The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V3, Bigger than bigger

TOMEI-R
post Oct 24 2014, 01:22 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Connect2USales @ Oct 24 2014, 01:19 PM)
haha.. I'm planning for 6 plus solely due to the battery life.. with that i do not need to buy a wifi+lte ipad air 2. just a wifi will do... hehe.. save some money..
It all depends on your needs. Especially if you are used to using a Note 3 or OPO, it would be wiser to get the + because you are used to the larger screen. But for me, I prefer something smaller which fits into my palms and pockets without much fuss. nod.gif

On another side, my Iphones cant replace my ipads/phonepads. Neither can the ipads/phonepads replace my ultrabook either. And the ultrabook still cant replace the comfort of my desktop in my office too. So I guess all have different functions feature which will suit whatever types of usage we are more concerned with.
TOMEI-R
post Oct 24 2014, 07:49 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Oct 24 2014, 03:35 PM)
Probably I should go for 16GB ip6 then since 1GB will probably be outdated soon.

No point going for the more future proof 64GB storage if the RAM is going to be the bottleneck.
QUOTE(Dinghydoggy @ Oct 24 2014, 03:42 PM)
Even if you go 16GB, that's at least two and a half grand for a phone that will be changed in a year. Ouch.

I'd rather go all out and just hope they don't optimise apps for 2GB too soon as there's too big a user base with older devices until enough years pass.

This coming from an iPhone 4s and iPad Air user. tongue.gif
QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Oct 24 2014, 03:43 PM)
Probably the RM400 is worth it... Look at the app size these days, even Flickr use >200MB

Just hope Apple continue to support 1GB RAM model. I could have gone for Android but since using iPad mini retina I much prefer iOS  sweat.gif
QUOTE(kahjye @ Oct 24 2014, 03:47 PM)
Yeah , but i guess 1 GB should be good , no? lol.

Look at 4s. 512mb and lags like ueugugudfaj. lel.

well we can look at 4s as our example. lags like fek
oh smile.gif

currently i bumped myself from iphone 5 to note 3. [ note 3 has 3 Gigs of ram yo ]

thikin to get back to ios but what samurai1337 makes me doubting myself haha.
Based on the Latest IPAD AIR 2 which comes with a similar A8X processor and 2GB Ram, it would be VERY certain that the next model of the Iphone which will be the 6S will certainly follow suit with 2GB of RAM. nod.gif

TOMEI-R
post Oct 24 2014, 10:58 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Oct 24 2014, 08:35 PM)
I beg to differ

This is a forum which should embrace different ideas and opinions. I can still make constructive opinions regardless it's apple product or avocado products. Liking Apple products doesn't mean I have to worship them all the time like a fanboy without my own idea

even I end up buying it, I can still openly talk about it's pros and cons and that's the beauty of this forum  rolleyes.gif

-- replying from iPad mini 2
QUOTE(slickz @ Oct 24 2014, 08:53 PM)
Well said!  laugh.gif 

Holy shiat .... dat benchmark..... I heard A8x was fast but I didn't expect it to be THAT fast.

sweat.gif

It's hard to say la these kinds of things, solid experience, value for money are all different ideas to different people. If your current situation is a student from a middle income family, you have different priorities on where you spend your money so cheaper phone = value for money.

So value for money means something else compared to the working class single gentleman who needs a phone with a robust system that can handle multiple whatsapp group conversations discussing on work related issues, while juggling his online relationship with a potential gf. laugh.gif The value you get from a good phone handling complicated tasks can bring different returns, tangible or intangible.  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(Connect2USales @ Oct 24 2014, 09:18 PM)
+1. As a consumer, we should have an open mind on the products. As long as we want to be brand loyalty., the brand should not be complacent and keep on offering quality products. Just because you are good and famous today makes u a hero forever.
I used to hate android for being laggy and battery drain.. but with jelly bean onwards, i started to accept it. While I still prefer iOS as my main device, who knows someday android able to take over if apple stop innovating? Almost quit ipad after selling my mini 2. but with the new ipad air 2 and Mac OS X Yosemite and iOS 8 features such as continuity, i decided to get the new ipad air 2..
Its always fun to see Apple Fanboys with their "die hard mentality that Apple Can Do no Wrong" ideology and comments. laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Oct 24 2014, 11:11 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Well... At least they kept to their promise of replying to us within 3 days.

Sent from my IPhone 6. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 24 2014, 11:14 PM

TOMEI-R
post Oct 24 2014, 11:39 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Braxton @ Oct 24 2014, 11:27 PM)
if online preoder maxis will ship us on 6/11 or 7/11
hope don't 31/11
Haha. Don't worry. It wont come on the 31st November because there is no 31st on the month of October. laugh.gif Joking.

