If the rest are doing something else then it's all good I guess.
Question is... what ARE they doing?
I'm still waiting for our local Introversion.
Maybe they can call it Extroversion.
Codemasters killing other local game developers., As I predicted in the phoenix thread.
Sep 22 2006, 01:42 PM
174 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Oh no, I wasn't stereotyping the industry as a whole. Sorry if I vaguely implied that. Wasn't trying to. Just directed to the local MMO producers/localisers/blah.
If the rest are doing something else then it's all good I guess. Question is... what ARE they doing? I'm still waiting for our local Introversion. Maybe they can call it Extroversion. |
Sep 22 2006, 01:47 PM
4,662 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pandan Indah |
In my opinion because of piracy gaming industries in malaysia will have a hard time. Couple it with the mentality of most malaysians right now, especially the older generation that money is more well spent on something else than entertainment = pirated games.
methinks the focus should not be on MMORPGs, but instead on attracting outsource jobs, like the way Nival did with Heroes of Might and Magic V. Small crappy game company in russia but making $$$ thanks to ubisoft. and that game is buggy yo, but still playable. I think I mentioned this point before in a similar thread sometime ago. |
Sep 22 2006, 01:52 PM
Nival is pretty good, by the way. They made a Tactical RPG WW2 game called Silent Storm. Pretty awesome game. Ragdoll physics, destructible enviroments (blow up entire buildings with grenades!).
Pity the game was horribly unoptimized and buggy though. Still, gaming gems come out of Russia occasionally. But yeah I agree. Legit gaming purchases have still a long way to go in Malaysia. I myself just started buying legit games myself after.... 20 years. |
Sep 22 2006, 02:35 PM
911 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Eboladrome |
QUOTE(Zephro @ Sep 22 2006, 12:38 PM) Oshi~ rant incoming. Exactly. I couldn't agree more.I agree with Alpha. I don't consider making local MMOs to be any significant step in the local gaming industry. Why? Because practically any developer can shit out a half-assed Korean grindgrind MMO. Honestly, it isn't very hard to program for someone that has a reasonable programming background. Just slap on some new skins, flashy spell effects, use the L2 engine, and voila, instant MMO. It may or may not make a profit, since the market is practically saturated with countless mediocre F2P MMOs. They don't have to code complex AI like in FPS, or RTS. Since the enemies all have 2 types of AI: 1. I stand still for you to whack me. Then only I attack back. 2. I attack you as you get into my range. So all that's left for them is to make is some different character/monster models, new animations, FLASHY ARMOR, WEAPONS AND SPELLS, ARGH. Basically, the design group has a lot on their hands. What? Game battle system? Forget it, its all the same. Spam pots+press attack/skill butan on monster+kill monster+repeat. Maybe some unbalanced PvP where the person with the biggest epeen and time invested grinding will always win (Protip: This doesn't happen in Guild Wars PvP. Take that as an example for truly balanced PvP). Oh yes. I forgot about one very, very important thing: The netcode. Even if your MMO is the most innovative one in the entire universe, it won't mean anything if the netcode is utter balls (not MMOs but just examples of games with shitty netcode: Rakion, Gunz, Warrock). I don't really know about this aspect, as I haven't played a local grind MMO in years, but you can evaluate it yourself. "But oh Zephro, you are too demanding, what must a local MMO do to please you?" Its simple. Stop perpetuating the Korean grind. Make something... INNOVATIVE and DIFFERENT. Maybe remake Ultima Online, for instance. Or make a MMO that's not in yet another goddamn medival fantasy setting. Or something that's not a MMO, for a start? When they come up with one maybe I'll start paying attention. The local gaming industry can take a leaf out from the book of indie programmers. Visit Game Tunnel or something, there are many sites out there. The most profilic one I can possibly think of is Introversion. They made Uplink, Darwinia and now Defcon. They're only a group of 3 people. Yet their games have made it to online Steam purchases, quite possibly giving them a sizable income. I gladly paid 10USD for my preorder of Defcon, their latest game. Why? Because their games are innovative, and fun. It also distinguishes them from countless other game rehashes from the common genres. Tell me, what distinguishes local MMOs from all the others out there? What will make them STAND out from the pack? Same medival setting, same battle system, same lame PvP combat, same old crap everyone has seen a zillion times over. But F2P may bring in more potential customers, you say. Yeah, maybe. I'm making an EDUCATED guess that 90% of the population of these games are unemployed students. Why play generic F2P MMO no.123 when you can play WoW or Guild Wars? Oh right, free. But as usual, the only income of these games come from the ingame shop. Maybe a few bucks here for a special privilige, another buck there for a nice skin, etc. Yeah, a profit can be turned out from this I guess. Nothing much to say as I'm not some economic hotshot. On to my final statement. Will our local game companies get a name for themselves by making more MMOs? Will they be REMEMBERED? Like, someone just casually mentions the company name years later on some Internet forum, and people come out the woodwork to share their good memories with that game? I don't know, I can't predict the future. But that's a statement worth thinking about. And here ends my rant. Feel free to ridicule every point of it. |
Sep 22 2006, 02:58 PM
0 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
I just happen to stumble on this forum as a new member and I found it quite interesting and engaging. Let me add a few things to fuel this debate.
