SUStheripper
post Sep 12 2006, 11:14 AM, updated 20y ago

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

morning,

have a problem with my MSI Radeon 9800 Pro card. games like CS 1.6 and Source suddenly freezed / crashed after few minutes of play, which never happened with my Radeon 9250 before. tried few things like using different drivers and disabled / enabled the Fast Write, but that didn't solve the problem. also got blank screen and had to restart the pc everytime it happened.

what's the actual problem, and is it caused by motherboard, bios, power supply etc..? or the problem comes from the graphic card itself?

my pc specs:

P4 2.4A
Asus P4V8X-X motherboard
400W PSU
512 x 2 rams
Win XP SP2

really hope to keep and use it without any problem. please help me. thanx guys.
cpteoh
post Sep 12 2006, 11:17 AM

Starcraft - Broodwar
1,093 posts

your 400W psu
is chapalang?
evilnickwong
post Sep 12 2006, 11:19 AM

- Evil by Nature -
5,065 posts

Yea I would suspect your PSU too.
Otherwise, try turning OFF fast writes and VPU recover in your CCC.
SUStheripper
post Sep 12 2006, 11:20 AM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

QUOTE(cpteoh @ Sep 12 2006, 11:17 AM)
your 400W psu
is chapalang?
i think it is. e Master brand that comes/bundled together with the casing.
Doom
post Sep 12 2006, 11:28 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Could be lack of power from power supplies or the heat issue with the card itself...

try Ati Tool to check out the temperature...hopefully it support your model...
Amedion
post Sep 12 2006, 11:35 AM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

It states 400W but actually is not..
I got that mobo before.. It's running 533fsb..
I think ur PSU not enuff juice.. Since u said previously ok with 9250..
Impossible for heat issue since u dun overclock.. do you?
SUStheripper
post Sep 12 2006, 11:38 AM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Sep 12 2006, 11:35 AM)
It states 400W but actually is not..
I got that mobo before.. It's running 533fsb..
I think ur PSU not enuff juice.. Since u said previously ok with 9250..
Impossible for heat issue since u dun overclock.. do you?
yep, never overclocked it although im using Omega drive. didn't install the OC feature. even removed both covers of casing to allow more air flow.

QUOTE(Doom @ Sep 12 2006, 11:28 AM)
Could be lack of power from power supplies or the heat issue with the card itself...

try Ati Tool to check out the temperature...hopefully it support your model...
here's what i found from the log file of ATI Tool:

2006-09-12 11:38:34 ATITool v0.24 started.
2006-09-12 11:38:34 Detected GPU Chip: R350 (4E48), 8 Pipelines, 128 MB
2006-09-12 11:38:34 Temperature monitoring: chip not detected

This post has been edited by theripper: Sep 12 2006, 11:54 AM
ltw82
post Sep 12 2006, 11:55 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(theripper @ Sep 12 2006, 11:38 AM)

rolleyes.gif
try using everest to detect u temp?
mayb it'll work on detecting it?
Amedion
post Sep 12 2006, 12:15 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(theripper @ Sep 12 2006, 11:38 AM)
yep, never overclocked it although im using Omega drive. didn't install the OC feature. even removed both covers of casing to allow more air flow.

Previously i use 9600 PRO.. cannot detect temperature.. Fry i also dunno.. If ya don't overclock it.. It shouldn't be a big problem.. Take ur fren PSU and give it a try.. thumbup.gif

Btw, ur 2.4 processor is 533fsb?
SUStheripper
post Sep 12 2006, 12:22 PM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Sep 12 2006, 12:15 PM)
Previously i use 9600 PRO.. cannot detect temperature.. Fry i also dunno.. If ya don't overclock it.. It shouldn't be a big problem.. Take ur fren PSU and give it a try..  thumbup.gif

Btw, ur 2.4 processor is 533fsb?
yep, definitely 533fsb. is it not good enough to support radeon 9800 pro? blush.gif sweat.gif

so the real problem here is the PSU rite? unsure.gif

ltw82, im downloading Everest now. will give the temperature read later. thanx.

This post has been edited by theripper: Sep 12 2006, 12:23 PM
tyrion4
post Sep 12 2006, 12:26 PM

277 posts

I used to use a 533FSB CPU with my Radeon 9800 Pro. No problems running it whatsoever.

