Asus Zenfone Official Thread Version 4, ASUS 華碩 ZenFone 5 LTE (A500KL)

xtemujin
post Oct 12 2014, 08:08 PM

318 posts

Looking forward for Asus to solve the problem of battery drain when Location is on, even at Battery Saving, the drain is quite significant.

This post has been edited by xtemujin: Oct 12 2014, 08:09 PM
xtemujin
post Oct 13 2014, 01:35 AM

318 posts

I've to be frank quite frustrating as no choices for a rugged case for the ZF6 like from Otterbox or UAG.
xtemujin
post Oct 15 2014, 11:41 PM

318 posts

I've to agree, finally able to root my ZF6 and now no more battery drain when Location is On.

Cheers.

QUOTE(my_name_is_lee @ Oct 15 2014, 02:10 AM)
rite bro.. now my battery life,ram,memory space is working great. i gained full control on my phone and never faced any problem like before. so excited on what else i can explore with this phone tongue.gif
xtemujin
post Oct 19 2014, 10:13 AM

318 posts

Install Battery Doctor to check what app is running.

QUOTE(mazmanms @ Oct 19 2014, 09:33 AM)
happen again last nite ... no call b4 .. mmmm ... feel at back .. cpu hot ..
not sure what apps runs background ..
xtemujin
post Nov 2 2014, 06:56 AM

318 posts

Settings - Lock screen - Owner info

QUOTE(marvelite2000 @ Nov 2 2014, 04:47 AM)
Hi all, had my Zenfone 5 a coupla days, anybody  knows how to put some text on the Lock Screen? I want to put my  email address on the Lock Screen just in cast I misplace it, the person that found it won't have an excuse not to return it. Was able to do it on my previous Androids, but could not figure it on the Zenfone customised UI.
xtemujin
post Nov 2 2014, 09:12 PM

318 posts

Actually a lot of us here have given the advice not to upgrade to Kitkat if you've read the forum.

The downgrade tutorial was also listed in the forum.

http://www.asus-zenfone.com/2014/09/how-to...an-Zenfone.html

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Nov 2 2014, 07:45 PM)
Anyone knows how to reverse back from 4.4 to 4.3?

xtemujin
post Nov 4 2014, 06:56 AM

318 posts

All gps will need clear sky to get the satellite signal.

Tha assisted gps, agps, uses cellphone tower to get a location fix.

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Nov 3 2014, 11:29 PM)
frankly speaking, i switch on the GPS Status inside my hse and get "0" satellites.
haizzzzzz.....
maybe zenfone 6 gps only working under clear blue sky...
This post has been edited by xtemujin: Nov 4 2014, 06:56 AM
xtemujin
post Nov 4 2014, 05:21 PM

318 posts

Yeah, I'm also noticing that there is a battery drain after I updated the Zen UI app.

QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 4 2014, 02:37 PM)
you mean it happen after installing the new zen ui?
xtemujin
post Nov 5 2014, 07:12 PM

318 posts

I've just uninstalled the Zen launcher and had to reinstall the apps again.

Updated the Zen laucher after reading about the update.

Now, back to the battery drain again, 1% battery drop per hour on standby.

Have to uninstall again.

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Nov 5 2014, 02:41 PM)
there is another update on ZenUI today!  brows.gif
xtemujin
post Nov 11 2014, 01:36 PM

318 posts

Yes, system update for Zenfone 6 too, V2.20.40.13.

xtemujin
post Nov 11 2014, 02:40 PM

318 posts

My Zenfone 6 is the WW version.

Must go to Settings -> System Updates.

HTH.

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Nov 11 2014, 02:21 PM)
where got this bro?
i looked on asus my website on  Version V2.20.40.8(CN)
any link? i wanna update oso..hihi
xtemujin
post Nov 12 2014, 04:13 AM

318 posts

The root still intact after the firmware update?

QUOTE(AminArmani @ Nov 12 2014, 12:01 AM)
Mine also rooted.  but it updated just fine.
xtemujin
post Nov 12 2014, 05:16 PM

318 posts

I've updated the firmware on my Zenfone 6.

You'll need to reroot after the update.

Cheers.

