Aircon Discussion v2, Continuing on from previous AC topics

halcyon27
post Nov 5 2014, 08:16 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Nov 5 2014, 03:47 PM)
Wanna quiet go for ME at 21db, Pana at least 25-29db, York/Daikin 29db now, LG premium 19db, Hitachi as sleep 19db, samsung unknown,

All here can be found was inverter only.

Wanna buy a Aircon also same like car specs, wanna get 6 air bag go for full specs else
Hitachi on quiet mode 19dB confirmed but their AUTO fan speed still too noisy for my liking.

Samsung triangle AR series depends on which range and HP.
Deluxe Non inverters ARnnHCFSxxxxxx series (R22)
1.0/1.5HP - 35-25/37-26dB
2.0/2.5HP - 41-30/42-31dB

Premium Non inverters ARnnHCSDxxxxxx series (R22)
1.0/1.5HP - 35-25/37-26dB
2.0/2.5HP - 41-30/42-31dB

Deluxe inverter ARnnHVFSxxxxxx series (R410a)
1.0/1.5HP - 37/38-22dB
2.0/2.5HP - 42-26/44-30dB

Premium inverter ARnnHVSDBxxxx series no wifi (R410a)
1.0/1.5HP - 36/37-21dB
2.0/2.5HP - 42-26/44-30dB

Premium inverter ARnnHVSFNxxxxxx series w wifi (R410a)
1.0/1.5HP with wifi is 38-20dB

I use the premium inverter AR09/12HVSDB models. Both are quiet even without activating quiet mode.

QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Nov 5 2014, 05:38 PM)
Was intrigued by Samsung modern design, but in the end decided to get the Sharp 2.0HP Plasma Cluster inverter for RM2599 with installation (Samsung 2.0HP Inverter with Virus Doctor was RM2499 with installation) at the recent Home Dec. Somehow not convinced with Samsung reliability and also their designs keep changing very fast (worried on spare parts availability once warranty over). Sharp has its own A-Force team for air conditioner, so hopefully no problems on after sales support.
I use the Sharp 2.0 and 2.5 inverter in my dining and living. Their 1HP AHXP10LV since installed in my old place very clean. My installer every time come service says no need to clean or chemical wash. I turn on self clean mode every time after usage. Gas top-up wasn't necessary day 1 it was installed. Only thing is intermittent fan noise but that could be due to less than 6" ceiling clearance. Turn off and on ok dy.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Nov 5 2014, 08:23 PM
halcyon27
post Nov 5 2014, 08:30 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Nov 5 2014, 03:55 PM)
im actually interested on sharp aircon due to its plasma custer thing... and samsung for the nice modern design...
Sharp inverter with Plasmacluster is value for money. One of the cheapest inverter. Samsung second cheapest but if go for that make sure premium inverter model which has VirusDoctor and Self-Clean like Sharp. Just make sure you use really good piping. Only thing is Samsung has 4 core wiring vs other sushi brands which uses 3 core wiring. You need to pre-warn your installer (normally they would know more) and if doing with pipe and wiring, put in 4 core wires.

One thing is that the Samsung model needs more breathing space than most sushi brands. Refer to their installation manual and comply and it should be fine.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Nov 5 2014, 08:32 PM
halcyon27
post Nov 5 2014, 08:43 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Nov 3 2014, 06:52 PM)
I never on my samsung triangle aircond yet, those samsung triangle user, how is the aircond? My house need around january only can done
If inverters, plan wiring properly and also carefully adhere to breathing space requirement for compressor. Kimchi brands need more breathing space generally.

Samsung inverters uses 4 core wiring. Download manual to confirm and show to installer to prepare him. If 4 wires, most likely need to pull wire. AC piping - I never looked back since using Inaba Denko or Smartco. Both marketed as Paircoil. Better buy your own and get installer repipe.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Nov 5 2014, 08:43 PM
halcyon27
post Nov 5 2014, 09:13 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Nov 5 2014, 08:23 PM)
Samsung triangle good to used additional filter from daiso, much easy for paste filter on top cover.
LOL, I bought one. But very hard to find stock.
halcyon27
post Nov 6 2014, 01:29 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Nov 6 2014, 01:25 PM)
So it does not reflect to actual real world environment
Thought whole purpose is to measure noise level emanating from the equipment being tested. The background noise have to be minimum for control.
halcyon27
post Dec 3 2014, 10:53 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 3 2014, 08:55 AM)
For long term, natural air still the best.
Some says using air cond are good, indeed it is good as it is creating more business opportunity especially on medical line. Not to mention ensuring TNB making billions every year.
Depends on where we live is one factor to consider. If we are surrounded by lots of trees or amidst green lung yes. The air quality is regenerated by the plants and trees. That's ideal and very lucky to those who's place has the legacy of good urban planning.