For all those intending to buy, if you don't plan to take up any plans with telcos, it would be much easier and faster to get from Apple Online Store My and Apple Resellers like Mac City, Switch etc. You could .also get the iphone 6 from Courts Mammoth and SenQ if they receive their stocks earlier like what happened to the 5S

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 24 2014, 11:41 PM
TOMEI-R
post Oct 24 2014, 11:46 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Braxton @ Oct 24 2014, 11:41 PM)
nonono, i mean preoder and make payment in 31oct and get phone on 30nov hmm.gif
QUOTE(kc6012 @ Oct 24 2014, 11:44 PM)
If we order via maxis online store, I wonder we need to pay advanced payment or not?
For those intending to order via Maxis Online Store, im not too sure if they were to apply same conditions as of last year's 5s whereby only applications for NEWLY REGISTERED LINES were allowed to buy from them Needless to say, stock availability was instant but you have to register a new line with a new number.
TOMEI-R
post Oct 24 2014, 11:51 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Braxton @ Oct 24 2014, 11:48 PM)
mana boleh macam tu
i still plan convert my prepaid to postpaid
Im not saying it must be that way but that was how it work with Maxis Online Store for last year's 5s during launch.
TOMEI-R
post Oct 25 2014, 11:17 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Judging by the improvements made and the exceptionally high demand, I think the 6 would be more expensive than the 5s. nod.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 25 2014, 11:17 PM
TOMEI-R
post Oct 26 2014, 10:09 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 26 2014, 09:58 AM)
Does your battery lasts you the whole day without charges in between? Say some surfing, whatsapp, some calls and occasionally some games?
Both the 6 and 6+ will definately last you a day's usage with your said of usage. Mine comes to average 1 1/2 days, even with the 6 if no gaming is involved.
TOMEI-R
post Oct 26 2014, 10:18 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 26 2014, 10:14 AM)
Then maybe I'll be ok with the 6. My iPhone 5 previously would be dead by 2pm everyday (unplug from charging at about 6am)...
If you prefer smaller size, then 6 is good enough. 5s battery usage is high compared to 5s. 6 is better than 5s at about 30% rate. I would say the 6+ is another 20% better than the 6.
TOMEI-R
post Oct 26 2014, 10:53 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Oct 26 2014, 10:43 AM)
i had done some battery tests of my own and found the battery on the i6+ a beast.
on a full charge, i manage to power thru entire weekend, with still some life left to go thru 1/3 of a monday. 100% on friday 5pm, 10% on monday 10am.
only thing i did not game during this time.

on other tests, a full charge at 8am with 3g on will leave u with 50-40% at 8pm.
if u choose only wifi, same time will leave u with 80-70%

all this without compromising on screen time such as fb, whatsapp, twitter, calls, etc.
+1.
Like I said it depends entirely on your usage. Group whatsapp are the main battery drainer imo. Ting ting tongtong the whole day and night. rclxub.gif
TOMEI-R
post Oct 26 2014, 11:43 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(jns6888 @ Oct 26 2014, 10:20 PM)
my friend relative get a 6+ from US...

it without sim slot...

rclxub.gif
First time im hearing this. Your relative's iphone use wifi only? laugh.gif

Ps... Dont always believe in whatever people tell you to. nod.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 26 2014, 11:45 PM
TOMEI-R
post Oct 26 2014, 11:56 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Oct 26 2014, 04:17 PM)
Guys is there anyone using Digi for the IPhone 6 + seem always 3G and no LTE symbol. Using Australia set
Could be the aus set you are using be a different LTE network band compared to Sg and My sets. I heard Digi is utilizing a different bandwidth compared to celcom and maxis. One of my previous iphone 5 which I gave to a staff cannot get LTE either and we are on digi as well. Previously the phone could get LTE when i was using it but I was on Maxis.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 27 2014, 12:09 AM
TOMEI-R
post Oct 27 2014, 12:11 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(silencer5089 @ Oct 27 2014, 12:02 AM)
digi using 2600mhz for lte.

iphone 5 sg/aus/my set only support 1800 mhz which maxis is using

https://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/

scroll down to iphone 5 then u will see the bandwith supported by ip5.
Spot on.

My oh my...look at the typo i wrote. I really hate replying threads using my ipads. Sure got lotsa typos. doh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Oct 27 2014, 10:00 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Oct 27 2014, 12:18 AM)
well if you see the link it shows australia set does support 2600Mhz frequency band.

