Problem with MSI Radeon 9800 Pro, keeps crashing when playing games

cpteoh
post Sep 12 2006, 09:21 PM

Starcraft - Broodwar
1,093 posts

how many harddisk you have there? dvd? cdrw?

try disconnect all unnecessary drive, and try again
cpteoh
post Sep 12 2006, 09:22 PM

Starcraft - Broodwar
1,093 posts

i just found out my 9800xt need an extra external power plug for supply more power..

make sure you connect that.
SUStheripper
post Sep 12 2006, 09:37 PM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

yep, i did that.

used to connect to 2 hard drives and 2 roms before. then removed 1 hd and a cdrw rom. so now there're only 1 hard drive, a dvd rom and also the graphic card itself.
ltw82
post Sep 13 2006, 11:51 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(theripper @ Sep 12 2006, 09:37 PM)
yep, i did that.

used to connect to 2 hard drives and 2 roms before. then removed 1 hd and a cdrw rom. so now there're only 1 hard drive, a dvd rom and also the graphic card itself.
sweat.gif
the power drain by ur 9800pro is beyond those little hdd n cdrw-drive wattage....
9800pro should be at the range of 47watt to 53watt, GC alone....

have a look here
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp
SUStheripper
post Sep 13 2006, 12:29 PM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

QUOTE(ltw82 @ Sep 13 2006, 11:51 AM)
sweat.gif
the power drain by ur 9800pro is beyond those little hdd n cdrw-drive wattage....
9800pro should be at the range of 47watt to 53watt, GC alone....

have a look here
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp
i didn't know that before. sweat.gif thanx for telling me.

so if i have the options of getting either normal iCute 450w or Enlight 350w True power, which one should i buy? wanna make sure that it's good enough to support all the hardwares i mentioned.. 2 hds, 2 roms, a gc, cpu HSF.. unsure.gif
nicotine
post Sep 13 2006, 12:41 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

to be frank, avoid icute a.k.a aku comel. topup ur budget and get a 430w~460w from Enermax psu or enlight. My enermax eg465ve served me more then 5 year and it's still running strong on my Oced A64 rig.

Cheers.

Edit- I learned the lesson the hard-way.. i hope u dont follow my path by choosing ICUTE. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by nicotine: Sep 13 2006, 12:43 PM
ltw82
post Sep 13 2006, 01:25 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(theripper @ Sep 13 2006, 12:29 PM)
i didn't know that before. sweat.gif thanx for telling me.

so if i have the options of getting either normal iCute 450w or Enlight 350w True power, which one should i buy? wanna make sure that it's good enough to support all the hardwares i mentioned.. 2 hds, 2 roms, a gc, cpu HSF.. unsure.gif
unsure.gif
myself using casing 450w icute also, but my rig spec is slightly lower configuration compare to ur's....
amd64, 6600gt, 1 dvd-rom, 1 sata-hdd, usb powered speakers only....
tongue.gif
since u have quite amount of device here, it's better to get something stable such as enermax FMA;

tyrion4
post Sep 13 2006, 10:22 PM

277 posts

I-cute is just a re-branded generic power supply. Don't risk it man, especially when it comes to power supplies. Not worth the heartache.

Go with the Enermax FMA series. (Although the FMA 460W is presently sold out at LYP. They still stock the FMA 350W, RM190 or a FMA 535W, RM365). And they come with a 5 year warranty as well.

This post has been edited by tyrion4: Sep 13 2006, 10:24 PM
SUStheripper
post Sep 14 2006, 01:14 AM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

thanks tyrion4 for the advice. icon_rolleyes.gif

another problem and i just can't understand it. i've removed/unplugged both dvd/cdrw roms and also a hard disk. so now only left 1 hard disk and the radeon 9800 pro.. alongside other basic stuffs such as rams, cpu HSF and usb modem. even removed both usb scanner and printer. so it should reduce the power consumption rite?

but i tried playing games just now and it still freezed. so does it mean that there's something wrong with the graphic card itself? the guy who sold the card said that he didn't reapply the thermal paste on the GPU when he reinstalled the stock hsf, after removing the Zalman hsf from the card. so, is the problem caused by this? unsure.gif

and i haven't managed to get the gc's temperature read yet, coz both ATI Tool and Everest didn't support the chip. sorry guys. sad.gif

This post has been edited by theripper: Sep 14 2006, 08:38 AM
cpteoh
post Sep 14 2006, 10:02 AM

Starcraft - Broodwar
1,093 posts

then go get a Actic Silver 5, around RM20-30.
i saw someone selling RM22 here.