Many criticise Codemasters for not having a project done in its entirety in Malaysia. To this I would ask Q: How many years has Malaysia done games? A: Think of this. The Uk has been having its industry for 20 years. Codemasters which comes from the UK is celebrating its 20 years this year. Codemasters has produced many triple A titles (they say around 60 of them). Q: What defines a Triple A game? A: A game that has sold in millions of copies. Q: How many artists, designers, programmers,project manager in Malaysia have worked on a decent game, let alone a triple A title? A: ?? But my guess is not much. Q: How much does a triple A title product cost to develop? A: Many millions. With the next generation console games needing bigger teams to produce them, the cost is getting even higher. Bear in mind that no matter how much money you put on a game, it sure does not ensure you profit in the end (especially not in Malaysia anyways that you will get revenue out of your games) Q: Why would Codemasters let people who have little or no experience do a game from scratch at the cost of millions? A: I don't know about you, but if I was investing I would not be so tempted with such a high risk. The fact that they are here and willing to teach, train and expose Malaysians to being part of the development of Triple A titles should be applaud and welcome. We all know that this is only the first stepping stone into a bigger picture. They come first, show off to the rest of the world it can be done in Malaysia (slowly but surely), obviously more will come. We should be happy that they come our way and that they are offering what ever they are offering. It will spark change in our industry and with changes brings innovation/growth. I would say let's back them up, show them our support, learn from them and grow our own future through this enriching experience. Then we can truly say Malaysia boleh! P.S.: For the working hours? who cares really. I sure don't count the hours because I love this industry. If the pay is good, I would be 24/7 if my body would let me! The more hours I put in, the more my skills develop. The company is happy and so am I. The more skills I have, the more I can ask for. Who wins? I do. |
Sep 22 2006, 05:32 PM
4,662 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pandan Indah |
QUOTE(Zephro @ Sep 22 2006, 01:52 PM) Nival is pretty good, by the way. They made a Tactical RPG WW2 game called Silent Storm. Pretty awesome game. Ragdoll physics, destructible enviroments (blow up entire buildings with grenades!). Pity the game was horribly unoptimized and buggy though. <--only setback with all of its games. But still it was something that people could actually play.Pity the game was horribly unoptimized and buggy though. Still, gaming gems come out of Russia occasionally. But yeah I agree. Legit gaming purchases have still a long way to go in Malaysia. I myself just started buying legit games myself after.... 20 years. at the malaysian side...fung wan online? I almost puked when I saw the UI. terrible. Why cant they get some char designer from limkokweng or something. Any other malaysian games? I'd be willing to support them, really. |
Sep 22 2006, 06:49 PM
503 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Sep 22 2006, 05:32 PM) Pity the game was horribly unoptimized and buggy though. <--only setback with all of its games. But still it was something that people could actually play. There're probably more if you count mobile games. I find that the output rate is higher for mobile j2me games.at the malaysian side...fung wan online? I almost puked when I saw the UI. terrible. Why cant they get some char designer from limkokweng or something. Any other malaysian games? I'd be willing to support them, really. |
Sep 22 2006, 07:05 PM
6,727 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 6 feet under at Bloodgulch Outpost Alpha Number 1 |
QUOTE(Zephro @ Sep 22 2006, 01:42 PM) Oh no, I wasn't stereotyping the industry as a whole. Sorry if I vaguely implied that. Wasn't trying to. Just directed to the local MMO producers/localisers/blah. Dude, Introversion is like the rose among the thorns... A thorn bush the size of the moon!If the rest are doing something else then it's all good I guess. Question is... what ARE they doing? I'm still waiting for our local Introversion. Maybe they can call it Extroversion. Asking a Malaysian company to become the next Introversion is like asking Proton to make the next Car of the Year. But I do agree with you that Russians make some of the best games out there, despite their lack of funds and proper voice actors (In spite of that actually!). Aquanox, Space Rangers, Silent Storm, Darkstar One, etc. |
Sep 22 2006, 07:44 PM
Nice analogy.
