my next service.zzzz
douglas_tong
post Feb 23 2015, 01:23 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(nismo87 @ Feb 19 2015, 06:45 AM)
Wow, awesome man! Mind to share the email that u cc to? i think they are going to ignore me also.
unfortunately i can't do that hahaha...
highly confidential and he is a friend.
douglas_tong
post Feb 25 2015, 11:05 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

So i have driven livina for couple of days, as my temporary replacement car.

Aircon got the ""tookkkk" sound too when switched on.
Guess this is common?
douglas_tong
post Feb 25 2015, 11:45 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(nismo87 @ Feb 25 2015, 11:22 AM)
Yeap, sound like it is normal and common.
since it is a replacement car, u can do too fast too furious or not??
brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
My driving style memang fast and furious.
But the car bo steady. past 120 shaking.
douglas_tong
post Feb 27 2015, 05:15 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(nismo87 @ Feb 27 2015, 02:59 PM)
New defects... sad.gif
rubber seal which car also will deteriorate ler

no choice but to change

as for your dashboard....cheap plastic. all i can say. Usually i also put the big ass heat reflector piece to prevent the heat from bbq the car
douglas_tong
post Mar 3 2015, 10:59 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

My car finally done. They manage to fix it, will be collecting later.

weeeeee...... i miss my car
douglas_tong
post Mar 6 2015, 11:05 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(poosk @ Mar 5 2015, 09:45 PM)
what is the correct pressure for front and rear wheels?
depending on your tyre. if it's the stock 14'

it's around 210-230.

Check on your dirver seat's door panel. it's stated there
douglas_tong
post Mar 6 2015, 11:57 AM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Damon6 @ Mar 6 2015, 11:48 AM)
Hi guys,

Mind if you can share the pointers for your 2 page summary...

I am contemplating Proton Iriz vs Almera. Price is very close...
I bought mainly from MUV, so the onus was on MUV to deliver the pre owned car as claimed, which they did not.

2 pages is on their lack in promises.
douglas_tong
post Mar 6 2015, 01:28 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Damon6 @ Mar 6 2015, 12:13 PM)
Would anyone recommend Almera?

MUV? Don't understand...sorry.

By the way, Persona is heavier than Almera almost by 400 kg based on kerb weight so if Almera does indeed goyang you must understand...Not heavy enough..

Maybe you eat until like SUMO than stabilise the car..
:-D
the new almera has stabiliser bar at the front. should make some tangible difference compared to the previous model.

MUV is a subsidiary company of tan chong to sell their test drive car. In another words, i bought a pre-owned car / test drive unit.

if you buy one with nismo suspension and absorber, should be better than stock in terms of goyang-ness.

mine came with impul suspension and adsorber, 160 no goyang.
douglas_tong
post Mar 7 2015, 06:21 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Damon6 @ Mar 6 2015, 03:07 PM)
Dear Almera Owners,

Do you experience:

1 - Rattling doors or creaking dash board
2 - What's the RPM reading if speed is 110 km/h?
3 - Got power going up genting?
4 - Would you recommend anyone to buy Almera?
i dont suffer from rattling doors or creaking dash board. rattling sounds can be solved with door proofing. even high end cars have it. it depends whether manufacturer are generous to use good sound proofing material or not.

for number 2, it's 2.7 rpm for my almera. 3 would have gave me 120km/h and above.

almera's auto gear ratio isn't something you would expect it to give you the best fit to naik genting, but it gets you there. it's designed for urban drive.

service center to me, unsatisfactory, unless you know of any unimpaired sc offered by others. it's a personal experience, and for mine, i am disappointed.
douglas_tong
post Mar 7 2015, 06:22 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(gamecheater @ Mar 7 2015, 09:08 AM)
Is it true the Almera FL is fitted with a stabilizer bar ? I owned the previous model and had looked at the new one but didn't notice any new addition like a bar or sort?
checked the website and they mentioned that it has.
douglas_tong
post Mar 8 2015, 10:44 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

anyone knows what sort of coolant Almera is suited for? Which is accordance to what sc would pour in?

I notice the color is blue (or green?), and my coolant was drained recently by sc. Noticed they didn't top up my coolant.

Also, any idea on where to get it?

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Mar 8 2015, 10:45 PM
douglas_tong
post Mar 9 2015, 03:34 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(nismo87 @ Mar 9 2015, 02:08 PM)
I have the first problem. i have been waiting for my complaint to go through. Emailed cust service but no reply one...i am looking for some powerful email which i can cc now. Good luck bro
teach you one technique, very effective.

Start a petition/memorandum and have everyone signed on it. Starting with this forum and almera gangs...haha

Sure they scared.
douglas_tong
post Apr 13 2015, 04:53 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Oblivionz @ Apr 11 2015, 06:00 PM)
Hi guys,  new almera user here. used around almost near 2 years.  Can recommend any handphone holder for this car?
Mountek. It's fashionable and befitting. Doesn't obstruct road view.

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

2.3611sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:16 AM