it might cause by overheat problem.
RangerRed
post Sep 14 2006, 10:58 AM

2,083 posts

theripper, i thought all 9800 series cards come with a heat sensor? Anyway apply some paste on the card... with just one hdd ur i think its our card overheating....
SUStheripper
post Sep 16 2006, 01:59 PM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

guys, i've reapplied the thermal paste on the card/GPU, but that still didn't solve the freezing/hang problem. i played CS 1.6 and Source for about 1-2 hours and then started to freeze again. i checked the heatsink and found out that it was quite hot as it used to during freeze. could this be a problem from the card itself? is the stock cooling on radeon 9800 pro not good enough to handle the heat from games like CS 1.6? unsure.gif

for the info, i've removed both sides of my pc case to allow more airflow, and only play games at night, with the air conditioning on. i also tried to use different ATI drivers including Omega and Catalyst 6.7 and 6.8, and i've never overclocked it, not even once. but the freezing problem still exists.

question is now, do i have the right to return the card to the seller and ask him to make full refund to me? personal warranty will expire by tomorrow. sad.gif
Amedion
post Sep 16 2006, 08:28 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

QUOTE(theripper @ Sep 16 2006, 01:59 PM)
guys, i've reapplied the thermal paste on the card/GPU, but that still didn't solve the freezing/hang problem. i played CS 1.6 and Source for about 1-2 hours and then started to freeze again. i checked the heatsink and found out that it was quite hot as it used to during freeze. could this be a problem from the card itself? is the stock cooling on radeon 9800 pro not good enough to handle the heat from games like CS 1.6? unsure.gif

for the info, i've removed both sides of my pc case to allow more airflow, and only play games at night, with the air conditioning on. i also tried to use different ATI drivers including Omega and Catalyst 6.7 and 6.8, and i've never overclocked it, not even once. but the freezing problem still exists.

question is now, do i have the right to return the card to the seller and ask him to make full refund to me? personal warranty will expire by tomorrow. sad.gif
Sorry but this sounds a bit unfair to the seller as this card has no problem.. sweat.gif Problem is ur rig.. laugh.gif 9800 shud be able to handle CS1.6... There is no such thing like .. oh my card cannot handle this game.. So, it freeze..
I owned 9600pro before which is older than urs.. Yes it freeze when playing warcraft 3 and some other game.. IT sure hot .. You don't know the temperature.. I still able to Overclock it using Original heatsink.. What i did is i install new driver for the GC..Other than that is the processor compatible mode.. every ASUS P4P800X-X got the compatible mode.. If only i got the board now.. Can show u step by step using camera.. Btw, have u tried on other pc.. If u stay near my location.. I willing to try for u.. See if ur psu not enuff juice or wat..

( Note- Above is based on my experience.. I've been through it before.. Not rumors or read from somewhere.. If it's unaccurate.. Please dun flame --)

This post has been edited by Amedion: Sep 16 2006, 08:29 PM
SUStheripper
post Sep 16 2006, 08:51 PM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

it's ok. that's why i need opinions. thanx. smile.gif

but i said about the heat, is the stock cooling good enough to handle the heat, not whether the 9800 pro can handle CS 1.6 game or not. of course i know it can play that game. and for the info, the freeze problem happened after 1-2 hours of game play, not right after the game started.

my mobo is P4V8X-X, so is it similar to P4P800X-X that u mentioned? unsure.gif

i have tried it on my friend's pc which is AMD Athlon with Abit mobo, and still got the same problem. but will give another try on my other friend's pc. i'll let u know the result. u stay in Klang?

and is the PSU still an issue here, although i already removed most of the hardwares/devices? i've removed 1 of the 2 hard disks, both ROMs and all USB based devices expect the usb modem. so it should've reduced the power consumption rite?

This post has been edited by theripper: Sep 18 2006, 12:33 PM
Amedion
post Sep 18 2006, 02:18 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

Yeah lor.. Like i said.. My 9600 pro stock cooling also manage to overclock somemore.. OR the previous user did something? The stock cooler got attach to the chip set ? Check carefully...

Yes those 2 motherboard is the same.. I forgot to put "00"..

If it's heat issue then change the heatsink only.. Easy..
SUStheripper
post Sep 20 2006, 01:32 AM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

yep, well attached to the chip set / GPU. also reapplied some thermal paste on it.

thinking of getting a much better heatsink but without the fan. Zalman is good rite?
ltw82
post Sep 20 2006, 11:45 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(theripper @ Sep 20 2006, 01:32 AM)
yep, well attached to the chip set / GPU. also reapplied some thermal paste on it.

thinking of getting a much better heatsink but without the fan. Zalman is good rite?
icon_rolleyes.gif
using galaxy 6600gt comes together with a zalman fan (model vf700)
full load ---> 60-62c
idle after load ---> 50c
tongue.gif
the latest model should be vf900

0.0156sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:07 PM