Eh, thought Darkstar One was German. But anyway, the Russkies made Star Wolves as well, another decent game. |
Sep 22 2006, 11:46 PM
811 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Equine Park |
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Sep 22 2006, 05:32 PM) at the malaysian side...fung wan online? I almost puked when I saw the UI. terrible. Why cant they get some char designer from limkokweng or something. Your comment bout the UI are understandable, but what with getting a char designer from LUCT? Are they any better? I highly doubt it tho.Any other malaysian games? I'd be willing to support them, really. Well, afaik, Fung Wan online is the only game developed in 100% in Malaysia, by Malaysian. So Im not sure why a poster ask why theres no other genre. FYI, Fung Wan online started many years ago, unfortunately it been delayed for quite sometime. Its only fair to say that we didnt follow the Korean, coz the idea came out far earlier than that. Its just came out late. Unfortunately. And theres a poster said making an MMOG is easy, well, either you are ignorance or really good at it. Fung Wan Online was created from zero. We had a bunch of great programmer to build the game engine from scratch. We start from nothing, and yet we succeed in coming out with a playable game, I think the developer deserve credit for that, even the game not selling well. If it was easy, why not you do one rather than talking crap? Theres no 100% pure local developer in this country, so how can Codemasters kill them? But one thing for sure, Codemasters will bring more exposure to the local developer. Altho they are mainly dealing with providing 3D asset to the main UK HQ, nonetheless, the local game modeller will/did learn something from that. Its a great experience. I highly doubt there would be any local company or new starter will dare to touch the next-gen game. So its good in a way that Codemasters are here to provide such exposure. But there are some peoples/companies will have problem with Codemasters. They claim that Codematers grab all their employees, well did they know why? Surely they did. They pay them RM2k and require them to work like hell. Now those that had been torture bad enough went to seek better employment and gain better experience that had a lot AAA titles under their belt. Dont see anything wrong with it. The local industry doesnt revolve around few employer, its so unfair to the employees. If the employers are treating the employees good enough, I highly doubt they will go away. The logic. If Codemasters isint helping the local industry, then who will? We cant expect local company to help themself. Couple years back, an local game magazine (dont want to mention the name of the magazine coz I think its affiliated with this forum, go figure) made a review on Outpost, publish by local company (which obtain RM61 mill fund, so go figure again), and said its one of the must play game along with WoW and other big titles. I do ask, anyone here tried Outpost before or even heard of it? I tried it, and it was crap. But why such a good review? Are they trying to help the local publisher to gain more popularity? Then I found out that the game publisher had a numbers of advertisement in the magazine, so hence the good review. So you see, its all bout the money. Malaysian cant escape that mentality. Thats why we are still lacking way behind. bman was rite bout mismanagement and corruption, IMO. How come a company can get RM61 mill of fund and yet continually came out with with crappy game (which they bought cheaply from Korea and China), but no authorities made any inquiry bout it? Corruption didnt happen? Whats say you? If this body that controlled the fund isint really helping, then who will? And now some people are blaming Codemastes killing the local game industry, the irony. If Codemasters is bad news for local game industry, what is good news? |
Sep 23 2006, 01:34 AM
6,727 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 6 feet under at Bloodgulch Outpost Alpha Number 1 |
QUOTE(Zephro @ Sep 22 2006, 07:44 PM) Nice analogy. Meh, Star Wolves has HORRIBLE pathfinding. That's really saying something considering its a game in SPACE. I had this ship that went in a straight line from point A to point B... He went right into a thrusters of the HQ ship... Reloaded 4 times and he did the same bloody thing. I got tired of babysitting and removed the demo with haste.Eh, thought Darkstar One was German. But anyway, the Russkies made Star Wolves as well, another decent game. |
Sep 25 2006, 03:41 PM
7 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
There are a few things I would like to point out about Codemasters Studios Malaysia. The games that they are developing here in Malaysia are their flagship brands for the 360 and also PS3. There has been complains about the people who work there will only be able to model cars, tracks and trees properly. To tell you the truth, one of the biggest problems Codemasters have is finding people in Malaysia who can texture properly. Lighting is also another issue. Couple with the fact that, normal mapping is going to be used extensively on the next generation consoles, the average experienced Malaysian modeller cannot even make a “tree” properly. What Codemasters bring to Malaysia are not only the jobs but also the processes and experience they have developed over 20 years.
