MSI Gaming Notebook Thread V3

shirogawawa
post Jan 24 2016, 10:14 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(klmojuze @ Jan 20 2016, 04:32 PM)
Good question. I believe CUDA approaches with 8GB to 16GB or even 32GB of HBM memory will address those issues. Besides the speed of HBM the amount of VRAM they're planning to ship per GPU in Pascal then (I believe) Volta... looks like GPUs could have more RAM than CPUs.

I believe Nvidia is getting a massive amount of government, military, security-industrial and artificial intelligence contracts because they've cracked GPGPU implementations and so these customers that far outstrip the gaming industry - it looks like Nvidia can even go up against Intel now, and are doing so.

2015-2025 we're moving into a GPU+VRAM vs CPU+DRAM hybrid-competitive world.

Indeed if you look at photo stitching massive images a 8 x Titan "Y" Pascal with 16GB HBM VRAM each vs 64 Xeon Cores with 16GB DRAM each - certain types of computing appears to be very suited to GPU compute, and it appears that in many crucial large-data-set applications GPU compute is surpassing x86/64 CPU compute.
Hi, if I am not mistaken those background apps should not be taking a lot of memory. With 8GB of RAM you shouldn't be getting low-memory warnings.

I think if you set the swap (Virtual Memory) to 16GB on your primary (C:) drive you should ~not~ get those warnings any more.

This is because for example when you are running GTA V or Dying Light Windows will then allocate the "live" (hardware) RAM for the game then other processes/ apps/ etc. memory needs will go to the swap file on the hard disk (Virtual Memory).
What is hbm memory ?

shirogawawa
post Jan 31 2016, 01:07 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(demalexx @ Jan 31 2016, 01:05 AM)

I wanted to buy laptop and chose MSI PE70 6QE. Mostly for programming work, also for watching videos/movies and sometimes games. My goals for screen - good view angles, fast response and good black for video/games. But then I found out it has "bad" panel. Then I started to wonder whether I need this laptop. As I understand all the new Skylake PE70/PE60/GE72/GE62 6Q* have "bad" panel, while older 2Q* have "good" panel.

I wonder is panel of newer MSI notebooks is so bad I should avoid it? How bad it is? I'm not too picky about screen, but I'm gonna work at laptop a lot of time so I'd like to have screen that at least won't get in my way. Would gaming/movies on that panel be ok? Like no trails, good black? May be stick with older PE70 2QE (GE72 2QE has same panel?)? Or may be even other brand, seems e.g. ASUS ROG has both IPS and Skylake.

In other words people could say one panel is worse than other, but eventually I could see no difference looking at worse panel, right? smile.gif

And I wonder are IPS panels ok for games? I wanted to chose TN when I found out IPS aren't good for gaming. But gaming notebooks have IPS, so they should be ok?

PS. Such a headache to make a choice of such expensive item for me. Also don't have that notebooks in local store to go and stare at them. So good I've found this discussion about panels of new MSI notebooks, so small info on them. Thanks.
Why not Lenovo y700 or Acer v .nitro ?
shirogawawa
post Feb 16 2016, 04:36 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Feb 16 2016, 10:34 AM)
that the reason i keep 5700hq version.

maybe go consumer tribunal complain? post at their FB for public adwareness
Even after few forumer complain these iissues, the actively msi -nb id seem like evade all, perhaps absconded? Lol
shirogawawa
post Feb 24 2016, 11:47 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(pokute @ Feb 24 2016, 11:05 AM)
Still on the IPS issue on MSI Prestige PE60 6QE, this is the reply from shitbag MSI:

Hi (name),

As spoken via phone, based on MSI website specification, we state it clearly the PE60 6QE is come with wide-viewing angle panel and it’s actually an IPS level panel as mentioned on booklet as well.
Please be understand that panel always have many different grade/level.
For Chi Mei N156HGE, it also have many different type of N156HGE.

PE60 6QE specification from MSI webpage:
https://www.msi.com/product/notebook/PE60-6...o-specification

Regarding the link from customer, since TechHyperMart is not MSI authorized reseller, we have no authorize to control what info they show on their webpage and MSI will not take any responsibility on that.

Please visit MSI-MY webpage to find out about MSI authorized dealers info:
https://www.msi.com/wheretobuy/shoplist/43/3/1
Hope you can understand it.

Thank you.
Regards,

Service Specialist
Mei Chee

MSI Pacific INT'L Holding CO., LTD.
Malaysia Representative Office
Tel: +603-2282 8599
Fax: +603-2282 9599
Email: meichee@msi.com

What ... the.....F? Trying to pass the TN panel as an IPS panel???? Seriously MSI?
Wah, thats mean they use low grade ips lol

shirogawawa
post Feb 28 2016, 12:59 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(pokute @ Feb 26 2016, 10:20 PM)
Even if using low grade IPS, the colors will not change significantly when viewed from other angles.

MSI is simply dismissing my complaint and trying to pass a TN panel as an IPS panel. This is very insulting.
I think u sshould ask them refund or report to tribunal , forward the email also
shirogawawa
post Mar 23 2016, 07:48 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(0501024 @ Mar 21 2016, 08:57 PM)
Does anyone know the contact information for MSI malaysia? Not the generic service centre number.

Im looking to contact msi if they are willing to close case with full refund otherwise im taking case to consumer tribunal.