QUOTE(AminArmani @ Nov 12 2014, 02:49 PM)
Yep. Still remain rooted. Everything's seems good.
This post has been edited by xtemujin: Nov 12 2014, 07:19 PM
xtemujin
post Nov 13 2014, 05:44 PM

318 posts

Asustek to add second chip partner to ZenFone 2 series
By CNA | 13 November 2014 Thursday | 14:27 (GMT+8)

Taiwan's Asustek said Wednesday that it plans to add a second chip supplier for the successor of its low-cost ZenFone range as part of efforts to double its smartphone shipments next year.

Asustek CEO Jerry Shen told the press at an investor conference that the company intends to launch its ZenFone 2 models at the Consumer Electronics Show in the United States in January next year, with a starting price tag of NT$9,990 (US$327).

All of the new phones scheduled for release at the annual trade show will be powered by Intel chips and will support 4G LTE connectivity, Shen said, adding that LTE-enabled phones will account for about 30%-40% of Asustek's total smartphone shipments in 2015.

The company estimates that it will ship 8 million smartphones this year and 16 million units next year, as it plans to expand the availability of ZenFones to about 20 markets globally from 14 markets this year, while putting more focus on China and Japan, he added.

To achieve that aggressive shipment target, Shen said, Asustek will team up with a second chip supplier to produce cheaper ZenFone 2 models priced at NT$4,990 (US$162.94).

The second-platform ZenFone 2 will include variants that will be launched in January with two major Chinese wireless carriers–China Mobile and China Telecom–with some other models designed for the global market, according to Shen, who declined to name the second chip supplier.

The CEO forecast that Asustek's smartphone business will turn profitable for the whole of next year and make up about 15% of the company's 2015 full-year revenue.

Asustek reported that day third-quarter net income of NT$5.81 billion (US$190 million), the highest level in the past six quarters, due in part to better-than-expected shipments of smartphones.

The company shipped 2.8 million smartphones during the third quarter, beating its previous target of 2.6 million units.

Shares of Asustek closed down 0.16% at NT$319.50 (US$10.43) Wednesday in Taipei before the company's earnings announcement.

http://www.wantchinatimes.com/news-subclas...campaign=buffer
xtemujin
post Nov 19 2014, 08:28 AM

318 posts

Try to insert a strong thin plastic sheet under the sim card then use a twizzer or needle to push it through the holes.

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Nov 19 2014, 08:17 AM)
this is ori warranty and I just bought it few days. but on zenfone guide book got ' should not use sim adapter on zenfone!'. I am afraid they said it's my mistake not follow the guide book.
xtemujin
post Nov 25 2014, 10:04 AM

318 posts

Both SIM slot are 3G enabled but during standby, one slot 3G and the other 2G.

QUOTE(kl87 @ Nov 24 2014, 02:51 PM)
Hi one question here, hope tat zenfone user can help explain abit.

I put in 2 cards, and original setting is sim 1 - 3g, sim 2 - 2g,

if suddenly i wanna change sim 2 - 3g, sim 1 - 2g, can it be done ?
xtemujin
post Nov 30 2014, 01:03 AM

318 posts

Not sure what happened, unable to power up my ZF6 after charging it with my Sanyo powerbank.

Going down to the Asus service centre here in Singapore on Monday.

I'll report the issues when it has been repaired.

xtemujin
post Dec 10 2014, 11:04 PM

318 posts

Looks like this is a common problem with the Zenfone phones.

I've sent my Zenfone 6 with the same problems for servicing at Asus Singapore last week.

Product repair is in progress.-[WB1] Wait for Material/Spare Parts

Nearly two weeks and still no news when it is ready for collection.

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Dec 10 2014, 07:12 PM)
dang it. my zenfone 4.5 is unable to charge or detect usb cable.
should RmA it or they're a DIY solution?
xtemujin
post Dec 12 2014, 10:20 AM

318 posts

Same situation with the Asus service centre here in Singapore, after two weeks still waiting for spare parts for the repair of my ZF6.

Difficult to promote Asus handphone to the bros here with the bad after sales service by Asus.

QUOTE(cleaner @ Dec 11 2014, 09:48 PM)
Yup..their sc still below par compared to samsung sc. My friend zf6 screen crack have to wait one month to get back and after receive, speaker out. Have to send back and wait another 2 weeks
xtemujin
post Dec 14 2014, 11:09 AM

318 posts

The supplied Zenfone 6 charger has an output of 1.35A.

QUOTE(ichi_24 @ Dec 13 2014, 04:19 PM)
zenfone 6 require 2.1a
This post has been edited by xtemujin: Dec 14 2014, 11:09 AM

0.0513sec    1.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:37 PM