Your PSU either isn't giving enough juice or it's a cooling issue. 9800's run pretty darn hot!
nicotine
post Sep 12 2006, 01:04 PM

Raging Storm
3,669 posts

Never use chaplang psu when you have high-end stuff inside .. eg raddy 9800p.. those card were darn power hungry .. FYI ..my akucomel psu encounter those prob which u stated but it's on wc3.. and eventually it fried 2 peice of raddy 9500p ... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by nicotine: Sep 12 2006, 01:04 PM
Amedion
post Sep 12 2006, 01:12 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(theripper @ Sep 12 2006, 12:22 PM)
yep, definitely 533fsb. is it not good enough to support radeon 9800 pro? blush.gif sweat.gif

Bro, i tell you wat.. Before u purchase new PSU.. Now u go to the BIOS settings there.. Then find the overlock option there.. Choose Compatible Mode to ON.. Then try again and see if it got freeze somemore or not.. That's will lower ur usage of POWER.. thumbup.gif
SUStheripper
post Sep 12 2006, 01:52 PM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Sep 12 2006, 01:12 PM)
Bro, i tell you wat.. Before u purchase new PSU.. Now u go to the BIOS settings there.. Then find the overlock option there.. Choose Compatible Mode to ON.. Then try again and see if it got freeze somemore or not.. That's will lower ur usage of POWER..  thumbup.gif
i've checked the BIOS just now, and couldn't find the Choose Compatible Mode.

now im quite worry that i might spoil the card as a consequence of using unsuitable PSU. only played CS 1.6 couple of times before as i just bought it last Sunday. what's the sign of broken gc? should i unplug the card till i get new PSU? it's not a cheap gc at all, at least not to me. sad.gif

This post has been edited by theripper: Sep 12 2006, 01:53 PM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 12 2006, 01:58 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Just go buy a quality PSU ler. Worthy investment that won't go obsolete for the next 5 years unlike other parts of the PC.
Amedion
post Sep 12 2006, 02:16 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(theripper @ Sep 12 2006, 01:52 PM)
i've checked the BIOS just now, and couldn't find the Choose Compatible Mode.

now im quite worry that i might spoil the card as a consequence of using unsuitable PSU. only played CS 1.6 couple of times before as i just bought it last Sunday. what's the sign of broken gc? should i unplug the card till i get new PSU? it's not a cheap gc at all, at least not to me. sad.gif
Got.. You try and find properly.. Last time i also use that mobo.. It reduce the usage of ur processor to 10%.. It won't damage ur 9800 leh.. Jz u will experience system freeze or auto-restart..
ltw82
post Sep 12 2006, 02:38 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(theripper @ Sep 12 2006, 11:20 AM)
i think it is. e Master brand that comes/bundled together with the casing.

brows.gif
i know which unique lowyat shop using eMaster....
my friend running a GForce mx440 on tht 400w PSU too....

QUOTE(theripper @ Sep 12 2006, 12:22 PM)
no problem running 9800pro....
as said by others 9800pro drain power more than ur PSU supporting....
SUStheripper
post Sep 12 2006, 03:31 PM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Sep 12 2006, 02:16 PM)
Got.. You try and find properly.. Last time i also use that mobo.. It reduce the usage of ur processor to 10%.. It won't damage ur 9800 leh.. Jz u will experience system freeze or auto-restart..
i've tried for so many times, and still couldn't find the CPU Compatible Mode. maybe i got an outdated bios. never flashed since i bought it back in late 2003.

guess the only solution now is to find better PSU rite?
Amedion
post Sep 12 2006, 03:52 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(theripper @ Sep 12 2006, 03:31 PM)
i've tried for so many times, and still couldn't find the CPU Compatible Mode. maybe i got an outdated bios. never flashed since i bought it back in late 2003.

guess the only solution now is to find better PSU rite?
Yes.. I think you better find those Pure/true power.. with 300w shud be enuff for ur rig.. wink.gif

same like mine last time.. play warcraft 3 till wanna throw keyboard.. keeps getting fatal error and system freeze.. laugh.gif

Btw, ur psu comes wif the casing , rite? u see if there's a switch? 200W > 220W.. switch to higher de.. if dun have nvm.. get new PSU.. remember nowadays psu dun comes wif the plug for ur monitor.. better go purchase another one..

Good luck.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Amedion: Sep 12 2006, 03:54 PM
SUStheripper
post Sep 12 2006, 07:29 PM

Ping Pong Club!
6,682 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Sep 12 2006, 03:52 PM)
remember nowadays psu dun comes wif the plug for ur monitor.. better go purchase another one..
what did u mean by that? sorry for being a noob. blush.gif

ok, i'll get a new pure/true PSU as soon as possible. thanks guys for the helps. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by theripper: Sep 12 2006, 07:31 PM

0.0186sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:13 AM