Is your digi account including LTE in its service?
Yes, its a corporate account as it is a company line. The sim card has been changed to Digi's latest Nanosim card (Black Sim Card) and still doesnt work. Called Digi CS and they told me certain Iphone 5 models doesn't support their LTE bandwidth.

QUOTE(jns6888 @ Oct 27 2014, 12:57 AM)
i'm too firdt time heard this..
waiting she pass to me to see the i6+ witout sim slot.

If she does, im sure you can keep the phone as a dummy display already.  laugh.gif  How are you going to use local carrier sims here?  rclxub.gif

rclxub.gif
QUOTE(rathian_mhfu @ Oct 27 2014, 01:30 AM)
Maybe she couldnt find it..or maybe its an ipod?
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 27 2014, 07:08 AM)
It could be USA CDMA version. Such set doesn't use any simcard ( like what we had here). These are tied down to telco n telco info embedded into phone. This is my understanding of CDMA sets but hadn't seen any USA CDMA sets yet
CDMA sets are locked to telco that sell it n I understand you cannot switch telco too.
CDMA networks not supported in M'sia n many other Asian countries too
+1
But I read that CDMA versions of the iphone were only produced on iphone 4 and iphone 5 batches. Iphone 6 and 6 + only comes carrier locked and it still has a sim card tray but already comes standard with their respective telco nano sim inserted and it doesn't comes with the sim card ejector like mentioned.

If for me, I would save myself all these hassle and buy a local MY set since its due to launch already now. thumbup.gif

TOMEI-R
post Oct 27 2014, 10:02 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Oct 27 2014, 05:33 AM)
you mean without SIM ejector laugh.gif

I saw an uncle today wanting to return his iphone 6 plus to apple store because it didn't come with a SIM ejector  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
I couldn't imagine what poor Apple staff have to go through with customers like this everyday. laugh.gif laugh.gif

You should have walked over and asked him to sell you his unit at half price because his is a defective unit. laugh.gif laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Oct 27 2014, 10:13 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Braxton @ Oct 27 2014, 10:08 AM)
Though it says "original outlet", that doesn't mean the item is original. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 27 2014, 10:16 AM
TOMEI-R
post Oct 27 2014, 10:25 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 27 2014, 10:19 AM)
I remember buying a Melko case for my ex Note once. The photo shots shows it really looks like original Melko. I had bought several Melko cases before from Melko site directly and their flipcases always follow same pattern on different phone models. I bought it since was cheap RM80 vs Melko site quoted RM 120
When I received it straightaway I know it was an imitation : firstly its external packaging doesn't had Melko badging and its bottom side of the flipcase doesn't had a cutout for the USB port
I contacted the seller and he had the nerve to tell me " I didn't advertised it as original Melko , just Melko " !!
Well it was a good lesson learned buying cheaper than original pricing
You didnt give him a piece of your mind then? Yeah, we all gadget fans have to learn this the hard way. Mine was never to buy from those non reputable sellers in Digital Mall or Lowyat Plaza. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(hawkl @ Oct 27 2014, 10:20 AM)
I'm using DiGi line in iphone 6+. I didn't face this problem before.. My phone is SG set...
No, not Singapore sets. This only involves Australian Iphone 5 and below.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 27 2014, 10:26 AM
TOMEI-R
post Oct 27 2014, 12:20 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(LeonTan @ Oct 27 2014, 11:56 AM)
iPhone 5 and Iphone 5s US SET is not compatible in Malaysia coz they are not using band 7. They only can detect LTE 2100Mhz instead of 2600Mhz.

Celcom and Maxis using 2100/2600MHZ. Digi using 2100.
QUOTE(ckeong89 @ Oct 27 2014, 12:08 PM)
celcom and maxis use 1800/2600mhz. digi n umobile use 2600mhz.
2100mhz used in thailand by truemove and ais
Could somebody clarify on this so we could ask TS to put it on the main page. This is important though so that questions on LTE bandwidth need not be raised again and again.

QUOTE(Braxton @ Oct 27 2014, 12:15 PM)
ohmy.gif
i go switch buy better blush.gif
thanks for sharing
We have some reputable sellers here at LYN marketplace too. Could check with them.

TOMEI-R
post Oct 27 2014, 12:59 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(ckeong89 @ Oct 27 2014, 12:50 PM)
iPhone LTE
[attachmentid=4188143]
Digi LTE
[attachmentid=4188141]
Maxis LTE
[attachmentid=4188142]
Celcom LTE (cant find on official website, this is from wiki)
[attachmentid=4188145]
Great info there thumbup.gif . winkiedilwy Could you please post this on the main page so as peope could read through before asking the same questions on this again and again.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Oct 27 2014, 12:59 PM

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0408sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:14 AM