15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v6, Midterm Elections! U.S. Jobs Report!

danmooncake
post Dec 16 2014, 10:50 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Dec 16 2014, 10:33 PM)
i think they're reluctant because they know its a pain game.. with household debt and all.
probably will have to rely on monetary automatic stabilizers like trade balance imo
You are correct, raising rate is like the last bazooka here.
Russia first attempted to sell USD (their reserves) to stabilize the rubles.
Then, they know they are not wining, then let their Rubles float.
Now, couple of rounds of bazooka shots by raising interest rate. Still people are dumping Rubles.

Insane... imagine if we have more than 10% interest rate in Malaysia.
This feels like the early 80s again. Just park money in FD. biggrin.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 17 2014, 11:10 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Dec 17 2014, 09:27 AM)
Tesla share drop below 200usd for the 1st time in the last 2 years...a good buy if anyone interested...normally it hovers around 230-245...
Thanks for heads up.. somehow it seems to be less attractive here. Will wait to see if 185 can hold or not.

On other tech stocks: AAPL vs BABA. Almost back to old price of low 100'ish.

Which one do you guys want to do play? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 17 2014, 11:13 AM
danmooncake
post Dec 17 2014, 12:49 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 17 2014, 12:35 PM)
hi bro,

been checking up a bit.. like to get yr comments if u dun mind.

i m not trading but just like to put some money in etf's given the outlook of the usd's strength.

other than the recently mentioned appl, baba, tsla, spy and mdy, do you think these are reasonable ones to consider:

voo - s&p etf
ivv - s&P etf
xle - energy etf... consider if n when the energy sector stabilizes

is it correct to say the several s&p etf's are just from diff companies, slight diff in basket composition but basically the same except for daily volume, i.e. liquidity?

appreciate any comment, thanks.
I would say yes to your question. I'm not familar with voo and ivv but am familar with XLE (energy sector). Pretty broad based - mostly composed of US large cap in Oil and Gas exploration. I think small numbers are in shale too.
Crude Oil goes down.. so does XLE in some manner but not always. XLE companies are also in SP500. SPY goes up, XLE will sometimes follow.

danmooncake
post Dec 18 2014, 12:07 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Dec 17 2014, 08:34 PM)
interesting, this XLE etf. Will monitor it for oil play.  brows.gif
For leverage play, ERX (bull 3x), ERY (bear 3x).
Be very careful with either one of those two. They can be deadly (if you're wrong) or treasure chest (if you're right). biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 18 2014, 12:07 AM
danmooncake
post Dec 18 2014, 12:41 AM

10,123 posts

Holy cow... gamings stocks kena kau kau...

Take a look at LVS, MPEL, MGM, WYNN..

All getting whacked from Xi JinPing anti-graft policy. No more China VIPs player wants to play in Macau anymore? hmm.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 18 2014, 01:53 AM

10,123 posts

Auntie Yellen is really powerful. She didn't really have to say anything or change any policy. Her appearance alone scared all the bears and make the bulls happy. biggrin.gif
danmooncake
post Dec 18 2014, 01:57 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 18 2014, 01:38 AM)
bought spy n xle (becos crude jumped 4%). in tens of shares, not thousands. laugh.gif

now, will see if crude rebound holds and how usd-rm will work out in the coming months...
Good luck! I hope it will work out for you! thumbup.gif

I've not bought back my SPY shares that was called away at 207.

I'm waiting for 195 or lower.
Maybe I will not get it by Christmas..but that's ok, I sold the 195 puts and continue to sell it until it happens.

danmooncake
post Dec 18 2014, 11:35 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 18 2014, 09:57 AM)
thanks.

i bought early into the rally, finished good. so, it was a good start for me.

planning to add a bit more next few days if conditions favorable.

one thing i noticed... for a usd200 stock, prices in increment of 1 cent can swing from 200.30 to 200.02 to 199.64 within 20 secs!
SPY is very liquid because a lot of funds own it. They're in controlled by trading machines.

Did you also notice that XLE move in tandem with SPY and disconnected itself from Crude oil?
Crude price didn't move up much today.

danmooncake
post Dec 18 2014, 05:58 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Dec 18 2014, 01:48 PM)
VIX - still below expectations.
Should reaches 26pts and above to have fear / panic situation.. Best time to bargain some shopping?

Year of Horse didn't progress much, as many ppls expects great hope/expectation on this zodiac animal.
See how the year of Goat ? IMHO Jan 2015 will be another opportunity (if VIX uptrend) to add more portfolios .. hmm.gif
Yeah? Only Chinese ppls has great hope/expectation on Year of Horse and they didn't get disappointment at all.

