All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

roarus
post Apr 1 2019, 09:41 PM

1,042 posts

Can anyone confirm for CapTrader - you cannot buy SGX shares and ETF?

There's no Singapore/SGX under Shares and ETFs in https://www.captrader.com/en/account/conditions/

And under exchanges for Singapore I'm seeing CFDs, options and futures
https://www.captrader.com/en/products/exchanges/

Thinking to accumulate SGX share/ETF and Irish domiciled ETFs then transfer to IB when AUM hits USD100k

roarus
post Apr 1 2019, 10:40 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Apr 1 2019, 09:50 PM)
You're right, Captrader does not offer SGX shares and ETF, unfortunately.
A white label might not offer every products that IB has.
Thanks for the confirmation, appreciate it
roarus
post Apr 27 2019, 10:02 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 2 2019, 08:24 PM)
Just want to ask m,  I am going to open with Tradestation.
Did you finally go ahead with TradeStation? Asked TradeStation a few questions, and got a separate email promo offer to open an account for $2,500.

QUOTE(alexkos @ Apr 26 2019, 12:22 PM)
Sui. They will give u t shirt goodies also.
laugh.gif the guy only gave me welcome RM10 value promo code
roarus
post May 1 2019, 12:42 AM

1,042 posts

Regarding IB/TradeStation registration - Pardon my excitement, but does this mean I'm good to go to perform account funding? Planning to initiate a deposit, via FAST transfer from my CIMB SG to Citibank, I should try with a small amount first, right? Or should I just dump in the full min account opening amount?

roarus
post May 1 2019, 10:49 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ May 1 2019, 12:42 AM)
Regarding IB/TradeStation registration - Pardon my excitement, but does this mean I'm good to go to perform account funding? Planning to initiate a deposit, via FAST transfer from my CIMB SG to Citibank, I should try with a small amount first, right? Or should I just dump in the full min account opening amount?

QUOTE(hyperzz @ May 1 2019, 03:17 AM)
I would dump the min amount.
Just make sure that the account number is entered correctly and your personal reference (Message to recipient) is included in the FAST transfer.
Update: Able to see Client Portal now when I login instead of Application Status screen, will proceed to fund account in lump sum. Thanks

roarus
post May 1 2019, 06:19 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ May 1 2019, 04:50 PM)
any Sifu here know does Maybank iSavvy SG account (which said can be open in Malaysia) has FAST transfer function?
Yes it both Maybank SG and CIMB SG has FAST Transfer
roarus
post May 2 2019, 09:17 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ May 2 2019, 04:30 PM)
saw service provider by Sunway which is called Sunway Money @@

https://send.sunwaymoney.com

can give it a shot ?
Interesting, a new player to keep the price war going. However for the amount that I normally change of SGD1-3k, Instarem is still cheaper.
roarus
post May 7 2019, 10:42 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ May 7 2019, 04:59 PM)
Hi guys, wanna ask what is the forex rate/charge

for converting SGD -> USD/EUR
in TradeStation/Captrader by buying the currency pair?

or it is live rate but only charging based on transaction fee? what is the transaction fee for each buying order?
Here you go if you'd like a bookmarkable step by step guide, just sub USD with EUR if you're doing SGD->EUR and ignore the part about the IWDA:
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/119895805-post5420.html

If you don't already have USD, you'll get charged in your base currency (converted from USD2)

Special note: Use FXCONV instead of IDEALPRO if you don't want to see a SGDxxx currency virtual position

roarus
post May 7 2019, 11:28 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ May 7 2019, 10:55 PM)
haha just so happened I am planning to invest in IWDA  laugh.gif

thanks dude for the steps reference

btw I researched on justetf found out that IWDA can be purchased through LSE (traded with USD) or Amsterdam listing (traded with EUR)

[attachmentid=10240494]

1) Anyone here know does Ireland-domiciled ETF subjects to Dirt, or exit tax?

I read from some online article that Irish-domiciled ETF is liable to Dirt, or exit tax, at a rate of 41 per cent.   ohmy.gif

reference: Don’t invest in an ETF until you understand the tax

2) both IWDA Amsterdam listing and IWDA LSE listing are same subjected to 15% withholding tax? just that traded in different currency?
1) On Dirt - not that I know of, at least not for a non US and non Irish person
2) Yeah about 15% (or specifically sum of 15% from 62% of S&P500 that IWDA holds + whatever withholding tax if any is applicable for Japan, Germany, Australia, etc). Assuming brokerage charge for USD and EUR denominated funds are about the same, I'd lean towards the one listed on LSE as it has higher volume