As reported in the NST, MDV financed the project of RM44.0 Million. Before, people go about saying that it is a waste of taxpayers, the RM44.0 Million is a loan, not a grant like those from the neighbouring country. They would have to pay back every single sen with interest and the money actually comes from Japan. So why did they come to Malaysia, when there are many other countries (Asia and also Western Europe) to choose from? We are not the cheapest, we do not have the best infrastructure, we do not have the biggest workforce, we are not giving away free money. It is because we almost have it all, not the best but we are damn near there. Good infrastructure, good source of local talents, competitive cost of labour, good living environment, good financing mechanism and a good command of English-la! Codemasters have plans to grow the Malaysian studio into a full fledge development studio. The only thing that is slowing them down is us Malaysian and our lack of skills and experience required to develop AAA games. They are currently looking at refining the talents here in Malaysia and are working with local educational institutes. So maybe in 5 years time when any of you have a kick ass original IP, you would have a pool of experience Malaysian work force who are able to develop it for you. |
Sep 25 2006, 09:24 PM
503 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(prideless74 @ Sep 25 2006, 03:41 PM) As reported in the NST, MDV financed the project of RM44.0 Million. Before, people go about saying that it is a waste of taxpayers, the RM44.0 Million is a loan, not a grant like those from the neighbouring country. They would have to pay back every single sen with interest and the money actually comes from Japan. If you remember, MDV did something similar before, for Terra. RM 61 million ringgit loan was given to Terra ICT sdn bhd.The money was never properly accounted for. Terra ICT sdn bhd then changed name to eGames Global sdn. bhd. Whatever debts racked up will only be liable by Terra ICT sdn bhd. Because it is a 'sdn bhd' I guess the directors are off the hook. Remember, loans or no loans, there're ways to NOT pay back the loans. I've heard of a few people planning to do this once they get their loans approved by MDV, etc, start a new company, channel funds to that new company and let the old company that got it's loans approved, to take the fall legally because it is a sdn bhd. I am not accusing codemasters of plans to do this, I know nothing about them. I do know and heard of other Malaysians planning to cheat the MDV this way. Once the money cannot be obtained back, what is MDV going to do ? Write off the debts ? At whose expense ? |
Sep 25 2006, 09:50 PM
685 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Sep 22 2006, 01:47 PM) methinks the focus should not be on MMORPGs, but instead on attracting outsource jobs, like the way Nival did with Heroes of Might and Magic V. Small crappy game company in russia but making $$$ thanks to ubisoft. and that game is buggy yo, but still playable. I think I mentioned this point before in a similar thread sometime ago. Bare in mind that it was Ubisoft's decision to get the game out as early as possible. If Nival kept delaying it, they would have to foot the extra charges for delay. Ubi got the Heroes license for just about US$1.3Million which is quite cheap. If Ubisoft was serious about the license they would have full control over storyline, in-game acting and give more feedback. Nival was smart enough to focus the funds on gameplay and graphics first and second for the rest. |
Sep 25 2006, 11:51 PM
590 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(prideless74 @ Sep 25 2006, 03:41 PM) ....... ^ i also hope/wish Codemasters Studio Malaysia much success & healthy growth. who knows? maybe it'll become the "ubisoft shanghai" of SEA Codemasters have plans to grow the Malaysian studio into a full fledge development studio. The only thing that is slowing them down is us Malaysian and our lack of skills and experience required to develop AAA games. They are currently looking at refining the talents here in Malaysia and are working with local educational institutes. So maybe in 5 years time when any of you have a kick ass original IP, you would have a pool of experience Malaysian work force who are able to develop it for you. ...... |
Sep 26 2006, 02:45 PM
177 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In and Out of the Net |
Sep 27 2006, 01:26 PM
7 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(bman @ Sep 25 2006, 09:24 PM) Whatever debts racked up will only be liable by Terra ICT sdn bhd. Because it is a 'sdn bhd' I guess the directors are off the hook. Remember, loans or no loans, there're ways to NOT pay back the loans. I've heard of a few people planning to do this once they get their loans approved by MDV, etc, start a new company, channel funds to that new company and let the old company that got it's loans approved, to take the fall legally because it is a sdn bhd. I cannot comment on Terra because I do not know the full story. What I can say is, foreclosing on a loan is not easy as it would mean putting the company out of business. Sometimes it would make better sense to step into the company’s shoes by way of a debenture and try to turn the company around. But I agree with you, if there are people with ill intentions they will always find away around the system. I am quite disturbed by the fact that you know a few people who maybe out there to cheat MDV. It is like telling me that you know of people planning to rob a bank, because basically that is what you are saying. Robbing a bank is a crime and punishable by law. I know the people in MDV and they truly are out there making a living like you and me, to build Malaysia’s ICT industry. This is a company liable for the money it had borrowed from Japan. You talk about corruption before well, stealing is corruption too. Please don't close one eye on this! |
| Change to: | 0.0207sec
5 queries
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:09 PM |