Take a look at China's stock market - SHCOMP... 45% rise since August .. it's been a fantastic year for China! biggrin.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 20 2014, 05:29 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 19 2014, 10:48 AM)
yes, u r right on this. i watched closely last night.
as crude stalled n even declined, hal, rig, xom, slb turned red.
xle did turn red briefly but can see it paced with spy well.
well, all ends well, though!

thanks for yr help again. my first purchases looking fine at this time. biggrin.gif
Congrats! Awesome bounce for XLE this week... $8 move from low of $72.50 rclxms.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 20 2014, 05:32 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Dec 19 2014, 12:08 PM)
MPEL is as if manila is a dud haha, but the momentum is massive so its no go for me still
Not only that... the gaming folks in Macau is hoping for Xi JinPing visit could help to relief them of the draught.
But, I don't think he's signalling any easing for them yet since he still cracking down on corruption. nod.gif
danmooncake
post Dec 22 2014, 10:52 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Dec 22 2014, 10:42 PM)
my stock is making a double digit profit but the sales charge is painful to swallow. sad.gif
What does "sales charge" mean?
danmooncake
post Dec 22 2014, 11:09 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Dec 22 2014, 10:58 PM)
lol... sry mistaken UT term

was referring to the brokerage fee to purchase a NYSE stock using local bank platform cry.gif
Oh I see, you're referring to the transaction fee.

Are you paying a "flat" fee or by "percentage"?
If by "percentage", then it is time to ditch your local broker and open a direct one with US brokerage.

But, if you don't trade much (like once a month or a quarter) or a "buy-and-hold" type,
then don't worry too much about it.

Also, USD is high now.. perhaps everytime you buy/sell locally, they will charge you transaction fee, and currency exchange fee too. That would be a double ouch. nod.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 23 2014, 12:51 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 23 2014, 12:13 AM)
this oil story... after many saying it'll go as low as usd40 some weeks ago, now i start to read some reports making the case for usd64-65 avg for 2015. well, who knows.... but we do have an interesting opportunity now... to buy or to keep watching...?
Remember when Goldman said Oil will go to $200 when it was $140 back in '08?.. then it reverses and went down.

The thing is when a lot people start talking about $40 oil, it most likely it will not happen and likely to bottom in the 50s and move back up. A lot of times, they overshoot to the downside.

As for Opec,, funny argument from them they're saying non-Opec members should cut back production.. not them. tongue.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 23 2014, 12:54 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Dec 23 2014, 12:51 AM)
HLE broking. good for local market. but charge me USD30 when i purchase a stock from NYSE.  sweat.gif

technically, buy USD 30, sell USD 30 = USD60  unsure.gif
$30/trade.. that's high. shocking.gif Does this involve a human remisier assisted trade?

$30 could mean 30 trades for me..

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 23 2014, 12:55 AM
danmooncake
post Dec 23 2014, 11:32 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(morning06 @ Dec 23 2014, 11:11 PM)
Just catching up after a long holiday~
wow new high and i missed out the big downside correction and the rebounce  ohmy.gif
Santa rally is here...for general indexes except for Commodities

Crude Oil still bad.. but Oil services (XLE) have rebounded but not old highs yet.
Gold still bad..
Russia rubles still toilet paper.. perhaps a little help from China can set the floor at 1 USD = 55-60 rubles. biggrin.gif
danmooncake
post Dec 24 2014, 02:58 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 24 2014, 01:31 AM)
lastly, i can see how it can sap yr energy if u stay up late every night to trade. notworthy.gif  i m already exhausted after a few late nights. exciting? oh yes, much more so than bursa or sgx! biggrin.gif

good nite...
Sure thing... I'm in the same boat if I stay up during the day. Since my working hours are in the evening..
10pm to 7am... no problem here for US times. Already adjusted for the past 5 years. Only get back to normal hours during holidays or weekend. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 24 2014, 02:58 AM
danmooncake
post Dec 24 2014, 11:01 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 24 2014, 12:00 PM)
graveyard shift factory hand or bigtime int'l fund manager? brows.gif
The only fund that I am managing are my own family ones... biggrin.gif

Btw, watch your stop for XLE tonight... better not drop below 79. It seems the big money are taking profits for Christmas
after 5 good days of bull run.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 24 2014, 11:37 PM
danmooncake
post Dec 30 2014, 01:21 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 30 2014, 12:20 AM)
xle is holding well. spy, qqq, appl almost back to all time highs!
Yup.. seeing that too. But, XLE is only half of what it used to... still hasn't test that last high on Dec 3rd.
Also there's a gap (between 82 and 85). Lots of resistance there.

But, i think here's good support 75-76 area. If it pulls back there, time to add more. biggrin.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 30 2014, 08:48 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Dec 30 2014, 04:28 AM)
looks like oil possibly like to test US$50 again?... hmm.gif
Possibly... if it falls below $50, it could be devastating (even for XLE... so be careful here)! nod.gif

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0426sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:52 AM