I use this as pricing guide since I don't subscribe to live market date:
https://www.investing.com/etfs/ishares-msci-world---acc
https://finance.yahoo.com/quote/IWDA.L/

This post has been edited by roarus: May 7 2019, 11:30 PM
roarus
post May 10 2019, 11:54 PM

1,042 posts

High expense ratio ~0.5%
Gets whacked by Uncle Sam's 30% withholding tax on dividends
Tiny @ 14mil
https://www.myetf.com.my/en/MyETF-Series/My...w?cat=Factsheet

Today's stats -
High: 1.095
Low: 1.070
Volume: 5,700 (A grand total of.... 2 trades consisting of 7x100 and 50x100)
Price Bid/Ask: 1.070 / 1.095
https://www.klsescreener.com/v2/stocks/view/0827EA

No published rates, just this blanket statement: Custodian charges, Service Fees, Annual Wrap fee and other charges are applicable.
http://www.phillipcapital.com.my/products-...p-account-pgwa/

roarus
post May 18 2019, 09:57 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ May 18 2019, 07:09 PM)
win liao, alex will edit sp500 page.

Will open tradestation account soon

#on second thought, this step actually needs fren tolong only can be cheapest. Also, coz add one more step, convenience is an issue. MYR need SGD then only EUR/GBP hoot.

I also hope can halak my sg fren....but long term wise, need to always wait his availability...unless the rate really justifies.

Currently instarem MYR straight EUR 0.45%

then MYR -> SGD -> EUR if whole process is 0.2% and cheaper, I'll only do this. If not, time and effort alone is worth more I guess?
You can still do your regular MYR -> EUR via Instarem / buy SXR8.

Since TradeStation and CapTrader are both Interactive Brokers whitelabels/introducing broker, I'm expecting the bank given to transfer EUR to be the same, just different account number - Interactive Brokers (U.K.) Limited / CITIGROUP GLOBAL MARKETS DEUTSCHLAND. That's what I see from punching in a deposit notification for EUR currency under TradeStation.
roarus
post May 19 2019, 11:46 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(wt_vinci @ May 19 2019, 11:01 AM)
Last I tried, Instarem can't do MYR->EUR directly as they do not support it. That's why I need to do MYR->Instarem->SGD->CapTrader->EUR
alexkos got MYR Instarem -> EUR Captrader to work, perhaps the key is how you enter the fields in the deposit notification? Was your funding account bank Citibank Germany?
roarus
post May 19 2019, 08:22 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 19 2019, 08:08 PM)
Customer said no charges.
+1, I have written response in e-mail from tradestation global support stating no inactivity charge as well
roarus
post May 19 2019, 09:12 PM

1,042 posts

My response is dated 23 April 2019:
Question >
2. Inactivity Fee
The FAQ is a vague here - "No, however we reserve the right to review inactive accounts on a regular basis, contact clients and take any appropriate action."
Will there be an issue if I perform buy/sell every 2 - 6 months?

Response > there is no inactivity fee at TradeStation Global
QUOTE(markedestiny @ May 19 2019, 08:59 PM)
Do ask them if there is any non trading fees that investors should know aware of, besides the inactivity & withdrawal fees just to cover all angles.

IIRC, previously Tradestation has a complicated fees structure, glad to see they have improve on these and becomes cheaper as p per their web.

Btw, if you use Sg bank FAST to fund your Tradestation, how fast the fund reflected in your trading account. The review link I posted mentioned  3 days?

For Captrader, I can confirm it's quite immediate within the same hour after I transferred, provided I notified them online accordingly.
Funding via FAST to IB's Citibank SG
Initial: 1 May 2019 10AM, reflected morning 2 May 2019 (public holiday maybe?)
Subsequent: 2 May 2019 2:30PM, reflected within 1.5 hours same day

This post has been edited by roarus: May 19 2019, 09:17 PM
roarus
post May 25 2019, 11:45 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ May 25 2019, 10:02 PM)
i tot cheap ma no meh? cheapter than captrader oh...

so how ah? actually tradestation got caveat one right? must use IB (and pay monthly fee), then can only use tradestation.

Then like that, tradestation still cheap meh?
Interactive Brokers = No min funding, first 3 months waiver on min fee. After that, subject to min $10/month or min $20/month if total asset under $2000. Can choose between fixed or tiered rates for commission based on trading size and volume.

TradeStation/CapTrader/other whitelabels = Introducing broker to Interactive Brokers (think buying a MAS ticket but flight is Cathay's), has their own min funding (0 or more), monthly fee (0 or more) and commission charge (marked up from what Interactive Brokers charges them). Behind the scene is all using Interactive Brokers.

I assume you want to open TradeStation for the friendlier commission rates? What do you plan to do with your holdings in CapTrader? Leave it there? Sell and buy again in TradeStation?

