10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Movies Marvel Presents: DR STRANGE 1 & 2, CONFIRMED: Benedict Cumberbatch!

TSfiredauz
post Oct 15 2014, 03:22 PM, updated 12y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Sauce: http://moviepilot.com/posts/2014/09/03/joa...adbumps-2245537
No Joaquin Phoenix For Dr Strange

Fans convinced that Joaquin Phoenix becoming our Doctor Strange is all but a done deal might want to put away their Eye of Agamotto. According to Badass Digest, Phoenix is still very much in the running, but is balking right now at the finish line for two reasons: One, the traditionally lengthy Marvel contract, which could tie down the eclectic actor more than he'd like. And two, Phoenix isn't sure he can pull off a role in the Marvel system, with its massive green screen and VFX, its huge scope and scale of productions, and its extensive reshoots. Remember, this is an actor used to doing much more intimate, smaller films, so it's a testament to him that he can recognize that he would not be as comfortable in this type of production.

Sauce: http://collider.com/keanu-reeves-doctor-strange/
Keanu Reeves Talks DOCTOR STRANGE and His Stance on Comic Book Movies in General

For the past week or so since Joaquin Phoenix dropped out of negotiations to play the title role in Marvel’s Doctor Strange (and even before that really if you go back a few months) the internet has been torn virtually asunder by chatter regarding whom might be right for the role.  One of the names that has been bandied about in recent days is Keanu Reeves and I can see why he’s a fan casting favorite.  Not only does he have the right look and demeanor for the role, but he’s worked with director Scott Derrickson before on The Day the Earth Stood Still.

From a practical standpoint the idea of a longtime contract is sort of “errr” because you want to make sure the material is up to a certain level.  Like the good or great level.  I like the idea.  I go to those kinds of movies.  I grew up on them and comics and graphic novels.  [But] I didn’t know Doctor Strange as a character, I didn’t read that as a kid.  I’m gonna have to read it. I remember reading something… who’s going to play Doctor Strange? Would I be good for the role?

Sauce: http://badassdigest.com/2014/10/14/that-cr...doctor-strange/
That Crazy Old Wizard Ewan McGregor Is In The Running For Doctor Strange

With Joaquin Phoenix out of the running for Doctor Strange Marvel has had to go back to the drawing board to figure out who will headline their next big franchise. They have their director, they're getting their script together, they just need their star. So who is it gonna be?

Yesterday a new source contacted me and said that Ewan McGregor had been prepping for the role - doing the usual research actors do when looking at taking on an adaptation or existing character. I contacted one of my usual sources and asked if this was true, and I was told "They're looking at him."

Looking at him! That's sort of vague, I'll admit it, but with the casting starting over again this at least tells us what direction Marvel is taking the character. I was kind of hoping that with Phoenix out they might go alternative - a black actor, perhaps - but they're hitting white and middle aged (Phoenix is 39, McGregor is 43).

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 6 2022, 08:17 AM
VinluV
post Oct 15 2014, 03:24 PM

1,947 posts

Keanu did say in a reddit AMA that he had not considered the role, and no one approached him.
Mov_freak
post Oct 15 2014, 03:39 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

I can see why Keanu Reeves can actually do the role well.

There has been so many tragedies in his personal life. And With Doctor Strange, all the emotion is always under the skin.

If I was the power to be in Marvel, I would seriously consider him!!
Mov_freak
post Oct 16 2014, 08:43 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Ryan Gosling courted by both DC (Suicide Squad) & Marvel (Doctor Strange)?....

Wow
DonDropUrSoap
post Oct 28 2014, 04:47 AM

368 posts

Its' Official!!! Cumberbatch is Dr. Strange
http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Benedict-Cu...fics-67897.html
psychicd
post Oct 28 2014, 09:28 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(DonDropUrSoap @ Oct 28 2014, 04:47 AM)
love his acting in Star Trek Into Darkness and his accent.. thumbup.gif
Xander-G
post Oct 28 2014, 09:30 AM

316 posts

Who the hell is Dr.Strange?
skystrike
post Oct 28 2014, 10:39 AM

back to normal
1,279 posts

will this film included in marvel cinematic universe?? same universe with avengers??
TSfiredauz
post Oct 28 2014, 10:54 AM

876 posts

AWWWWW YEARGHHHHHHH rclxms.gif
Dominic Toretto
post Oct 28 2014, 11:07 AM

70 posts

FCUCK YEAAAAAHHHHH
deathTh3Cannon
post Oct 28 2014, 11:14 AM

248 posts

why the hype around doc strange?
SUSErgoProxi
post Oct 28 2014, 11:24 AM

Aren't I just good enough to eat?
2,702 posts

why so strange?
mon678
post Oct 28 2014, 11:26 AM

463 posts

hey that dr strange that uses magical power in marvel.
rhoyo
post Oct 28 2014, 11:33 AM

-
2,800 posts

i only know him from amazing spiderman cartoon

Mov_freak
post Oct 28 2014, 12:11 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

By Eye of Agomotto!!! laugh.gif
SUSCliffrisonJr.
post Oct 28 2014, 12:25 PM

Young and Bangang.
2,422 posts

i think cucumberbatch will fit the role nicely brows.gif
TSfiredauz
post Oct 28 2014, 01:41 PM

876 posts

stormlcc
post Oct 28 2014, 03:34 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

i would go to the cinema to watch B.C but not Dr. Strange if he's not in it.
damnself
post Oct 28 2014, 06:31 PM

244 posts

Last time also people ask question "who the hell is Guardians of the Galaxy"

And then, boom!
Ichighost
post Oct 28 2014, 07:00 PM

358 posts

damn, I always want him to be the next Dc's Joker

long face Joker !!