Right smack in urban surrounded by motorways, no. NO2 emissions from internal combustion engine is hazardous for health.

halcyon27
post Dec 3 2014, 11:03 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Dec 3 2014, 12:23 AM)
what van? ventilating fan or wall fan? I don't have sinus but I got rhinitis allergica.
That's because of minute particles like brake pads and combustion engine emissions soot from vehicles or diesel generators. See here. This one is best helped by appliances that deals with indoor air quality. Also air cond if on should be around 26-27 with 1 speed stand/ceiling fan. If cooling room, pre-cool it to AUTO 24-25 deg then when sleeping set it to AUTO at 26-27 and time it to turn off say btw 4-6am. The goal is to maintain humidity that's not too dry for the nose. 26-27 degrees Celsius doesn't produce too dry air. Otherwise put a basin of water in the room or invest in those air purifier that uses water to trap the excessive dust particles like Venta or Stadler Form Robert.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 3 2014, 11:04 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 3 2014, 11:08 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Dec 3 2014, 10:57 AM)
But aircon creates dry air.it's good for my allergic than humid air. People using aircon live longer.eg: singaporean and japanese
Bro, just regulate AC to be not too dry. 26-27 already good enough in combination with ceiling fan. Longevity - air quality is one of two external environment factor together with water quality.
halcyon27
post Dec 3 2014, 11:22 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(jeckyl @ Dec 2 2014, 11:27 PM)

If its raining or windy, I don't turn on my a/c. Only on hot days or when there is a lack of wind.

I feel a/c is more drying for me. Noticed I have more mucus in my sinus when I wake up when I use a/c. Don't have such issue with fan.

Also fan is good for ventilating the room

Edit: BTW my electricity bill never exceed 350 units/month for 2 person household.  icon_rolleyes.gif Can save more if the wifey use the oven less.
If you're operating it at 24 for even 4 hours yes eventually nose and throat will feel dry. The art or science for comfort cooling is if before sleeping and no one in the room, cool it down to 24-25 AUTO. Then when you enter and about to sleep, set it to 26-27 AUTO and turn on ceiling fan at 1-2 speed. Set AC timer to turn off by 4-6am. If using those KDK/Pana Nami fans, set it to turn off after 8 hours with sleep mode.

In my old condo, I used Daikin and because the remote uses 24-hour clock, I set to turn on at 9:45pm and turns off around 4:15am at 26deg, quiet and sleep mode. Same can be done for York remote except that I don't know if those features are available.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 3 2014, 11:24 AM
halcyon27
post Dec 3 2014, 11:33 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Dec 3 2014, 11:23 AM)
Already tried. Even I often went hospital since childhood for my asthma. 27 celcius better than 16 celcius la. It's just a myth 27 celcius will make ur aircon break. I often set 23-27 but I don't like the cool aircon like pana and sharp haha..like the cold aircon cold until my bone can feel it.
chill to the bone also no good. tongue.gif No wonder you get asthma. Drink more water and then go toilet before you retire for the day.
halcyon27
post Dec 3 2014, 11:39 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(boxer07 @ Dec 3 2014, 11:32 AM)
24hours on air con will make u sick .... there why there is something called fan
24 hour air con at too cold and too dry without drinking water can make ppl fall sick. Fan only helps with air movement but doesn't deal with humidity. Humidity too high at 28-30 degree range for too long also not good for health. Need to balance the usage. Read it that some offices now recommend 24 degrees. Actually, what I have seen one or two is to wear short sleeve and leave it at 25-26. Some offices have good AC design such that the air handlers move more air volume to spots that are nearer window or walls that faces sunlight. The rest nearer the inside is less air volume that's not too cold.
halcyon27
post Dec 3 2014, 12:12 PM

2,140 posts

Apparently, there's this thing that helps you measure all that in one neat package. Cubesensors

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 3 2014, 12:13 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 3 2014, 06:00 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(jeckyl @ Dec 3 2014, 04:37 PM)
A/C recirculates the air in the room. If your house in located in a so called 'developed' area, the a/c just recirculated all the VOC, NOx and SOx for you.

If the air quality in your housing area is bad, it is time to move to another area. Not shut the window and enjoy the cool recirculating dirty air  doh.gif
Some may suggest you install air purifiers. Air purifiers are rubbish. They only filter particulates. Fine particulates below PM10, and molecules like NOx and  SOx are not removed.