Instead of going through the whole min funding process again with TradeStation why not transfer your over holdings from CapTrader? That way you can keep whatever SXR8 you bought in CapTrader (without paying sell and buy commissions again) and accumulate CSPX USD/GBP from now on in TradeStation.

You could hit TradeStation support regarding moving over from CapTrader. Their rep will be happy to give you a call from London. I imagine it'll be an easy process since both are piggybacking on Interactive Brokers.
roarus
post May 26 2019, 01:55 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 26 2019, 12:40 AM)
While doing pleasure reading on these whitelabel brokerages, I noticed another great attribute of Captrader :-

https://www.captrader.com/en/payments/tax-information/

This is the important point : Withholding Tax

Our customers enjoy the great advantage that the withholding tax is not automatically retained and you can benefit from your entire capital including income and profits. Since your account agreement is concluded with an American company, our customers have this comfortable lead.
So,.. there is not going to be any WHT imposed against the US dividends paid-out from US companies. I am wondering how does Captrader then qualify as an intermediary, as well as as a Withholding Agent for US shares ?

Tradestation has no mention of WHTs.
The German translated version adds more detail and confusion at the same time - it appears 30% WHT is still applicable (0% for interest = 0% for capital?), there's some paperwork filing required for reduction. Still, I don't see how one can just buy AAPL and file for tax reduction on the basis of broker/custodian domicile.

In any case, Irish domiciled funds like CSPX and IWDA would already handle the withholding of taxes automatically.

roarus
post May 26 2019, 11:31 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2019, 06:06 AM)
Source saying  interactive broker need to maintain only USD2k?  If USD2k is bloody cheap.

Everyone knows IB need USD100k. Unless of course they change the rules.
More like maintaining AUM >$2000, otherwise you'll be slapped with min commission $20 instead of the regular $10

https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index.php?f=4969
roarus
post May 26 2019, 04:43 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 26 2019, 08:11 AM)
Tq roarus,... I referred to the above bolded paragraph from the German translation.

That means ALMOST ALL of our capital is credited back to us upon payout,.. EXCEPT for dividend payouts under *Exception.

Then upon filing for personal tax returns in the following year, we will declare the withheld taxes as accrued capital income. But will this accrued capital income be refunded to us ??

What does this mean : ...the custody compound is not located in Germany.
Perhaps best to clarify with CapTrader support if you have US stock holdings with them - I strongly believe it's still 30% one way or another for us Malaysian tax payers. In the worst case where CapTrader doesn't withhold any tax at all for all their clients, you're liable for filing it appropriately or risk falling under tax evasion with Uncle Sam.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2019, 11:33 AM)
Still need USD100k. sad.gif
With IB's target demographic and clientele size, I don't foresee that limit being lifted anytime soon.

QUOTE(alexkos @ May 26 2019, 02:05 PM)
So how ah? Anyone use Tradestation and pay zero commission using IB platform?
To be clear, TradeStation Global has zero monthly inactivity/min commission;
IB (if you have <USD100k) on your 4th month onwards whether you trade or not: If your trade commission less than $10 you pay $10. If more, you pay that amount. If you don't do anything, you still pay $10.
TradeStation: You buy something you pay trade/FX commission, you sell something you pay trade/FX commission. You don't do anything, you don't pay anything.

If your habitual trade commission is less than $10 a month or you time the market, then go with TradeStation instead of IB (unless you have a cool USD100k of course)
roarus
post May 26 2019, 06:19 PM

1,042 posts

My account opening started by clicking OPEN AN ACCOUNT button here: https://www.tradestation-international.com/global/. From there on it's all Interactive Brokers. Yes it's confusing and worrying at the same time whether I signed up for IB or TradeStation.

Only after account approval and logging in Client Portal https://www.interactivebrokers.com.au/sso/L...tnerID=tsilib23 and navigating to Menu -> Statements -> Trade Confirmation I see black and white confirmation that my account is linked to TradeStation.

roarus
post May 26 2019, 08:01 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2019, 06:47 PM)
Can you install mobile version of IB on your phone and login using the provided username and password?
Yes using the same credentials I'm able to access all below. I've also set up IBKR mobile app as 2 factor authentication.
Client Portal: https://www.interactivebrokers.com.au/sso/Login
IBKR mobile app: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ibkr-mobile/id454558592
TWS downloaded here: https://investors.interactivebrokers.com/en...dex.php?f=16042

Note: I'm on a Mac, I did not perform API setting in TWS nor installed TradeStation's Window's software http://update.tradestation.com/Installs/Tr...r+ENG+Setup.exe

0.0793sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:04 AM