Ask me anything abt Construction Industry!, Q&A

CoffeeDude
post Feb 3 2015, 10:11 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Feb 2 2015, 02:48 PM)
must electrical wires be always in plastic conduits if embedded inside walls?

i want to install extra point from my pillar light point to other spots along same wall, so thinking to just run thicker wires on top edge and then brick/plaster it up
My contractor told me if you just have bare wires in the walls and plaster it up.
In case anything happens and you need to replace those wires, do you want to hack the wall?
pokie182
post Feb 4 2015, 11:49 PM

94 posts

what is the market rate for labour wages per hour? Those indo and bangla at site. I suspect the site staff makan duit company by overcharging the workers wages.
xbbshampoo
post Feb 9 2015, 02:20 PM

AudioPedoPhile : >
869 posts

any nice construction cost estimation software to recommend or not? brows.gif
shadow_walker
post Feb 10 2015, 02:53 PM

1,288 posts

WHY U DRIVE PREVE?
SUSYello_page
post Feb 11 2015, 12:49 PM

123 posts

Hi TS, im going to do renovation in office soon and i would like to put Vinyl flooring. Just want to ask can the vinyl glue to the floor? Because i concern about the edge of the vinyl, especially in the mddle of walkway, can collect dust and pple can kick it and koyak. Isit expensive?? Any other cheaper method beside tiles, because the office is just temporary, maybe 2 or 3 years

TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 10:40 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(watever77 @ Jan 8 2015, 12:18 PM)
1. How to calculate the costs for using excavator or bulldozer for land clearing works

2. Is there any difference in the rates for works in city place and rural place
1. depend how contractor value the thing. first u need to identify the duration, then the area. so your cost to do would be duration x daily rental (including operator). then divided into area and plus some buffer and profit & attendance. anyway, need to be bid accurately as u don't wish your work have no volume.

2. yeap, logistic would be contributed to those cost.
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 10:48 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(zaFrOoNaLdO @ Jan 8 2015, 05:06 PM)
hi curious, why certain roads cant last long. i read somewhere, a road supposedly can last 10 years. but nowadays, today u tampal the pothole, next week the hole reappears.

what is the reason?

also, i was there a pothole in the first place? is it the quality of work/tar? or the temperature of the day? or isit bcos the road not yet ready to be used yet they already open the road for usage (this could be bcos its a main road etc).
mostly is quality / workmanship. prior laying premix (to u is tar road la) they need to have a compacted ground. usually they will compact it by laying crusher run. when not well compact and got porous within the crusher run, then crack / pothole will occur in time. below is the section of premix (also known as tar road in ur understanding)

TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 10:48 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ Jan 8 2015, 11:32 PM)
single layer wood panel is it call tinfaban?
tinfaban mean ceiling? rclxub.gif unsure.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 10:50 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Jan 10 2015, 09:37 AM)
Why some tar road at our highways looks very wet and slippery?

But on other tar road eg:new nkve from klang to subang rven when it rains, the tar doesnt look wet and dont really have water splashing up into the air

But ive been driving at vietnam our road condition much better
cry.gif
usually those tar road will form a slope (very low degree of slope) so the water will flow to side and discharge to scupper drain. yeap, ours much better because of we have plenty of resources.
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 10:51 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jan 10 2015, 03:02 PM)
Anyone tried this epoxy flake coating as a waterproofing coating?

http://www.enmulticoat.com.my/products/

My car porch ceiling has a lot of water marks and it is coming from the balcony floor.

Is epoxy the best material for waterproofing?
usually those rectification using epoxy grout. just do the treatment on the leakage spot. by drilling a hole there and pump epoxy grout to fill those capillary of water line.
kamfoo
post Feb 16 2015, 10:53 PM

845 posts

hallo r u contractor....maybe want to make sexy porch
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 10:54 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Jacho @ Jan 12 2015, 11:09 AM)
Hi Bro, my name is Jacho.  Im in construction industry in Singapore.
Got intention to start something here in Malaysia. Cause now in SG, levies and all labour cost went up quite a lot....  may I ask...

1)  How is the construction industries over there in My?
2) labour issue easy to solve ?
3) payment issue easy to collect or there ?

Im more into prefab housing like construction site office usually in white n blue color. Or building up workers dormitory..  I think you likely to see b4. I think demands are picking up over there...

Ultimately is the sales and collection part that Im worrying..
Care to advise ?
in Malaysia, we have cost competition. u may offer good price but usually lowest bidder will get the job. of course quality is an issue however nobody will know the quality unless u are a very reputable contractor. usually those are selective tendering. payment issue is really depend la, if client don't wanna honour what can u do? legal proceeding and wasting legal fee nia. it's a risk to work as contractor here in fact unless u really have strong financing power and have strong legal knowledge.
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 10:57 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Clement1001 @ Jan 13 2015, 11:41 AM)
TS can you care to explain the sequence for a construction substation from bare ground to handing over to tnb and the duration for them to energize it. Thanks
structural work > architectural work & M&E work > get local authority for inspection > local authority will give their comment and input on what to rectify prior handing over to them aka TNB > rectify and get inspection passed
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 10:59 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(davkong @ Jan 13 2015, 04:50 PM)
What do you think about CIDB SCORE's STAR rating? Is it an accurate representation of a company's performance? In your opinion, which is the best local construction company at the moment (in terms of financial performance, management capability, technical capability, etc.)?
construction company ar, a lot are good in financing power. but a lot of them also reluctant to get private job and hence lot contractor buy their own land and develop themselve. like IJM used to be a contractor. now they have IJM land. a lot of developer have their own construction team and hence they don't need contractor. like Ireka, YNH, UOA and etc. but of course when they wanna build those specialized building, they need specialized contractor. those usually are japanese / korean company who have the guys / knowledge to build.
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 11:00 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(NaShRiCk @ Jan 15 2015, 01:34 AM)
Bro. tell me more on construction survey. The job scope and responsibilities. TQ
construction survey? more like study about building technology nia biggrin.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 11:00 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Catalyzer @ Jan 16 2015, 05:07 PM)
Guys, anyone knows where to get electrical PVC conduit pipes in Malaysia? Prefer direct factories or distributors because it's more cheaper maaaaa... biggrin.gif

I am planning for one project. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
no idea sweat.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 11:01 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(topearn @ Jan 17 2015, 09:00 PM)
Can I build a few houses in a bangalow lot with dimensionx 100 ft x 100 ft ?
can. why not?
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 11:02 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(hsbc2 @ Jan 18 2015, 11:22 AM)
WHERE TO BUY CHEAP TILES AND QUALITY FROM CHINA ? always kena cut throat when wanna use gloosy big tiles....
no idea. but go to those warehouse sale. they usually sell away those left over tile 1. yup, china now have lot of cheap and look like MML tile. not bad mang.
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 11:03 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jan 19 2015, 12:31 AM)
Hey,

I have 17 acre of land on Jeli Kelatan and currently seeking reputable developer. Any contact?
no idea la sweat.gif
so far, got prospect or not there unsure.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Feb 16 2015, 11:04 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Jan 19 2015, 10:36 PM)
my condo keep cracking here there, plastered cracks crack again, then pipe leak inside wall. swimmin pool after repair leak again.
What is happening ?
is it foundation problem ?
very minor crack? like hairline crack? very likely is plastering issue more la. if foundation issue, the crack would be very big.

79 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:28 PM