Thanks everyone
Read proper warranty term and conditions beforer u reallly decide to bring it to tribunal, I afraid u may not get what u want

This post has been edited by shirogawawa: Mar 23 2016, 07:53 PM
shirogawawa
post Apr 27 2016, 11:17 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

GL 62 adv as a gaming laptop but no backlight keyboard, what a joke MSI ==-
shirogawawa
post May 11 2016, 04:47 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(MSI-NB @ May 11 2016, 04:43 PM)
MSI Dragon Fever    ...... MSI No. 1 in Gaming.
                                                [attachmentid=6622102]
which model with free gifts ( diary , keychain, mouse --etc) as pics you uploaded ? hmm.gif
shirogawawa
post May 23 2016, 07:51 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(meh_man @ May 23 2016, 06:12 PM)
Thanks for the reply guise. Great to see some clarification. Hope the mods will sticky this.

Anyways for those who wants to upgrade to a m.2 storage, get the 2280 size. I made the mistake of getting the wrong size. Granted I did some googling and didn't find any info even in the official website.

Speaking of upgrading storage, anyone has any info about the caddy size for GE72 6QC ? Apparently there is two size now for the caddy. 12.7mm and 9mm if not mistaken lah.
hmm.gif you meant the MSi ge 72- 6QC cant fit in the 2280 m.2 ?? shocking.gif
shirogawawa
post Jul 4 2016, 06:16 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(pornstar @ Jul 3 2016, 10:09 PM)
Bought a GL62-6QF Added an M.2 drive and an ssd plus added ram to a toal of 16GB in. Overall for the price i paid, im happy with the overall package. No BlingBling backlighting keyboard though.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
the one that which retail price rm 3999, but only with gtx 950M gpu?
shirogawawa
post Jul 25 2016, 08:39 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jul 25 2016, 09:37 AM)
would like to ask all sifu here.

bought MSI GL62 6QF, i7 6700hq, 1tb hdd, 4gb ram

so was thinking of upgrade ssd & ram

1. If im not mistaken, there is extra slot just for ssd. m2? so I just search and buy ssd m2 right?
2. If there is, can I add ssd and use that port as boot up windows?
3. Do I need to send back to shop to upgrade it? can bring my own ssd and ram right? how about service centre?
4. Ram is DDR4?

thanks guys
bought from where ? better send back, thats warranty void sticker above maintenance cover screw
shirogawawa
post Aug 10 2016, 02:20 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(Dewata_Berapi @ Aug 10 2016, 12:42 PM)
Just bought a GE62 6QF, an awesome gaming laptop.
one more week MSI gonna launch new model with gtx 10XX gpu bye.gif
shirogawawa
post Aug 13 2016, 06:22 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Aug 12 2016, 08:02 PM)
Yeap! Launching around 16th hehe. Pricing wise, just a bit if you compare to SRP. Cant reveal much details first, later MSI come and screw my ass  shocking.gif
Yeap! RonaldJoe is definitely the cheapest i've seen but never deal with him before. But he should be fine, no worries smile.gif
You have shop authorized by msi ? So far from what I know, msi very straight on allocated stocks to reseller, and only selected partner will invite by them for products launching. What ur shop name ?
shirogawawa
post Aug 13 2016, 06:22 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Aug 12 2016, 08:02 PM)
Yeap! Launching around 16th hehe. Pricing wise, just a bit if you compare to SRP. Cant reveal much details first, later MSI come and screw my ass  shocking.gif
Yeap! RonaldJoe is definitely the cheapest i've seen but never deal with him before. But he should be fine, no worries smile.gif
You have shop authorized by msi ? So far from what I know, msi very straight on allocated stocks to reseller, and only selected partner will invite by them for products launching. What ur shop name ?
shirogawawa
post Aug 14 2016, 02:12 AM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Aug 13 2016, 11:00 PM)
Yeap! If I'm not wrong, they are one of the biggest MSI Partner in Malaysia.

If you want, i can help you order from MSI and get them send to your place. I can sell u slightly cheaper than outside haha
You mean msi Malaysia got delivery service to end user like Dell?

=.= if you base in Brunei, how could you be msi Malaysia partner ?
shirogawawa
post Aug 25 2016, 08:07 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 25 2016, 08:37 AM)
Yes...or at least registered company... Msi open gl n go to non partner now...

Remember game hypermart, tech armory those r not msi partner
Buyer want buy cheap, then go for other seller besides partner lo, when they bought cheap already , laptop got problem , they said non partner no good, if they have to pay retail price for the laptop, again they said partner seller lousy dont give offer..... puke.gif
shirogawawa
post Sep 6 2016, 04:52 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(ChaChaZero @ Sep 6 2016, 09:53 AM)
Whats the price for a MSI GS43VR here?
this model not much seller have stock bye.gif
shirogawawa
post Sep 14 2016, 12:08 AM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(tauruskong @ Sep 13 2016, 09:22 PM)
Hi

My notebook msi gs60 2qe is damage by water and have sent to repair. The tech from E-Gate called me to inform there is damage to mainboard(only mainboard) and need to replace. Shockingly the cost to change the mainboard alone is more then Rm4000. Is this mainboard cost so much?????
better buy new laptop cry.gif
shirogawawa
post Sep 16 2016, 04:07 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(tictac88 @ Sep 16 2016, 12:53 PM)
What is the disadvantages of PE series compared to the GE series?

cant do raid ,single backlit keyboard, etc
shirogawawa
post Oct 3 2016, 12:49 AM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(alvis5913 @ Oct 2 2016, 09:38 AM)
Ok will pay a visit to msi retail, thanks!
buy at retail price tongue.gif

0.0773sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:31 PM