Shoulder Impingement Syndrome, Shoulder Injury

TSXccess
post Oct 27 2014, 11:03 AM, updated 11y ago

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Anyone had this injury before? Injured my left shoulder while lifting heavy weights few days back. The video below shows exactly the injury I sustained. Do I let it heal by itself or seek treatment?

http://m.youtube.com/watch?flyingspaghettiplay=1&v=yigbS9xZ2W0

This post has been edited by Xccess: Oct 27 2014, 11:07 AM
razorboy
post Oct 29 2014, 08:03 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

I have shoulder impingement in my right shoulder. Had it since 09. Went for treatments with an ortho, physio and chiro. They helped to alleviate the pain but not solve the problem. Pain is how your body tells you there's something wrong.

If you have hot areas, ice them first. I'm beating on a dead horse, just watch the video.
esy
post Oct 29 2014, 01:20 PM

160 posts

... thanks for the videos ... a common problem among bench presser ... biggrin.gif ...
Armesh
post Oct 29 2014, 03:30 PM

1,493 posts

I have a question.

I bench press too myself and as i know the elbows shud be tucked in 45-70 degress from the torso at the bottom position to prevent rotator cuff and shoulder injuries.

To the people here, did you got the shoulder impig injury due to bench? Did u kept your elbows tucked in at the bottom? Will this injury still occur if i tuck my elbows in 45 deg at bottom?
razorboy
post Oct 29 2014, 05:46 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Oct 29 2014, 03:30 PM)
I have a question.

I bench press too myself and as i know the elbows shud be tucked in  45-70 degress from the torso at the bottom position to prevent rotator cuff and shoulder injuries.

To the people here, did you got the shoulder impig injury due to bench? Did u kept your elbows tucked in at the bottom? Will this injury still occur if i tuck my elbows in 45 deg at bottom?
More often than not, any sort of shoulder injuries/impingement occurs when a person tries to do something that they do not have the particular mobility to do so / did not perform the movement in the strongest/safest position.

It is important to press with your shoulders in its' strongest position, which is in your shoulder socket. Your shoulders are a ball and joint structure, when you move your shoulders up and down, the ball rolls within the socket smoothly with the tendons in between, it is when the ball of the shoulder starts going out of position that causes an impingement which leads to inflammation.

Before you unrack the bar and when you're setting yourself to bench, let your shoulders fall into place and tuck your lats and create an arch the whole process is too long for me to type here (youtube - ben esgro bench - it's a video by slovation).

Before you play with at what degress should your elbows tuck, learn to press in your shoulder's strongest/safest position.

Mobilize your shoulders and iron out your lats by foam rolling and stretching on them. 15 minutes of mobility work before each bench session is better than numerous trips to the chiro/physician.

Kelly Starrett has a big library of videos on Shoulder joint health. Go through them if you guys have time. smile.gif
Armesh
post Oct 29 2014, 07:19 PM

1,493 posts

Thank you for the information espescially on pointing out a library.

I dun really bother on the exact angle, i just bench and tuck in my elbows for the most comfortable and strongest press... which comes to about 45 deg for me.

TSXccess
post Oct 30 2014, 09:11 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Seems like a common problem among weight lifter. I read an article stating the imbalance of scapula muscles can contribute to this problem.

Here's the article.
http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_articl...ulls_and_shrugs

This post has been edited by Xccess: Oct 30 2014, 09:31 PM
dannyhow88
post Dec 24 2014, 07:43 AM

My father have same problem with you. I found pad relieve pain it really work for pain. Just for 3-4days apply it relieved pain. Let me know it you still pain, I guide to where to buy it.
JSF
post Jan 2 2015, 10:12 PM

Well, I think most of the shoulder problems are caused by our internal shoulder rotation workouts such as pressing movements (bench press n so on). You may want to try include more external shoulder rotation works such as face pulls (great for rear delts too) and always include rotator cuff warm up before starting your heavy pressing movements. Hope this helps biggrin.gif
(I'm by no means a pro btw)
cablesguy
post Jan 18 2015, 03:42 PM

1,597 posts

Just did some shoulder exercises from Youtube, after a few reps, i can lift my left arm and touch the small of my back, couldnt do it for awhile and Im amazed, supposed to go for MRI checkup but was abit reluctant, think after a few days if my shoulder keeps improving, i might forget abt the MRI
TSXccess
post Jan 19 2015, 01:22 AM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Jan 18 2015, 03:42 PM)
Just did some shoulder exercises from Youtube, after a few reps, i can lift my left arm and touch the small of my back, couldnt do it for awhile and Im amazed, supposed to go for MRI checkup but was abit reluctant, think after a few days if my shoulder keeps improving, i might forget abt the MRI
Hey, I'm glad you're getting better. Be patience with your rehab, wish you speedy recovery. Take care!

0.0166sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:02 PM