Basically if you are afraid of opening your window and breathing the air in, then time to stop breathing. (jk lar. don't actually stop breathing ok)
The removal of NOx is facilitated by photocatalytic materials like TiO2 which is bundled in some ACs. Best would be to use TiO2 impregnated paint on sun exposd surfaces. Cheaper still, plants.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 3 2014, 06:04 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 3 2014, 06:26 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(jeckyl @ Dec 3 2014, 06:07 PM)
Yep. Some modern paints have functional chemicals added to catalyse the breakdown of formaldehyde and NOx. But all these are on the surface of the wall only. Doesn't affect the rest of the room.

Some air cond will have gimmicks to remove these components as well. Dunno how well they work.

I say just use the air-cond and enjoy the cool air. But if the weather permits, better to open the window and enjoy the cold breeze.
Cannot worry about in-door pollution so much. You will get high blood pressure like that lor.
Your last sentence got me laughing. It's precisely because of air pollution - breathing those things in - that elevates blood pressure. biggrin.gif
halcyon27
post Dec 4 2014, 12:33 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Dec 4 2014, 10:07 AM)
Err..you do know how the Air cond works right?
setting it at 27 deg C actually give you a lower relative humidity.
which translate to drier air
Yes, but it's not that low a RH as compared to low compared to 24 degress. The reason why 26-27 degrees is that it yields high 60s to less than 70%-ish RH depending on prevailing relative humidity. That for many is bearable. Not too dry. My kids are ok with it. So long they drink water throughout the day, they don't dry cough after 10 hours of sleep.
halcyon27
post Dec 10 2014, 02:48 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(dman @ Dec 9 2014, 10:34 AM)
Installed the Triangle Samsung virus doctor inverter during room reno and yest is the first night using it.

I noticed the coldness not as great as some non-inverter aircon but the air not as dry as others non-inverter. This is the first aircon which didn't dry up my skin and throat during the night.

The compressor is very silent... maybe still new la

The only irritating thing is the LED screen which displays the temp quite bright during the night. If switch on the virus doctor function, there's blue strip of light on the vent which is even brighter. It look cool during non sleep time but a bit too bright when switch off room lighting for sleeping time.

Will comment more when uses more  cool2.gif
Triangle user here also. They know this and has provided a solution: Turn off the display.

Press (2nd F) + (good' sleep) <--writing below this latter button is labeled "Display Off"
halcyon27
post Dec 11 2014, 12:05 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Dec 11 2014, 11:07 AM)
In your opinion, is Kimchi product that bad?  hmm.gif
wrt air conds, kimchi brands need more generous ventilation clearance for their compressor. The back if against the wall must have at least 12" from wall whereas most sushi brands can tolerate 4". Otherwise, they do ok. Can download a manual and compare.
halcyon27
post Dec 11 2014, 05:39 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(laith @ Dec 11 2014, 02:58 PM)
Recently i see some shops are selling kimchi's inverter 1.0hp for lower than RM1K, looks like a great buy.
Triangle or non-triangle? Could be old inventory to clear esp non-triangle. If they are fit for purpose and you are aware of their limitations and their maintenance cost (like filter replacement if any) like what I mention above and take steps to mitigate them worth the risk to try.

For me, I would record down the model, check for reviews online, inquire about spare parts (cost of filters which needs m month or n years to replace and PCB) and weigh the turnaround wrt to sushi kimchi support in the area. If acceptable, check manual for any special installation requirements* and then get an installer to do as instructed in the manual.

* at least three I can think of:
1. Generous clearance for ventilation like 300mm(12") from back of wall or from the ceiling if under the roof or balcony esp. If that can be met, no reason why it can't be used.
2. Loop the refrigerant pipes one round behind the compressor to avoid excessive vibration etc. (Samsung or LG manuals have these illustration very prominent across their different models)
3. Data/signal wiring to prepare beforehand for indoor to outdoor unit. Samsung seems to use two in addition to default three (LNE=live neutral earth). So MCB---LNE---indoor/blower---LNE+2data---outdoor/compressor (confirm w manual specific to model)

Plus one crucial thing that only a minority does here (but mandatory all across in SG): use Smartco Paircoil or Inaba Denko Paircoil pipes. kimsim, you might want to take a picture of the piping insulation sleeves and show here of your AC installation.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 11 2014, 06:53 PM
halcyon27
post Dec 11 2014, 06:48 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Dec 11 2014, 06:41 PM)
Mine insulation quite simple just like m'sia, I know in m'sia still combine into 1 of insulation.

IN SG was each pipe got thier insulation
Doesn't matter of the brand so long as it's done right - ea pipe with their own insulation. Armacell is excellent but it's very hard to find here compared to Smartco and Inaba Denko.
halcyon27
post Dec 11 2014, 06:55 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Dec 11 2014, 06:52 PM)
But thier trunking can be very big size.
I think this caters for multiple pipes going back to a multi-system compressor if the pipes to different rooms or areas ply through a common route. Didn't know they do that. Cool! rclxms.gif

0.0309sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:37 AM